Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Munich City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 5487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 5487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.0

Room was pleasant and clean for an ensuite. Confusing how they don't allocate you a bed, some couples git very confused. Breakfast was a bit price but then Munich is so so expensive, so I would really recommend getting the breakfast and just eating as much as you can because Munich is a rip off. The location is abit out...30mins walk to city centre. There is a station just two mins around the corner. A taxi is €15. Overall I had a nice stay and I found the staff very helpful and welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you felt comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again, Alex

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.4

I booked a night here with three girls who are fussy and don't stay in hostels. They were really happy with our private room - the bathroom was really clean, the area was quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There's a great beer hall across the road - rude staff but awesome and very cheep beer. We walked from HBF central station to the hostel - about 15 mins with luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! We are happy to hear that we were able to convince you and your friends of our performance. We hope to welcome you back again, soon. Kind regards, Alex

  • Bonnar
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Had a nice stay here, we stayed in a private room and what you get is good for the price. The breakfast was great and easily worth the €7 you pay for it as you get as much as you want. Only downsides I found were the showerhead in the room was really strange and kind of like washing under a garden hose and why why why does the bar not open til 8pm?? Other than that really good value and location. Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you very much for your feedback. Unfortunately our bar is only opening at 20:00 due to a lack of demand. But until then we sel alcoholic beverages at our reception and you can feel free to enjoy them in the lobby, in front of the house our on our terrace. Else check our the Augustiner Brewery just across the street our one of the nice beergardens in our neighbourhood :-) All the more we are pleased you felt comfortable with us and enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to welcome you again soon. All the best, Alex

28th Feb 2017
8.6

I wouldn't really say it's in the "city center." It's not exactly far but not exactly close either. I think it's 3 stops to Marienplatz or about a half hour walk or so. There's not a lot nearby but it's close to the bus station and metro. The rooms are big, clean, and comfortable with nice, clean bathrooms. I visited friends at other hostels and they seemed to have a more fun, hang out vibe. It was a good hostel to end my two week trip though because it was quiet and relaxing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback. In fact we are not "in" the city center if you are talking about the old town, but I would not say that there is not a lot nearby. There is Munich's oldest brewery and beer hall just across the street, beergardens as well as the Oktoberfest site are a five minutes walk and there are a lot of nice little restaurants, cafes and parks in the area. Don't hesitate to ask at the reception for more information during your next stay :) All the more we are glad you liked our rooms and felt comfortable with us. Best regards, Alex

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
3.1

DO NOT STAY HERE. While most of the staff was friendly enough, one of the staff members at the concierge desk was incredibly sassy, disagreeable, and rude. The bed linens provided were not only stained, but also smelled of sweat, indicating that they may have been folded and reused without being cleaned. Additionally, the duvet was not folded upon arrival, but was crumpled up and thrown on top of the bed. The bathroom was also filthy and riddled with black and pink mold.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest. Thank you for your feedback. When you book a room in a dormitory choose a free bed- if the bed lines were not cleaned and the duvet was not folded it sounds a lot like you took someone else's bed. If you are not sure which bed is free please ask at our reception for help. We hope to be able to convince you of our performance during your next stay. Best wishes, Alex

24th Feb 2017
8.3

Overall good experience, but the staff forgot to inform me that I would need to switch rooms partially through my stay which led to some complications. They were pretty nice about it though. Good wifi, clean facilities, only about a 15 minute walk from the main train station and 20 from the start of the old city center. Didn't realize I was staying during Mardi Gras, so it was more expensive than I would normally like to pay. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for yor feedback, sorry for the inconvenience from the misinformation and the change of room. we hope to see you again. Micheal

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.7

Cheap, good rooms and beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you again. Michael

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Feb 2017
10.0

Really chill and has lots of amenities. Great for everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. we look forward welcoming you again. Michael

12th Feb 2017
7.1

I enjoyed my time here although I was not in the hostel for anything other than sleeping so for that it was good. However when i did need to use the restroom for anything it smelled like feces the whole weekend and you could tell it was not cleaned daily. The location is kind of out of the way but there is a public trans station very close!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for your review. Of course our toilets are cleaned every day. Please let us know at the reception if you are not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room so we can send our housekeeping back in or give you a new room. All the more we are glad you still enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Alex

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

The 2 nights spent here were very lovely. The people are nice and the equipment in the room are very new and comfortable, hopefully we can live here next time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much. We hope to see you again. Michael

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.