X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Roof Top Guest House and Hostel Melaka Reviews

39, Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
546 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Mani, thanks for your hospitality. Loved the home baking! Will definitely stay again and will recommend to our family and friends. Richard, Tapiwa

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location for exploring Melaka's old city Fantastic rooftop garden with a lovely view of the old city; a beautiful rooftop shower Mani and Raymond are two of the sweetest people you'll meet on your travels. Mani surprised us with homemade cakes and fruit, and offered us a detailed map of the area with excellent recommendations for food, cafes, and museums. It felt like staying in someone's home - I couldn't recommend Rooftop more!


100%

Great hostel in perfect location. Unbelievable friendly and helpful staff. Amazing view from the roof terrace and the common area. Great place to meet people.


77%

Good place, good value and good extra services!! I just dont like the idea of putting a mirror in front of the bed, its not good for a good sleep. One more thing, you should have some power socket near the bed rather than near the door and way to high. Its much easier for customer to charge and have a look at their devices. i would like to come back!!!

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thanks guests for staying with us and would definitely look into the comments and constructive feedback.

80%

Nice place


91%

Great value for money, with air conditioning and excellent location


100%

Awesome Hostel. Spacious rooms , comfy beds.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A really comfortable stay - thank you very much

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It's home away from home.


71%

Good location, nice roof top sitting area. No breakfast but there are always snacks lying around on the table downstairs. Showers were not hot. Easy to find, just down the road from Hard Rock Cafe right off Red Dutch Square.


94%

Worth well for money. I was impressed with the home feel place that add color to my trip. I can sense the heart of the owner to provide a comfort place to her guest.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The room and the whole hostel have a cool, bohemian atmosphere. It's within easy walking distance from everything you'll want to see: A Famosa, the big red Dutch church, the liveliest shopping area (Chinatown). The owners, Madi and Raymond, are super friendly and Madi makes bakes fresh breads in the morning for breakfast along with bowls of fruit. You can use the kitchen, they have a cool rooftop patio and a couple bikes for rent. This is one of the best hostels at which I've ever stayed.

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

What can I say. Spottless. Scrumptious free home made cake and snacks every day. Quiet yet sociable. Lovely staff. Very comfy beds. Big Lockers.Two beutifal rooftops filled with lovely flowers...air con...free wifi on every floor...a space for you to wash and hang your clothes. Just by the lovely river. Two minutes away from the heart of the city. Perfection!! Nicest guesthouse you could ever hope to stay in!! Thankyou for a lovely stay and keep it up!!

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Raymond the host was really helpful with his directions. The bike rental at RM10 for 24 hours is really good.


94%

Great hostel. The owners are a lovely couple, always ready to have a chat and provide ideas on where to go. Mani makes cakes each night so breakfast is a great affair- home made bread/cake with lots of fresh fruit and coffee/tea. The dorm itself was the biggest I have ever seen with good storage lockers. The rooftop terraces are a great place to watch the sun set over Malaka too. Definitely one of my favorite hostels.


83%

Good value hostel in excellent location. The only constructive criticism I would feed back is the tone of communications was off-putting. Our booking confirmation stated lots of hostel rules, when we arrived there were signs everywhere instructing us what to do and not to do, the owner was also not very approachable (and a bit defensive) when we asked some reasonable, friendly questions about the hostel facilities. The free tea/coffee/cakes, however, were very much appreciated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank guests for the constructive feedback. I sincerely apologise if my tone of communication had been offensive in anyway. It was also a week when I have been preoccupied with some other upcoming projects. We hope guests not influenced by previous reviews - we have already removed most of the signs in the house and left those that is for the well being of all guests in a community environment. It is not meant for discerning experienced travellers.

100%

Fantastic guesthouse with friendly staff and delicious cakes! Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

enjoyed staying here. beautifully clean, well organised. very peaceful too.


100%

Fabulous have a great time staying here, enjoy the cake made by the hostel owners and make sure you do the free walking tour from the information centre.


94%

The owner was away but the place felt like "home away from home".

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


(54 results)


View all Melaka Hostels

Please give us your feedback