Hostelworld.com

New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House Located at 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans.
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
USA
New Orleans LA 2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130
66% 722
29.9344262 -90.0824189
New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.0

I loved my stay- and the locals totally made it! I left my phone in the cab from the airport! Paulie was very sweet & reassuring & continued calling it after I left for my room til the driver picked up & arranged for it to be brought back. I was up til 3am both nights, hanging & telling stories with the long term residents, they were so awesome! Near the hood but safe enough & very close to restaurants, convenience store & tram (get the $3 all day pass) & had bathrooms & showers in every room!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
3.7

If all you literally need is a place to put your head down after being out exploring New Orleans than this place is fine. However, there are no lockers which is a big problem because you're just hoping everyone with you in the dorm is a good person. 0 Internet (even though they say it's there) so if you want to research stuff, you better have a phone with you. It's also, as other people said, pretty dirty. Also, there is no way you come here and meet people. It's just...ok. No atmosphere

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
2.9

This place is cheap so dont expect anything. Dormrooms stink like a m*****f***r. Wifi doesnt work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
2.9

Place is dirty. I would not sleep there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
6.3

Overall the furniture and decor was pretty dated, but the hostel was definitely clean and well-cared-for. not bad value for money, but it seemed like a lot of the folks there were long-term residents, not the most welcoming common spaces. I wouldn't recommend the place to solo travelers who plan to spend a lot of time hanging out in the hostel, but as a base of operations for a pair/group, Marquette House would be great. Or try the private rooms and the garden instead of the dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.0

Hostel is a bit far from the French Quarter and there is practically no wifi in the hostel, nor any atmosphere. However, the staff are very warm and welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
6.9

It's a fine place. It's in need of a few repairs, but they're very accommodating if something goes wrong and you need to be moved or what have you. I had a pleasant time there, the other guests were great, and the staff was brilliant, knowledgeable, and gave me some great recommendations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
6.6

Did the job. New Orleans is so crazy you won't even notice that the beds are missing most of the bed slates. Staff seemed friendly. You have to stand on the router to get any WiFi, but that's okay. Easy to get around as there is a street car stop just round the corner. It's very new Orleans like.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
9.1

We stayed in a private room, it was quite large. It was pretty clean too. It's a very quiet place which was nice after being in the city's noise all day. I would highly recommend taking the rail cars around town to save yourself some time and not be too exhausted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
6.9

It's beautiful, the vibes are great, the owner is incredibly nice, and you can meet a lot of cool guests. Even though some of the facilities could be better I'll definitely stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.