X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3460 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Stayed here during Oktoberfest so the cost was painful (~$125 USD a night in a 12 bed room, Mon-Thurs), but otherwise was a pretty good hostel. 2 private bathrooms for the 12 bed dorm, which isn't bad. The room was also really split into two rooms (there's a door in the first room that leads to the second with 6 beds in each). The location doesn't get any better if you are staying here for Oktoberfest, a 5 minute walk from the train and 5 more minutes to the Theresienwiese.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We know prices go up a bit during Oktoberfest in all of Munich. But we're glad you enjoyed staying here anyways and were satisfied with our service. Would be great to welcome you back again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels in the future :) Cheers, Alex

100%

The hostel has clean, spacious bathrooms with enclosed showers. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, very close to the central train station, only 2 blocks or so from an express train to the airport, 2 blocks from the walking bridge to the Oktoberfest grounds, offers free walking tours, and is directly across the street from the Augustine beer hall which has the best beer in Munich! Just an amazing place and location. Totally worth the price to be that close to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you a lot for your comment! We're glad you enjoyed staying here! If you get the chance also visit other MEININGER Hotels. They are all around Europe ;) Safe travels, Alex

83%

good place to stay for Oktoberfest since it's an easy walk. very clean facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and the Oktoberfest :) Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

94%

Was a great stay. Stayed with my boyfriend here during Oktoberfest. We originally had paid for the 10 bed dorm but they upgraded us to a 4 bed dorm, which was awesome. Room, bed, shower snd toilet were all very clean. Will stay again if ever in munich. MUST GO TO BREWERY ACROSS THE ROAD... ITS AWESOME!

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks a lot for your review! We're happy you enjoyed staying with us during Oktoberfest! See you hopefully soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Cheers, Alex

94%

Great all round experience. Cheers!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
T-H-A-N-K Y-O-U!!!

83%

Really loved the atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your comment! We're happy you enjoyed staying here and the atmosphere in our hotel. It would be nice to see you again next time you're in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

89%

The hostel is in a good location just central downtown close to the oktoberfest , we got upgraded from a dorm to a private ensuite. The staff were nice and the facilities were clean. The bar area was a good area to meet people and socialize and the crowd was young and vibrant. The proximity to the metro was great and also the main central train station making it accessible. I didn't notice any pub crawl events but during oktoberfest all eyes are to the grounds

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and writing this review. We're happy you enjoyed the upgrade and the newly renovated bar area. Make sure to visit us again next time your're in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

89%

Meinenger Munich is located within walking distance of the train station and caters to all types of guests. Many people were kicking off Oktoberfest during the evening hours, but that did not detract from the ability to get a good night of sleep. The WiFi was outstanding, and the rooms are of good size and well appointed. My only complaint is the placement of double beds too close together. Bunks are much preferred. I would definitely stay at this hostel again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and would love to welcome you again soon :) Safe travels, Alex

89%

Not far from city center, nice bar on the first floor. As an advice, it gets really expensive during Oktoberfest.


71%

Not really "in the heart of Munich", it's a bit outside of the heart. 10 euros for late checking is too much. Slowest elevator in the world. The room was noisy (directly on a big street) and not very well organised. Overall ok but a bit overpriced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. Safe travels, Alex

71%

I reserved a bed in girl's dorm for 3 nights, and in the 2nd night a man walked in the dorm while there was only me that night. In the 3rd day morning I confirmed with hostel. Hostel apologized for the mistake made, promised to arrange another room for that man, while I could still stay in the same room. But at last it turned out I needed to move to another room because two other men already check-in the room already. I wish hostel can be careful on this point for other guests in future.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. We're sorry there was some confusion with your booking, but I can asure you we take it very seriously that girls who book a female dormitory are in a female dormitory. I'm really sorry about what happened. Visit us in one of the many MEININGER Hotels around Europe and we will show you that we can do better :) Safe travels, Alex

51%

The atmosphere was horrible. Fellow travelors were extremely inconsiderate of one another. I stayed there five days so it wasn't just a bad first impression. It felt like they hid the kitchen so people would have to buy their stuff, not to mention it was ill equiped. But I think that might be because people keep stealing stuff. Not cool. Like, really, why would you? Like I said people are very inconciderate of each other.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey , sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay, we are sorry for this experience. Many greetings from Munich and we hope to see you again nevertheless here or any other MEININGER Hotel Alex

97%

One of the best hostels I've ever been! Excelent staff (helped a lot), location. Large and comfortable bedrooms. Great breakfest - worth the price. And you get a discount in the next stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for your nice review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon... with the discount :) Cheers, Alex

91%

Close to the train station and Marienplazt. Good location clean room. but the toilet is a little bit small. overall is good,recommand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here! We're hoping to see you again in the future in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Safe travels, Alex

69%

Overall a good hostel, but there are no lockers in some of the dorm rooms! It's also quite far from the city centre, and about a 10 minute wall from the main train station (wombats is about a 1 min walk, I passed about 15 hostels on the way to meininger). Also my room was a 4 bed dorm which consisted of one set of bunks and a double bed which was strange. Good wifi, nice bathrooms and clean. Staff helpful and gave a map on checkin which was nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for staying with us and writing this review. We do have some rooms without lockers, but you can still use one of the ones in the lobby area for your valuables. We're located right next to ZOB and only a 10min walk away from the central train station. And you're in only 10min in the city center if you take the S-Bahn located right around the corner. I hope you had a good time in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

43%

I had a bad experience with this hostel, they don´t arrange the beds in the top, and they should notice this information, because I arrived very late at night, with my girlfriend, and was quite annoying for the other when I was organizing it.(Later I figured out that this is not contracted the cleaning/organizing of top The breakfast is not a good value for the money, Not recommended. I asked to be moved from room, the other rooms (2) were completely dirty, housekeeping is not good at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and your feedback. Concerning the top beds in 12-bed dormitories we're not doing the top beds due to hygenic reasons. Also when staying in a dormitory and arriving late at night, people are usually already in the room, therefore it is likly that it doesn't look freshly cleaned. I hpe you enjoyed your time in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

97%

Great place, friendly staff. Location just 10 minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof. Can't really say anything bad about it, yes the locker was too small for my big rucksack but I've never known anyone want to steal my dirty laundry so it wasn't really a problem. I was very impressed by all aspects of it and will return if I'm in Munich

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed staying here. We would love to welcome you again next time you're in Munich. Or visit one of the many other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe :) Safe travels, Alex

91%

It is perfect for 2 days in munich. Clean, quite, convenient location. Friendliness and helpful staffs. I like the kitchen and table outside for dinner/breakfast. And there is washing room. Value for money

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for staying with us and writing this review. We're happy you enjoed your time in Munich. We would like to welcome you again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels around Europe. Best wishes, Alex

49%

Moldy breakfast that you had to pay for, non friendly staff, unwelcoming building with cold atmosphere. No lockers, just a big stoarge room for everyones stuff. It was clean and had nice beds however. The rest was very cut and dry and not comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your stay here. We have lockers in most of our dormitories. For people who don't have a locker in the room we have some lockers in the lobby area where you can store your valuables safely. We hope you enjoyed Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

94%

Really close(1km) to the the Hackebrücke and the bus stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your reply. Yes, we're very close to Hackerbrücke and the ZBO. It's round about a 7min walk. I hope you had a great time in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

(130 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback