X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3463 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The staff are not helpful. There just has one small elevator, so you need to wait a long time. There has a kitchen but not well equipped, you cannot find kettle in the Kitchen. Actually, you just can use the refrigerator and micro-oven. And the kitchen is dirty condition all the time....The locker in room was broken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for writing this review. We're sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay here. Concerning the kitchen we clean it twice a day and we check that there is enough equipment to use. But somehow this seems to disappear faster than we're able to replace it... :( Concerning the locker I'll send our caretaker to your room as soon as possible to check the lockers. Nest time just let reception staff know and we can fix it right away.

74%

This hostel was just okay. Our dorm room was really cramped, too many beds in the room. The bar downstairs was averagely priced and only opened at 8, and was never full. The kitchen was okay, however a lack of frypans and it being so dirty it wasn't useable every morning kind of ruined it. It was also a pretty hefty walk from the centre of town, trams were frequent though. An okay place to stay, but I'd consider somewhere else first.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. Our biggest room is a 12 bed room, which is split up into 2 seperate rooms with 2 bathrooms. We clean our guest kitchen twice a day, once in the late morning and once at night. But still we rely on people using it to clean it up afterwards, because we can't check it more often than that. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Munich anyways.

94%

I was travelling around the world, and was is a VERY NICE SURPISE to know that kind of hostel, diferent, quiet, cheap... You are mi favourite place to stay!!!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your really nice review. We're happy about that. If you liked us also check out the other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Safe travels

80%

The room provided to us (3 adults) was cramped. One towel provided per person. Pull-out sofa was just OK. But, good value for money considering how expensive accommodations are in München.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Munich.

80%

Breakfast was overpriced. Staff at reception were friendly but a bit slow.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We will forward your compliments to the staff. We offer additional breakfast for 5,90EUR which includes coffee, juice, tea, milk, fruit, different kinds of bread, conflakes, musli, joghurt, ham, cheese, jam... Hope you'll visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

57%

They don't have a kitchen with basics (pan, toast, boiler...). And even if you put your name in your food they'll throw it away. The bathrooms was not clean, even after they clean it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. We have a guest kitchen which we try to keep it as well equipped as possible. But somehow the things in there disappear quicker as we can replace them. We only throw food out of the guestkitchen fridge which isn't labeled correctly (name, room number, date of departure). We're sorry about the mistake we made concerning your food. Hope you had a good time in Munich anyways.

77%

Near Bus Station (500mt). Near market (Lidl is inside the Bus Station). Near oktoberfest (1,3Km). Big Lounge. Magnetic Badge. City Map. Bar. Game room. Huge luggage room with many shelves. One Small lift for 6 Floor (!). Two Washroom/toilet for 12 bed. Bed linen without elastic (pain when you need to make a bed, especially if is the upper). No light at bed. Only 1 AC plug in room. 1 small Kitchen (good for newlyweds not for a hostel). a few AC plug in lounge. WiFi not in room and sloooooooooow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and your review. We hope you enjoyed Munich. Make dure to visit us again next time you're here. Cheers

74%

Wifi signal was really poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and writing this review. We're sorry the wifi signal wasn't as good as it usually is when you where here. Sometimes when too many people go online at the same time it slows down a little bit but usually it's running pretty well.

100%

Cool place. The staff are really cool and friendly. Would stay there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your very nice review. I'll pass it on to our staff! Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels

83%

Located close to the ZOB Hackenbrücke in a walking distance from the city center. I was satisfied with cleanliness in the room, but it the guest kitchen was quite untidy. Kitchen should be definitely far more better equipped, one glass, three pots and no mugs are really not enough for such hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and your review. We're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with our guest kitchen. We check it twice a day (once in the morning and once in the evening) to make sure that it is cleaned after most people had breakfast/cooked dinner in there. Between these times we rely on everybody using the kitchen to keep it clean. Hope you enjoyed your stay here anyways. Safe travels

86%

It was very cold at nigh no lockers in the room, but you can rent one for 5 euro deposit

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We're sorry it was cold at night. Did you try to turn on the heating? If it happens again please ask our staff at the reception they will happily help you. Best wishes

60%

Wifi is almost non existing, impossible to connect or very very slow at best, it is not in the city center, further than the main train station, but nice overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We're sorry the wifi was slow when you were here. We just updated our Wifi System a couple of month ago and only had few complaints so far. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes

71%

Computer terminal usage should be free. Good location. Friendly staff. An upgrade of the elevator is certainly warranted. Not the best hostel I've stayed at, but certainly not the worst.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We offer free Wifi and soley charge a little fee for the usage of the terminals. I'll pass the nice words about the staff on to them. Best wishes

69%

This place is really close by to the train station. It is moreso like a hotel that is converted to a hostel, about 6 floors with a couple rooms on each. So it's a little difficult to meet other travelers (maybe they cater more to larger groups than solo/small groups). The staff was really nice- but I think they need more help at the front desk. There is usually only one person who is checking in/out people, answering questions and acting as the barista. So it may take a while to get assistance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks for staying with us and your review. Hope you had a good time in Munich. Best wishes!

54%

It's bad hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thank you for staying with us and your comment. It would be great if you could give us a little more detail what you didn't like about your stay here, so that we can think about how to make it better. Best wishes

89%

Very good breakfast. Clean and comfortable with a refreshingly good shower! Very good WiFi facilities. The only problem with the location was that there was a lot of loud music coming from outside our window, presumably from a nightclub or something similar. good location, just a few stops on the tram that is right outside and you are in town. If you want a big party hostel it might not be the right place. We were in a 8 bed dorm that was split with internal doors into two rooms of 4.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you enjoyed staying here! There are lots of other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe, make sure to visit them if you get the chance :) Safe travels!

86%

perfect security and clean but the problem is location. it was very close to ZOB, but far from HBF i think

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your comment. We're located just around the corner from the ZOB and a 10min walk from the HBF. There is also a Tram running from the HBF to us which only takes 5mins. Hope to see you again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Best wishes!

94%

I was supposed to be in a 10 bed and I got bumped up to a 4 bed. Score!!! The room was exceptionally clean and the bathroom is really nice. The bar is empty but that's because the hostel is right across from the Augustiner brau haus and no one can compete with them--amazing beer and food. The staff was extremely helpful and informative. I have no complaints and would definitely stay here again!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We're happy you liked it here. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers!

97%

I stayed in this hostel for couple of days and during that time the staff were really helpful and the rooms were pretty clean. I really liked that it was close to everything. I could walk to most places which I really liked.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for your stay with us and the nice review. Hope to welcome you soon in one of our MEININGER HOTELS in Europe. Best, Alex

80%

This is a big chain hotel/hostel catering to young people. They are obviously into it for the money, so this is not exactly a budget hostel. That being said it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and they did have a pool table and fusball table for the kids, and a bar staffed with competent help for the older kids. It was quiet at night when I was there-just after O-Fest. Easy access to transportation. 10 minute walk from O-Fest grounds. A good interesting mix of kids staying there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thank you for staying with us and your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and the mixure of our guests. If you liked it here in Munich also check out other MEININGER Hotels around Europe. Best wishes

(130 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback