X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Munich City Center Reviews

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3596 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Although it was a slight inconvenience to be staying when there was contraction going on in the hostel, it was still a very enjoyable experience.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers!

89%

great hostel, staff very friendly and helpful. bar fun. no lockers in rooms though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your nice review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We have lockers in most of our rooms. If there are none in the room you can always use the ones at the reception. If you liked us also check out the MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Safe travels!

80%

Really nice staff and one of the cheapest Hotel I ever spend a night in so far.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Check out the Meininger Hotels in all over Europe! Cheers, Alex

91%

Such a great hostel oh man. Really nice rooms and so clean and comfy. Really nice location. The kitchen was a bit of a joke considering there's nothing in it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your awesome review. We're happy to hear you had a great time here. Concerning the kitchen we're always trying to keep it well equipped but sometimes the things seem to disappear quicker than we can replace them :/ We'll think about solution and hopefully find one :)

77%

The hostel has prime real estate. It's right by one of the Augustiner breweries and oldest restaurants in Munich - a must try. And it's just one stop away from the main train station. The only thing I didn't like about the place was that the lounge was right by the entrance/bar and smoking was very prominent. And because I was alone I was included with a group of 5 girls who stayed up really late and were really loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We're glad you liked our location and the Augustiner Brewery across the street. Hope to see you again in one of the many other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Cheers

86%

Felix was awesome and helped us find a tour we loved!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your stay with us and the nice review especially for Felix :) We hope to welcome you again in one of our Meininger Hotels all over Europe. Cheers, Alex

69%

The staff are not helpful. There just has one small elevator, so you need to wait a long time. There has a kitchen but not well equipped, you cannot find kettle in the Kitchen. Actually, you just can use the refrigerator and micro-oven. And the kitchen is dirty condition all the time....The locker in room was broken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for writing this review. We're sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay here. Concerning the kitchen we clean it twice a day and we check that there is enough equipment to use. But somehow this seems to disappear faster than we're able to replace it... :( Concerning the locker I'll send our caretaker to your room as soon as possible to check the lockers. Nest time just let reception staff know and we can fix it right away.

74%

This hostel was just okay. Our dorm room was really cramped, too many beds in the room. The bar downstairs was averagely priced and only opened at 8, and was never full. The kitchen was okay, however a lack of frypans and it being so dirty it wasn't useable every morning kind of ruined it. It was also a pretty hefty walk from the centre of town, trams were frequent though. An okay place to stay, but I'd consider somewhere else first.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. Our biggest room is a 12 bed room, which is split up into 2 seperate rooms with 2 bathrooms. We clean our guest kitchen twice a day, once in the late morning and once at night. But still we rely on people using it to clean it up afterwards, because we can't check it more often than that. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Munich anyways.

94%

I was travelling around the world, and was is a VERY NICE SURPISE to know that kind of hostel, diferent, quiet, cheap... You are mi favourite place to stay!!!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for your really nice review. We're happy about that. If you liked us also check out the other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe. Safe travels

80%

The room provided to us (3 adults) was cramped. One towel provided per person. Pull-out sofa was just OK. But, good value for money considering how expensive accommodations are in München.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Munich.

80%

Breakfast was overpriced. Staff at reception were friendly but a bit slow.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We will forward your compliments to the staff. We offer additional breakfast for 5,90EUR which includes coffee, juice, tea, milk, fruit, different kinds of bread, conflakes, musli, joghurt, ham, cheese, jam... Hope you'll visit us again next time you're in Munich. Cheers, Alex

57%

They don't have a kitchen with basics (pan, toast, boiler...). And even if you put your name in your food they'll throw it away. The bathrooms was not clean, even after they clean it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. We have a guest kitchen which we try to keep it as well equipped as possible. But somehow the things in there disappear quicker as we can replace them. We only throw food out of the guestkitchen fridge which isn't labeled correctly (name, room number, date of departure). We're sorry about the mistake we made concerning your food. Hope you had a good time in Munich anyways.

77%

Near Bus Station (500mt). Near market (Lidl is inside the Bus Station). Near oktoberfest (1,3Km). Big Lounge. Magnetic Badge. City Map. Bar. Game room. Huge luggage room with many shelves. One Small lift for 6 Floor (!). Two Washroom/toilet for 12 bed. Bed linen without elastic (pain when you need to make a bed, especially if is the upper). No light at bed. Only 1 AC plug in room. 1 small Kitchen (good for newlyweds not for a hostel). a few AC plug in lounge. WiFi not in room and sloooooooooow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and your review. We hope you enjoyed Munich. Make dure to visit us again next time you're here. Cheers

74%

Wifi signal was really poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and writing this review. We're sorry the wifi signal wasn't as good as it usually is when you where here. Sometimes when too many people go online at the same time it slows down a little bit but usually it's running pretty well.

100%

Cool place. The staff are really cool and friendly. Would stay there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your very nice review. I'll pass it on to our staff! Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich. Safe travels

83%

Located close to the ZOB Hackenbrücke in a walking distance from the city center. I was satisfied with cleanliness in the room, but it the guest kitchen was quite untidy. Kitchen should be definitely far more better equipped, one glass, three pots and no mugs are really not enough for such hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and your review. We're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with our guest kitchen. We check it twice a day (once in the morning and once in the evening) to make sure that it is cleaned after most people had breakfast/cooked dinner in there. Between these times we rely on everybody using the kitchen to keep it clean. Hope you enjoyed your stay here anyways. Safe travels

86%

It was very cold at nigh no lockers in the room, but you can rent one for 5 euro deposit

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We're sorry it was cold at night. Did you try to turn on the heating? If it happens again please ask our staff at the reception they will happily help you. Best wishes

60%

Wifi is almost non existing, impossible to connect or very very slow at best, it is not in the city center, further than the main train station, but nice overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We're sorry the wifi was slow when you were here. We just updated our Wifi System a couple of month ago and only had few complaints so far. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes

71%

Computer terminal usage should be free. Good location. Friendly staff. An upgrade of the elevator is certainly warranted. Not the best hostel I've stayed at, but certainly not the worst.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We offer free Wifi and soley charge a little fee for the usage of the terminals. I'll pass the nice words about the staff on to them. Best wishes

69%

This place is really close by to the train station. It is moreso like a hotel that is converted to a hostel, about 6 floors with a couple rooms on each. So it's a little difficult to meet other travelers (maybe they cater more to larger groups than solo/small groups). The staff was really nice- but I think they need more help at the front desk. There is usually only one person who is checking in/out people, answering questions and acting as the barista. So it may take a while to get assistance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, thanks for staying with us and your review. Hope you had a good time in Munich. Best wishes!

(149 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback