X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6730 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I had a great time in this hostel. Very, very nice. Good location, good staff, good breakfast. I have no complain and I recommend this hostel for everyone. Lots of english speakers there and I could practise my English. Stay there, I am sure you are not going to regret.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Price is high and coffee is poor. Small bathroom in the bedroom for 4 girls but it is not a problem.


31%

Staff was friendly at best, but proved to be useless. Visitors are stuffed into cramped smelly rooms with little to no space. A hot breeding ground for germs and infections. Although it advertises as a Christian Hostel, and gives of a cult-like vibe upon your arrival, most guests were drugged up tramps who slept all day, and insisted upon endless hours of quiet time. Awful experience. Was glad to get out of there after 2 days.


100%

It was amazing. Everyone were so friendly and made me have a warm stay.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was great! Great location, only a short walk from the center of town, Central Station, and the Red Light District. Free breakfast was provided every morning, and the staff was very friendly. Overall the place was very clean. Lockers were provided to keep your stuff secure, however you must bring your own lock otherwise you have buy one. Locks were available for purchase from the hostel for 4 euro.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What an excellent hostel! Lovely staff, clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to everybody.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

16 female dorm very cramped, like in a boat : ) . Lockers for the suitcase (20- maybe 80 - 40) - take your padlock (with a thin handle). Very nice girls serving breakfast. For the money - was OK. Location excellent.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

와이파이가 너무 느려요. 그리고 elevator가 없어서 캐리어 끌고 올라가느라 너무 힘들었어요. 숙소위치나 스태프들 분위기, 보안은 정말 좋았어요 겨울에 히터 꼭 켜고 자세요,,...정말 춥습니다~~~~~~


89%

Nice hostel, cheap, middle of red light district and good staff, but remeber, it's a christian hostel.


94%

situated in the red light and a little bit noisy at night. excluding this, it is perfect.


100%

The people were great, very helpful and friendly. I had an awesome time.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Make sure to tell those staying in a 16 bed female dorm how to use the heating furnace! We were freezing the first night. For 25 euro a night, I was hoping for an overall better experience. The pictures of the rooms are a little misleading. Better lighting in the hallways and rooms would greatly improve the atmosphere factor by removing some of the 'dingy' feeling. In addition, the hallway smelled of old fish.


89%

A rare jewel to find in Amsterdam - a value for money hostel where you can actually get a good nights sleep! Rooms are spacious with private cubicles and a personal locker useful (with a big padlock). Staff are very friendly and helpful and enjoy mixing with travellers in the homely Café area,serving up tasty free breakfast, entertaining with music and board games or their free walking tour of the city. Great place to chill out with a great location to Central St. Not forgetting Oliver the Cat!

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The shelter is located next to the red light district, so it's really central. We stayed in a room for four girls and it was really nice and warm, and it also had a sink which was real y helpful. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great. We were really pleased :)

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A very calm hostel, ideal if you simply want to relax a bit and get crazy outside of the hostel.


71%

Positive: The hostel has a very good location, you are on corner away from De Achterbourgwal and the Red Light district but can also walk to Rembrandt and Leidsenplein quickly. Many food and bar streets in the surrounding area, nice staff, free casual breakfast Negative: Lockers need to be brought, no real bar in the hostel, no alkohol allowed in any rooms (as community rooms), anonymous atmosphere All in all good for the price and a short weekend trip!


74%

I think it would be helpful to tell people they need a padlock for the lockers - include this info on the website or in the booking info. I could have easily brought one with me, but instead I had to buy one.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The international staff was very nice and help full, I enjoyed my stay it was better then l expected.. derek

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice location, it is very near the Central Station. It's not a fancy hostel, but offers very good value for money, clean bedroom and very good christian atmosphere. I would totally recommend it.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The place is not very new. Ok clean and tidy. Staff is very nice and willing to help you. Located quite close to Amsterdam Central station, 10 min wall.


(167 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback