X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mediterranean Youth Hostel Reviews

Diputació 335 principal, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4760 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great stay in the 10 bed mixed dorm. Staff was very helpful when I arrived. Gourmet dinner for 5 euros and absolutely worth it, especially on the first night. A great way to bond with other travelers. Kitchen is spacious and social. The security was a bit lax, no key to unlock the front door and not always a staff member at reception. (May have been stricter at night). Each room has key access and personal lockers. Clean showers with hot water. Towels are 2 euros to rent. Highly recommended!


77%

Group dinners for 5€ every night (chef is good ;)), free billiard and relaxed atmosphere. Good location, right next to Passeig de Gracia. Some bars/restaturants around. Double privates are good enough (ones on the 3rd floor are better though :)).


83%

Nice clean place. Helpful staff. 2 min walk to nearest metro and 10 min walk to main shopping areas and sights. Some good little mini supermarkets on the street. Not that easy to find., especially if you arrive in the dark as I did. The road the hostel is on is very long and the numbering system on buildings is not logical. Make sure you get directions before trying to find the place. Free walking tour is great, the guides live off the tips so do a good job. Expect 2 hours non stop walking.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Rooms very hot-need better ventilation. Wifi in room not reliable. Very noisy even after 11pm. Had to reset armbands several turns to get them to work.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels i've ever stayed in. Incredible atmosphere, really felt like a home instead of a hostel, staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. All in all really good value for money, you can't go wrong with this place! Ps. Gracias Maria por todo :)


100%

Everything was perfect, staff amazing, dinners everyday (only 5€) and walking tour in the morning. Clean and perfect location. Thank you guys!!

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

super hostel!!


57%

The staff wanted to cheat us requiring double pay of taxes. I had the confirmation of booking with the notion that the taxes are included, so they resigned. There were also cheating as concerns wine and meals during dinner on Christmas Eve. The cook gave his 'personal' wine to his guests by the common table. Too little space to describe the situation.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is in a good location, the hostel is cleaned well every morning and very comfortable.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Decent place for a bed for the night. It was very loud at night though, this was a Monday night. The halls echo a lot and there was noise from the street coming in. Room was basic, just a bed and locker. Okay place to stay but the price was great.


94%

This hostel was phenomenal. Reasonably priced private rooms and a very nice atmosphere with dinner offered nightly. My girlfriend left her nice wallet there and the staff was amazing in recovering it!! Location is a little bit off to the side, but close to a metro stop so its easy to get around. We will stay here every visit to Barca from now on!!!


71%

The first night was awesome, but on the second day they asked me to change to another room, I was too nice to say no. And I found out there is an old man snoring very loudly at night. I thought the hostel is just for youth? It ruined my nights in Barcelona which is such a beautiful city. But other than that, there was no problem. The facilites is worth the money you paid


97%

Mediterranean Youth Hostel is amazing usually i stay in hotels but because of my friends i stayed in hostel its was my first experience and its was very good i love it and there are lots of facilities in really cheap price and staff are really helpful and co-operative and its just like a family atmosphere and i prefer to everyone who have a plan to go Barcelona stay in that hostel you love it i challenge you and i love that hostel a lot and i really thankful to all the staff they are amazing.


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at very clean and has a nice and welcoming atmosphere....

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice personell, keep up the good work.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel was fantastic. Very clean and in a good location. Also the meals for €5 are awesome as Enrique is a great cook. Can't go wrong with this place.


91%

It is a pretty nice hostel with very nice People and staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable... The only thing I have to criticize is the Internet Connection - there were sometimes Problems. It seems like that there can only be a limited number of People on coincident.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazed by its neatness and its hospitality.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Eritrea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Pretty good, the staff helped us a lot. Very clean. Free city tour. Awesome place to stay


86%

This hostel is an unpolished gem. The nightly dinners are excellent and the daily walking tours are fabulous! The facilities are not the newest or the shiniest- but all more than decent. Would definitely stay here again!!


(113 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback