Hostelworld.com

Montana Youth and Family Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Montana Youth and Family Hostel Located at Johan Blyttsvei 30, , Bergen.
Montana Youth and Family Hostel
Norway
Bergen 5096 Johan Blyttsvei 30
84% 703
60.3720626 5.3657484
Montana Youth and Family Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
8.6

I absolutely loved my stay at the Montana hostel. It is the most beautiful location...you really get to see Bergen in the most lovely way! Amazing breakfast buffet included every morning, musical instruments free to borrow, an amazing view of the city just steps away, great kitchen facilities, organized hikes and free coffee time, laundry facilities if you need. It is located a 15 minute bus ride out of town (12 bus), but the bus runs frequently, and you trade off for the amazing view. Loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.3

My stay was good and the location of the hostel was beautiful in the vicinity of mountains . The morning breakfast served was very good . I only have bit of a concern that bed sheets and towels was charged for like 100 kronor which i think should be a part of very basic amenties and should not be charged . overall , it was Pleasant stay .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
8.6

Stayed here for two nights. Staff were super helpful, especially with me getting in late the first night. Room was clean and there was a sink in it, which was nice. In the morning, staff was helpful again in letting me know how to get to the city, and breakfast was delicious. They even made me a packed breakfast the day I was checking out because I had an early morning tour to get to. Highly reccomend staying here, great location on the mountain and you can see the whole city from the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
10.0

very good hostel, superb free buffet breakfast. hot water, clean beds, clean toilets and shower area. great location. staff helpful and approachable. hostel takes all ages. thanks for great time in Bergen. Bernice, 60, from Belfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
8.9

Only choice of hostel in Bergen Situated on Mount Ulriken Can enjoy beautiful scenery of the neighbourhood Had a small supermarket nearby Breakfast is good, saves your money in Bergen Ridiculous to pay additionally for bedsheets, 70nok Also only few electric socket not enough for all ppl in the room Must go on bus to and from the city centre, which is of a short travelling time Look out for bus schedule on holiday; can wait up to an hour

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
9.4

This is a wonderful place to stay. It's not a party hostel (you don't go to Bergen to party anyway), but it's a really chill atmosphere with great facilities and terrific people. The staff plans excursions and hikes for those interested. It's outside the city center but easily reachable by bus. Only real critique would be the shower locations. I loved this place and I really want to go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2016
8.9

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights, the staff were very helpful and friendly. They also had volunteers that took us on a hike up one of the mountains, that was wonderful because it was very hard to find! Clean bathrooms, and showers, good selection for breakfast and a great view of Bergen!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
8.9

The hostel was actually quite nice. If you walk it's definitely quite a hike. I would strongly recommend taking the bus, at least the first time you go so you know what to expect. However, it is beautifully situated in the mountains with amazing views. The atmosphere was quite nice with people interacting and talking. Very clean. The staff was friendly and the free breakfast is quite good. In fact, when we told them we had to check out a bit early, they made us breakfast packs to take with us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.7

Montana is located at an awesome location near the nature and the mountains. It's actually just a 15-minute bus ride from city center (if you take Bus 12 - Montana, there is not really any hill to climb once you get off. Not sure what one of the previous reviews was referring to). It also has volunteers who organize city tours, hiking events, etc. for the guests. I had a great time going through the city and hanging out with the volunteers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.9

A friendly hostel. Nice small dorms with own key card. Bathrooms and kitchens nice and clean. Pizza served at a reasonable price. Loved the free tea and cookies at tea time in the living room. Good breakfast included. Only downside is it is a short bus ride from the centre of Bergen. Make sure you buy your bus tickets in the local shops e.g. Narvesen or 7eleven as they are much cheaper than on the bus. Bus drivers were exceptionally friendly and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.