X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2985 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

My stay was great, I stayed at the Munich location because I'd previously had such a wonderful experience at the Berlin location. The only issues were there weren't enough outlets for everyone in the room and my duvet slipped out of its cover and i could see that it was very dirty. Staff at the front desk were mediocre with the exception of one young lady who checked us in late and was wonderful! Also, one bathroom is not really enough for 6 people.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel should put directions how to get there from the main train station!! In case they don't Look for Bayer Strasse (to your right as you are heading out of the station) then walk for 20 minutes until it turns into Landsberger strasse. Or take tram 19 but don't know what station you need to get off at. Hostel staff was great. Bathroom wasn't cleaned even though I mentioned it to reception.


71%

Location good for the bus station and its not actually as far away from the train station as they suggest if you walk at a decent pace. Facility wise its all what you would expect from a modern chain hostel, does attract a stag-do crowd at which can make it more difficult to meet people at weekends but I still managed. :-)


31%

This hostel attracts the type of crowd who likes to have beer and cigarettes for breakfast. If you're one of them, you'll fit right in. If not, you probably will feel uncomfortable for most of your stay like I did. My roommates were also disagreeable. When I arrived, one man had his stuff in every corner of the room so that I wasn't sure which bed was mine or if it was clean. That night, two other people in the room had a loud verbal argument that went in circles.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very impressed by the cleanliness of the facilities and enjoyed the ensuite bathroom! It is a great location from the bus station, was very secure and had the most comfortable bedding I have ever experienced in a hostel. Booked a 14 person dorm but was pleasantly surprised to find it was split into two smaller 8-person dorms. Would definitely stay there again.


100%

I stayed at Meininger for five nights. It was an altogether pleasant experience. The staff were most helpful, the room and facilities were clean and set up well, and the price was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hostel if you are visiting Munich. Five stars :)

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay here! Make sure you'll visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

91%

Very great! I liked it

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your great review! See you next time you're in Munich! Cheers, Alex

94%

Free upgrade for our group so we had a private room. Good bar. Across the road from in my opinion the best beer hall in munich!!! Much better then hofbrauhaus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your nice review! Come visit us again next time you're in Munich! Cheers, Alex

77%

Too bureaucratic to get access to the internet. Bikes rent is too expensive, it will just be worth it if it's cheaper than public transport. But, it has good staff and a good accommodation service. All the rooms are pretty safe, but for the kitchen.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for taking the time and writing this comment. You can now access the WIFI with your own facebook account or with a Login you get at the reception. That should make things easier. Hope to see you again in one of the MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Regards, Alex

89%

The only downer with this place was paying for breakfast. Everything else was wonderful! Rooms were clean and so convenient to have a toilet and shower in the room. Only 10 minutes walk from the station and easy to find.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your nice comment. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. We charge a small amount of 5,90 Euro for our all you can eat continental breakfast buffet, which offers lots of options to chose from :) We hope you chose Meininger again. Safe travels, Alex

80%

The kitchen was tiny for such a huge hostel, the public area was full of noisy teenagers if that might bother you. Otherwise a top hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here. Unfortunately we're not able to do anything about the size of the guest kitchen...but soon we will open our terrace again, which is connected to the guest kitchen :) See you next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

94%

Because the hostel was busy when we stayed the staff had upgraded us to a private room which was terrific and had its' own bathroom. We were able to walk to the main station and into the city too (about 15 minutes to the station and about 15 more to the city centre), there is a supermarket nearby and a kitchen for guests to use (small and doesn't have alot of cutlery or decent sized saucepans but is usable). I would definitely stay here again if I return to Munich.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for your review! We're happy to hear you had a great stay here and enjoyed the upgrade we gave you. All of our rooms do have ensuite bathrooms, even the dorms :) Hope to see you again next time you're in Munich! Cheers, Alex

89%

Great dorm rooms—stayed in the 6 person and there was lots of space, windows and a good private bathroom. Wifi worked well all over the building. The staff were helpful. Nice to have a pool table and bar area. Always useful to have a kitchen, however there really weren't many plates/bowls/spoons etc and nothing in the way of oil/salt/pepper. Not too far from main station, but it is a decent walk. Didn't have the breakfast. Also it's true about the elevator being terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your great review. We're happy you had a nice stay here and were happy with what we have to offer. I can asure you we already try our best to make sure the guest kitchen is fully equipped. But in the future we'll try even harder :) See you next time you're in Munich! Take care, Alex

66%

there was a lack of cleaning crews, and elevators.

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay here and would like to thank you for your honest comment. Honest feedback is very important for us to improve our service. Therefore I would like to ask you to send us an email with more information why you felt there was a lack of cleaning crews. We hope you enjoyed your stay here anyways. Safe travels, Alex

71%

Staff are helpful but some are cool. Also on the first two days of my stay the drainage system in my room had a problem that the water can't drain. So it ended up a mess in he bathroom! So horrible! Other than that everything is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your comment. I'll pass the compliments on to the staff :) Next time you have any problems in your room, please let us know right away and we'll take care of it immediately. Hope to welcome you again here soon! Safe travels, Alex

86%

It was so nice staying at MEININGER. But Wifi signal is too weak at my room and the shower drain is not good.


83%

Poor WIFI and you have yo pay 6 € for okay breakfast. I will say the location is excellent less than 7 minutes by foot from main train station and 15 walk to city center.

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • benoz76
  • Honduras
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the central location. Usually the wifi is working alright, just at times when too many people are using it ( in the evening :) ) it slowes down a bit. Maybe that was the problem. We hope you enjoyed your stay anyways and would love to welcome you again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

40%

Its a hostel which is ok for a night but nothing more. It has zero atmosphere as most of the guests are living there full time. The rooms are quite old and the dont even get me started on how slow/small the elevator is. Its location is quite close to the train station - which is good - but its really far away from the main town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear, you weren't satisfied with the atmosphere in our hotel. Next time you should visit our bar. It's a great place to meet fellow traveler and talk the night away :) We hope you will give us a second chance next time you're in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

86%

The facilities are great, very spacious and modern! Everything looks new. Besides the kitchen, that was always very very dirty, the bathrooms and dorm were very clean. The staff is helpful but not very friendly. There were no locks for the dorm lockers but I was able to keep my values in a vault near the reception. There is only a small lift which is always on use so most of the times I had to use the stairs, up to the fifth floor. Wi-fi connection was good and lthe location also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for taking the time and reviewing us. We're happy you were satisfied with our service. I'm sorry to hear that the guest kitchen wasn't always as clean as it should have been. We're trying our best and we're cleaning it twice a day, but we also have to rely on our guests to clean up after themselves. For the lockers in the rooms you can rent a padlock for a 5 euro deposit. Just ask at the reception next time you're here :) Safe travels, Alex

89%

Great hostel but the kitchen is too small for such a big place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thannk you very much for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Unfortunately we aren't able to our guest kitchen. But on the other hand it's a great place to meet other people :) We would love to welcome you back again soon. Take care, Alex

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback