Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.5
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House Located at 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans.
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
USA
New Orleans LA 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130
62% 760
29.9344262 -90.0824189
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cjgrecian
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
5.1

Cockroaches. Stains on the sheets given. The staff were lovely but the hostel was horrible. There is a tram that you can take anywhere but if you were to walk it's over an hour and not a very nice area to be in. We never used the kitchen but the room given had no ac and was disgustingly hot. Then there was Cockroaches. I would not go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.3

We had a private double room. It was like an apartment with a mini kitchen and ensuite. Also a short walk to a 10 minute tram straight to bourbon. Party atmosphere wasnt there but value for money and location was.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
8.6

This is an awesome deal for the location (right next to magazine st) and the staff was very courteous.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2016
5.4

I did not enjoy my stay at this hostel. Apart of the staff, I didn't see any other person. I was the only guest in a huge house. As I was travelling alone it was one reason to stay in a Hostel, to have other travelers around. The room was giant, however it was very dusty and dingy. In the Hostel were no Computers for the guests and no possibility to wash clothes. There was no breakfast. The staff was exerted, but some of them were rather distanced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jul 2016
6.6

Good location, close to a couple of streetcar stops, restaurants and shops. The wifi didn't work in the room and we found a cockroach. I wasn't expecting anything more for 16$.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Really good location; short walk from magazine st, and less than a to minute drive to the street cars. Very quiet and pretty part of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mrpjcook
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
2.0

This place should not even be an option for anyone to stay in! It's infested with roaches, someone who wasn't even staying at the house I was in witch I was alone come in pissed in the toilet and left beer cans in the room. The guy at the front desk said someone who had stayed there in the past never brought the key back so it was probably him. WTF? Really? And lastly this place is haunted which the front desk guy told me this place is notoriously haunted in New Orleans. Thanks for the heads up!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
6.9

The place was a little dated, but the people where extremely nice. I only stayedbone night but would possibly stay again if it were just me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
7.1

This hostel was in a good location, walkable and close to public transport. The facilities were clean (minus the kitchen area). There were a lot of locals living there, but they all seemed decent. Didn't have much of the hostel type atmosphere, but if you're just looking for a cheap place to crash, I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
9.7

Very nice experience - in a historical building originally used as a hospital during the Civil War. Don't expect great luxury, but you will have a spacious, nice room filled with atmosphere in a quiet neighborhood and with nice people talking care of it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.