X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Oliver St. John Gogarty Reviews

18-21 Anglesea Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3257 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The room and ensuite bathroom itself were fine, though the other facilities were pretty dirty shabby.


97%

Great place! Located in the heart of Dublin. Just one thing, breakfast could be served until 11:00.


86%

Good hostel for the money. Basic necessities are all there. We stayed in a mixed room, it was nice to have a bathroom for the room, instead of a common one for the whole hostel. Its attached to the bar next door so its nice to bounce back and forth. Excellent location for bars, entertainment, and transport to and from the airport. One key to share per room kinda sucks, when the person with the key is passed out cold in the room. Over all the hostel gets the job done.


83%

Amazing location, definitely in the middle of Temple Bar, so might be good to bring ear plugs if you want to have some undisturbed sleep :)

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Having one key per shared room, when not everyone staying in one room are travelling together is rather inconvenient and messy.. other than that (and that it inevitably gets noisy at night considering it's above a pub), the place is great. Highly reccommendable!


86%

This hostel was overall a nice place to stay. It's not too expensive and is in an EXCELLENT location. It's right in the middle of temple bar, if that's your type of thing. Some beds don't have lockers but if it's that big of a deal to you, you can leave your luggage at the desk. The rooms I stayed in were as clean as the staff could get them (messy guests), but one bathroom was a bit grungy.


91%

Great place, lovely hostel with nice staff. I have recommend for all my friends.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

fantastic! will be back with the lads in september :)

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good stay here. The staff was friendly and the breakfast/coffee area was great. One big problem to fix is the mess with the key. There is only one and it's very sad that you have to wake up others to enter to the room. The other bad point is the bathroom didn't lock the door.


100%

This is a great hostel in a very prime area. Staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was more than adequate, and just all round great place.


69%

Only problem is there was only 1 key for the room when there was 2 separate parties staying there.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

They only give out one key per room. So the 10 of us had to share the key and keep waking each other up from sleeping to get in. Lots of cool people to talk to. Fun bar on the ground floor, but it gets very loud at night. It's in a great/fun location (right in temple bar), but you won't get much sleep here.


69%

One key policy per room is ridiculous, half the beds don't have lockers as well so it's a rather large security risk. Front desk staff is very nice though.


86%

Great location but a little loud. Bright lights shined in room. Bring ear plugs and eye mask. Great bar right downstairs. Incredible music.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The non-acess to the key card really sucks.


89%

Great location...decent place. Good breakfast, more than the toast/cereal typical of a hostel. Rooms are clean, bathroom is clean, Wi-Fi is strong, shower is cold...which is the only real negative about the place.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hostel located right in the middle of Temple bar, all staff where fantastic extremely helpful. excellent value for money, very clean and would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Dublin. Our party had two 8 bed dorms so ideal for big groups of traveling people.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

I had to leave at 2am on the first night , I was told I'd get a bed , I waited all day then nothing arrived . I was then woken up by another man claiming I was in his bed. , a fight nearly broke out . I went to reception to ask for advice and they could not help and still no bed . I asked fro a refund and they could not do that either . At 2am I had no alternative but to go to the airport and cut short the three day trip , left on a flight on night one . I would not recommend this place .

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

At the heart of Temple Bar to enjoy the nightlife and close to the major attractions of Dublin to visit them during the day. Nice place ... I will return

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a fantastic weekend. Have used the hostel many times before and would highly recommend. 5 girls in 1 dorm amazing laugh. Staff are amazing and very helpful and friendly. Will be using again the very near future.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(154 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback