X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3773 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This hostel was clean and secure. It's a pretty close walk to the train station too, which was nice. I'd recommend it and if stay there again. The room had lockers and the wifi worked great.


80%

Booked a 4 bed dorm, however we got a 8 bed dorm when checking in. Not a big deal, but just saying. Free fast wifi in rooms. Don't even bother taking the lift. It's stupidly small and barely fits 2 people with bags. The bunk beds have lights, but no power points up top. Splurge a little, get power points cranking and the overall stay would have been a 8-9 out of 10 for price. Customer service at the desk was always great. They also sell donuts. One guy said €2, the other girl €1.20... Er

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great time. Great value for money an the staff were super friendly.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is close to the central station, and the hostel is really clean and comfy.


80%

Everything's great! Only bad thing was that I couldn't find any free bed in the dorm. The staff helped in taking out someone's stuff who should have checked out but didn't. Suddenly in the middle of the night at 4 am some staff and a totally drunk guy who missed to check out came in and they let him sleep on a matrace on the floor and everyone woke up. The matrace was placed between bunk bed and bathroom door so I had to step on the guy to leave the top bed and hardly could enter the bathroom.


63%

The room was fine and clean but the lockers didn't work properly. There were a lot of school kids on a trip at the same time and they were quite rude which spoiled the trip.


91%

Friendly staff. Close to train station. Opposite of the famous restaurant. Great value. Recommended.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

About 15 minutes walk from station and then 5 minutes walk from station to main sights. Great atmosphere and staff, only one bathroom between 8 which became abit of a problem in the morning, breakfast was okay and had a good nights sleep!


83%

I had an ok time, I thought the lockers were a little small. There are no outlets by the bunk which sucks. The bar was pretty good.


94%

Enjoyed my stay. Good location without being too high priced. 10 walk from Hauptbahnhof.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was definitely worth the money! My friends and I had booked separate 12 room dormitories and requested to be put together and we got a private room for the same price! The room was very clean!! The staff was extremely helpful and the hostel was in a great location. Just around the corner from the tram and train station. As well as super close to Springfest. It was perfect!


97%

Very nice hostel and great value for the cost. As a side note I didn't think the breakfast was very good (not worth 7 eur)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Hope to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe. Best, Toni

74%

There was no free breakfast or towel even though I paid 38 euro per night for a 12 person room (which was way more than others in our room paid--we were definitely overcharged). Not a great value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for your review. We have daily rates so the price change during special periods or for example also the weekends. Actually you only pay a 1 Euro fee for the towel. Hope to welcome you again in one our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe. Best, Toni

100%

I was only in Germany to visit the Dachau and learn more about German history but the two days I was there was the most magnificent two days ever, I arrived pretty early to the hostel but being able to put my luggage and grab something and just hang out was so lovely. The staff was more than helpful! The tram was very close and the city centre was only a 20 minute walk. It does not feel like a hostel at all. Honestly, I fell in love with Germany this weekend, all thanks to the Meininger :)

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thank you so much for your review. With your lovely words you put a smile on all our faces. We are so happy you had such an amazing time. It seems like you are back in Germany soon and we can´t wait to welcome you again. Take care! Best, Toni

83%

We came over during the peak period with lots of school children. Very noisy even after the quiet down period.


63%

the room itself was nice and spacious but no upper bunk wall plug ins. i stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm and one night they overbooked our room which resulted in a 5th guy coming into our room 3 times around 4:30 am confused and woke us up every time. depending on who you get at the desk they're either really friendly or really unhelpful kitchen was poorly taken care of with very few amenities like no paper towel or olive oil however, walk is decent to main square and room with a view is lovely

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for your review. We are really sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. We always try to offer you the best service and of course not to overbook a room especially not during the night but mistakes happen unfortunately. Also for the guestkitchen you can always ask at the reception if you need some other equipment. Hope to see you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe. Best, Toni

77%

Very small kitchen with limited facilities. Good size rooms and very near public transport options.


74%

The hostel is about 15 mins walk from the Main railway station, 5 mins walk to the local station. The staffs are pleasant. The facilities are as expected for the price quoted. Though the kitchen is a bit small for the whole hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels. Best, Toni

86%

Good to stay if arrived by bus... But need 15 min to walk to railway station and half an hour to the city centre. Others ar good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for your review. Our is pretty close to the public transportation. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel that takes you in 5 minutes to the beginning of the city center and it also works the whole night. Hope to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe. Best, Toni

80%

My review might not be helpful as the hostel was under construction during my stay. Hopefully it will improve. Rooms were clean and staff was great, but there was only one elevator that held 4 people at most and only one washer and dryer for the entire hostel, so do laundry early or expect to wait a few hours. Some rooms have better wifi connection than others. Decent experience nonetheless, nothing terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again to show you the results of our constructions. Best, Toni

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(110 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback