X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Peniche Surf Lodge Reviews

Rua Casal de Viola 6, Papoa, Peniche, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
236 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Brilliant little surf home away from home! Great people, very comfortable, and dedicated to surf. Perfect!


94%

You want to surf Peniche, but don't have your board or wetty with you, plus you don't have a way to get around or know all the best local breaks? No worries! This is an awesome place to set up Basecamp if you want to surf. Facilities are clean and staff are awesome. The only suggestion I have is a locker for each guest otherwise perfect!


94%

Really great .,., if u want to surf come here


97%

Best hostel I ever stayed in! So many cool people with a love for surfing and Duncan and Claire are lovely people. Felt sad to leave after only 3 nights.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks Claire and Duncan for a great holiday. The lodge is like a big family and you immediately made us feel like being a part of it. We definitely plan to come back some time soon. Our stay was even better than we expected it to be!! =]

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a very pleasant stay in Peniche Surf Lodge. Claire and Duncan are super friendly hosts and they helped us if needed. Daily routine included a free transportation to the best surfing spot and surf lessons if needed. In the afternoon we hanged out on the beach and tried surfing on our own. Later in the afternoon we got a transportation back to hostel. Surfboards and wetsuits can be rented from the hostel. Minor downside is the location. There is a 2 km walk to good restaurants.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy you loved your experience staying with us ,we have pleasure in taking everyone to the beach and reccommending the best restaurants close by, there are really good restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the Lodge or on the harbour which is 20 mins walk,we have the best fish restaurant in town just up from the lodge 10 mins walk along the coast with spectacular views of the sunset this is the most popular with our guests who always say they have excellent service too

100%

I had the best time staying at Peniche Surf Lodge. Really reccomend everyone.


100%

Claire and duncan were fantastic hosts, and run a lovely hostel, hopefully we will be able to come back again as the surfing and location was brilliant. Can't wait to return . Kind regards Elliot and Seth

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you for an amazing stay at Peniche. Though we regretted not having stayed for longer we really did enjoy the two days and surf lessons. We will be back :-) Katja&Franzi from Germany


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Amazing! Can't wait to go back!

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely hostel more like sharing a large house. Very clean and modern. The owners were very nice people. Very helpful.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Peniche Surf Lodge was great! For a solo traveler the share house was perfect for meeting new people. Claire and Duncan were amazing, they did everything you could ask for to make my stay enjoyable. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone and I would definitely stay here again.


100%

What a result! Considering we picked this place last minute when we were in Lisbon. It had a great write-up so we booked it. I'm so glad we did. Duncan and Claire are the most accomodating people I've ever met. They picked us up from the station, gave us a lift to the beach every day and Claire even drove us to Lisbon airport to catch our flights home! The surf lodge is chilled and cozy, the facilities are fantastic and the location is great. Duncan's a great surf teacher as well. Legend!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Thank you Claire & Duncan for an awesome stay, we made tons of new friends and felt like the kings of surfing with Duncan the best instructor ever! I'll definitely come back :)


97%

It was a pleasure to stay at the Surf Lodge. Claire and Duncan made everything possible. The hostel was very clean, it has a good location, really quiet, so we had a couple of good nights! The hostel is like a family, everybody is hanging out with each other and having a good laugh. If I'm around I will definitely stop by again!

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This lodge is amazing. Definitely a nice break from hostels. Felt like a family living in a house, was sad to leave! Recommend this place for sure!


91%

Claire and Duncan are the friendliest and nicest people all across Peniche. We stayed just for two nights but it was awesome. Duncan even gave us a private surfing lesson, possibility to rent boards and wetsuits for the day. Facilities great and bathrooms get cleaned every day! Overall very good hostel, without hesitation would book again :-)


97%

A fantastic place to stay. Highly recommend to anyone looking to surf in Portugal, or wanting a relaxed place away from the major cities. The opportunities to surf are tailored to your abilities - the learner lessons are taught in small groups with plenty of attention, or you can head over to Supertubos with the owner and/or his son (who is a sponsored surfer). Or just park yourself on the beach. The lodge has a great, relaxed atmosphere (it is not a hostel), and is close to all amenities.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay n surf


100%

Could not recommend the lodge enough. You will undoubtedly be well looked after! Claire and Duncan are two of the most genuine people you'll meet, with a huge passion for the beach and the surf. Duncan drove us to the beach everyday where we'd set up camp and surf most of the time. They have a huge range of boards and wetties to hire, also there a a couple of bikes if you feel like going for a cruise. It was always super clean and theres two big supermarkets near by open until late. Good vibes!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(143 results)


View all Peniche Hostels

Please give us your feedback