X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3636 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Wifi poor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we sorry to hear the wifi wasn't working properly when you were staying here. We fixed the problem and it is running smoothly again. Hope you enjoyed your stay anyways :) Best wishes, Alex

89%

I had an enjoyable stay at the Meinenger. My suggestion for others is to arrive early because beds are chosen on a first come first serve status.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks for your nice comment. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels, Alex

69%

"City Center" is a very loose use of the phrase. Definitely not a hostel culture type place. Internet was terrible both in room and in the lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're only a 10min walk away from the train station and another 10 minutes and your in the city center. Taking the public transportation it only takes about 10min to get to Marienplatz. we sorry to hear the wifi wasn't working properly when you were staying here. We fixed the problem and it is running smoothly again. Hope you enjoyed your stay anyways :) Best wishes, Alex

60%

Internet Facilities were not good at all

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we sorry to hear the internet wasn't working properly when you were staying here. We fixed the problem and it is running smoothly again. Hope you enjoyed your stay anyways :) Best wishes, Alex

54%

kitchen was absolutely filthy - only cleaned once during our stay of 3 nights. Guests were doing their washing up but the floors, benches and table were always dirty. There wasn't even a frying pan, no toaster and only four bowls - crazy when you consider that this is a 6 floor hostel/hotel. The wifi almost never worked for anyone - maybe for 20 every half hour you could load a page. Hopeless! our dorm stank like old shoes and armpits. Avoid!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, what a pity that you found our guest kitchen in such a state. We do clean it twice a day, in the morning and in the evening. Unfortunately not every one leaves the kitchen, the way it should be. Some people also take out plates, bowles etc. to their rooms. In that case you can always aks for fresh things at the reception. As there is always someone, we can provide everything 24/7. We hope to get a second chance to show you we can do better. Best wishes, Alex

63%

Good location for oktoberfest/if you are coming into town by bus. Check out is at 10, but I was woken up by the cleaning ladies at 9 and then they just stood there and watched me to get out of bed and move my things so that they could take the bedding. Cleaning should start at 10. There's a reason for setting a check out time!!!! I never got to use the ensuite either because someone was always in it, so I just went all the way down to the lobby. Major body odor smell in rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and writing this review. We're really sorry about the situation with our cleaning staff. We will talk to them immediately to ensure that something like that doesn't happen again. Hope you enjoyed your stay anyways. Cheers, Alex

63%

guest kicken very dirty..i disappoint.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thank you for your review. We're sorry you weren't satisfies with our guest kitchen. Our staff cleans the guest kitchen twice every day. In between those times we rely on our guests to clean up their messes. Hope you enjoyed your time in Munich anyways. Best wishes

71%

Decent place. Location is alright but not great, walking distance to a supermarket and the central train station. Staff are friendly, though not overly-so. Very clean, comfy beds. Bathrooms in every room, with good showers; however, the kitchen is poorly stocked, with no chef's knives, frying pans, or even basic cooking necessities like oil, salt, or pepper. Atmosphere was crappy, with a lot of elementary school students running around and the bar always empty. Internet is very spotty as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. Hope you enjoyed your time in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

100%

Everything was great. Good location, clean rooms and friendly staff

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your awesome rating and review. We hope to see you again soon in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe! Safe travels

69%

The Meininger could do with a little more 'home-feeling'. It is more like a hotel and not like a cosy hostel where you could feel at home. The dorms don't have little lights for each bed. This is a nuisance if you come back late at night and don't want to wake up anybody. Take a torch. It would be great if the Meininger would install bedsite lamps.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for staying with us and writing this review. Thanks for your tip with the bedside lamps. We actually do have them in most of our dormitories, but it appears one must have slipped from our side. We will check that asap. :) We hope you enjoyed your stay in Munich anyways.

89%

Hostel is very clean and nice.Very close to public transports and in front of Augustiner brewery :) The only thing i didn't like is the price of breakfast.In my opinion is too expensive even if were very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you had a good time here. You have the option to book breakfast for an extra of 5,90EUR. It is an all you can eat buffet with drinks, Conflakes, fruit and different kinds of bread, ham and cheese, jam.... and more. Hope to see you again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe.

80%

Although it was a slight inconvenience to be staying when there was contraction going on in the hostel, it was still a very enjoyable experience.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers!

89%

great hostel, staff very friendly and helpful. bar fun. no lockers in rooms though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your nice review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We have lockers in most of our rooms. If there are none in the room you can always use the ones at the reception. If you liked us also check out the MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Safe travels!

80%

Really nice staff and one of the cheapest Hotel I ever spend a night in so far.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Check out the Meininger Hotels in all over Europe! Cheers, Alex

91%

Such a great hostel oh man. Really nice rooms and so clean and comfy. Really nice location. The kitchen was a bit of a joke considering there's nothing in it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your awesome review. We're happy to hear you had a great time here. Concerning the kitchen we're always trying to keep it well equipped but sometimes the things seem to disappear quicker than we can replace them :/ We'll think about solution and hopefully find one :)

77%

The hostel has prime real estate. It's right by one of the Augustiner breweries and oldest restaurants in Munich - a must try. And it's just one stop away from the main train station. The only thing I didn't like about the place was that the lounge was right by the entrance/bar and smoking was very prominent. And because I was alone I was included with a group of 5 girls who stayed up really late and were really loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We're glad you liked our location and the Augustiner Brewery across the street. Hope to see you again in one of the many other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Cheers

86%

Felix was awesome and helped us find a tour we loved!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your stay with us and the nice review especially for Felix :) We hope to welcome you again in one of our Meininger Hotels all over Europe. Cheers, Alex

69%

The staff are not helpful. There just has one small elevator, so you need to wait a long time. There has a kitchen but not well equipped, you cannot find kettle in the Kitchen. Actually, you just can use the refrigerator and micro-oven. And the kitchen is dirty condition all the time....The locker in room was broken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for writing this review. We're sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay here. Concerning the kitchen we clean it twice a day and we check that there is enough equipment to use. But somehow this seems to disappear faster than we're able to replace it... :( Concerning the locker I'll send our caretaker to your room as soon as possible to check the lockers. Nest time just let reception staff know and we can fix it right away.

74%

This hostel was just okay. Our dorm room was really cramped, too many beds in the room. The bar downstairs was averagely priced and only opened at 8, and was never full. The kitchen was okay, however a lack of frypans and it being so dirty it wasn't useable every morning kind of ruined it. It was also a pretty hefty walk from the centre of town, trams were frequent though. An okay place to stay, but I'd consider somewhere else first.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. Our biggest room is a 12 bed room, which is split up into 2 seperate rooms with 2 bathrooms. We clean our guest kitchen twice a day, once in the late morning and once at night. But still we rely on people using it to clean it up afterwards, because we can't check it more often than that. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Munich anyways.

94%

I was travelling around the world, and was is a VERY NICE SURPISE to know that kind of hostel, diferent, quiet, cheap... You are mi favourite place to stay!!!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your really nice review. We're happy about that. If you liked us also check out the other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Safe travels

(136 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback