X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3663 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very spacious bunks, and great bathrooms. Liked having a kitchen even though it wasn't very well equipped, it had all the necessities. Staff were friendly. We missed our flight in the evening, and flew in the next morning and they held our beds for us so that we could checkin the next morning as soon as we arrived!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for the review. We´re glad you had enjoy your stay. Hope to welcome you again any time in the future in one of our MEININGER Hotels all over Europe. Best, Alex

83%

Staff was exceedingly patient with my numerous queries and many times went the extra mile to suggest places i could visit or things i could do in Munich. I really appreciate their recommendations! The Augustiner Beer Hall just opposite the Hotel is worth a visit too, i think the Hotel could play up the fact that one of Munich's biggest beer halls(?) is located just opposite them. Could also consider selling alcohol at the counter (normal procedure for most of the day, until the evening).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We will pass the compliments on to our staff. We do sell alcohol at night as well but only in the bar and not at the reception anymore. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Alex

74%

WAY TOO TIGHT WITH THEIR LITTLE RULES ON EVERTHING. WAS NOT ALLOWED TO OPEN DOOR IN THE ROOM AND WAS NOT ABLE TO OPEN DE WINDOWS MORE THEN A LITTLE BIT. UNSATIFIED WITH ALL THE LITTLE RULES THEY MADE. THIS BESIDE THE FACT I GAVE THEM A "GOOD" RATING.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're sorry you didn't like our little rules. They are there for the safety of our guests (eg. the door in the room you're not allowed to open is an emergency exit). We hope you enjoyed your stay in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

60%

I liked it there. If they manage to fix the windows so it's possible to close them and you don't hear absolutely everything that is going on in the streets. The beds were decent and they clean well everyday. The thing I liked the least was the breakfast (poor and expensive). My stay was alright anyway, I would repeat if the price was a bit lower.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Safe travels, Alex

100%

Very spacious room, with very clean and well sized bathroom and shower. Close to the train station, so it was easy to do day trips to surrounding areas. Only 1 stop away from the main station in Munich. Pretzels were 1 euro (not free)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks a lot for your great review! Hope to see you again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Cheers, Alex

100%

I though the hostel was excellent all round and made my 3 days in Munich very enjoyable. Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! Safe travels, Alex

89%

Nice place, but pretty big, so hard to have a good atmosphere, but would recommend! A good walk from the center, but close to the train station!


91%

WiFi doesn't connect everywhere in the hostel. I had to keep my phone away from me in the room so that it can catch the WiFi signals.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're sorry the WiFi signal was a bit weak. We'll check that ;) Best wishes, Alex

83%

Really nice place to stay, within walking distance of the town centre and fantastically friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend!

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your nice review. We'll pass the compliments on to our staff. Best wishes, Alex

63%

Not a fan of this hostel, but I guess it's focused more towards budget family holidays instead of lone travellers like myself. City centre not really in walking distance but there's a team pretty much right outside the door. Breakfast was good though, I paid €5.90 so I ate enough for breakfast and lunch each day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay as much. Did you visit our Bar? It's a great place to meet fellow travellers. Hope you enjoyed Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

57%

We had a tough time there. Before se arrived,the staff told US they could receive our Bundesliga tickets for us, but they didn't and we lost 200 euros. Also, onde night someone got inside our room and stole our roomate's ipad. Finally, on our last night, the power went out in the kitchen, so se couldn't use it - the only thing the staff did was light up some candles. We wouldn't stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're always happy to accept our guest mail but we don't take responsibility for delivery time. To this day we haven't reveived your tickets. Since you were sleeping in a dormitory it's quite normal that your roommates are entering the room day and night. Concerning your Ipad we checked the dooropenings and nobody but people staying in that room entered. Therefore we asked your roommate to file a report at the local police station which he didn't want to do. Best wishes, Alex

51%

Pros: 15min walk from the main station. cons: Everything else. - shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks for your review. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay too much. We hope you had a good time in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

54%

The rooms needed aeration it was too suffocating to stay in the rooms. The wifi was sometimes working sometimes not. Close to the tram but far from everything needed to take tram to get everywhere, even though it's called meininger city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay here. Sometimes the WiFi slowes a bit down when many people are using it, but usually it is pretty stabil. Best wishes, Alex

86%

Be nice if the bar opened up before 2000. Little bit of a walk to main train stn but not bad. Overall, I was happy with what I got for what I paid. Thanks for the stay!

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for staying with us! Safe travels, Alex

94%

The staff at Meninger Hostel is really friendly and welcoming. I had the perfect stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your perfect review! Hope to see you again soon :) Cheers, Alex

100%

we ask for a change of room and receive a large room with alaarge windows quiet,very nice and invested,garage possible it was very practical the all staff was smiling and helpful ,and when I lost my cell phone in the garage they waited us and we receive it back I highly recommand this hostel

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for your nice review. We'll pass the compliments on to our staff. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

89%

good hostel!! I want to use WiFi in my room. it took 10 min to the station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your great review. We're looking forward to your next visit of one of the many MEININGER hotels all around Europe. Safe travels, Alex

77%

Over all place was pretty good, easy to find, just a train away from the center. Breakfast was a little pricy but the free pretzels were nice. The bar across the street kinda makes it though. I'd recommend going there if you choose to stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Best wishes, Alex

97%

Great place to stay, clean and very new facilities.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your great review. We hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER hotels all around Europe. Best wishes, Alex

71%

We stayed for only one night, but we arrived at 10 pm and the Augustiner bar across the street was not open anymore either the hostel bar. So we arrived on the "beer capital" without a possibility to drink a good beer. There was only some long necks beer in the hostel fridge and very priced. The pool table was far from excited because the large size of the holes and the dart was broken. Apart from these items we loved the stay as if we stayed in a regular hotel not in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't get the chance to drink beer properly while staying here. Our bar is every day open until midnight (at least). Only at very rare occasions we have to leave the bar closed due to unexpected illness of our staff. The Augustiner brewery is always open til 11.30 pm. If both of those options are closed ask our staff for a nice bar. They are more than happy to help you with that :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(118 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback