X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7873 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It is a shelter from the raging freedom outside the hostel's walls. You participate in the possibilities the outside world has to offer, then you get back to the hostel and follow a set of know rules - also called the golden rule. The staff and most guests are mostly indoctrinated into a Christian religion, but they leave you alone when they sense there is not chance to make you cross the indoctrination-border.


94%

Staff are nice. Breakfast is good. it is safe although it is in red-light area.


83%

Great hostel and location! Right in the middle of the red district. The staff are Christian volunteers from around the world; There are Christian signs everywhere and you are invited to join their bible discussions. Everyone is very nice and the hostel is clean. The atmosphere isn't great... it felt a little as if I were back to school. Overall I enjoyed my stay but I don't think it is the best option for those who travel alone.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

STAFF brilliant, fridge hotwater micro luggage store greatly appreciated. Location perfect but lighting in dorms -late night activity wakes everyone. Not specific to Shelter, A list of conditions - for the comfort of everyone - needs to be stated on the booking site- notice is given about drugs alcohol (my reason to book).ie. QUIET TIME (courtyard too) after 11pm, lights out. Same before 7.30am. SHHHHH! Pack in daytime before silent departure - do final rummage in the bathroom.. THANKS.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff is compound by volunteers, all very kind, but many of them seemed a little bit lost... Frequently, when I asked something (very simple things, by the way), they answered "I don't know".

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We were 5 people in total, and we managed to get accomodation for 3 people through hostelworld. However, on emailing the hostel itself, they managed 2 more extra beds, that was cool of them... The staff at the reception and the breakfast cafeteria were really friendly and polite. the breakfast was also really good...the location is perfect, no doubt in that...access to anything and everything in no time :P. Would really recommend this hostel to anyone. Evolution ROCKS !!!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Even location is near red light district but still safe to stay. Staffs are friendly. Cleanliness is average. Recommend place to stay.


74%

The showers had very little pressure, which was very annoying. The rooms upstairs were difficult to reach with a big suitcase,due to the narrow and steep stairs.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

this hostel is in center of amsterdam and very near to every place to visit. only 10 minits walk from central station. and very clean and perfect. especailly staffs are very nice and guests are also good. best place to stay in amsterdam


83%

Really good place to stay while weekend trip! Especially for budget travellers ;)

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely Hostel in one of the best areas in Amstersam. 2 minutes from the Anne Frank Museum. Fantastically located near to shops, swimming pool, supermarket etc. Home from home environment, both relaxing and quiet. Staff like one big family Being a Christiam Hostel you feel the heart of the place. Staff very informative. I would rate it as the best hostel in Amsterdam for its quiteness, cleaness, its location and for the staff's ability to make you feel your in more than just passing through.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

there needs to be more outlets in the rooms as well as larger bathroom facilities. it could be crowded at times

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

excelente hostel!!!!


80%

I recommend this place: it is right in the heart of Amsterdam, but very peaceful. The room was clean. The staff who are volunteers were very fiendly and helpful; They organised a free tour of the city which was very good and informative. All in all, I'd recommend and stay here again.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A really nice place to stay!

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location for exploring Amsterdam. Loved Oliver the cat.


100%

This place was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. They serve a good breakfast which is included. They have a cute little cafe for drinks and some light food and general hanging out. Only draw back was having to leave items at the desk for charging but I can understand they probably don't want to overload circuits. This is a Christian hostel, so no drinking or smoking. Is really mellow at night when you just want to sleep. If looking for party hostel, this isn't it.


100%

Shelter City is an amazing hostel, right in the hearth of Amsterdam. The staff is very friendly, you will have a breakfast every morning, it is the time of the day when you can enjoy the amazing atmosphere, everyone is smileying. I enjoyed my time there, I recommend this place for staying in Amsterdam. Thank you very much.


91%

This was a great hostel and we had such a good experience with our stay. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help, and the overall vibe was very laid back and relaxing. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the cafe where you eat had great music and comfy chairs to enjoy in. The location is very close to the red light district which made getting back to the hostel an adventure at night, but in terms of being close to the city center and things to do it was ideal.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The only big problem actually was the drunken and loud people coming to sleep in the middle if the night in the dormitory. So bad night but it s not a problem from the hostel! Really nice persons at the reception and bar. Breakfast a bit light but good and served with a smile.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(307 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback