Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.4

I couldn't lock the room from the outside. The atmosphere was not for me - lots of heavy drinking, loud music and general mayhem. The staff were lovely, but the guests let the place down! The bathroom facilities were acceptable although the shower took ages to get warm then stayed at a set temperature (a bit annoying and a waste of water). The kitchen was tiny, dirty and poorly equipped for the size hostel. I would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2017
6.9

Staff where lovely, very helpful. However the lounge and kitchen area was tiny! There was a skylight in our room which woke us up every morning the bathrooms were in need of cleaning and the showers didn't really work, plus side you get free pasta and rice :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • k-b143376
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.3

Really good location with good staff and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen was a bit small with nowhere to eat and the rooms a little cramped also. Parking is also only free between 5pm-9am However was still a good place and i'd stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

I had an amazing, free pasta and rice and on Wednesdays we got free drinks and pizza?! You can also get lots of discounts on activities (definitely do white water rafting if you can). Staff were lovely and it was so close to my bus stop and the centre of town so all good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Mar 2017
4.6

Disgusting room. When we arrived in our private room there was rubbish all over the floor as well as dirty bedding. When we asked for it to be cleaned we were told to wait; 3hrs later we were still waiting. The kitchen and common room is really dirty and the kitchen is small for the amount of people. The bathrooms were the worst thing. They weren't cleaned the entire time we were there. Would not recommend ever.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.4

Cheap and cheerful can't fault at this price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.6

The room had NO WINDOW. This was not mentioned anywhere before the booking. It was also tiny with 6 people crammed in. The AC was very loud and the air came in from the hall also without a window... The room was smelly and warm, you couldn't even sit up in the upper bunk bed because the ceiling was so low. There were skylights, couldn't be opened but rain came down loud on them. I spend a very uncomfortable night and was dissapointed, because I thought I had booked a good accomodation.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.7

The hostel is right next to the i-Site and was very central, you could easily walk to a lot of shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel with great atmosphere but saying it has 'parking' is misleading, you can only park outside the hostel till 9am and then you have to move and park a few streets away. The kitchen is also very small and the bed is by far the least comfortable I've slept in in New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Marinerk
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

The nicest staff I've ever come across in my travels !! So so friendly you guys were awesome :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.