X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6743 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Wifii didnt work at all


60%

The hostel is at Red Light but it’s safe to walk around even at night and it’s just 5 min walk from Dam Square. Pay attention, it’s a Christian hostel n u cannot smoke or drink inside it. About the breakfast, it’s terrible. U choose between 3 options: cereal/fruit, 2 slices of bread with ham and cheese or the breakfast of the day. All them have 1 drink (coffe, tea, hot chocolate). U are not allowed to repeat. If you are 2 meter high or 1,50, you are going to have the exactly same amount of food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You forgot to mention the free unlimited juice and bread options! We're sorry you were hungry but there is always more juice and bread available.

69%

I stayed at this hostel for one night as such was just looking for some close accommodation to the train station. This hostel is very religious with quotes in rooms and bible study groups. The breakfast was good. The internet didn't work for apple products and the computers were increadibly slow and wouldnt connect. Although the facilities were good and I didnt have a problem with anything apart from the internet i wouldnt stay here again.


86%

The hostel in very closed to all tourist site in central Amsterdam. If you are a Christian, the hostel facilitate you with bible, every day Bible discussion and night praying.

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I love staff of Shelter City. They are very kind and nice. I was happy to stay there. If i visit amsterdam, i will stay there again

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best hostels I have been. Great staff with very good hospitality and accommodation. Great atmosphere with a piano and nylon guitar in a good common room. Very few suggestions to become even better: more electrical outlets in the coletive dorms and power on wifi. Definitelly approved!


94%

the most remarkable thing is someone serving you hot breakfast every morning in a nice cafe with many seats and music & piano !!! :D


89%

I Really liked this hostel!! Iam very happy

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Location is good for Shelter City, right in the city centre, is in the Red Light District, 10mins walk from the centraal station, but I still prefer the Shelter Jordan, although the location is not so good, the staff there is so warm and nice. Drug free, alcohol free, this is the concept that I like the most.


71%

Very tight rooms. No space at all, cramping too many beds into a room. Beds are very basic as well with small lockers. Needs a kitchen but breakfast is good. Very different atmosphere being a Christian hostel. Showers basic. Staff ok.


83%

This hostel was pretty good. Loved all the staff and the open mic night! Great way to get to know people in the heart of the RLD. Rooms were extremely cold as many staffers would go in and out, leaving the doorway to the courtyard open, as well as many guy staffers would come through the girls room (and bathroom) without warning. Great hot breakfast and wonderful community to get to know others. Was a little nervous to travel in the RLD by myself but after coming to this hostel, it was worth it.


100%

A great hostel, very central with great cafe and lovely breakfast included. It was also the only hostel I could find which accepted one night only booking during weekend period. Although listed as Christian run hostel, religion not pushed, really enjoyed open mike night complete with 'gypsy' band.


94%

Great staff! Very friendly and helpful.

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Fine, thanki you very much. This is the first time in a hostel of this sort. Will definatly do it again. Thanks

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I'm not Christian but really enjoyed my stay here. Unlike other hostels in the same area, there won't be any obnoxious stoned punters staying in the same room, which is always a plus. And the staff are helpful enough.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel and like all there hostels is simply great, have stayed at a few and really loved the places, firstly cleanses of the place is great, the bedding especially with lights , power points, and privacy curtains is a bonus . These things make me want to keep going back to the hostels, when price is riight for me, I am 66 years old and feel really safe , I travel twice per year and always backpack. I have stayed at both canal and Nord Hostels....Brilliant. Amy Liddell


83%

we stay at the hostel from november 27th to dec 1st. We have been very good. We don't practice any religion but it wasn't a problem. It was a very respectful place. The situation of the hostel was excellent. so close to the pubs. The only bad think happens on saturday night, as we share the room with a german group that arrives so drunk and making noice without respect. all the rest Ok. We should comeback

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice stay in a great room with amazing facilities. The hostel is very central and is great more for people wanting to experience Amsterdam in a nice calm and relaxed place. Although I was only there the one night, it was great to stay in, and would look to stay again when travelling to Amsterdam with friends in the future. Staff were brilliant and was made to feel very welcome by the American guy (can't remember his name sorry). Great hostel and great vibe.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice hostel, excellent location, excellent, though not "all you can eat" kind of breakfast. The volunteering staff were really nice, the guys at the front desk and the ones at the cafe too. Clean and tidy, very safe. The other guests were not very friendly... the atmosphere was nice but people were a bit isolated but that's nothing to do with the hostel itself. Definitely advisable.


94%

Very nice place, We had to leave early one day and they gave us take away breakfast! Super Nice

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(167 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback