Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.9
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House Located at 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans.
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
USA
New Orleans LA 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130
68% 783
29.9344262 -90.0824189
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Nov 2016
6.3

During low season reception hours are between 7am-12pm and 5-10pm). I had stated my arrival time as 1pm (arrived around 2pm) when booking via Hostel World, but the staff member told me I wasn't able to check-in til after 5pm and only if I had called ahead then I would've been able to check in. Really annoying since I had to come back to the hostel between 5-10pm to check in and pick up my keys, and makes no sense since he was already there. I was able to leave my bags behind the counter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
9.1

Private room. Building across the street. Mad that I only stayed one night. HUGE room. Full-size bed, couch, fridge. Kitchenette. Full bath. High ceilings. Exposed brick. Yes, a bit run-down and not spotless. But no mold or insects. New A/C unit. Clean sheets/towels. The building was run-down but had real soul and history. I was expecting a roach motel based on some reviews, and ended up in a Gothic novel instead. Cool neighborhood. Ignore dumb negative reviews written by OCD primadonnas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
6.3

The bed shits were not changed. Asked reception to get freeh ones.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay. Check in and out was problem free. The private suit even had a kitchen. The location is the best in nola.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Oct 2016
4.6

Not clean enough, dorms overcrowded, rules not made obvious to guests so no respect when coming in late, noisy people sitting outside all night, no facilities other than bathroom and squeaky bunk bed, blankets old. My impression is they are out to make a fast buck. Have stayed in a lot of hostels - this is the worst

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
3.1

Terrible place. Unfriendly staff who doesn't care, dirty uncomfortable beds, wifi not working at all, no breakfast, no real common areas to hang out, way too big. Avoid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
8.3

Loved my stay here! Not the cleanest but it was nothing unbearable. The outside patio was great for socializing, we met some wonderful people! The wifi never really showed up, but it was okay because we were having a great time. I wish there were lockers to keep our stuff. Fortunately everyone I came across was nice and friendly enough, I wasn't too worried about anything being taken. Would stay here again on a future trip :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2016
8.0

I think the marquette is great! Awesome location and great staff/people there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
8.9

I stayed there for 5days and met world travelers too. It was fun going with them in the jazz fest. Place is in Garden District and close to everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Oct 2016
9.4

Very homely. Staff were great with reccomendations. Showers are awesome! Quiet but still sufficent pressure. Beds are comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.