X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mediterranean Youth Hostel Reviews

Diputació 335 principal, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4872 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Really friendly people and staff. Evening meal for 5euro was also great and fun nights organised by the hostel every day.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a really fun hostel to stay at, with nice common areas, kitchens, and rooms and a good size for socializing. The staff was helpful and the location was really great. We loved the market around the corner and how the hostel is centrally located, without being on a huge main street. Fun music playing throughout the day, personal plugs and lights and good wifi (in common areas). We didn't eat here, but used the kitchen for breakfast! Would have loved to stay longer if it had been possible!


94%

Nicest warmest staff. Portuguese guy with dreads who organised pub crawls genuinely wants everyone to have a good time - champion. Dinners every night to mingle then everyone goes out on pub crawl (including clubs) - perfect.


97%

Me and two friend had an amazing stay at the hostel! Me made so many friends and had so much fun on the pub crawls!


86%

absolutely loved Barcelona and most of it was because i loved where i was staying!! The friendliest hostel i have ever stayed. The dinners were great and the pub crawl was an awesome way to easily make friends :)


100%

Extremely friendly and knowledgable staff. Bar crawls were very fun. Rooms were cleaned daily. Overall very very good experience here. I loved the hostel atmosphere.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel I've ever stayed in!! Amazing staff ready to help at all times! :)

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The pillows were old and smelly, the covers were fine though and almost covering the old smell of the pillow, room 203


100%

The hostel was great and offered many great resources for backpackers. They had a wonderful dinner and offered to take people to this super fun salsa dancing bar. The hostels kitchen was very equipped and the rooms and showers were great. Overall well worth the money. The location is also prime and super easy to get around. The staff are always around and willing to help give directions.


74%

Great staff and amazing walking tour! The room was gross though, mucus stained on the side of the top bunk, and super tiny room! I think it should be cheaper, but it's a great location with lovely staff!


100%

Best ever hostel!! Such knowledgable and friendly staff. Choice to have €5 dinner and taken out somewhere different every night to party for just€13 rose made sure we all had a good night out ! Great hostel to meet like minded people and have fun. Only bad part was eating on the day the women cooked... Only eat when kike cooks! He's amazing :) :) also john on the front desk made sure he told us all we wanted about Barcelona and gave us a map with it drawn on !!


80%

The communal dinners were excellent - great everyone eating together. May not be the most flash place around but it had an excellent atmosphere around dinner time. It could be helped by more social events organised after dinner but I guess that's what the pub crawls are for. Mediterranean was out of the old town tourist town but it still felt very bustling and alive in a more local sort of way.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Place is a short walk from Passeig de Gracia. Also a two minute walk from a metro station. Very central to all neighborhoods. Market right across the street as well. Most of the staff is very helpful. Really easy to meet people with dinner and drinks every night. Rooms were a little stuffy, but with the location and people there it was easy to not mind! Gracias para mi tiempo en Barcelona!


89%

Good atmosphere at the Hostel, supernice people there and the service team is very polite and always in a good mood ;-)

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a lovely stay at this INCREDIBLY clean hostel. The beds were made everyday! The staff were very helpful and lots of fun. The facilities (kitchen and lounge) are very convenient for making meals when you don't wanna go out. There is a rad vibe around the communal table.


89%

First time ever staying at a hostel and the place was chill, clean, and super friendly. We were only there for about 8 hours before we had to fly out to our next destination but if you are in the mood to meet some nice people, welcoming cool staff, get a pub crawl in, then check this place out it won't disappoint. Bathrooms are decent with all the essentials, the rooms have large lockers (1euro, u get it bk) and they provide you with clean sheets. Wifi kind of sucked but I was able to log in.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location, nice rooms. Good place to meet people. Wifi didn't work in our room however, but I think it was just the location of our room. Recommended.


89%

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The place was clean, there was a full kitchen and utensils available for use, and it was very close to a metro stop, which was very useful. Even though we weren't there long and had our own agenda, there were multiple options for socializing and partying, which would have been great to take advantage of. We also really appreciated the free printing!


91%

Great facility, they offered dinners in the evening for 5 euros. It's like a big family dinner! they had a kitchen and fridge you could store your stuff in. And full size lockers in the room for your belongings. Best hostel I've been in.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

From the moment we stepped in with our heavy bags and worn out travelled feet we felt at home. It was honestly such a warm and exciting environment to walk into. It was our first Hostel experience and will most def not be our last. Thank you for the wonderful addition to our trip! The meals were so amazing and the staff just awesome! Whenever we are in Barcelona again, we will see you again and our friends will here about you for sure!!! Thank you:)

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(135 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback