X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3175 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Hostel was overall good with no problems.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your comment. We're happy to hear you were satisfied with your stay here. Make sure to also visit other MEININGER Hotels around Europe if you get the chance to :) Take care, Alex

51%

The common area was always full with loud music. The kitchen was extremely small (silverware, pots and pans were minimal for use). The hostel advertised both a walkout patio and washer/dryer however the door was always locked (early May) and the washer/dryer was no where to be found. Two of our three beds did not have clean sheets and the restroom was always very unclean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and writing this comment. We're sorry to hear you couldn't find the laundry room, it's located in the basement and you can use it 24/7. Also the patio was probably closed because it wasn't warm enough, but you can always ask our staff and we will open it for you anyways. Hope you had a good time in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

69%

The only complaints I would have are that it was hard to meet new people in the lobby/lounge area- it wasn't very social, and that only 1 of the 4 lights in the bathroom worked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for the review. The MEININGER staff likes to help you out wherever they can. Though if you have any issues like the one with the lights feel free to talk to us and we will take care of it. Have a nice travel.

91%

Very very clean. The staff is very kind and helpful. Breakfast €5.9, I didn't try it. It has a great restaurant in front of it, don't miss it. I would definitively recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for staying with us and your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Safe travels! Alex

86%

Really good location for octoberfest and the main bus stop although a bit far from the main train station and downtown. Beds were comfy, everything was clean and lockers were provided. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for your comment! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you again here in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

100%

I love munich city center!! Everything is perfact! That's AMAZING!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Munich and hope to see you anytime soon in one of the 16 MEININGER.

60%

The room is dirty and the shower room is clogged. internet did work in rooms neither

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for your honest feedback! This means a lot to us as only with your help we can realize what we have to work on in order to improve our product. I understand your dissatisfaction and I really regret that you are not satisfied with our service, please excuse this. We will talk to our housekeeping staff about your complaint. I hope you enjoyed Munich anyways. Safe travels, Alex

29%

The room together with the bathroom are dirty. The toilet is always in lack of toilet paper and shower gel. The location is not that convenient for budget travellers as one has to walk 20 to 25 minutes to the central station and even 30 to 35 minutes to the city centre. (Actually you can take tram to the HBF but it costs.)

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you very much for your honest comment. This gives us the chance to improve our service. I'm sorry your room wasn't to your satisfaction. I will talk to our housekeeping abaout your complaints. To get to the city center you can also take an S-Bahn. The next station is only 5 minutes away and it's simply a 5min train ride. I hope you enjoyed Munich and would love to welcome you again in one of our other MEININGER Hotels around Europe. Regards, Alex

80%

Everything was quite ok...but I dont think it's fair that the third bed it's a sofa...I was there in a room for three people whit two friends and one of us had to sleep in a couch? 45 € to sleep in a couch is not what we had in mind when we booked a triple room...We asked at the rception desk and they told us all triple rooms were the same...I think you should cash as a twin room or say you only get two beds anyway...We were totally disaponted with this!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write this review. The couch in the three bed room is a regular sleeping couch which is way we offer it as a bed. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

80%

The hostel is not entirely central, but still within walking distance of all major attractions. In addition, it is across the street from a nice beer hall, which is a plus. I would recommend this hostel as a good budget option in Munich.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comment. We're happy to hear you were satisfied with your stay here. Make sure you visit us again next time you're in Munich :) Cheers, Alex

97%

Stayed here on a Saturday and Sunday night in an 8 person dorm room Pros --bedroom and toilets were very clean --Big storage lockers for only 1 € --Right across the street from a great beer hall --Bar, nice lounge area with lots of power outlets --strong wifi throughout building --building is very clean/decorated so it attractes good people and families --10 min wall from main train station Cons --Breakfast, while good, not included in price Recommended if you are looking for a safe hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your comment! Great to hear you overall were satisfied with our services. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

91%

I really enjoyed my stay at Meininger. Though the walk was a little for to the city centre, the closeness to the train station made up for it. I stayed in a 6 female dorm and really liked that there was a shower/sink room and a toilet/sink room instead of one room with a shower/sink/toilet. This made getting ready in the morning easier and more efficient. The room and bathroom were very clean. The staff was friendly enough. Overall I would stay here again if I go back to Munich!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your kind comment! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and the separeted toilet and shower room. It would be great to see you again in on of the MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Take care, Alex

80%

First off the hostel staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. Location while not bang smack in the middle of town is about a 15min walk if your pulling luggage, there is a tram stop right outside and I would recommend this over taxis as they take long routes to get very short distances. Luggage room seemed pretty secure and the wifi was the best I used in any place during the trip. However the beds + pillows are terrible all four of us woke with bad backs and a bad nights sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your nice comment! We're glad you enjoyed you stay here and I will pass the compliments on to the rest of the staff! Visit us again in any of the 16 MEININGER Hotels around Europe. Cheers, Alex

83%

My stay was great, I stayed at the Munich location because I'd previously had such a wonderful experience at the Berlin location. The only issues were there weren't enough outlets for everyone in the room and my duvet slipped out of its cover and i could see that it was very dirty. Staff at the front desk were mediocre with the exception of one young lady who checked us in late and was wonderful! Also, one bathroom is not really enough for 6 people.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time and writing this review! If you liked the MEININGER Hotel in Berlin and Munich, also visit the other 14 all around Europe :) Safe travels, Alex

69%

Okay place, not sure that I'd recommend it though mostly because I got food poisoning from the buffet breakfast so beware!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear that you got food poisoning while you were in Munich. We always make sure that all our food is proberly stored and hasn't expired. Therefore it would be helpful if you could send us an e-mail with more details to why you believe you felt ill. I hope we can solve the situation that way. Take care, Alex

74%

Hostel should put directions how to get there from the main train station!! In case they don't Look for Bayer Strasse (to your right as you are heading out of the station) then walk for 20 minutes until it turns into Landsberger strasse. Or take tram 19 but don't know what station you need to get off at. Hostel staff was great. Bathroom wasn't cleaned even though I mentioned it to reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review! To get to us you can either take Tram 18 or 19 and get off at Holzapfelstrasse or you catch a S-Bahn and get off at Hackerbrücke. I'm sorry to hear your bathroom wasn't clean enough, I will talk to to housekeeping staff about your complaint. Hope you will visit us again next time you're in Munich. Regards, Alex

71%

Location good for the bus station and its not actually as far away from the train station as they suggest if you walk at a decent pace. Facility wise its all what you would expect from a modern chain hostel, does attract a stag-do crowd at which can make it more difficult to meet people at weekends but I still managed. :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay here and didn't think the walk to the train station was too long :) Make sure you visit us again next time you visit Munich! Cheers, Alex

31%

This hostel attracts the type of crowd who likes to have beer and cigarettes for breakfast. If you're one of them, you'll fit right in. If not, you probably will feel uncomfortable for most of your stay like I did. My roommates were also disagreeable. When I arrived, one man had his stuff in every corner of the room so that I wasn't sure which bed was mine or if it was clean. That night, two other people in the room had a loud verbal argument that went in circles.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and writing this comment. We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay here. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

74%

Wasn't bad, a little expensive. There was a huge group of drunk british guys making a lot of noise the whole weekend, but overall, not a bad hostel. It was nice to have the bar and cafe downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comment. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated bar and lobby area. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

94%

Very impressed by the cleanliness of the facilities and enjoyed the ensuite bathroom! It is a great location from the bus station, was very secure and had the most comfortable bedding I have ever experienced in a hostel. Booked a 14 person dorm but was pleasantly surprised to find it was split into two smaller 8-person dorms. Would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for your great review! We would definitely like to welcome you here in Munich again :) Take care, Alex

(93 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback