Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Munich City Center

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Feb 2017
7.1

I enjoyed my time here although I was not in the hostel for anything other than sleeping so for that it was good. However when i did need to use the restroom for anything it smelled like feces the whole weekend and you could tell it was not cleaned daily. The location is kind of out of the way but there is a public trans station very close!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel, everything looked new and was neatly clean. It is definitely worth the money, although I think the breakfast could be offered at a lower price. I was in a shared room and something not so great was that 2 people in my room snored horribly and woke all of us up, the same in the room upstairs there was a group of youngsters making a lot of noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lifesbetterwithandy
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2017
5.1

This hostel is simply a cheap hotel masquerading as a hostel. There is simply no atmosphere, no common room, a bar that doesn't open till 8 and is more expensive than all others close by and rules such as no outside alcohol to be brought into the hostel. There is no early check in, however, they will store 2 of your bags for 6 hours for a measly €8. Oh if you want to check out late that will be an extra €10. This is a company clearly try to make a € by exploiting backpackers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with you stay. In fact we have a common room with darts, a pool table and table football- in addition to our lobby, the kitchen for our guests and the roof terrace. Unfortunetaley it is not worth to open the bar before 8 due to a lack of demand, but this is the reason we sell alcoholic beverages at the reception too. Also I can assure you that 3,30 for half a liter of beer is actually pretty cheap for Munich standards. The price to use our lockers for 6 hours is 2 or 4€- depending on the size of the locker you choose. We are not able to offer early check in AND late check out because at some time our rooms have to be cleaned. Thank you for understanding, Alex

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
5.1

I arrived at the Hostel around 01.00 in the morning. It was very bad after a long trip, tired, realize that the bed where I would rest was not made. And at that hour, with the remaining guests in the room sleeping, make my own bed by putting all the sheets. Terrible experience. I payed arround 30 euros per night, so was not cheap for the service provided. NOT RECOMENDED

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your long tiring trip, but we don't do the top bunks due to hygienical reasons. We hope to be able to convince you of our service during your next stay. All the best, Alex

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
5.4

Good atmosphere, friendly staff. People usually steal food from the common fridge. You have to pay to keep your luggage in the hostel before check in or after check out. Some guy in my room dropped my phone and broke my screen while I was sleeping and the staff couldn't give his contacts.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer : we are sorry for all what happened for you during your stay bay our hotel and thank you for your review :)

29th Jan 2017
9.1

Was here for just one night with a friend. I booked it for thr price and the proximity to the main bus terminal. The staff was very friendly and made our 10PM checkin and 5AM checkout very smooth. We stopped in the bar for a quick drink. It was very quiet but after such a long travel day, that was good for us. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm that was comfortable but basic. That was all we needed so it was perfect. Again, we were so tired we passed out. All in all, it was great for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer, thank you a lot for your review enjoy you day :)

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
3.4

Worst experience EVER

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer , thank you for your review enjoy your day Alex.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel. Very clean. Very modern and great staff. Good location as well. 20 minute walk to downtown area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer thank you for your review enjoy your day Alex

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jan 2017
9.4

Clean, and the ensuite in the room is very nice. Easy walk to S Bahn or tram into Marienplatz.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer thank you for your review enjoy your day Alex

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
5.1

Bathroom was really dirty, there was a double bed in the 4 bedroom dorm which I found odd and there where a lot of young 16 year students on a school trip so although the bar looked good no one was in there. Wombats hostel was way better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to here about the condition of your bathroom. Never hesitate to come to our reception with all your questions and concerns, we would have loved to send our housekeeping in your room again. Also it would have been no problem to separate the beds for you. We hope you still enjoyed your stay in Munich. Best, Alex

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.