X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oliver St. John Gogarty Reviews

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3350 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Our Stay in Gogartys was really cool! It is in the Temple Bar District, in the center of Dublin. You can reach every sight within 5-15min walk. The hostel is clean, the stuff is very very friendly and the rooms fits to the number of people in it. Great place to stay! I would recommend it to everybody who wants to visit Dublin!


91%

overall very good, and the room we had was much better the the last one i stayed in. Just a little more attention to detail on the cleaning (previous customer/s had stuck gum to the under side of one of the bunk beds?), difficult for staff to see when cleaning.


71%

Great Staff


89%

If you want to party and experience the Temple Bar, this is a great place to stay. Earplug are a just if you want to sleep before midnight.


77%

I stayed here by myself 3 years ago, so I booked it again for my 5 backpacking friends and I for 3 nights. This hostel is all about its location. It is right in the Temple Bar district so if your aim is to party then this is it. The facilities are a little ltd, but the hostel is clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The only negative issue is the noise from the bar downstairs, and one night we were kept up for the majority of the evening - we were traveling early the next day


89%

Absolutely love this place! Rooms were clean

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

It is a bit noisy at times yet we liked the cleanliness of the rooms.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is nice. Nothing to complain about.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was nice and friendly, quite clean and everything went smooth for the 2 nights that we stayed there. The location is very nice, right on temple bar area. I was afraid it would be too noisy but no such problems :)

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel in next to the Gogarty's pub and the music is very loud but we knew it before coming. It's a good adress to have fun but don't expect to sleep long ! I had a private room with an outdoor bathroom and toilets. This is the inconvenient. Very nice hostel for a short stay. We booked only one night The staff is very nice.


91%

Very nice stay at Gogarty. Don't hesitate to book. ;) It was very calm and the breakfast is full.


74%

The location of this hostel is perfect since it is at the heart of Temple Bar! However there are a few flaws: we couldn't open the window in our room and it was so hot inside that we couldn't sleep very well; the pub is just under the hostel there is much noise at nights (until 4am on Saturday); there's only one key per room so you have to deal with that with your roommates!

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We needed to keep the window open to help cool down the room so heard all the noise from pub music, partiers and street cleaners.Bring good earplugs!! Also, pick up your free CD/ DVD when you check in cuz same as the one from they sell in pub downstairs. I was a bit concerned when the door from the hostel's dining room was open directly to the pub next door which means that anyone from the pub could just merrily walk into the hostel until the dining room was locked about 11pm (listed time 8pm)

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Really cool place! I only stayed one night but the location was perfect, the staff ver y helpful and nice (they even stored my bags the whole day for free), and the breakfast so complete. I would definetely repeat if I go back to Dublin.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms are very confortable and they were really clean. The fact that we shared the bathroom with the people of our own room, was a little unconfortable because we always needed to wait a lot to used it, and it stayed kind of dirty sometimes. Are doorknob was also not working very well, but the people from the hostel help us fix it. So make sure your room is really locked before you go out. The location is very good, right next to all the restarants, bars, main streets and atractions.


60%

The location is both fantastic and bad. It's in the middle of Temple bar, making it very central, but also very noisy at night. People were screaming and singing outside every night. The rooms were also too hot, making it hard to sleep. Each room has also only got ONE key, which is madness. Every night people had to knock on the door to get into the dorm, waking everyone up. And if no-one was in the room but had left with the key you had to find them. Why WHY aren't there more keys to the rooms?


46%

We booked for 4 nights 2 beds in the 4 bed Dorm and checked out after the 1st night. We stayed in many Hostels around the world but never had to deal with things like just 1 key per Room or that the staff lets an old guy, totally drunk, with no luggage, into the dorm at 4 in the night (behaving like no other hostel I know would accept). After complaining, staff didn't even bothered to check the room. Sayed that, the Pub downstairs is really loud until 3am. There are much better places to stay.


57%

One key per room??? Doesn't make any sense. Means anyone can walk up and ask for the key and get access to the room. When you ask for the key at reception and they don't have it they expect you to knock on the door and get someone to open it for you. Try doing that in the middle of the night. On the flip side you have people knocking on the door in the middle of the night waking you up. How about keys for everyone and if they get lost people pay to get them replaced which is the system 99% use.


86%

The beds are quite short, people taller than 180cm can't strech their legs.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Paul on reception was fab! Very helpful.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(151 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback