X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MD House Reviews

18/6 Rajvithee Rd., Amphur Maung, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1140 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Moved to this hotel as a desperate measure from the last not having aircon, so ended up settling for a (relatively) expensive hotel. It was fine though a bit overpriced, 2 nice pools and breakfast included. Aircon was strong, wifi was intermittently good. Very friendly staff. Basic room but clean and fine for our purposes. There's a new part to the hotel being built which looks lovely so I would stay here again in the new part, it's much more modern and I imagine would reflect the price better.


80%

Great location, wonderful staff, and a delicious breakfast!


100%

Super nice staff!! Decent breakfast and solid pool, great location within the old city!!!!


83%

Staff was super friendly, loved the pool, however there was mold in our air conditioning.


94%

Very good hostel , happy friendly staff, more of a hotel than a hostel. Clean rooms and lots of facilities. Will stay again. 👍

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Sun was the staffer we had the most contact with and he was really great. He helped us find a cheap tour and a minibus to Krabi. He was always friendly and made an effort to remember everyone's name. Great guy! The beach was just a short walk away and it was incredible.


100%

I loved this place. The staff were amazing and polite. Ill be definitely coming back!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Location is very good and the staff was friendly and helpfull. Pool not so clean because of the work next to it. Room was not so clean nor cosy but ok .


40%

Pool was filthy, could not use Storage room for bags did not lock, no security Rotting sewage smell constantly Stained and dirty sunbed covers Most disappointing hotel stay in Thailand in 9 months

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

M D house was really well located. Staff was willing to help us with anything, and signed us up for a good cooking class. Would stay again.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good breakfast selection - we loved the muesli and fruit. Well priced, clean and safe.


71%

Good basic hostel. More like a hotel. Nice breakfast. No issues.


83%

Great staff, very friendly and communicate very well. The sink kept clogging up though, and there were ants all over the room all the time (little tiny ones that didn't do much but just seeing them everywhere was off putting). Room service game to clean regularly and that's fine but the general maintenance of the room itself wasn't great. The money was alright for the stay but I felt the price should have been a bit lower overall. Not a bad place to stay at in the end though.


74%

It was a nice and not-expensive hotel. There were some little problems, though: the bed/matress was very shaky, thankfully we got another one instead, the refrigerator was smelly, the towels and sheets were washed but not 100% white, it was loud during the day because they are building a new part of the hotel. So nothing tragic, but some things could be improved. In general, it was ok.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We booked this hostel primarily for the pool, which was a nice enough area to chill by in the day. The staff were very blasee when we checked in (no passport check etc as in other hostels) & didn't offer us any advice or tips for Chiang Mai. I would recommend this hostel for those who need a pitstop to catch up on sleep and chill, rather than those looking to socialise as there is very little atmosphere. However, the rooms were clean and it was ideal for our first night to sleep off the jet lag.


83%

The two pools are the best part, which you can also pay 100baht to swim at for non-guests. The room was ok, definitely enough space for one traveller, bed was quite good. I had bites on one arm the next day, I wasn't sure if that was from the room or possibly biting ants that were colonized beside my pool lounger. Close to Sunday and night market. Quiet. Breakfast included. Luggage hold storage was an unlocked room, I padlocked my bags, no issue. Would stay again.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The breakfast was great and I appreciated the quick turnaround for the laundry services.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly staff and clean rooms. Rooms are abit on the dingy side with not much light but it was a place to stay and clean. the pools look nice but didn't get a chance to go in them. Staff are very helpful.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel. Nice pool. Breakfast was good and also the location is very nice.


91%

Can put some improvement to water pressure for bath shower

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(862 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback