Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Montana Youth and Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
Montana Youth and Family Hostel Located at Johan Blyttsvei 30, , Bergen.
Montana Youth and Family Hostel
Norway
Bergen 5096 Johan Blyttsvei 30
84% 763
60.3720626 5.3657484
Montana Youth and Family Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
7.7

Decent hostel. I definitely recommend the group hikes. They are an awesome way to meet people especially as a solo traveler!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.1

I've come to relish good atmosphere. This hostel is okay, but not much cross communication happening in social areas. The kitchen is ok, 3 large hot plates and a stove. People wash quickly so there are ample pots and pans. I ended up staying in a single. While it felt nice to have my own space after a week in hostels for only a small charge more than a room for 4, it was located right above the entrance and had NO dividing door to keep out bathroom noise or people en route to their rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
9.4

I loved this hostel, the complimentary breakfast was awesome, they had tea and cookies at night and on their free guided hikes. The volunteer hiking guides were so fun and kind, loved hanging out with them at night! We had a great time with everyone doing karaoke(: The receptionists were very helpful and nice as well and even packed me a lunch for my trips if I missed breakfast! Would defiantly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
9.4

Great staff at this hostel, a little away from the city center but not to bad by bus. The staff was great there too! Super awesome especially the volunteers....hands down fantastic. Great breakfast and the bathrooms and rooms were very clean. One of the best hostels I have stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
6.3

Far from center but bus system is easy. Free breakfast is great! Staff could have been more helpful but was fine for a couple nights in Bergen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.1

It was a fantastic hostel and the free breakfasts was amazing! The volunteers and staff were very friendly and organised hiking trips for us which was great. The facilities were really good and everything was very clean. The only downside is that the hostel is a little out of the way (~15-20 minutes bus drive from the city centre) but it is close to a hiking path which is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.6

hostel was every thing a family hostel could and should be, it ticked all the right boxes. if there had been security lockers in dorms it would have been perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
5.1

Overall, i didn't know what to expect of this hostel. The staff when i first arrived wasn't that kind and stayed engage in a side conversation while i was trying to check in. there is one bathroom on the floor which is annoying. the large dorm room was annoying, because no one had any respect for the time and stayed up late talking and drinking loudly. The location was easy to find after you found it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
10.0

If you are more interested in hiking and sights from above than city tours and sights from street level, this is the place to stay. 15 minute bus ride from the city center, but right at the trailhead for Ulriken. They even have free guided hikes in the mornings. Also has an outdoor area that offers incredible views of sunsets over Bergen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jun 2016
7.1

If I have a second chance, I would not choose to stay there, and it only because it is so difficult to reach the city central area. The hostel is on the mountain, the only connection is a bus which does not run often. That means your time is kind of locked by the bus schedule. On weekend, it goes only once per hour. The hostel itself is ok, they provide breakfast for free, only until 9:30AM, the common area is nice too. But I really hate the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.