X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Saucy Mary's Lodge Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
418 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

not very clean shower rooms not very good restaurant not great price location very isolated (I knew it in advance though)


94%

We had booked an en suite double room only to find upon our arrival that our room had been taken out of service due to a storm that passed through a few days earlier. We were bumped 'down' to a room with bunk beds with an en suite bath. Jonathan was charming and comped us breakfast for the inconvenience. For a hostel it was not too noisy, the walls are thin and we heard kids stomp up or down the stairs a few time in the night but for the most part it was quiet.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

Every time someone in the building turned the water on, the sound from the pipes was so high, we could not sleep. There were clean sheets but the toilets were very dirty.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Advertised WIFi didn't work at all, in the rooms nor the bar. Otherwise nice place, great food.


63%

Booked to stay in Double bed with en-suite, however hostel was overbooked. Instead, moved to a B&B up the road. Lovely land lady at the B&B, however the room had an overpowering smell of smoke which upset my asthma, and I only ended up staying the one night, rather than 2 I was booked in for.


80%

Good location if you have access to a car (however there are regular buses to other parts of Skye). Easy to find, great food, and entertainment in the bar below. Great location to watch the sunset over the bridge. Had a double room with shared bathroom, room was located over the bar, which was fine and not overly loud at all.


71%

Very helpful staff. Laundry service available.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Doesn't work the wifi


91%

We travelled with 2 children (10 years old). We loved the hostel, especially the location. We had dinner in the bar / restaurant and the meal was a nice portion and very delicious. In the morning the hostel was very noisy, unfortunately there are people who just can't keep their voice low :( . The room was simple but very clean. The duvet was too thick for summer. All in all we are satisfied, we will go back!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Didn't stay at Saucy Mary's. We were placed in a B


77%

clean and tidy ~ friendly staff ~

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

What it says on the tin. Clean, standard hostel. They had a live band in the pub next door which was great. No communal area to relax though which I feel is lacking but overall a fine night :)


94%

Food was good, staff very pleasant. Ideal location for travelling the west coast and the island. Will be returning next year.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Decent hostel, not much atmosphere. More a budget place to stay rather than a backpacker hostel. Reasonable sort of place and really good food and bar


89%

Fantastic view, great room and very welcoming staff

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall a good experience, but shower water was cold at times.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Lighting in the kitchen was very poor. Showers were very tiny, but clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, bed were comfortable and we appreciated being given our own room even though were 3 people in a 4 bed room.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

For kyleakin, great location, but for Skye I would suggest somewhere else (Portree for example) if you don't have a car. Hostel says it has cable tv, in fact they only have TVs in a few rooms and there is no common area so there is no social aspect whatsoever. Overall cleanliness was fine, beds were comfortable wifi worked in bedrooms too. Get discounts for dinner at the bar next door as well.




View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback