X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

River City Inn Reviews

33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1510 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

i like staffs and i love the location!!!!! i can walk to the merlion park to see the view everyday. also beds were neat and tidy


89%

The 26 bed dorm has a lot of beds crammed into a little space, but it works. it is actually nice that they turn off the air conditioning and open the windows during the day to get some fresh air in. It is a clean and quiet hostel, with a superb location right by Clarke Quay. It is within walking distance of a lot of attractions, the most beautiful parts of the city, and very close to the metro. If you just need a place to sleep in the heart of Singapore, this place does well for that.


100%

Clean, free of charge breakfast, nice staff. look location, five stars

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean and quiet with friendly staff and in a great location.


94%

很溫馨的一間旅館 員工和其他旅客們都很友善 房間也很安靜 下次有機會會再去住!!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

spacious showroom. comfy common room. thanks a lot. friendly staff.!!

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Small hostel in the very center of the business district- within a 10 minute walk of Chinatown, Marina Bay, colonial district, and metro station. Clean rooms (though the dorm was big at 26 beds), nice common area, friendly staff. Would stay here again.


57%

everything is good, but I don't like the air-condition just open 2000-0800, I think if we need to check out in the morning, still need some time to package our belonging , when we stay in a dead air room, it's really feel uncomfortable, it's was Singapore, quite hot here, thanks.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I like the hostel.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

A very cozy place to stay. The location is great, very close to MRT and Clarke Quay. Staff are helpful and friendly. Just that the hostel is on the 4th floor, so it can be a problem if you are carrying heavy baggages. The facilities are great. It could be even better if the AC in the dorm can operate longer hours.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel in a great location. Close to an MRT station and located in Clarke Quay by the river where loads of clubs and bars are located and it is just quite a nice area to be around at night. The hostel itself was pretty small and basic but did the job fine enough. But everything is expensive in Singapore so it is pretty good value for money.


94%

very clean hostel. great facilities. stayed in the 26 bed dorm and it was good. quiet for the most part. staff is friendly and a little stern at times about noise after 11pm. its right near the subway so it links you to everything. breakfast in the morning is toast with peanut butter and nutella. they have amazing instant coffee. would stay here again.


94%

The convenient central location and quiet ambience makes it an ideal place to break up a day of walking and sight-seeing with short rests. All facilities are efficiently laid out and kept beautifully clean. Very honest helpful staff: when I had to catch a very early morning flight from the airport and there was no one manning the counter, I forgot to collect my key deposit; before I even asked, they contacted me to arrange reimbursement.


100%

Nice service!nice staff!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed one night at River City Inn and was very happy with the accommodations. Staff was friendly, helpful, and speak great English. Our flight came in super early, so River City held our luggage for us until we could check in. Our departing flight left quite late on the day we checked out and they held our luggage for us until 10pm, even though we checked out at noon. Everything is clean and well kept. Location is great, only minutes from MRT Clarke Quay. Would definitely stay again.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

If you pay with debit card (they don't accept credit card) you have to pay extra 5% of payment. They don't even mention in their website. Besides, the staff have no patient to wait which currency I am going to pay with. The room is very small, and the personal reading light is too bright, it may bother other roommates. In such a tropical country, they provide air condition from 9pm-9am, which may be environmental-friendly but not human-friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is stated clearly in the terms and conditions of booking that we ONLY accept payment in cash in order to keep prices low for our guests and that payment with card is subjected to an administration fee. The reading lights can be turned off if it is too bright. The air conditioning is turned on for 12hrs continuously through the night. Fans are turns on the in day to ventilate the dorms when most guests head out for sight-seeing. Air conditioning is available in the living area in the day.

77%

To be fair, this was a pretty decent hostel. The large dorm room with 26 beds provides curtains (though not the full length of the bed) which helps maintain a little privacy if desired. 4/5 cleanliness in bathrooms. Included breakfast was good with chocolate sauce, bananas, toast and peanut butter. My biggest *complaint* was the cost, at 26 Singapore $s, but in all fairness, Singapore is much more expensive in general than surrounding countries. It was just a shock after Malaysia and Indonesia.


89%

great location in the heart of the city. small little hostel and perfect if your only staying a few days. free breakfast and clean rooms with free lockers with locks.


71%

AC in the rooms only on between 9 pm and 9 am. Rooms without windows can be a bit hot in the afternoon - if you try to get some rest.


83%

It is recommended that families with small children are not accepted in the hostel in the future. It really takes away a lot of the atmosphere that should be in a hostel. Otherwise good location.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback