X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Noosa Reviews

44 Noosa Drive, Noosa Heads, Noosa, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
417 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The atmosphere is really good with a nice bar and a swimming pool area. Friendly staff. Bad things: far from the main beach, the room is really hot, the sheets are dirty, the kitchen is disgusting and hot. No lockers. Don't count with the free shuttle from the bus stop, they sometimes forget you.


43%

I can't believe I spent 30 dollars to sleep in an 8 bed dorm that was so hot that I had to take cold showers at night to cool down. There was no ceiling fan, just some portable fans, so if you were in the upper bed you felt nothing of it. Kitchen was dirty, sheets were disgusting and the staff not friendly.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly and helpful staff, 10 minute to walk to the beach with free surfboard hire. Little courtyard beside the pool is nice to have dinner and meet people. Free BBQ on Sunday is great and live music for free is a bonus.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us and letting us know our staff were helpful. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your travels! Kind regards, Management.

89%

Overall pretty happy with my stay. Highlight was the activities and the pool party. Rooms are ok with two bathrooms and pretty awesome pool area. Staff are great here and funky coffee shop at reception.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for the feedback. Our pool parties are pretty railer so we are glad you enjoyed :) The coffee shop is a new addition so glad you liked it also. Cheers, Management.

54%

Just a bit grotty for the money we paid. If it was cheaper we wouldn't have minded it. The food at the bar was awful too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, it's unfortunate to hear your comments regarding being grotty. Usually our staff are right onto any areas that are suffering bad cleanliness standards and we are quick to fix any spaces that aren't up to scratch. It is unusual to hear about the bar food being awful. We pride ourselves on the standards in the kitchen for so I'm hoping that you brought the issue up with management at the time, as we would have replaced the meal or worked towards an outcome you were happy with. Cheers

80%

The bedroom was really hot, even with the fans running. A big problem that we noticed was about the lack of waste separation (recyclable / composting / landfill). Overall, was a good place to stay, the staff is really nice, and the location is really good (close to the main beach).

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, great point you raise concerning the waste separation in the rooms. We do have three different bin types for general waste across the property which we manage carefully, however the separation inside the rooms is always a challenge with multiple guests in one room. Fantastic observation regarding our staff & location as we pride ourselves on being a happy, informative team. The heat is something we all struggle with at times here in Sunny QLD, even with fans. Thanks for your time!

40%

No air cons so rooms are very hot. Door is left open all the time because of the heat and everybody can get in during day and night (also animals). Did not get clean sheets and the toilets were a catastrophe. Internet did not work very well and the walk to the beach is quite long although they said it was just around the corner. One of the worst and most expensive hostels we stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we do agree the rooms can get hot here without air con. With multiple guests in and out there's always a chance some doors will be left open. It's fairly unusual for 'animals' to be entering rooms so if that did cause any anxiety I'm hoping you were able to bring it up with our staff. I apologize for the clean sheets and toilet situation, we have housekeepers on around the clock so if there is a space that isn't up to scratch we're always quick to act on these instances. Cheers!

37%

It was so much noise from everyone that lived there, there was a party going on in our room all night. The staff told them to go away or be quiet, but that made them even louder. Not much sleep for us that night. It was also expensive so we actually had better expectations.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, it's always difficult to control guests that are parting within a room and we often rely on guests like yourself to bring to our attention. Usually our staff show a heavier hand in these situations and we can extinguish a party that is out of control. I would like to hear more feedback on how our staff exactly handled this situation so if you ever have the time feel free to contact management during business hours. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

69%

Disgustingly hot in the rooms. Sweating the moment you stepped into them. Fans not doing anything and not facing the beds. Had to sleep with the door open to get some air in bad for security. Cannot be legal to sleep in that heat. Get some aircon! No other hostel is this hot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we have a very hot Summer here in Queensland each year and our guests do at times struggle coming to terms with the heat. We try to configure the rooms as best we can with fans facing the beds and we do have extra fans on hand when there is a situation if a bed doesn't have one. We just suggest that you bring it up with staff and almost always we can find a solution for you. We hope you can enjoy the rest of your holiday!

100%

Very good hostel and great activities. We did the Sunshine Beach surf day and Noosa lookout point which was heaps of fun. Ok kitchen but great pool area with music on all day.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Have never stayed at a Nomads but we booked the Fraser Island tour through them. Was a great time and the hostel is fun and it's good they give free surfboard hire so we learned to surf. About a 10 minute walk to the beach but close to the shops.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Glad you had a railer time on our Fraser Island Tour. We treasure that island and the feedback we get from our guests like yourself is always nice to hear. Bodacious that you learned to surf!!! When on, Noosa has some of the best point breaks in Australia so we're stoked you has that experience. We heard that you didn't even wear sunscreen as you were shacked up in the shade of blue and green barrels all day! Thanks for your feedback!!!

94%

The staff were really great and very helpful. The free activities were fun and the pool area is good to hang out and meet new people. We booked a 16 share and are big enough with 2 showers. Had a fun stay and will come back.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, fantastic observation on our staff. I personally hand reared them from birth and trained them myself on how to be Mad. Our activities and pool area / parties are always a guest highlight so we glad that you were able to hang and meet new people. If your coming back make sure you mention at check in you've stayed with us before! Cheers!

49%

Riddled with bed bugs! Which the staff denied, but the bites didn't lie!

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I thought the kitchen times were really bad, 7am-9pm. The sinks and pans etc were also crammed in the corner of the kitchen, which was bad. But otherwise spacious. Pretty good location, close to Coles and Iga.


60%

rooms aren't aircon, the free wifi doesn't work. but the payable is perfect! The bar is ok but nothing spectacular. wouldn't stay here unless you can't find anything else.


77%

Had a lovely time at Nomads. Found that the girl Sam behind the front desk to be extremely helpful if I ever had a problem. The rooms were cleaned everyday which was good. Rooms are ensuit which was extremely good :) pool was cleaned everyday. Only downside being that the kitchen was a little messy at times, but I did notice it was cleaned extremely often. Just a shame that the other travels were messy. Overall very nice hostel, good free BBQ on a Sunday.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice hostel :-) Pick up and drop off at the bus station! Lots of activities like a sunset tour. Be prepared for it to be a PARTY hostel!!


51%

Terrible kitchen, nice room, location is good, floor in the bar is really sticky (broken flipflops)


51%

No air con in the rooms, very small and dirty kitchen


60%

Nomads Noosa is a big hostel with a young crowd that spends a lot of time at the pool. the kitchen is very busy at most times and the bar is full of gap year travelers, so if that's your thing then it could be really fun. the bbq was decent, good sausage, and the travel desk was helpful, as was the shuttle bus from the bus station. it was ok for a short stay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Noosa Hostels

Please give us your feedback