X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
8136 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I really enjoyed my stay at Shelter City hostel, the only thing i regret is that there is no plug in the room..


97%

Very clean and peaceful hostel.. Staff was helpful and friendly.. nice little cafe inside the hostel that serves free breakfast that is quite good. Also you don't have to worry about drunks or dope heads as the hostel is managed by spiritual people who cultivate a good atmosphere with respect to healthy minds and bodies.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

No sockets in rooms, have to pass phones/devices to staff to help charge. A little inconvenient but at least that removes any anxieties about theft etc..


94%

The staff is very courteous. I loved the breakfast and the cleanliness of the hostel. It is just 10min. walk from the Amsterdam Central and city center. Very convenient. I loved my stay at the hostel.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

everything is good


66%

Internet is extremely poor and practically nonexistent. Also, we were in the third floor, attic area and extremely difficult to bring up luggage with no lift.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

friendly staff that you can feel they are willing to help sincerely.


94%

It was my second time here because I trust this place completely. The only drawback is the lack of plug sockets, but I can understand some of the safety reasons for using a ticket system to charge accessories and phones at the front desk. Overall love the shelter city, will be back again!


71%

There is christian hostel but located in Red Light District. What a irony :)

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

believe the hostel's instruction and do NOT take the train + metro if you have luggage. The transfer was horrible with the ups and downs stairs and long walking.


97%

It is a shelter from the raging freedom outside the hostel's walls. You participate in the possibilities the outside world has to offer, then you get back to the hostel and follow a set of know rules - also called the golden rule. The staff and most guests are mostly indoctrinated into a Christian religion, but they leave you alone when they sense there is not chance to make you cross the indoctrination-border.


94%

Staff are nice. Breakfast is good. it is safe although it is in red-light area.


83%

Great hostel and location! Right in the middle of the red district. The staff are Christian volunteers from around the world; There are Christian signs everywhere and you are invited to join their bible discussions. Everyone is very nice and the hostel is clean. The atmosphere isn't great... it felt a little as if I were back to school. Overall I enjoyed my stay but I don't think it is the best option for those who travel alone.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

STAFF brilliant, fridge hotwater micro luggage store greatly appreciated. Location perfect but lighting in dorms -late night activity wakes everyone. Not specific to Shelter, A list of conditions - for the comfort of everyone - needs to be stated on the booking site- notice is given about drugs alcohol (my reason to book).ie. QUIET TIME (courtyard too) after 11pm, lights out. Same before 7.30am. SHHHHH! Pack in daytime before silent departure - do final rummage in the bathroom.. THANKS.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff is compound by volunteers, all very kind, but many of them seemed a little bit lost... Frequently, when I asked something (very simple things, by the way), they answered "I don't know".

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We were 5 people in total, and we managed to get accomodation for 3 people through hostelworld. However, on emailing the hostel itself, they managed 2 more extra beds, that was cool of them... The staff at the reception and the breakfast cafeteria were really friendly and polite. the breakfast was also really good...the location is perfect, no doubt in that...access to anything and everything in no time :P. Would really recommend this hostel to anyone. Evolution ROCKS !!!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Even location is near red light district but still safe to stay. Staffs are friendly. Cleanliness is average. Recommend place to stay.


74%

The showers had very little pressure, which was very annoying. The rooms upstairs were difficult to reach with a big suitcase,due to the narrow and steep stairs.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

this hostel is in center of amsterdam and very near to every place to visit. only 10 minits walk from central station. and very clean and perfect. especailly staffs are very nice and guests are also good. best place to stay in amsterdam


83%

Really good place to stay while weekend trip! Especially for budget travellers ;)

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(265 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback