Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Montana Youth and Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 910 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 910 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Montana Youth Hostel is a little far from the city, but it’s a great place once you get to it. Although you’ll need to climb a small hill to get back to the hostel, it has a spectacular view of the city. All of the staff was very helpful. When we got to the Hostel at 11.30 p.m., our late check-in was managed without a hitch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Super helpful and friendly staff... if you like hiking you will love this place... awesome view of the city from the hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel. Good breakfast. Friendly folk. Spacious common spaces. Bergen is lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
8.9

Free (cold) breakfast was definitely a plus in the expensive Norway. Facilities were clean and showers were great (spacious and high-quality). Only thing to note here is the location! Just know that it is about a 20-30 min bus ride to the city center. That being said, I loved it, as it is nestled on the side of one of the many mountains surrounding Bergen and just really beautiful day and night to have a vantage point over the city. There is also easy access up to the top of the mountain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Fair distance from the city center, as we saw online however it is next to a hill and offer a nice view over the city. Not a big fan of the extra charge for the linen, that's scandinavian way. Get a sleeping bag linen, it pays off. Awesome breakfast, free tea/coffee for an hour every eve and free babyfoot table. Really good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.7

A quick stay but everything was great! Perfect location to start a hike up Mount Ulriken! Breakfast was included and that kept me going for hiking all day 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Dec 2016
9.7

This is probably my best experience ever in a hostel. It's not an overly social hostel as it's quite far from city centre and I went in winter, but each night there is a coffee and cookies event which is free and by going to that I met Gordana, one of the volunteers, and the other staff members and they were the friendliest most accommodating people I've ever met. Whenever I return to this beautiful part of the world I will visit them!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.3

The location of this hostel near the mountains is perfect for going hiking, but not so convenient for getting to or from the town. There is a bus but it isn't very regular at the weekends and it takes around 20 mins to the centre. The staff were really friendly and helpful with giving maps and directions, and providing coffee and cookies in the evenings. The atmosphere here wasn't great but this may be due to my being there off-season. I would stay at Montana again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.6

Cute little homely hostel in a nice location with great staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved the views from the hostel. The place is very clean and nice. I would stay here again and again. Definitely climb Ulriken if yoy get the chance its amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.