Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saucy Mary's Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.0

Great location and friendly staff. Rooms in the new building are cleaner, although the old one isn't that bad. The host was kind enough to attend our late night booking. The card keys had some defect but the staff was helpful to get it resolved. A nice cafe just a few mins away and a co-op on the other end of the bridge. I would highly recommend this if you are planning to stay in Isle of Skye

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

We had a very short stay on the start of our trip around Skye. Basic facilities, room was clean and staff were friendly enough. Bathrooms were in need of a revamp.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
5.1

Not to many toilets, the staff was not friendly (we arrived 15.40 and she said us to leave and return after 16.00 for the check in), too much noise(we couldnt sleep at night)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2017
4.0

Walls and roof paper thin. Had to pay £4 for the key to the shower. Only showered the once and was walked in on twice with the door locked and all!! Very unclean bathroom facilities. This was the most expensive hostel I stayed in and was sorely disappointed. Do not recommend at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
4.3

Lacking the proper "hostel atmosphere"

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th May 2017
5.4

We stayed here due to lack of other options. The staff kind of rude, can be helpful if asked but otherwise don't make any effort. It was quite expensive for what we got. Kitchen is okay but lacks basic things like plates and cups. Insufficient bathrooms for all the guests. No atmosphere, better to come here with a group. People constantly came through the room who weren't staying there (the key cards for other rooms worked for our room). No lockers to leave valuables. Adequate stay, not the best

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
4.3

Very rude staff behind the bar. One of them just looked at her phone the whole time. I think it was the owner who didn't greet us. Very rude. Just wanted to know how we were going to pay. He was either American or Canadian. No hello no goodbye no nothing.Awful. what are these people doing in the industry?? Travelled all the way from London. Never again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.6

There were no tongs in the kitchen or basic utensils for cooking only had two cups and the toilet on top floor had no seat. but great location. Chef at saucy Marys was miserable and just looked like everything was too hard and it wasn't even busy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
5.7

Handy location if you're traveling by car, but apart from that I can't see any reasons to come back. The girl at the desk was not very friendly or helpful. We weren't offered any choice for breakfast and weren't told about the kitchen either. There is no common area so if you have bad weather you have to hang out in your room or go to the crowded bar next door. The kitchen is tiny and very under equipped. Beds are uncomfortable and the heating wasn't working at times. We felt really unwelcome

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
7.1

The biggest drawbacks for me were the lack of a social environment and the location. It may have been due to the week I came, but I didn't find this hostel to encourage interaction among guests. Also, the location is pretty far from the main tourist destinations in Skye and I had to take an hour long bus ride to get to Portree. The staff were nice and the rooms were standard, though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.