X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mediterranean Youth Hostel Reviews

Diputació 335 principal, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
4184 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great place to stay, great staff, great location,clean. My 1 complaint about this hostel is the shower turns off every 15 seconds and you have to press button again for water

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only problem was shared bathrooms, we have stayed in a private room with shared bathroom but we had to wait for the queue for shower in the mornings.(4 rooms were sharing one toilet and one bathroom) Better take a private bathroom if you do not wanna wait or walk down for bathrooms in reception floor. Location is great since we had flights during the night from Girona airport, we did not need to take taxi for transportation to the bus station in BCN.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location!!!

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

If you like quiet condition, it will be nice for you.


94%

I really enjoyed my stay in Barcelona in this hostel. The hostel is clean and is near from principal attractions in Barcelona. The staff was very friendly and they are always helpful. I recommend you the private rooms and the walking tours.


86%

It's located in a very good and convenient part of town, just a block away from the metro and less than a mile from Sagrada Familia and more. The staff was helpful and friendly enough, and immediately there was a hostel-affiliated worker offering me dinner and a night out at town. The beds work, the doors are secure, and you get free lockers (just deposit a coin to hold it). Never felt unsafe, no problems here!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a 6 days stay in Barcelona and got a private room. The surprise was that on our floor we had a kitchen too so we did not had to to use the one on the first floor. That ws great ! Very good and friendly staff !!!!!


91%

Good stuff! For all you Internet junkies like me, they don't turn off the wifi late at night even if you can only use it at the common areas. Also a electricity socket for each bed is a great idea as I am suffering at a hostel with out that right now


77%

The staff is friendly and helps with any information you need. Free maps were available. About the facilitites, the showers were weird, you had to press a bottom every 30 seconds-1 minute and the water was either too hot or too cold. But the rooms were nice, with good lockers.


100%

Mediterranean it's a really good hostel. I liked it at all. It's clean, the staff is great - they have a group who serves us paella and teach us how to cook it , and you also can eat it for just 4 euros, and sometimes for free.


69%

The hostel was decent. I would probably choose to stay somewhere a little closer to the city center however if you are looking to visit some of the Gaudi sites as well in Barcelona this hostel is a good location between everything. The staff was a little unprofessional but for the most part it was a good stay.


100%

the staff are awesome they make sure you have a great time i would recommend doing the night tour with them because they take you to local places that you would never know about and they dont drink when they are with you because they make certain you can get drunk but no pickpockets or the like get to you


100%

Excellent Staff, atmosphere and value for money. If you want a cheap and good place to stay in Barcelona I would recommend Mediterranean hostel. Thank u all guys! Lovely and unforgettable stay.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel ever price - quality!


86%

The staff were a little cold at times, but otherwise this hostel was perfect.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved this place, would definitely stay here again. Staff was extremely helpful, bathrooms were always clean, and was a 2 min walk from the metro. They also give you a bedside outlet and light which was a big plus. Bring your own hair dryer because the one they offer stops working a lot. Other than that was definitely pleased especially for how cheap it was!!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location of the hostel is not perfect but it is good enough because it is in a walking distance from the city center, the bus station and other beautiful areas of barvelona.Moreover there is a metro station. The staff and the atmosphere were really friendly and warm. Generally, the hostel was clean ( clean toilets!) and actually the place correspond to the money that you pay. I would prefert that the buvet and the sheets were in a better condition but still it was good to stay there!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Cute hostel with a nice teen atmosphere! Clean enough, secure enough...definetely much better than other hostels I have visited! And at pros the very kind and helpful stuff! Bravo chicos!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at this hostel for three days. Its location is great for visit many attractions, such as Sagrada Familia, Casa Mila, Casa Batllo. It's also just several blocks away from Gracia street, which I think is a beautiful street with a lot of magnificent buildings. Girona metro station is just around the corner and you can take subway very easily. The public area of the hostel is spacious and you feel relaxed. One small nuisance is that the flashing noise from the water pipe.


71%

Overall, a decent hostel, but some of the facilities are lacking. On the first floor where I stayed, there were only two showers and two toilets for men. The showers are in a very crowded space with no room to change, no place to put your clothing, not even a hook to hang your towel. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The location was good; walking distance to the Rambla and two blocks from the Metro.


(121 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback