Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mamatierra Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mamatierra. The beds were comfortable and warm, everything was very clean and well kept, the courtyard is lovely, and the breakfast was great. All of the staff, especially Anita, are very kind and helpful. This Hostal is farther from the main streets so was likely a little quieter, although it was only a 10 min walk away. By far my favorite Hostal I have stayed at so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Perfect hostel. Not that far from the center, it is a 5 minutes walk come on! The breakfast is really good. The only downside is that it is cold at night because there is not heater. But the rest is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
8.3

Very clean bathrooms. Hospitable staff. Very quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Mamatierra is a nice hostel in a good location. About 10 minute walk to the main shopping/restaurants/tours. The rooms are really cute and comfortable. There's no heating and it was cold outside, but I found there were enough blankets and the rooms stayed warm enough to be comfortable. The town doesn't have much electricity, so I don't expect much from any hotel/hostel there. Showers were hot even with the power savings. Staff were nice and made a breakfast pack for me to go on the early tour.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st May 2017
9.4

Pleasant hostel in good location. Hot showers and clean bathroom. Breakfast had a good selection and also provided pack for early morning trips. Staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2017
9.4

This hostel is great. Very clean and organised and a nice place to chill out. They helped us with booking our tours. And the breakfast is the best we've had in a hostel !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel I have ever stayed in! Delicious breakfast, free water, tasty smelling soap, comfy beds and very helpful staff. Plus hammocks. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

The staff were totally lovely and very helpful, and there's a great kitchen here too. There's a supermarket next door too, which is great because the 10 minute walk to town is a bit taxing in the hot sun (not to mention the restaurants are VERY expensive). I would recommend staying here, it was a very pleasant and quiet stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

The staff was so incredibly helpful and friendly. Every tour and suggestion was exactly what we wanted and they even packed us snacks when our tour left before breakfast! It's a little out of the way, but worth the extra walking. The facilities are very clean and the showers have great water pressure. Definitely a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.3

Good hostel with comfortable beds about 8 minutes walk from the main street in San Pedro. The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful, one of them called or tour operator as she thought they were too late in picking us up. Breakfast was good with a range of buffet items and raw eggs that you can cook as you like. There was only one plug socket in the room which was a little annoying but generally this is a very good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.