Hostelworld.com

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House Located at 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans.
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
USA
New Orleans LA 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130
65% 741
29.9344262 -90.0824189
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kattiee
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Apr 2016
5.1

Place was quite dirty, my room wasn't serviced at all over the 4 nights I stayed there which meant the bathroom got rather messy and all of the empty beds had dirty sheets and wet towels left on them. There are no lockers and the place is quite accessible from the street so if someone leaves the door unlocked your stuff is vulnerable to theft. There was no real common area and the wifi only worked in the lobby. I liked the style of the hostel as it was like a big nola building.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.0

The. bed was comfortable and I had clean sheets and hot water. I felt at home. Made friends with a resident there. Jerry and a staff member, Jerrys friend Pat. Jerry was very hospitable so we spent a lot of Sunday hanging out at his place. playing music .and watching music videos. Saturday and Sunday got rained out for the Jazz Fest

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2016
3.7

Ceiling collapsed with me in bed. Sweep carpeted rooms every 3 days. No kitchen. Other ceilings leak in rain. Door to room didn't close all the time. Wifi is so bad it's practically useless. Quite far from French Quarter (there are trolley cars though). Easy for anyone to walk from the street round the back onto premises (luckily didn't happen but it could). Didn't feel safe or comfortable there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.0

I loved my stay- and the locals totally made it! I left my phone in the cab from the airport! Paulie was very sweet & reassuring & continued calling it after I left for my room til the driver picked up & arranged for it to be brought back. I was up til 3am both nights, hanging & telling stories with the long term residents, they were so awesome! Near the hood but safe enough & very close to restaurants, convenience store & tram (get the $3 all day pass) & had bathrooms & showers in every room!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mariahaelkes
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.7

My friends and I stayed here for 4 nights and after reading the reviews, we were really worried and even considered booking a hotel way last minute. However, it was a very pleasant, affordable and enjoyable stay for all of us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
4.3

Filthy dirty, too many locals/ vagabonds. No lockers, wifi doesn't really work, unless at front desk. I couldn't bring myself to cook in the kitchen, disgusting!!! One local even told me another local steals food and drinks from common fridge. The location is great and close to transit. New Orleans fills up during festivals so this place seems to be everybody's last resort. It certainly was my last resort after reading all the reviews. Still waiting on my key deposit to be credited to my card.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
3.7

If all you literally need is a place to put your head down after being out exploring New Orleans than this place is fine. However, there are no lockers which is a big problem because you're just hoping everyone with you in the dorm is a good person. 0 Internet (even though they say it's there) so if you want to research stuff, you better have a phone with you. It's also, as other people said, pretty dirty. Also, there is no way you come here and meet people. It's just...ok. No atmosphere

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2016
6.0

Nice enough for a group of blokes, who need a bed. Loads of "permanent" residents, which made it feel more like a halfway house, than a hostel.... but they were friendly enough. Facilities need some attention, and hot water would have been good. Location is great though, and for the price it did the job. You pay for what you get.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
2.9

This place is cheap so dont expect anything. Dormrooms stink like a m*****f***r. Wifi doesnt work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.7

Great value for your money, I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.