X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mediterranean Youth Hostel Reviews

Diputació 335 principal, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3979 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It's located in a very good and convenient part of town, just a block away from the metro and less than a mile from Sagrada Familia and more. The staff was helpful and friendly enough, and immediately there was a hostel-affiliated worker offering me dinner and a night out at town. The beds work, the doors are secure, and you get free lockers (just deposit a coin to hold it). Never felt unsafe, no problems here!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a 6 days stay in Barcelona and got a private room. The surprise was that on our floor we had a kitchen too so we did not had to to use the one on the first floor. That ws great ! Very good and friendly staff !!!!!


91%

Good stuff! For all you Internet junkies like me, they don't turn off the wifi late at night even if you can only use it at the common areas. Also a electricity socket for each bed is a great idea as I am suffering at a hostel with out that right now

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff is friendly and helps with any information you need. Free maps were available. About the facilitites, the showers were weird, you had to press a bottom every 30 seconds-1 minute and the water was either too hot or too cold. But the rooms were nice, with good lockers.


100%

Mediterranean it's a really good hostel. I liked it at all. It's clean, the staff is great - they have a group who serves us paella and teach us how to cook it , and you also can eat it for just 4 euros, and sometimes for free.


100%

the staff are awesome they make sure you have a great time i would recommend doing the night tour with them because they take you to local places that you would never know about and they dont drink when they are with you because they make certain you can get drunk but no pickpockets or the like get to you

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent Staff, atmosphere and value for money. If you want a cheap and good place to stay in Barcelona I would recommend Mediterranean hostel. Thank u all guys! Lovely and unforgettable stay.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel ever price - quality!


86%

The staff were a little cold at times, but otherwise this hostel was perfect.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved this place, would definitely stay here again. Staff was extremely helpful, bathrooms were always clean, and was a 2 min walk from the metro. They also give you a bedside outlet and light which was a big plus. Bring your own hair dryer because the one they offer stops working a lot. Other than that was definitely pleased especially for how cheap it was!!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location of the hostel is not perfect but it is good enough because it is in a walking distance from the city center, the bus station and other beautiful areas of barvelona.Moreover there is a metro station. The staff and the atmosphere were really friendly and warm. Generally, the hostel was clean ( clean toilets!) and actually the place correspond to the money that you pay. I would prefert that the buvet and the sheets were in a better condition but still it was good to stay there!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Cute hostel with a nice teen atmosphere! Clean enough, secure enough...definetely much better than other hostels I have visited! And at pros the very kind and helpful stuff! Bravo chicos!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at this hostel for three days. Its location is great for visit many attractions, such as Sagrada Familia, Casa Mila, Casa Batllo. It's also just several blocks away from Gracia street, which I think is a beautiful street with a lot of magnificent buildings. Girona metro station is just around the corner and you can take subway very easily. The public area of the hostel is spacious and you feel relaxed. One small nuisance is that the flashing noise from the water pipe.


71%

Overall, a decent hostel, but some of the facilities are lacking. On the first floor where I stayed, there were only two showers and two toilets for men. The showers are in a very crowded space with no room to change, no place to put your clothing, not even a hook to hang your towel. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The location was good; walking distance to the Rambla and two blocks from the Metro.


77%

The room smelled allot when we enterred. This mad a very bad first impression

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great, cheap hostel! The lockers are free and a decent size, and each bed has its own light and power outlet. The staff was very friendly, and it was close to two metro stops and only a few stops away from everywhere we wanted to go.


94%

We had an awesome stay in Barcelona thanks to the Mediterranean Youth Hostel:) tack and danke:)

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything is great, from the location, price to staff. However, its would be a perfect stay if the wifi was better. We were hardly able to connect to the network inside our room. Anyway, this is just a minor minus point. Overall, I strongly recommend the Mediterranean Youth Hostel.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Hotel personnel was very kind, polite and helpful. Location of the hotel is almost perfect. Value for money is more then excellent.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel, nice staff, would stay there again while in Barcelona :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(67 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback