X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saucy Mary's Lodge Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
432 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The kitchen closes at 10PM and there's no shops nearby. Maybe you should just open it till midnight or you don't have to close it. The owner was really helpful and they were really welcoming.


51%

The hostel was unsupervised at night with people cooking until 1am waking most who were trying to sleep. Heating didn't work and the sink in the room was backed up and dripped allnight.Worse night of my trip. Real traveller's go somewhere else.


89%

great stay..... friendly staff, comfortable bed, .....breakfast included in price would have been good. .. .breakfast added an extra £16 per night to the overall cost of the double room making it less value for money than it initially appeared.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Everyone was very friendly; our room was nice and clean. The owner was very heplful in working out rooms for us when I explained I had my 81 year old mother with me-he arranged a ground floor room for her. Very kind of him!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

not very clean shower rooms not very good restaurant not great price location very isolated (I knew it in advance though)


94%

We had booked an en suite double room only to find upon our arrival that our room had been taken out of service due to a storm that passed through a few days earlier. We were bumped 'down' to a room with bunk beds with an en suite bath. Jonathan was charming and comped us breakfast for the inconvenience. For a hostel it was not too noisy, the walls are thin and we heard kids stomp up or down the stairs a few time in the night but for the most part it was quiet.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

Every time someone in the building turned the water on, the sound from the pipes was so high, we could not sleep. There were clean sheets but the toilets were very dirty.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Advertised WIFi didn't work at all, in the rooms nor the bar. Otherwise nice place, great food.


63%

Booked to stay in Double bed with en-suite, however hostel was overbooked. Instead, moved to a B&B up the road. Lovely land lady at the B&B, however the room had an overpowering smell of smoke which upset my asthma, and I only ended up staying the one night, rather than 2 I was booked in for.


80%

Good location if you have access to a car (however there are regular buses to other parts of Skye). Easy to find, great food, and entertainment in the bar below. Great location to watch the sunset over the bridge. Had a double room with shared bathroom, room was located over the bar, which was fine and not overly loud at all.


71%

Very helpful staff. Laundry service available.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Doesn't work the wifi


91%

We travelled with 2 children (10 years old). We loved the hostel, especially the location. We had dinner in the bar / restaurant and the meal was a nice portion and very delicious. In the morning the hostel was very noisy, unfortunately there are people who just can't keep their voice low :( . The room was simple but very clean. The duvet was too thick for summer. All in all we are satisfied, we will go back!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Didn't stay at Saucy Mary's. We were placed in a B


77%

clean and tidy ~ friendly staff ~

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

What it says on the tin. Clean, standard hostel. They had a live band in the pub next door which was great. No communal area to relax though which I feel is lacking but overall a fine night :)


94%

Food was good, staff very pleasant. Ideal location for travelling the west coast and the island. Will be returning next year.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Decent hostel, not much atmosphere. More a budget place to stay rather than a backpacker hostel. Reasonable sort of place and really good food and bar




View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback