X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3699 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Pros: 15min walk from the main station. cons: Everything else. - shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks for your review. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay too much. We hope you had a good time in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

54%

The rooms needed aeration it was too suffocating to stay in the rooms. The wifi was sometimes working sometimes not. Close to the tram but far from everything needed to take tram to get everywhere, even though it's called meininger city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay here. Sometimes the WiFi slowes a bit down when many people are using it, but usually it is pretty stabil. Best wishes, Alex

86%

Be nice if the bar opened up before 2000. Little bit of a walk to main train stn but not bad. Overall, I was happy with what I got for what I paid. Thanks for the stay!

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for staying with us! Safe travels, Alex

94%

The staff at Meninger Hostel is really friendly and welcoming. I had the perfect stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your perfect review! Hope to see you again soon :) Cheers, Alex

100%

we ask for a change of room and receive a large room with alaarge windows quiet,very nice and invested,garage possible it was very practical the all staff was smiling and helpful ,and when I lost my cell phone in the garage they waited us and we receive it back I highly recommand this hostel

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for your nice review. We'll pass the compliments on to our staff. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

89%

good hostel!! I want to use WiFi in my room. it took 10 min to the station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your great review. We're looking forward to your next visit of one of the many MEININGER hotels all around Europe. Safe travels, Alex

77%

Over all place was pretty good, easy to find, just a train away from the center. Breakfast was a little pricy but the free pretzels were nice. The bar across the street kinda makes it though. I'd recommend going there if you choose to stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Best wishes, Alex

97%

Great place to stay, clean and very new facilities.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your great review. We hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER hotels all around Europe. Best wishes, Alex

71%

We stayed for only one night, but we arrived at 10 pm and the Augustiner bar across the street was not open anymore either the hostel bar. So we arrived on the "beer capital" without a possibility to drink a good beer. There was only some long necks beer in the hostel fridge and very priced. The pool table was far from excited because the large size of the holes and the dart was broken. Apart from these items we loved the stay as if we stayed in a regular hotel not in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't get the chance to drink beer properly while staying here. Our bar is every day open until midnight (at least). Only at very rare occasions we have to leave the bar closed due to unexpected illness of our staff. The Augustiner brewery is always open til 11.30 pm. If both of those options are closed ask our staff for a nice bar. They are more than happy to help you with that :)

86%

Such a great location, right across from a great beer hall for beer and food. Very clean hostel but staff could be friendlier.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Best wishes, Alex

69%

no individual socket and not that clean and bright

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We have lots of sockets in the lobby area, the gameroom and the bar. We hope you enjoyed your stay here in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

100%

Great place to stay. Felt very comfortable and safe there and would recommend this place to everyone. Very clean and great atmosphere. Staff are fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks a lot for your great review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Cheers, Alex

97%

The staff was very kind, the people staying in my room were great. The bar is nice and the location is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your nice review. We're glad you hear you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

86%

Felix is really helpful. I wish we had time to thank him. I slept well and made good friends here. It is a good hostel with average breakfast option. I would recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We'll pass the compliments on to Felix. Hope to see you again next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

86%

Very good hostel. The room and the bathroom were very clean ... If I will visit Munich again, I will book in this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your kind review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will stay here again :) Looking forward to your next visit. Cheers, Alex

71%

Rooms were too hot and too cramped. Nice otherwise

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for choosing MEININGER and taking the time to write this review. The rooms were too hot? You're sure you were in Munich? It was freezing the last couple of weeks ;) You can always turn down the heating in the rooms and if you have a private room you can also ask for a key to open the windows completely. Hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe :) Cheers, Alex

77%

Locker was small for me, but it was clean and looked new.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you were able to fit all your belongings in the locker anyways :) Best wishes, Alex

60%

Breakfast is pretty steap but it's good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. I'll pass the compliments on to our breakfast staff. Take care, Alex

83%

Staff were friendly, the breakfast was great and the location was good: very close access to two of the major train stations. The cleaners could have been a little bit better, as there was a constant bad smell in my room, and the bathroom was not cleaned very well either. Apart from that, this is a very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We're sorry to hear about the cleaning issues, we'll keep a closer eye on the bathrooms in dormitories. But sometimes they're in use which makes it difficult to clean them proberly. We hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Cheers, Alex

100%

The staff was incredibly helpful and polite. I look forward to my next stay with Meininger.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your kind review. Will pass the compliments on to the staff and we're looking forward to your next visit :) Cheers, Alex

(109 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback