X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
8712 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Definitely good value for money! Location is so good that almost ever tourist spot is in walkable distance. They surve very nice hot meal for breakfast. Only negative things are that the room is quite tiny and they don't have a kitchen. (But there is a microwave and plates, spoons, forks, etc are available.)


80%

Don't be scared off by the Religious factor, my whole group wre non religious but had a great time. Its a nice clean Hostel in a great location and a nice place to retreat from the madness and get a good nights sleep... PLUS THERES BREAKFAST. If you want a party hostel, prob not the best bet for you...


100%

I really enjoyed staying in Shelter City, everyone from the staff was great and helpful and approachable which is great when traveling alone! Thank you!


94%

Great hostel with a mission. Staff are friendly and caring, especially for guests with a spiritual quest or need. You will end up getting much more than just a sleeping place.


94%

This hostel is very central which makes walking around, especially in the Red light district, super easy! The staff was incredibly kind and helpful! When we first got there (around midnight since our plane got delayed!) they answered the phone immediately and gave us directions from the train station to the hostel. I also loved how they make you breakfast every day and will help you get anywhere in the city by drawing it out on a map :)

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

lovely staff they carried my large suit case but to my room on the top floor and then back down on check out day. they went the extra mile to make you feel valued as a customer by actually talking to you and remembering you the whole time of your stay. Found it really safe and warm.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff, perfect location. We used it repeatedly. Looking forward to staying again.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were extremely accommodating and even took us on a wonderful city tour to get acquainted with the city. We stayed in a 2-girl private dorm and felt very safe in our surroundings. The only thing I would comment on is the unreliability of the wifi in our room. Also, there was only one outlet which was difficult with two people, two phones, two cameras, and a computer

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Location is very good. Showers are poor Don't have plugs in the room. You can't drink at the hostel and don't kitchen to you prepare your food.


100%

Allthough just for one night, it was great staying here! Clean, good atmosphere...


89%

Really friendly staff, always willing to help you.


91%

perfect location! The stuff was very friendly and the pancakes for breakfast were excellent


91%

The hostel is very safe, clean and you get everything you need. The staff was very professional, nice and helpful, they speak very good English. There was just this one guy who did our checkout who was rather annoying, but maybe he was just tired. Also, two out of five mornings we were woken up by construction noises (renovation) at 7 am, but after we complained they started work at 8 or later. Thank you, Shelter City

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a very nice stay. everybody was very helpful and friendly. Just a little bit noisy at the first night because there were some girls that did not respected the resting time on the highest floor. A really cosy ambience in a christian way - being good with each other and showing respect. Very nice fresh and simple breakfast. I really recommend it for lonely journeys.The area was safe, as like as another european city centre.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

There are no lifts, just stairs. and the rooms are very noisy. But the breakfast is VERY Good, and the location is excellent


94%

Nice quiet hostel smack in the middle of all the action in amsterdam

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

the staff make this place great. if you can respect or respectfully ignore their religious messages, there will be no problem if you arent christian. most staff are young volunteers and were very approachable. they have free dinner night on friday and it was a great way to meet people. the location is right on the edge of the red light district and walking everywhere was fine. the rooms had a funny smell but the place was clean and had great security. slightly expensive, but worth it.


66%

Good hostel. They definitely make it a point to share God's love with others which I enjoyed. The staff was really friendly and pretty cool. I was a little disappointed by the facilities. The bathrooms were a little gross and the 12 person rooms were pretty stinky. Overall though it was a pretty good stay.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The main problem was to charging the cell phone batery. We had to leave the phone at the reception to them do that. It would be better if every bed had a jack besides it.


77%

Breakfast and staffs were really good, but there wasn't enough socket. The light wasn't bright in the room. You can store your luggage after check out. But blanket was thin, so it was a bit cold.


(284 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback