X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6701 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hostel is amazing! The staff, atmosphere, cleanliness and location are perfect! The internet was not so good, there were very few plugs in the bedroom and in the living room, but they offer to charge for you at the reception. The breakfast could be better.


94%

Can't beat the free breakfast and six euro dinners. Very relaxed atmosphere with a cozy vibe despjte being in the heart of De Wallen.

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The breakfast (included with booking) is delicious, the staff are knowledgeable/helpful, and you are able to buy museum tickets, rent bikes, etc ... at the front desk. The main annoyance about the facilities is the lack of electrical outlets. To charge a device you must leave it with the front desk.

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome,the location its excellent,the staff its amazing,everybody was super friendly,specially the mexican guy. The common areas are very nice..the way that the hostel manage the breakfast time its very cleaver ,showing info in the screen and the guy that serves the breakfast its such a character,very enthusiastic and it makes you feel very welcome,thats a thing that i will never forget. The atmosphere in general was absolutely brilliant! i definitely say that is highly recommended

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We felt very welcome, especially the young breakfast-guy was very thoughtful, a full delight to kill morning grumpiness.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel had a good location and we could walk to most places and it was near central station. The dorm had one outlet but they could charge our stuff at the front desk. It'd be nice to have more outlets. All you had to do to get into the hostel was show a paper saying you were staying there (I don't think they looked well at these) and there were no locks on the dorm room. There should be locks. Each morning in the bathroom, a window was open...cold and unsafe (it was on the 1st floor)

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good location in central Amsterdam within the red light district. Nice staff, good resources. Free breakfast and discount offers a plus.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel the people are very friendly and very kind, and the breakfeast it is delicious. The only suggestion it is to put curtain in the shower for not soak your new clothes when you are taking the shower


97%

Very nice hostel. Good location, and awsome staff. Most of the staff and clients were from the US, breakfirst is free and sometimes diner too (depends on the date). Rooms and showers are clean, and we slept well. And a free tour of the city was orgznized by the hostel staff. I highly advise this hostel we had really good times.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Really nice hostel, really nice location, it's calm there so you can get some sleep there. The staff is really nice as well.


63%

The rooms are creepy it looks like an orphanage


94%

the staff are all accommodating, they helped me print out my maps, answered all my queries and most importantly, they are all courteous. the place is relaxing and you can feel at home and very secured. there are variety of activities to choose from and so many people to talk to at the cafeteria., there was no dull moment even if you are travelling alone.. and the location for me is great and perfect, close to the central station and to all the city highlights.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Shelter city has a really excellent location, it's in the heart of the city and despite this fact it's a really silent and calm place to sleep. The staff was OK and helpful, the facilities are pretty old and used. The garden was pretty nice, but because of weather nobody use it. There was 4 computers with a quite slow internet, but it works. I was disappoint by the breakfast. After so much praises in reviews i've read here - one of the worst pancake I've eat . Bring your padlock for the lockers.


97%

Everything excellent. Very clean! The location is the best.


94%

it was nice hostel!

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A lovely hostel that offers a warm atmpsphere in the red district of Amsterdam. Would definitely stay there again.


100%

Really liked the hostel, great location and very yummy breakfast! Friendly and welcoming staff, all in all i would recommend it to anyone!!


100%

Very welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast. Central. A nice place to stay in.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The internet issue for people with ios7 is very important. The computers upstairs are way too slow to replace in a way this trouble


80%

Great hostel! I loved the quiet environment and the great staff. The price was cheap, and you get what you pay for. For the hostel: The only criticism I had was the entry process. I think it is time for an update, because with only one or two receptionists, the check in/security/bag claim is simply not efficient, and actually took way too long on my second check in (I stayed with you twice!) Otherwise, cheers!


(163 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback