X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
7373 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It's on the middle of the red light district, good location and nice staff. The only problem a little bit noisy on the mornings and light cortins that wake you up early

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The garden is still just perfect!


91%

Wonderful, helpful

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location


89%

Overall it was pretty good. Free breakfast, good staff, clean facilities, convenient location. My only qualms were the sparsely located power sockets (but they'll happily charge your electronics behind the front desk) and that they filter the internet, which got annoying after a couple days.


83%

Bathroom needs to be cleaned more often. When I saying it it was just before the cleaning so it was kind of dirty. Little space left to walk in the dorm room because everyone puts their luggage on the ground. Not enough power points. Other than that everything else is perfect. Will come back again because the staff is so kind and the Location is perfect.


89%

Amazing location, cheap, and very clean. Open 24-7 but most people sleep early - I stayed out until about 1 watching a World Cup game and seemed to be the only one coming in late. People woke up early too - I could hear people around 7 am, so I didn't get good sleep. Breakfast is OK - not super filling, but free! Only things that were bad: 10 am checkout time, and the bathroom was closed for cleaning pretty frequently.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Right next to the red light district. Disappointed that they dont provide seconds for hot breakfast (decent). Not the place to be if you want to meet new ppl to go out. Nevertheless, i personally made a good friend. Mixed bag in terms of age. Very strict in terms of security.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you missed the free extra breakfast. It's always possible to get more bread, jam and juice for free.

100%

The staff are there working for free since it is a Christian hostel. Since they chose to be there, they are much nicer than staff at most hostels.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location and security if you want to see/ stay in the red light district. You cant drink in the hostel which kind of dulls the atmosphere, but they have a nice cafe and good breakfast.


89%

Really enjoyed stay-staff so lovely. Just be good to have more facilities for self catering.


66%

Not the place to meet people. But to good stay as a guest breakfast is great. Please get rid of the internet filter !!


86%

Good choice to stay in Amsterdam


86%

Shelter City was great! The staff were really helpful and kind and welcoming...I especially enjoyed joining in evening prayer. Breakfast was great and included in the price...I couldn't believe it! Shelter City was definitely a great value; the only downside was it's location in the Red Light district made it a little unnerving to walk to at night.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice position and breakfast! Good value for money!

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was my first time in a hostel and it was totally different from what I expected. Wide and comfy showers, comfy beds, really good environment, kind and friendly staff, and very importantly, no one tries to impose Christianity onto you life. Rules are clear and fair and everyone respects them. The food was delish especially the hot breakfast.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This place is great! Everyone there is very nice and friendly. The staff is spectacular. Most the friends I made there were acctualy staff members. Pay once and get great breakfast every morning you stay. It's not just toast and juice either. Utilities are good. Except only a couple outlets in each room plus no washing machine. The place is very clean, and has a great atmosphere. Also the hostel is just around the corner to everything you need. Check out shelter Jordaan is city is all booked up!


83%

very friendly staff.


71%

Its a Christian Hostel and i didnt knew it before arriving, but it wasnt TOO bad. I would recommend to have a nice place to meet people and drink something to have a better atmosphere inside. The breakfast was really bad, you have 2 options and I always finished hungry after those breakfast, just 2 toasts and some ham and bread.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry that you went hungry. There is always extra free bread and jam plus juice available for everyone. Next time just ask :)

100%

very friendly and helpful staff, very peaceful atmosphere, very quiet although in the heart of the city.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(313 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback