Hostelworld.com

Roof Top Guest House and Hostel Melaka

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 894 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 894 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Feb 2017
5.7

I want to say good things... but I can't really. The bed was extremely springy to the point of almost being unusable, there were tons of mosquitoes in the bedroom and bathroom, there's zero privacy in the bedroom as it's just a bed in each corner of the room, there were tons of ants in the kitchen, the rooftop shower didn't seem to work, and checking in was a rodeo as they weren't able to find my reservation even though I booked 3 weeks ago. Location is good but that's it. Go somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • alexolb886643
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
5.4

The hostel is quite clean and in a decent position. Yet as a solo traveller the reason I go to hostel is for a commom area and to meet someone to hang out and discover the city together. The hostel was absolutely dead when I was there (chinese new year...). If you are a couple or group of friends and you want some calm you may consider it, else look for something else

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.1

Very basic hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.9

We stayed here three years ago and at that stage it was showing its age. Three years later and it's another three years of minimal investment. It's a reasonable place to stay based on a reasonable price with reasonable assistance and information from staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
10.0

Convenient location to Malacca city attractions. Comfortable stay, quiet, clean and pleasant environment. Parking space (public) usually available nearby too. Wouldn't mind going back there for my future visits to Malacca. Definite thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.1

I've stayed in the dorm and it was spacious, luminous and comfortable. It's a nice chill out guesthouse. I've enjoyed my stay there, the location is great and it's a good place to relax after a long day exploring the lovely town of Melaka. I couldn't have any hot shower unfortunately but anyway it was really hot outside and not so bad to have a refreshing shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
7.7

The space is a good value for the price. The owner also has a hostel and cafe across the street that opens to the river front. All Chinatown and colonial sites are an easy walk as are bars and restaurants. There are 2 rooftop garden terraces but no view real view. The only draw back was when we found one single recently fed bed bug. We checked the room before we moved in and as soon as we found one and couldn't find any other signs of infestation. The staff said they spray for bugs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.3

A great atmosphere.Looks nice inside, tile floors, cleaned daily, great rooftop patio to enjoy.Excellent location.Kind hosts.We got room #5 on lvl 2.The room has a double sized bed, dresser, computer table and a stool. The number one complaint about this room was very uncomfortable bed. It's way past overdue for a replacement. Lucky we had airmats! But the overall experience combined with the price made it worth while. Minor issues. The hot showers didnt always work, but i think downstairs did!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
7.4

Overall not too bad, location wise is great and for what you pay its not bad for Malaysia. Atmosphere; well there isn't any so don't stay here if that's what your after, completely dead. Rooftop is nice didn't use it, given a map for food places on arrival which was nice touch. Couple of days and that will do you for mellaka! Oh and there's a kitchen for use too,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
10.0

Everything is good there All the staff are good with sweet smilling My gf and I like there very much ‼️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.