X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3429 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Close to the train station and Marienplazt. Good location clean room. but the toilet is a little bit small. overall is good,recommand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here! We're hoping to see you again in the future in one of the many MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Safe travels, Alex

69%

Overall a good hostel, but there are no lockers in some of the dorm rooms! It's also quite far from the city centre, and about a 10 minute wall from the main train station (wombats is about a 1 min walk, I passed about 15 hostels on the way to meininger). Also my room was a 4 bed dorm which consisted of one set of bunks and a double bed which was strange. Good wifi, nice bathrooms and clean. Staff helpful and gave a map on checkin which was nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for staying with us and writing this review. We do have some rooms without lockers, but you can still use one of the ones in the lobby area for your valuables. We're located right next to ZOB and only a 10min walk away from the central train station. And you're in only 10min in the city center if you take the S-Bahn located right around the corner. I hope you had a good time in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

43%

I had a bad experience with this hostel, they don´t arrange the beds in the top, and they should notice this information, because I arrived very late at night, with my girlfriend, and was quite annoying for the other when I was organizing it.(Later I figured out that this is not contracted the cleaning/organizing of top The breakfast is not a good value for the money, Not recommended. I asked to be moved from room, the other rooms (2) were completely dirty, housekeeping is not good at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and your feedback. Concerning the top beds in 12-bed dormitories we're not doing the top beds due to hygenic reasons. Also when staying in a dormitory and arriving late at night, people are usually already in the room, therefore it is likly that it doesn't look freshly cleaned. I hpe you enjoyed your time in Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

97%

Great place, friendly staff. Location just 10 minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof. Can't really say anything bad about it, yes the locker was too small for my big rucksack but I've never known anyone want to steal my dirty laundry so it wasn't really a problem. I was very impressed by all aspects of it and will return if I'm in Munich

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed staying here. We would love to welcome you again next time you're in Munich. Or visit one of the many other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe :) Safe travels, Alex

91%

It is perfect for 2 days in munich. Clean, quite, convenient location. Friendliness and helpful staffs. I like the kitchen and table outside for dinner/breakfast. And there is washing room. Value for money

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for staying with us and writing this review. We're happy you enjoed your time in Munich. We would like to welcome you again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels around Europe. Best wishes, Alex

49%

Moldy breakfast that you had to pay for, non friendly staff, unwelcoming building with cold atmosphere. No lockers, just a big stoarge room for everyones stuff. It was clean and had nice beds however. The rest was very cut and dry and not comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your stay here. We have lockers in most of our dormitories. For people who don't have a locker in the room we have some lockers in the lobby area where you can store your valuables safely. We hope you enjoyed Munich anyways. Best wishes, Alex

94%

Really close(1km) to the the Hackebrücke and the bus stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your reply. Yes, we're very close to Hackerbrücke and the ZBO. It's round about a 7min walk. I hope you had a great time in Munich. Best wishes, Alex

74%

Everything was near by. Except we found it difficult in finding a shop/supermarket for food, even in the centre of town. The staff were very nice and the kitchen had good facilities. However, our 12 person room did not have sufficient amount of plugs and the wifi didnt work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write this review. Glad to hear you enjoyed staying here. Did you know there is a supermarket right next to the S Bahn stop Hackerbrücke and the ZOB? It's only a 5min walk away from the hotel. Ask us again next time you're visiting us. We're happy to help! Safe travels, Alex

100%

OMG this hostel is great! You would never think your in Germany from how friendly the staff is! Can't remember there names but the people at the front desk are super nice and helpful! Very good locationl because its close to Marian Platz. Oh yeah.... Yoko is a babe!!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks a lot for the great rating and comment, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and really looking forward to see you again here or any other MEININGER in Europe, believe me all of our colleagues are this nice... Many greetings your YOKO ;)

97%

Wonderful hostel, I was only there for 1 night. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom, very friendly staff. Don't forget to push down hard on the door handles to the bedrooms. Very nice breakfast. I would come back here. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear thanks a lot for the rating and comment. THIS IS GREAT TO HEAR!!! Greetings Alex

77%

Much more of a hotel then a hostel so the facilities are nice but not much of a backpackers atmosphere at all. Very close to the main train station which is nice if you're just staying there one night as a stop over (like I did), but not a good location for an extended stay. Beer at their bar is pretty cheap for Munich standards. Pretty expensive for a hostel as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you very much for the comment. Alex

74%

Our 4 bed dorm had no lockers despite lockers being advertised. So that was a pain. The kitchen was well stocked but an absolute mess almost all the time due to unclean guests and staff presumably neglecting it. This hostel is a little bit more of a hike from the station than you might imagine, with suitcases or packs I might suggest getting the S-Bahn to Hackerbrucke. Still, a perfectly adequate hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear thank you very much for the nice comment. Many greetings Alex

77%

The 12-bed dorm I'd booked into was actually a pair of 6-bed dorms, so there was more privacy than I was expecting. Location is convenient for the railway station (10-minute walk), but city centre attractions are a bit further away. There is a great traditional Munich pub just across the road. If you are travelling alone the bar at Meininger can be a good place to meet fellow travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear thnaks a lot for the comment and really nice rating Alex from MEININGER Team Munich

46%

Our room was shocking. It was an 8 bed dorm which looked nothing like the photos. The lockers were tiny - our bags didn't fit in and considering we were interrailing around Europe it hadn't been a problem we had/or since encountered. It turned out the other 5 people in our dorm couldn't fit their bags in their lockers either so the floor space was taken up by luggage. The lockers were covered in dust, as was the tv. Old bedding left on beds!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks a lot for the open words and comments, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and pass this through to our cleaning staff to make sure we do take even more care on this issues. Sorry again for this and many greetings from Munich Alex

80%

Fun hostel, very nice staff, great bar to hang out and meet other hostelers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your nice review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed staying here. We enjoyed having you here as well :) Safe travels, Alex

80%

The lift was WAY too slow (to the point that you could wait more than 5 minutes). There is only one kitchen to the entire building (6 floors) and it can get overflowed with people, or it doesn't have lots of stuff for you to use. The only frying pan had no grip, so it was hard to fry stuff and the other pans were way too small, while the bigger one was way too big. Also, no sharp knifes for meat or vegetables. The tv only has german channels (but I think they say that somewhere in the website)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks a lot for the open words and nice rating. We know our lift is a bit on the slow side of live, but maybe this gives a little time to communicate with other in front of....? We talked to our staff to keep an eye on the guest-kitchen and will make sure we stuff it up. Many greetings from Munich Alex

100%

Meininger was great! Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel itself was very clean and well laid out with a lot of information for tourists. Also can't complain with a free upgrade to a private room! Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Dear, THANKS A LOOOOOT .. we will tell everybody of our staff. Many greetings from Munich and hope to see you again here or in one of the other MEININGER's believe me all our colleagues would be happy to have you as a guest. ;) Alex

74%

Rooms didn't have are conditioner which means you have to stand a lot of heat

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks a lot for the comment and open words. Many greetings from Munich Alex

97%

When I arrived, the sheets of my bed hadn't been changed, but nevermind :) the second best hostel of the trip !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your kind review. We're sorry your bed hadn't been changed, but I suppose our staff helped you with that as soon as you informed them :) Happy travels! Alex

80%

Elevator got stuck while we were there but started working again. We signed up to be in a 10 bed dorm but ended up being put in a 2 bed private and paid the same amount. Pretty nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for the really nice rating. We hope to see you again here r in any other MEININGER in Europe. Greetz Alex

(139 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback