Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Montana Youth and Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
Montana Youth and Family Hostel Located at Johan Blyttsvei 30, , Bergen.
Montana Youth and Family Hostel
Norway
Bergen 5096 Johan Blyttsvei 30
84% 849
60.3720626 5.3657484
Montana Youth and Family Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Sep 2016
9.1

Pretty quiet outside of tourist season, but great staff keep atmosphere going. Location is a bit out of the way, but easy to get to by public transport, and has some lovely hikes on the doorstep. Breakfast is pretty standard Norwegian fare, very tasty. No lockers in the rooms but they do have individual key cards.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
9.1

Even though it is far away from city center, but the view and service in this hostel is value for money. I enjoy their breakfast every morning. You can hike from Montana to Mount Ulriken which take you around 2 hour for a round trip. All in all, I will come back to this hostel if I visit Bergen again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.1

I was quite hesitant about this hostel at first as it is a 20-minute bus ride from the city centre. But the view compensated for it all. Breakfast was great too and you get to eat it with an amazing view. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly to my friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Sep 2016
7.1

This hostel isn't close to the city centre. Firstly,it's hard to find your way there with the Bus, but you get used to it.It's a great Hostel,they offer an awesome breakfast, Wifi everywhere, ... sometimes ....... The Beds are really, yes I mean really comfy. STAFF is friendly and helpfull.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katesidnell6009
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.7

Excellent hostel amazing staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
8.0

What I think is most important first: the staff at Montana are all very helpful, kind, and knowledgeable. They know when and where to find most of what you need and the activities they host are good fun. They are accommodating and genuinely offer good advice. They have plenty of bathrooms, showers, kitchens and even a laundry room. However, all tend to be pretty dirty or moldy. It's a pretty short bus ride away from town center (20min), but perfectly placed from lots of hiking trails.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
7.1

The bathroom in the room was not cleaned daily. A former occupant left a damp towel hung in the bathroom. It remained there and, in time, the stench was overwhelming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.7

Lovely hostel with a helpful staff. A bit far from the center but the view definetly compensate it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Staff were great. Hotel situated in such a place that gave an amazing view of the city of Bergen. Particularly great at night, where you can sit and chat outside whilst on looking Bergen at night. Also close to a mountain if you want a small 1hr hike.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.6

I stayed at the Montana on my first day in Norway. I thought it good value so decided to send my last night there as well. Good location for access to the local mountains and only a 30 minute brisk walk from the town centre. Good breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.