X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3962 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great value for money! Ease to get there (using the tram) and close enough to the city centre. Super safe and reliable staff.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was small but clean. Hotel was in a good location as it was close to the s bahn and there was a beer hall across the road. However the doors for the rooms slammed loudly and staff didn't seam to enforce the quiet down after 10pm rule so had little sleep for all 3 nights stayed. Good if travelling on a budget and don't mind lack of sleep


49%

Firstly, I am travelling with 3 under age boys, and when I did the reservation in your web page, you didnt tell me nothing about a german law that we couldnt sleep in our room because there was an adult in there. Secondly, I paid 50 euros when I reserved for nothing, because they cancelled my reservation due to the law. I want my 50 euros back please.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A very clean well equipped hostel a very short walk from the station and not far into town. There is plenty to at the hostel with good wifi a nice bar and games room and a pleasant roof terrace. The staff are very accommodating


66%

This hostel was not very sociable and no one was ever in the bar and there wasn't really an inviting common area. There was no AC in the room and it was incredibly hot. The location was good for being a few minutes from a metro stop and there was a great beer hall across the way. Other than that, I would say to book somewhere else.


69%

The staff was terrible, i have tryed to check in 3 p.m and my room was not ready, i checkin just 5 p.m, and the staff all the time sad wait more only 10 minutes for 2 hours, the most porr staff i have seen


86%

This place is more like a hotel. The facislities are great but I you're looking to meet people, it might be harder here. However, if you go on a free walking tour (info available at the front desk) you'll be able to meet people through that. The hostel is about a 15 minute walk from the city center.


89%

The only downside to our stay is that it was pretty hot in Munich during our trip and we didn't have AC. As southerners from the states, were pretty spoiled with our AC. But we made it work. The room had plenty of space for three girls with big backpacks. The shower was tight but clean and greats temps/water pressure. Very close to a main line S-Bahn train. Super easy to get around from here! The staff were always super friendly and helpful. Bonus, it's across the street from a great beer hall!

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Rooms are warm as hell in the summer. Definitely needs more fans in the room


77%

It was a nice place to stay, and the staff was very helpful, but for what they were charging I expected more. First, there is no air conditioning, which made it really hard to sleep in the room. Also, there are lockers in the room but WITHOUT locks! You'd have to buy one or bring one, which wouldn't have worked in my case because the lockers were BROKEN! Also there was a leak in the shower that flooded the bathroom after a couple people showered. Nothing is included and the wifi was bad.


77%

The hostel wasn't in the city centre, however it was only a 5 minute walk from a S-bahn station which takes you straight into the centre. The 6 bed dorm had a strange layout, with 1 room having two single beds in and the second room having 2 bunk beds. This wouldn't be an issue, however the bathroom was off the room with two singles in and it didn't have a lock which restricted privacy. Overall the hostel was really clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for sharing your impressions of MEININGER Hotel Munich with other travellers and taking the time to write this review. We actually have different rooms most of them with lockers. We also offer small lockers at the reception. But for sure we are going to pass the compliments to our staff. We hope to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels all over Europe. Best, Alex

83%

Great hostel, though location is terrible


86%

Although perhaps a bit over priced for the type of dormitory I got, I had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area, rooms are cleaned daily, and I appreciated the convenient all you can eat breakfast and spacious common area. My only criticism would be that two of the people in my dorm did not have access to a personal locker for their valuables and so would have to had use the ones available at reception on the ground floor.


69%

Every thing is fine but the washroom without lock makes embarrassment between roommates.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for your nice comment. We are happy to hear you had a great time in Munich and enjoyed the stay with us. Usually every washroom in the room has a lock. Always feel free if you feel uncomftable with something to ask our staff they are happy to help you with every situation. Hope to welcome you again soon in one of our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe. Best, Toni

94%

The hostel is a bit from the center of munich, but the S-Bahn will take you right to where everything is happening and there's a close stop to the hostel. There were lockers for each bed. The hostel bar was also pretty good. All around, a pretty good choice.


20%

It is a kind of s**t.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! Best, Toni

54%

Bed for the night was good but otherwise location was 30 mins by foot from centre and beer wasn't that tasty from the tap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for your review and sharing your impressions with othe travellers. Hope to welcome you again soon to show you that Munich has the best beer in the world :-) Take care! Alex

86%

Good hostel experience even if I let I've I was melting alive in the dorm. Even with Windows open it was an uncomfortable experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review and sharing your impressions with other travellers. We are happy you liked the hotel. We also rent fans at the reception to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Hope to welcome you again soon in one of our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe. Cheers, Toni

57%

If all you want out of a hostel is a bed and a convenient location, this hostel is perfectly fine. For anything beyond that I wouldn't recommend it. There was no real space to make new friends, the wifi didn't work the my dorm, a 3-6 min wait for the lift, no aircon or fans with windows that didn't open, and the staff where often condescending and dismissive when I asked questions. But if you are coming here with friends, I think your experience would be much better than as a solo traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We actually offer fans at the reception feel free to ask our staff. We unfortunately have to lock the windows due to some security reasons but you could also rent a key for that at the front desk. Hope you enjoyed your stay anyways. Take care! Best, Toni

60%

when we checked in, the room still not cleaned yet. have to wait until finishing clean up. the hostel is not far away old town center. no air conditioner, cannot stand when it was 37 degree high.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(126 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback