Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Noosa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jul 2017
7.7

Had a nice and big room for 8 people with toliet and shower. The showers were never cleaned in the 4 nights I was there though and really gross. Also the kitchen is big but not enough space for everyone during dinner time and poorly set up with not enough plates, bowls, cutlery etc... that is always dirty. Besides those 2 facts though i liked the hostel and would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. All of our dorms are made to fit in comfortably the amount of guests that are allocated to them, whether it is an 8 bed or 16 bed dormitory. Every day our housekeepers go through every room in our hostel that is in use and methodically clean the rooms, bathrooms and showers. If someone had used it between them cleaning it and you using it, it may not always be perfectly clean. But it is definitely cleaned daily and if there was anything of any real concern with them, reception could have been notified for this to be sorted promptly. We are aware of the issues with the kitchen and hope to be refurbishing and doing it up over the quiet season. We also send cleaners through the kitchen three times a day, in the morning, the midday and the evening. If guests aren't cleaning their own dishes in between those times, there is not a lot we can do about it, but hope that everyone cleans up after themselves, so guests coming after them have clean implements to use. Thanks for the feedback and we hope you come stay with us again and that the rest of your trip is amazing. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

  • bethanyjanderson535
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere at the night, rooms are spacious and only a 10 minute walk from the beaches and the national park

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Awesome to hear that you enjoyed our world famous Koala Bar were beats, just like the beers are dropping all night long. Every night on the week we put on something new to keep our guests entertained, no matter how long they are here for. We have three types of dorms, 8. 10 and 16 beds and each dorm is large enough to give each guest their own space and our complex has plenty of places to meet other guests or just chill out. Thanks for mentioning our location as we are fantastically place in between the super markets, the bus stop and the beach. We hope you have the chance to come and stay again and that the rest of your trip is epic. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2017
4.6

I stayed in room 1 and at night it was difficult to sleep because if the noise from the bar. My bothroom and toilet had mould all over the ceiling. My bed did not feel like it was clean- when I arrived there was sand on my sheets already and it was a top bunk so the sand could not have gotten there by mistake. The kitchen was very badly laid out which made it hazourdous to cook in at bust meal times. There was a high risk of bumping into people with hot pans or boiling water.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Room 1 out of the 8 bed dormitories is the closest to the bar out of those room,types, but you also received a free upgrade to go into them. If there had been a problem with the noise. as our rooms are sound proofed and at around 8pm we close the bar to the outside to minimise any extra noise, but if we had been alerted to this our reception could have moved you rooms/ Whenever a guest checks out the beds are replaced with new linen daily, the only way there could have been sand on your bed is if someone had changed beds after they had been cleaned or sat on them. Other than that if reception had been made aware of this fact, we would have happily changed your sheets for you. We are aware that the kitchen needs some fixing up, but there are no safety hazards. or else it wouldn't be in operation and just like any kitchen when there are multiple people cooking you have to be aware of your surroundings. We are also looking at refurbishing the kitchen over the quiet season to solve any other hassles with it. Hope the rest of your trip is amazing. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

Great hostel with a fun atmosphere and really lovely staff! Basic rooms with wifi in the reception area. Kitchen was a bit dirty. They had a bar/club onsite which made it easier to socialise especially with meet and greets every night. 5 min walk to coles and at midnight they had a shuttle bus into town which was handy. Overall decent hostel for such a cheap price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Awesome to hear that you had a a great time here at our hostel and with our fantastic staff who we take pride in their performance with both professionalism and friendliness to all customers. The Koala Bar is a great place that to make new friends and great memories with meet and greets and new themes happening every night in the week, so there is never a dull moment! Thanks for mentioning our fantastic location which is centrally situated between the beach, the supermarkets and the bus drop off. We are an affordable option offering backpackers going up and down the east coast of Auz a great time as well. Come again soon and enjoy the rest of your intrepid journey, Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
5.4

Good basic hostel. Kitchen has a weird layout making it difficult to cook during busy times. Cockroaches in the kitchen. Showers go cold after 10 mins. Duvets smelt. Lovely large room. Security not great as people who weren't staying there managed to just walk into the hostel and actually took over our room with alcohol and music. Took security at least 45 mins to come and resolve the problem. Wifi quite slow. Okay for a short stay. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
5.1

I wouldn't recommend staying here. The rooms were nice size and beds were ok although very squeaky. Pillow is basically non existent. The kitchen was so dirty and cramped almost impossible to cook anything and there's no space to prepare or even stand by your food whilst you cook. They are super strict with no byo and the bar isn't very good unless there is a big night going on. The staff are not very friendly and barely crack a smile (except the blond girl who was lovely). 10 min walk to beach

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry that your bed was squeaky as they are regularly tightened and replaced over time, but due to use and wear and tear your one may have been coming up to be serviced. As for the kitchen, we are looking at fixing it up within the next 4 - 6 weeks during the winter season, so if you do come to stay again, it should meet your approval then. If you are upset about our policies on alcohol and had some confiscated at some point, this is due to a legal requirement. With regards to our alcohol rules, everyone on check is advised that they can't bring alcohol onto the property and if they have it, it can be left at reception to pick up on check out. Security always knocks before entering a room to check for alcohol and if they do confiscate alcohol from a room it is not returned due to it being snuck onto the property. I'm sorry about the service you think you received in the bar and will make sure that our bar managers increase their training on customer service as we pride ourselves on having friendly and skilled staff in all aspects of our business. Also we would like to think that no night is dull ever at the Koala Bar due to all the amazing events that we put on for our guests. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st May 2017
9.1

we were in this hostel for 3 nights and we loved it. the rooms are clean and big enough. BUT the wifi is not really free. you can only get free wifi in the reacaption but in the rooms or in the genral area it's coast money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Hey, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. With regards to the wifi, there are two forms of it at our hostel, one is the free access that is for basic internet usage, like emails, Whatsapp, Facebook/time to stay in contact with friends or family. If you needed it for anything else like streaming a film, then there was the option to purchase faster Wifi. Also by providing free Wifi in the more communal areas can also be a good way for people to leave their rooms and meet some of our other guests. If customers do want faster internet access it can be purchased for a daily or discounted weekly rate to use it in their rooms. We here at Noosa are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope the rest of your travels are amazing. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

16th May 2017
8.0

A happy hostel. Nice common areas, not too far from the beach, good staff etc. Bathrooms were clean also! Only complaint is the kitchen is a bit small to cook in given the amount of guests, but as it is often the case with backpacker hostels! Would happily stay again and would recommend :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and we do apologise about the kitchen, but it is something that we are aware of. We are looking at fixing up the kitchen within the next 4 - 6 weeks during the winter season, so if you do come to stay again, it should meet your approval then. Hope the rest of your travels are wicked!!! Cheers The Nomads Noosa Crew

10th May 2017
2.0

Don't stay at this hostel. You pay a lot of money but don't get anything for it. The rooms look like a prison without any light inside. The kitchen was dirty as well and you don't want to cook in there. The hostel claims to be a place for young people but you can not bring your own alcohol. The security controls the rooms without knocking on the door every night and takes your alcohol which you don't get back. There are way better hostels in Noosa!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you feel like you didn't get value for money at our hostel but we are a bit surprised and concerned at this review as you extended multiple times with us, going from the initial three nights to a week. If you have any serious concerns please contact us. If you are upset about our policies on alcohol and had some confiscated at some point, this is due to a legal requirement. Everyone on check is advised that they can't bring alcohol onto the property and if they have it, it can be left at reception to pick up on check out. Security always knocks before entering a room to check for alcohol and if they do confiscate alcohol from a room it is not returned due to it being snuck onto the property. This is a definitely for customer of all ages, especially young travelers as we host all kinds of events at our bar every night of the week. Also we are aware of the kitchen but our staff have just deep cleaned it and we will be looking refurbishing and changing the layout of the kitchen within the next 4-6 weeks. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays. Nomads Noosa Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
8th May 2017
8.6

5-10 min walk from greyhound bus stop. Can easily walk to the beach where you can either surf or access the national park to go for a walk. Short walk to the supermarket. Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced. Rooms were cleaned daily and are a good price. Kitchen was pretty big with plenty of storage space and gas hobs but could be cleaner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad to here that you enjoyed our facility and location during your stay here. Sorry about the kitchen situation, we do have staff cleaning it three times during the day, once in the morning, the midday and evening. Unfortunately in-between those times if other guests don't do their dishes due to the size it can make it look dirty. We are looking at upgrading and outfitting the kitchen during the winter season and if you stay with us again, the kitchen should have higher standards by then. Enjoy the rest of your holidays. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.