Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
7.1

Basic hostel in a safe neighborhood. We only stayed one night. The staff were very friendly. Beds were okay. It was the only place that was affordable for the July 4th holiday weekend. The door lock was hard to open, and it was a little musty. But the AC worked fine and the location was good. Our room was huge with a full kitchen, 6 beds, and sitting area so it would be able to accommodate a family or group of friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Apr 2017
5.7

Wasn't impressed with my stay. Wifi did not work, the rooms were dirty, insects in the sinks and staff members weren't very friendly. Other than that it was in a fairly easy location just a quick tram ride to the French Quarter and close to Market Street and the beautiful Garden District.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

Amazing people. Pretty basic rooms but cheap for the US and great social side when we were there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
10.0

n.o. is hot,hot,hot. the marquette is hotter,hotter,hotter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
2.9

This hostel is really not nice. The staff was really unfriendly, almost rude and the room was really dirty. The toilets and the sinks where clogged. I did not even dare to take a shower there because it was really really dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • lauraderita
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2017
6.9

Pretty standard Hostel. I really like driving the location in the garden district. The building was really beautiful too. We stayed during Mardi Gras so we didn't spend much time in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
7.1

If you need a bare-bones hostel to stay at for cheap, this is the place. It's not super fancy or colorful, but if you're just going to be out exploring all day and need a place to rest your head, this is perfect. The wifi was pass-protected and I didn't receive the password or my deposit for the "wifi" back. Should've been $5 for linens and $5 for wifi if needed. I came during the end of February and only encountered 3 people in my girls only dorm during my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
7.7

We didn't end up staying here (we had a friend join last minute that had a place we could crash at), but the place was clean when we got there and the staff was really friendly and understanding.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gabialves
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
8.6

Good place and good location. I made very nice friends during my stay for Mardi Gras! Wifi doesn't work and I think they could have breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
7.7

The location is excellent, just a block away from st charles. I was there for mardi gras so being so close was amazing. If you're too picky or want to spend most of the time in the hostel then look somewhere else. Good thing here is accessibility and closeness to everything (French quarters is easy to get by street car, the streetcar is just a block away). Its cheap and you'll meet interesting people to roam around with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.