Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Montana Youth and Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2017
9.4

Very amazing hostel. It has an AMAZING view of the entire city so every night you can see the sunset over the city and over the water. It is very close to a bus stop that takes you right into town. It is also right next to a great hiking trail that has amazing views and little lakes in the mountain. There is also a grocery store 20 meters away and a full stocked kitchen! The free breakfast was just an added bonus to this already amazing hostel! Don't pass this place up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
9.1

I was quite surprised at how awesome this hostel is! I wish I was staying longer. What a great facility with huge common area to hang out in. TV, games, piano, coffee bar, pizza, tons of couches/lounger chairs. Outdoor patio with gorgeous views. Free breakfast with wide variety to choose from. Staff was SO helpful in getting me where I needed for the next leg of my journey. Even did a quick guided hike with them the morning I left. The whole place was very clean, couldn't have asked for more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.9

Great patio overlooking the city and the location is perfect if you are doing the 5 hour -12k hike from city center up to the top of the mountain tram- head down and shower and relax- you earned it. Breakfast was great- go early. No black out shades so if it is sunny from 4am-11:45 pm you will need them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
9.4

Definitely out of the town, but given that you probably only need a day in the town itself that's fine. Great to start hiking, staff are awesome, always had activities that were happening at the hostel or around town. Supermarket right nearby, WiFi great, breakfast amazing. Definitely would choose this again. Stayed at another hostel in Bergen, this was easily better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
6.6

Very far from city center and for this reason would not stay here again. Buses stop running late at night so one night I had to take a $30 taxi back to the hostel. You have to rent linens and towels and there are no lockers in the rooms. It's not a bad hostel, but it is probably my least favorite that I have stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.3

Nice hostel with an amazing view over Bergen. Included Breakfast was good and staff was friendly all the time. The beds were good, but the dorm had only small windows to open, so that it was quite hot in there. Definitely would recommend it especially since value for money is really good under Norwegian conditions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • isabelscott
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2017
7.7

Stayed in a 4 bed female room. The Wi-Fi cut in and out, so if you want constant service go to the lobby/hangout area. The people were super nice and helpful with directions. It's a 20 minute direct bus ride downtown. Rely on the 12 bus while you're there. Great view! Pretty clean as well. I was there in low season so not many people, I was the only one in my room the whole time. Great kitchen of you want to have your own food. Overall would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Montana Youth Hostel is a little far from the city, but it’s a great place once you get to it. Although you’ll need to climb a small hill to get back to the hostel, it has a spectacular view of the city. All of the staff was very helpful. When we got to the Hostel at 11.30 p.m., our late check-in was managed without a hitch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Super helpful and friendly staff... if you like hiking you will love this place... awesome view of the city from the hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charleshill4119
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.7

If you are a hiker, this hostel is the perfect location since it's near the trailhead. Incredible view of the city and fjords from above! I walked up from the city to the hostel – not a bad walk, there is a dedicated walking path so if you can hike up Mt. Ulriken, you can certainly walk up to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.