X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Los Amigos Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Calle Giralda 9, El Medano (La Mareta), Tenerife, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
533 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Overall it's a great hostel with lots of activities and great facilities. The Staff is very helpful and nice. Relaxing and friendly atmosphere.


97%

I loved this hostel! Great location on the southern part of the island. The common area was one of the best i´ve ever experienced. It´s just a 3 minute walk from a bus stop that also goes to the major tourist locations and about a 5 minute walk to a small beach that was never too crowded when I went. The hostel also provides breakfast and is a great place to relax. Every night they have a dinner menu which you can sign up for and it´s a good price. I would definitely stay here again!


100%

I had a great time in this hostel lovely staff and good vibs. It is also the right place when you want to go kitesurfing.


100%

One of the best Backpackers Hostels I've been to. Amazing atmosphere, good & clean facilities. Met really cool people there!


100%

Just Awesome, good people, good music, good atmosphere!!!


89%

Great staff really friendly and great atmosphere perfect for chill out and relax :)


86%

The atmosphere in the hostel is one of the best, I have ever experienced in a hostel: it`s so chilling and friendly! `d love to come back once!


83%

It is a very friendly and comfortable hostel!! I liked all a lot, but the knifes in the kitchen are superbad ;)


83%

More attention is neccessary to keeping noise levels down, especially in the morning.


51%

The hostel is all in all ok and well kept but way too many people, even sleeping next to the pool, in the tents! Just 3 toilets for around 40 guests. The chill out zone was always crowded at night disturbing the people sleeping in the rooms... Breakfast was very good, pretty rich in variety!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anna! Thanks for leaving a review and some feedback for us! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast! March was a really busy time for us and it was great to have so many friendly faces around the hostel. Being so busy at that time we know there was some noise with guests socialising. We always try to keep the noise down during the night but sorry if you were disturbed. You will be happy to learn that we have now added 2 new bathrooms! Hope to see you again. Much love from Los Amigos :)

69%

cool atmopsphere and chill out area and good breakfast, even though some fruits would be great. There should definitely be more toilets, because 3 are way to few for 25-30 persons. it is also a bit difficult to dress after showering because there is not much space or there are doors missing in order to close the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Catherine! Thanks for leaving a review and some feedback for us. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and we do try to provide some fresh produce each morning as part of our buffet offering :) You will be glad to hear we have added two more bathrooms for our guests! Both with plenty of space, doors and hooks for you clothes and towels :) We hope to see you again one day at Los Amigos, if or when you ever come back to sunny Tenerife. Much love from everyone here :)

86%

I would definitely recommend this hostel and will be staying here for my next visit to Tenerife! Something to note: it is a little bit isolated from the touristy beaches, as well as the brilliant walking/hiking trails of the north and far west. Otherwise, really nice location, so if those things don't matter to you, definitely stay with Los Amigos!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

sweet hostel, best property and a very cozy athmo. staff was nice and friendly but not overly motivated. they didnt do more than was neccessary to make people feel welcome. the place was always clean, they cooked delicious dinner for 5 euros every day. there are no real acitvities taking place anymore but its a great place to stay during your holiday in teneriffa and its always sunny in the south of this island! I want to come back there, thats for sure.


71%

Good Hostel for young and flexible travellers,good chilling atmoshpere. There's a nice outdoor area to relax..a free computer to use....good wi.fi..pool and a small outdoor gym to exercise. Breakfast is nice. Bad aspect: : Location, a bit isolated if you do'nt have a car,but good if you want to disconnect. Dorms are big and spacious.. and can be noisy due to the amount of people..snoring too hard sometimes but that''s the hostel. The double room is nice..General Bathrooms are scattered


57%

Not enough facilities for the amount of guests. We booked a night in a tent and were disappointed that most of the tents have little to no space in between. There is a big living area in the garden which we found nice and cozy.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jonathan! Thanks leaving us some feedback. You visited in the peak time for us we happy to have so many great people around each day but we did recognise it was a strain on some of our facilities. So we did some renovations and added two more bathrooms for our guests. :) We treat the tents as somewhat of an outdoor dorm and not a camping area. For this reason the tents are next to each other. Maybe next time you could try the dorms or a private room. Thanks again from Los Amigos! :)

46%

Clean. Security: good. Lockers. Individual keys for main gate. Location: poor. Far from everything. Hot showers: rare to come by. Cold military showers. Bathroom

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aisha! Thanks for leaving us some feedback. Yes we are in a quiet, peaceful part of the island and as mentioned in our listing, we are away from the main commercial areas. We do hope you saw the little town of Los Abrigos, just 1 kilometre away. There are some great restaurants there! You will be happy to learn we have installed 2 new bathrooms for our guests with good hot water set ups :) Hope to see you back one day in sunny Tenerife! Thanks again from Los Amigos :)

80%

I liked it, very good sleep in the tents, good value for the money, as good as a hostel can get basicly.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Always a nice Hostel to stay in Tenerife when you're arriving in the south. Very friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere, alsways interesting fellow-travellers not unlikely to join you when exploring the island. Makes a good starting point for many activities in the south. Also very supportive staff when you encounter any problems! Nice to stay there, has always been that way and hopefully will stay so... :)


97%

Perfect place to stay, a bit more outside but close to bus station and beaches. giving an atmosphere you won't get too often in a hostel. Will be back soon!


94%

great atmosphere, great staff and people

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Tenerife Hostels

Please give us your feedback