X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

River View Guesthouse and Hostel Reviews

94 & 96, Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
957 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Beware of the 2 crazy Italian ladies! They started banging on our wall and then tried to bash the door down, even though we were speaking normally. I went round to see who it was the first time and they weren't even sleeping, door was open lights were on. I could hear people talk in the room next to me, but by no means would I go bang on their door! No manager around to complain as no one works in the hostel only the cafe few doors along. Carson was super nice guy who works in cafe.


94%

This hostel has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a great location on the river side of Chinatown. The building has character and the staff make every effort to make guests welcome. We would stay here again gladly.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Should have hair dryer

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice location and hostel


60%

Security : door is not locked when I reached Staff : no staff upon check in, and he keep saying he's only a bartender next door?!? Atmosphere : very classic but fan upstairs not at service, slow wifi, can't access the back door. Cleanliness : stay at room no. 2, very strong smell from the shoes rack. install an auto spray machine pls

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Good location but showers are a bit dirty. Had to leave my shoes in the hall way and finally after 3 hours they were gone.


77%

We enjoyed staying here, particularly because of the riverside location. The staff were helpful - in particular, a very useful town map with good cafes and restaurants marked was provided. The place is a bit rough round the edges but clean and full of character. The associated café down the road is good for breakfast, although there are definitely better places for coffee.


86%

Very Nice place to stay, clean facilities and Beautiful house at the riverside. Staff is very friendly and the owners Son carson made our day Every day, he is really funny. Would stay here again, definitely!!

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Step off the busy Chinatown streets and be greeted by a calm and quiet guesthouse with a balcony by the Riverside where you can while away many a pleasant evening in peace with only the occasional riverboat distraction. The nine rooms make the place fairly small and the rooms always seemed full so book ahead! Also linked with a nearby guesthouse and a cafe which offers a good mix of local and western dishes for good prices. As a final word, look out for Carson, he'll move the earth for a smile


80%

Nice house and good experience here

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was in a great location and breakfast could be had o the balcony overlooking the river. The wooden interior created an authentic old world Melaka feel.


94%

Excellent!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place to stay. Friendly and helpfull staff. Great location

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved relaxing on the nice balcony with the view on the river!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Atmospheric and centrally located hostel. I had a great stay of 3 nights and look forward to a return visit one day.


80%

Convenient and friendly. Good facilities for free tea and coffee + free snacks.


100%

Wonderful stay, totally surpassed my expectations of a budget place.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The security here is so excellent, they don't even let you stay! I arrived late in the evening around 11 or so and the never answered the door. I had to find a spot next door which cost more than I was looking to spend. Poor form River View, poor form.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kind sir for the compliments of high security but on the contrary, our guest house closes at 10pm as clearly mentioned on the booking site. Guest booked for a 1 night stay in the dorm on the same day of arrival and stated arrival time at 10pm. If guests are delayed for some unforeseen reasons and arrive after beyond this time but before 12 midnight, someone would come over to check in the guest if guest calls the number posted on the door. Thank you.

100%

River View Guest House has been going for some years now, but the charm of the old Chinese shop house endures. Gleaming wooden floors upstairs, a flower-fringed balcony, the downstairs lounge that stays cool during the afternoon, it is all very pleasant. The business has grown. There is now a second guest house across the street and a riverside café-terrace (that serves light, delicious banana pancakes for breakfast) but the enthousiastic owners are still relaxed and helpful.




View all Melaka Hostels

Please give us your feedback