Hostelworld.com

North Borneo Cabin

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 310 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 310 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
North Borneo Cabin Located at 1st & 2nd Floor, No. 74 Jalan Gaya, , Kota Kinabalu.
North Borneo Cabin
Malaysia
Kota Kinabalu Sabah 88000 1st & 2nd Floor, No. 74 Jalan Gaya
81% 310
5.9848326 116.0774230
North Borneo Cabin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ronbrendon9583
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Yan (staff) is super friendly and very accommodating! ;) excellent location and clean sheets!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

I ended up staying here for over 2 weeks because of voluntary work nearby in the 12 people van room (only 20 RM!! If you prefer aircon thats possible as well), i loved the cosy communal living room and balconies,free coffee&tea, good wifi, the lockers (free of charge),but most of all the great people and staff i met here. Especially Yan is super friendly and helpful. Thank you very much for the hospitality!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
8.6

Had a great time at NBC. Great location. Halfway between Jesselton Point (island boats) and The Night Market. It's also walking distance to the bus station for the mountain and jungle buses. The shower situation is less than desirable, however adequate for a moderate level of desperation. Also, the Sunday market is directly beneath the face of the building. I stayed 5 nights here and 1 night down the street at a hostel with a more "lively" community quarters and I would stay at both again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2016
7.1

The bed and sofa mattresses need some airing as they've become stuffy due to numerous people's sweat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
7.7

The staff at North Borneo Cabin are very friendly and helpful. Even though we were very slow to book tours, they did their best to make it happen for us. The location is good; as KK is quite small you can reach whatever you need af a traveller from this location. Further, the area is filled with local restaurants from all over the world. All quite good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2016
8.6

The security was one of the greatest features. Having a gate and then additional locked doors gave a great sense of security. Location wise it was very good and near almost everything we needed. The Wifi was also quite beneficial.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Feb 2016
7.7

Location is great. Staff were great. Very close to bus station where you can hop on a bus to go to Mt kinabalu. Don't use tour package's from hostel. Cheaper doing it alone. However the room was like a sauna. It was cooler outside than in that room. I couldn't sleep for two nights. I was sweating everywhere. Horrible horrible Horrible. Yes I didn't pick the air con room but this was something else. Even with three fans this room was so hot. Otherwise okay experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
5.4

The staff was so unfriendly! Still can't believe.. the beds are in a condition. If the person in the bunkbed below or on top you moves the whole bed is shaking. Sleeping is impossible! Besides the mattresses are lumpy. In the 8bed dorm are only 4 electricity plugs. There are not enough lockers for every guest. The lockers are easily to open for burglers. Invest a few ringitt more in another hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2016
10.0

Very clean, breakfast included and beds are comfortable! Everything you could want for a relaxed accomodation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2015
8.9

Stayed for a night and it was very pleasant. The staff were very nice and very accommodating. I'd recommend this place for backpackers looking for cheap yet at the same clean and amenable places to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.