X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lazy Monkeys Reviews

Geldersekade 106, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
117 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Had a great stay. The location was great, right in the heart of the city and close to everything. It was quiet so easy to get to sleep and Laszlo is an outstanding and accommodating host.


100%

Laszlo's place was absolutely amazing! Great vibe, amazing location and he welcomed us with open arms! It is located in the heart of all restaurants and the red-light district which was great! We stayed in the room called the nest which over looked the street and the canal! Best room at the place! It was also accommodated with a kettle, fridge, crockery even a radio and TV Highly recommend this place as it is great value for money and super cosy and homely feel! Regards Tina & Krupi Australia!

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • krupikimkapadia
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. There was enough space for the 2 of us in one room and the bathroom was big enough. Although the bed was very squeaky and the bathroom floor was hard to clean after showers, you could beat the location which is blocks away from the red light district and a nice easy walk to anywhere in the city. The staff was always friendly and suggested many things to do. Would definitely stay here again if I came back to Amsterdam


100%

I stayed at the lazy monkey from the 14/07/2015 till 17/07/2015, Awesome Place to stay, Right in the heart of Amsterdam. Will be stay at this place again soon. Best place for smoker in Dam

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The best thing about this place is its location, it's one step away from the red light district so you can walk to city centre in a few minutes and to the main attractions of Amsterda.Laszlo, the owner, is a very nice,easy going and helpul person. On the downside,the bed was very uncomfortable,you couldn't move without making a lot of noise and the matress sunk in the middle.The bathroom doesn't have any separation between the shower and the rest,so it gets all wet when you use it. Overall good.


80%

The owner is nice and accommodating. Only big downside is their is no reception/concierge so you kind of have to hunt down the owner if you need something. He is extremely down to earth and very nice just a tad hard to find.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything is fine how it is, we had a good stay here, thank you Laszlo!


100%

Absolutely amazing, couldn't think of anywhere better to stay! Lazlo is a great host and can't do enough for you! Can not wait to be back at the lazy monkeys guesthouse! Fantastic location and nice rooms. Just what you need.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Would definitely stay again.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Wonderful location, right in the city center and near the RLD with a beautiful view of the canal. The room was cozy however very dimly lit and made getting ready to go out in the evenings very difficult. Lazlo was helpful to some extent but lost his temper with us coming home late one night and handled the situation at the time very unprofessionally though did apologize afterwards, but still felt uncomfortable staying there the remaining days. I unfortunately would say I would not return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You changed your booking about 3 times which was not a problem we work along with you. You arrive 6 hours late from your original arrival time which you set I did not say a word. You were explained about the house rules which includes being quiet after midnight which you did not seam to understand,and as a result of that all other people in the guesthouse complained, telling me how disrespectful you behaviour is.but that did not matter to you at all. We do not mind if you do not return.

89%

Owner was really friendly and made our stay super relaxed. Only problem was the hostel didn't have a sign so we struggled finding it. Probably because we weren't organised enough though.


89%

Owner is helpful and nice! the house located in a great location. definitely will stay there again!


100%

We loved this place. Location was great for us. Owner is a great guy, Its quirky. We would stay again.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice place. Sound owner. We had the attic room overlooking the canal. gorgeous place and very central being in the middle of chinatown and just around the corner from the red light district.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great spot! I would definitely stay here again. The private rooms especially are spectacular. The guy who runs the house, Laslow, is very down-to-earth and helpful, even stocking the showers with shampoo, body wash, etc. Easy walk to all the major sites in Amsterdam, and even smoke-friendly! Do be prepared for some very steep stairs, though (kind of a stair/ladder fusion situation).


94%

Had a brilliant stay here and will definitely be coming back to the lazy monkey! It's in a perfect location, 5 mins from the train station and close to all the action in the centre. Lovely owner who helped us with some of the best places to visit, since it was our first time. Wouldn't recommend to somebody who has difficulty with stairs as they are very steep and winding but I think this is a case with a lotion the houses in Amsterdam. Lovely view over the Gelderskade canal!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic mood and atmosphere, very welcoming and in such a great location! Bordering the Red Light District and China Town, it was busy enough place to pop out and grab a bite to eat, but quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. Will be coming here again in the future! Big Thanks to Chris and Stella

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I have only left a few hours and I am missing the place already. Each and every time I come back I will be staying here !!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place! All the great reviews this place gets are absolutely true, and Laszlo the owner is just a really nice guy. One thing that doesn't get mentioned much in the reviews is the amazing view (me and my girlfriend were in the "big nest"). Unfortunately this comes at a price - since the view is right on the canal, this tends to bring a lot of flies (at least in parts of the year, we were there in early May). Maybe a mosquito net could fix the problem?

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very enjoyable stay the place was clean, friendly and within easy reach of places to see.thanx for an enjoyable stay.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback