X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lazy Monkeys Reviews

Geldersekade 106, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
88 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I couldn't ask for anything more! Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights and received the best customer service possible. The owner of the guesthouse and his partner were very welcoming and very helpful. This guesthouse is situated literally around the corner from the hustle and bustle but remains very quiet both day and night. It is very homely and if you need anything you will feel very comfortable just asking. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a fantastic stay at lazy monkeys! Felt right at home. My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and absolutely loved the atmospher, staff (and cat) ..the location was even better, literally a 20 second walk brought us out to the coffee shops and restaurants! Red light district was round the corner also (5minute walk) the owner explained to us there was even bigger and better rooms up stairs! Would absolutely love to come back and visit them if possible??.. Thanks again x

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This is an amazing smoking hostel in the middle of everything. No need to rent a bike, just walk. Room was small but had everything we needed (besides a microwave.) The owner, Lazlo (sp?) was very helpful with anything we needed. Chill little spot in the middle of the craziness. Recommended for a younger, smoking crowd. Couples okay too.


89%

We had a lovely stay in Lazymonkeys. The owner Lazlo was super friendly and helpful, enjoyed having a chat in the kitchen and suggesting good tourist attractions and places to check out. Extremely friendly host that made our stay welcoming and fun.

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a very pleasant stay at Lazy Monkeys. Location is really good, Laszlo was very helpful and the room we had (private for 2 people) was very nice. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to come to Amsterdam to chill and relax.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayd on the top floor facing the canal and it was great! Chillout palace with awsome landlord. BIG UP!

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We spent 5 amazing days at Lazy monkeys...the position is perfect..the room is realy nice. This hostel is perfect if u wanna enjoy the Amsterdam culture...a real Dutch-style house;)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

The location was perfect - short distance to everywhere interesting. The Nieuwmarkt-area is so nice and a bit calmer than other busy streets. The atmosphere in Lazy Monkeys was relaxed and our room was cozy but quite dark. Also the stairway was dark and you need a little practice getting used to it. The owner, Laszlo, was helpful and kind and all in all we had a great stay at his house. We wouldn't recommend this place at all to people who don't approve smoking (weed).

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel had an incredible location and the owner is so helpful! He helped carry our bags all the way up the stairs and is very knowledgeable about the city. There are only two rooms and they are huge and gorgeous, and the view is also beautiful. We were so happy to have stayed here!

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My boyfriend and I had a great time at Lazy Monkeys! Lazlo, the owner, welcomed us warmly, we had coffee and chatted. He's extremely helpful if you're looking for inside tipps on Amsterdam. It's the perfect experience. We felt right at home.


100%

Lazlo was a great host and provided great tips and the perfect location to enjoy what Amsterdam has to offer. Would definitely recommend The Lazy Monkey hostel to anyone wanting to enjoy Amsterdam.

  • 24th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Fab holiday!!!

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really enjoyed our stay. Location is PERFECT, Laszlo (owner) is friendly, knowledgeable and gives great tips and advice on stuff to do. Smoker friendly. If you can live with average cleanliness (crumbs, a bit dusty), it's super chills. Feels like crashing at a friend's pad. We will definitely go back.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to spend vocation in Amsterdam. Located in a great place, also Laszlo (owner) is super.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

We especially did not enjoy the matresses, which were quite uncomfortable in our experience, and the noise around the establishment. The owner was friendly.


91%

They helped us out. We enjoyed our stay.


94%

Great place to stay, will contact again next time when back in amstersam

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a fantastic 4 days in Amsterdam and would definitely recommend Lazy Monkeys :-) A fabulous, quirky and laid-back place to stay right in the middle of town but quiet (just try finding somewhere like that in London!) Owners were very friendly and helpful. Excellent base for sightseeing and/or just chilling out.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic location great atmosphere no complaints at all would recommend Lazy Monkeys to any one whose a smoker staying in Amsterdam...

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had an amazing stay at Lazy Monkeys, would highly recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam. A very laid back and comfortable atmosphere, Lazlo (sorry for spelling) was more then helpful to accommodate you in any way possible. All facilities are very clean and up to date, the location couldn't be better. Could not have asked for more for our first time visiting the city. We will be back! -Matt and Brittany


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback