X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
8546 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Doors are noisy and sleeping is difficult, also the bathrooms are not very clean.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place to stay for a few days - nice price for a good structure! The bedroom has not so many power points so sometimes it's hard to recharge your phone/computer/camera. Nice staff - very helpful and also the hostel is in a good location, specially for those looking to stay in/close to the red light district.


74%

Great location week point the staff and low amount of power plugs in the rooms


89%

I just have one complaint. We arrived at hostel and I had a problem with our reservation. I needed to on a shared bedroom for one night and my family in other and change next day. Go up with bags and go with bags not because not our if you had a in you system. All the rest was ok


83%

The top beds are a bit difficult to get to. Other than that, thank you for your hospitality.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great, helpful and friendly staff. Best staff so far :3 Walk a little bit far from bedroom to bathroom past some of the computer users but it doesn't matter Just one electricity socket available in room for 6 people (the staff says that its aimed is not disturb other people) but still a little bit inconvenient :)


100%

Really enjoyed my stay at Shelter City - the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the location is fantastic! The facilities were also great and there was an option to get a packed breakfast if you have to leave before 8am, which was really helpful :) Thank you!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Shelter: Your name is true!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The free breakfast was great! Everything was pretty clean. Showers were not working on the attic floor but you could take a hike down to the bottom most floor showers. There was no WiFi service up there as well, but these were my only two complaints and I'd certainly stay there again.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I booked for 3 days, was my first experience in a hostel. I appreciated the fact that it is a building with history but I found the beds very close to each other. It would be very nice if more plugs were available into the rooms and individual lights. The showers were a little bit dirty all the time when I wanted to take a shower (loads of hair everywhere) and no place out of the showers for getting dressed. The back garden is gorgeous and I felt save at all times.


74%

bathroom not work. the guest do not noise after 10 pm.


97%

After a long day of traveling, I arrived at Shelter City and was greeted by a wonderful staff who were very welcoming and encouraging. I felt extremely safe on the property and loved the tagging system for checking phones and other electronics to charge (I left my phone and a camera battery overnight). Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and the staff working in the cafe explained everything to me and were very patient. I loved Shelter City and would definitely stay again if in Amsterdam

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I love it all!

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall is great! I enjoyed staying there. I am Muslim but the Christian hostel welcomed we well. The staffs are very helpful. The breakfast is good. Though it is near Amsterdam centraal, sometimes it's unpleasant to go back to hostel because it's near red light district. And the bathroom was a bit dirty in the morning.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I spent juz night but really enjoyed, great people, atmosphere, location in the heart of Amsterdam

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The bunk beds were extremely low! I used the bottom bunk, and couldn't even sit up straight without my head hitting the rails. Also, it was odd that lockers were provided but no locks. A small fee for renting locks would be more helpful rather than only offering the option to buy locks.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

From the extremely dirty bathrooms, to the fact that rooms were open for anyone to walk in, I would not recommend this hostel to anyone. The staff was quite rude as well. They gave a group of us the wrong information about tours and they weren't very understanding other certain situations. One worker/volunteer stayed in our room, and one night mumbled about how loud and annoying the group I was with was being. All in all, not worth your time or money. Also, no plugs to charge phones.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Can't say anything else than superb! I needed a place to stay in Amsterdam for just one night. As a girl of 23 alone I wanted a hostel that looked good and was not too expensive. Shelter city fulfilled these needs very well! Everything was clean, staff very kind and welcoming. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it!

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The blanket is thin and the room facilities is not enough ( at least there should be a table with chairs in the room)


89%

The staff was SO nice and helpful and I loved the atmosphere. I will say though that the lack of outlets was a huge minus in my book! The breakfast was also awesome!


(251 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback