Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Noosa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • katie_r
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2017
9.1

Had a great time at Nomads Noosa. Location is good, 10 mins walk from the beach, 5 mins walk from the coach station. You get a free welcome drink with check in that is valid for the get together in the evening of the arrival day, which makes you socialise straight away with the other guests. :) & the staff is very helpful, nice and friendly! Top!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • groach3996
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Sep 2017
6.9

Due to reviews I was very apprehensive about staying here. It's not as bad as I was expecting. The kitchen layout is awful: only 2 sinks and not enough hobs. The tea towels need replacing they were grim but the now have plenty of forks. Beds were comfy and I slept well and could pick up the free wifi in my room. Bathroom was very mouldy and seriously needs work and deep clean. Room was clean. The bar is fun and it's a good hostel to meet people but it depends how sensitive you are to dirt.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Sep 2017
5.7

Not good. The rooms are dark, dingy and cramped with no lockers for any valuables. All the equipment in the kitchen is pretty filthy. They offer you a free drink upon arrival but the bar makes excuses for it not to be valid. The promotions girl who comes to your room is awful and so rude to guests. Other hostels in the area are of a much higher standard so I wouldn't recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ei-li6198
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Aug 2017
7.4

We only stayed here one night as a stop over before heading to Fraser Island but appreciated the large kitchen although it wasn't the cleanest. I didn't understand their check-in routine, it seemed to take a lot longer than necessary. The rooms were nice but my bed didn't seem very stable if I'm being honest as the ladder wasn't properly attached. The staff made a lot of effort to encourage new people to socialise by offering a free cocktail with a meet and greet on arrival which was lovely!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry that you didn't enjoy the Tipi process to check in, we and other backpackers have found that it is a good way for backpackers to connect who are travelling up or down the east coast. Also it actually streamlines the process of checking in, even though after completing the process you still have to talk to one of our friendly receptionists who have to take payment, tell our customers about what is happening in the hostel and the rules and what they can do here. If we didn't have the Tipi pre-check in, the process would take a lot longer having to manually input all of the details that we need. The kitchen is in a constant state of being upgraded as it is hard to do while its' in use, but it is cleaned three times a day by our housekeeping team. In between those times it is up to the guests to wash their own dishes which can sometimes leave the kitchen in a state of disrepair. Sorry about the bunks as naturally they go through a bit of wear and tear and our maintenance are constantly tightening the bolts so sorry yet again that your bunk was not up to speed. Thanks for mentioning the world famous Koala Bar where we put on a new event for our backpackers every night of the week that kicks off with a free drink for our new guests at the meet and greet so everyone gets a chance to socialise at our hostel. Hope the rest of your trip is awesome! Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

  • lucyasp
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2017
7.1

Good hostel if you like cheap drinks and cheesy music, not really our scene, but location is good. Meet amd greet for newbies is great. Kitchen and rooms where grubbiest we have seen over our journey up the east coast. So many cockroaches in th kitchen!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Thanks for mentioning our great Koala Bar that hosts a meet and greet every night and events that change every night of the week as well. It is definitely a backpackers bar so we aim to cater to our clientele, but the music is from all types of genres, so sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. The rooms are cleaned daily by our experienced housekeeping team and the only way a room wouldn't be clean would be due to guests own mess and unfortunately there is not a lot that we can do about that. The kitchen is cleaned three times daily, once in the morning, before lunch and after dinner. It is then up to the backpackers to do their own dishes and sometimes that doesn't happen and as the kitchen is open to the elements it can attract bugs. We try to mitigate that from happening as much as possible, but sorry that you came across some cockroaches. Hope the rest of your trip is awesome. Cheers The Nomads Noosa team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2017
7.7

Surprised at the standard of cleanliness for a hostel chain. Very dirty kitchen to the point where I didn't even want to cook in there. Unclaimed stuff/food left in the room for nearly 2 weeks. Dirty toilets. It's a shame because everything else was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We take all feedback that we receive very seriously and try to deal with it accordingly. I am sorry of the state that you found the kitchen in and it is something that we are working on constantly. We clean it three times during the day, in the morning, after lunch and after dinner time. Unfortunately the state of it does rely upon other guests cleaning up after themselves also so we are working on refurbishing the kitchen over this quiet season to make that easier. With regards to the room, we have cleaners going through each room daily if they have had or have guests in them so I apologise if they didn't pick up on some rubbish not belonging to the guests still staying there and this information has been relayed on to our housekeepers so it shouldn't occur again. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the rest that this great hostel has to offer and hope you have the chance to visit again in the future. Hope the rest of your trip is great. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jul 2017
5.4

Loved this place on our first stay, but dissapionted at our second stay. The room clearly had some staff staying, who's stuff was spread everywhere and usually collected around the limited plug sockets making them difficult to access. They were loud and roudy, room stank of perfumes.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The first time you stayed with us, it was in an 8 person dormitory and then you stayed in a 16 bed dormitory, so naturally there are ,more people to share the space with on your return trip. All of our staff live in staff stay in private rooms on the property so it couldn't have been them so unfortunately that may have been messy room mates, which we can apologise for, but can't do too much else. Hope you come stay with us again and enjoy the rest of your trip around Auz! Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice, sociable, not dirty, rooms pretty good. A lot of paperwork when checking in and no secure luggage storage though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and we take pride here in having a clean, friendly hostel, where it is a great place to chill out or party depending on what you are looking for. Apart from handing over vouchers for booked accommodation or the Fraser trip, there is no paper work on check in. There is however a pre-check in on an app, which can be done online before you arrive at the hostel or in the reception, but this just speeds up and stream lines the whole process. The rooms don't have lockers, but we have secure lockers in reception, so if customers has any valuables they want secured, they can leave it with reception. Also to add to security we have on site security during the evening. Hope the rest of your trip is awesome. Cheers The Nomads Noosa Team

25th Jul 2017
5.7

If you like partying then this is a good hostel for you. Its in a great location and the rooms were alright. Kitchen is way too small and I would never cook in it. Wifi never worked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. This hostel is great for partying, if that is what you came here to do, with the world famous Koala Bar putting on different events every night of the week. This hostel is also great for chilling as well, with hammocks and lots of other quiet areas around the hostel to use. The kitchen is in the process of being refurbished over the quiet season but is still more than ample for our guests needs with a large area for people to work in, so sorry you felt that way. We provide free Wifi in the common areas of the hostel, but not in the dorms, for guests to check their emails, Facebook, Whatsapp and the like and it goes 24 hours a day. If you had wanted Wifi in the rooms we have a faster option that is able to be purchased at reception. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Kind Regards The Nomads Noosa Team

18th Jul 2017
6.6

$11 for laundry is an absolute joke.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We think that $11 for a wash and dry is reasonable price as that also includes the laundry detergent and the quality of the machines is high and the drying time is longer than normal machines, so they don't have to be used twice. With no other feedback left on the hostel there isn't too much else I can comment, but I hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kind Regards The Nomads Noosa Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×