X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3179 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I enjoyed my stay at this property in the four bed dormitory and would use Meininger hotels again.


51%

It is much more hotel than hostel - no character and soo EXPENSIVE for what you get. Group of long term students caused the kitchen to be locked as they supposedly didn't clean up. Worse part was my dorm mates had sex (on my bottom bunk), and then proceeded to turn on all the lights and have loud drunken conversations from 3-5:30. After ignoring my pleas for quiet, I went down to front desk about the situation, the guy only shrugged and said there was nothing he could do. NO attempt to help!


91%

Very good time at the hostel, very nice facilities and nice people and staff. Only thing is that it was a bit expensive, but it is Munich, so that's OK. I'd recommend this hostel for young travellers.


86%

The hostel was very nice, clean, and good atmosphere. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. A little ways from downtown but easy to get to. Very close to the main train station which is nice when you first get in. Pretty expensive for a large mixed dorm, but you get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your nice review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We would love to welcome you again soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels around Europe. Safe travels, Alex

94%

good loction, very clean, cheaper, nice staff and you can buy the day ticket for transport also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your great review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

86%

A nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write this comment! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here and would love to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Alex

66%

Personal was rude, I asked if they had any cancellation and the guy made fun of me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with our staff. I'm sure my colleague wasn't trying to make fun of you and there was just a misunderstanding. We hope you had a nice time in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

97%

Very close to the train station. I loved my room. After 22:00 people tend to be quiet. That's something that I personally highly appreciate. The staff very nice too 😉

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your nice comment! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here and were satisfied with our service. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

77%

i reserved a 12 bed mixed dom, but the room i get is a 4 bed room which have a bathroom. This is better then i expect. There is a pub nearby my room, so it is noisy at night.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed staying here. We wopuld like to welcome you again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels around Europe soon. Best wishes, Alex

74%

Well little bit expensive hostel and the atmosphere was kind of hotel, a lot of school excursions and meeting people wasnt that easy. Despite that everything was really clean and in order.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and writing this review. We're happy to hear you were satisfied with our hotel. It was great having you here :) Safe travels, Alex

80%

I just wish they had lockers for the luggage in the rooms, and a more secure luggage room for check-in-out times. Every thing else was very good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. In case people want to store valuables before check in or after check our we have seperate deposit boxes which you can rent for a 5EUR deposit. That way all your belongings are properly stored :) We would like to welcome you again next time you're in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

69%

Was full of school kids when we were there, so atmosphere wasn't great. But could have been good in the kitchen and sun deck with fellow travellers. Good 30-45 minute walk into town, or could take tram. 20 minutes from the train station away from the town centre. Very clean and good size lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We're happy you were satisfied with your stay here. We would like to welcome you again soon in one of the 16 MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Cheers, Alex

60%

When we got our room key and went up to our room, we realized that there were no open beds in that dorm room. We notified them, and walked up and down the stairs three times from the first to the fifth floor (tiny elevator, swarms of high school students). The staff then told us that they failed to clean the room after the last people have checked out, and gave us sets of sheets to change for ourselves. It was weird that we had to do our own housekeeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, fist of all we want to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear you had to do your own housekeeping. Of course that is something that shouldn't happen. We will talk to our housekeeping about it to prevent it from happening again. We hope you enjoyed your stay here in Munich anyways and would love to welcome you again soon. Best wishes, Alex

97%

Nicw to stay. But it`s little bit far from center of the town

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your kind review! We're happy you enjoyed staying here. Did you know that taking the S-Bahn in only takes 10min to get to the city center? Would love to welcome you back again next time your in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

74%

Was pretty average, staff were nice but our room was very cramped and 9 people shared one sink shower and toilet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're happy to hear you were satisfied with our service. Most of our of our big dormitories (8-12bed) have two showers and toilets ensuite. It would be great to see you again next time you're around. Safe travels, Alex

91%

Great hostel, the location, the staff were very helpful and kind, pretty girls by the way :) the wifi didnt work very well in some places of the room, but it was ok. it was always clean and was pretty safe. for who want to pay less in an expensive city like Munich, thats definitely the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here! Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

77%

Just had a one night stay. Rooms were good. But I had a 6 bedder all to myself. Cleaner entered room early in the day to change bedding whilst I was in the shower, was glad that I closed the shower door. Breakfast was not really good value, however my preference of foods my be more restricted than others. Pub over the road was great, but the waiter assumed a tip and didn't return any change so I could decide his allotted tip. Great food though and bier. I Would stay again


89%

Loved the bar on site and my room was very clean. I had a good time there and it really wasn't too far from the center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! thank you for staying with us and this great review! If you liked the MEININGER Hotel in Munich, why don't you also visit another MEININGER Hotel around Europe? We would love to welcome you again :) Best wishes, Alex

94%

Great hostel. A little pricey, but very good. Great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review! We would like to welcome you again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

97%

The rooms were very large! We also utilized the bar in the hostel. Not to far from the train station to get to the main area of Munich. One of the best hostels I have stayed at. Highly recommended! !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your great review! It was great having you here and we would love to welcome you back again soon! Safe travels, Alex

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback