Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers Located at 1193 Fenton St, , Rotorua.
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1193 Fenton St
84% 169
-38.1361937 176.2534689
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
7.4

Location was superb, literally feet away from the iSite. I liked the after hours access to the building, but wished there was more security for the bathrooms. There was an incident regarding another resident (hostel not responsible) that also made me wish there was stronger bathroom security. Beds had fitted sheet and duvet. When I asked for a cover sheet for cleanliness from duvet, said they didn't do that. I found sheets the next day. Also charge 3% for credit cards.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
7.4

Hostel was good. Pro. Top location. Literally next to the I-site which is the bus station drop off. And pick up for activities. Locked doors, plus locked at night with key pass. Plus people on reception and gave us free voucher discounts. Con. Kitchen small. Hard to mingle as common room is linked the kitchen and small. Couple of sofas but literally could be standing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing place and people! Everything was more than I expected. The atmosphere is absolutely great, and the staff very funny and helpfully, I want to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.9

The hostel is in a great location. Staff were really friendly and it was kept nice and clean. The only issue I had was that it was the worst mattress I've ever slept on. I could feel every spring! Not ideal for a good nights sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
8.9

Staff on arrival were really friendly, was shown around the facilities, everything clean and tidy. Quiet a nice view from the room provided. The beds were extremely uncomfortable but that was the only negative!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.4

It was in general clean but not everywhere was the light working. But the free pasta and rice was a great idea.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2016
10.0

It's a great hostel and well located!!! Very clean and friendly staff! One of the staff Em is simply awesome and was very helpful with my bookings and making travel arrangements!!! The free dinner at night is a plus!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
8.3

Great location, right across the street from iSite, a block from the nearest bus station, a block from Eat Street where all the essential restaurants are. Nice staff who are readily available. Beds are p uncomfortable, can feel each individual spring and is kind of giant brick. Overall, still worth it for the location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2016
8.6

Really like the hostel. The only problem I had was that the receptionist seemed offended that after 4 nights of staying here I wanted to wait on the common room for a couple of hours while I waited for the bus. His words were " it's polite to ask if you can wait". I'm a polite person. Wasn't happy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2016
9.4

the hostel is indeed right next to the i site and bus station, the staff was really nice, and they provided free tea/coffee and food, which is great. the common room and kitchen are a bit small but I didn't have to queue to use the stoves. a bit difficult to connect to the wifi but it was for free, which is much appreciated in NZ. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.