Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiva Guest House Varanasi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Shiva Guest House Varanasi Located at D20/14, Munshi Ghat, , Varanasi.
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
India
Varanasi D20/14, Munshi Ghat
83% 190
25.3055452 83.0091762
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Although it is a bit difficult to find, this is such a lovely place to stay. Shiva was an absolutely delightful host, the food is great, showers are hot and it's right on the river. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
6.6

Excellent location, 1min to Munshi ghat. Not the place for interact to other travelers Cost benefit is okay They also offer you a boat ride and walking tour for good prices

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • olliewfilm
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

Shiva was an great host and very knowledgeable with great suggestions about things to do in Varanasi. He organises dawn boats rides for the guests and makes sure you dont get ripped off by the drivers (they push you for tips anyway). The rooftop restaurant has great views of the town and good homecooked food by Shiva (Great onion pakoras) though it can get busy at breakfast. The only negative is the rooms have windows facing in to the property so lacking privacy and it can be very noisy. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
6.9

Decent guesthouse very close to the ghats. Great location if you want to go to the ghats on a regular basis. Good value as well for the price. Nice rooftop with good restaurant, good place to socialise with other guests. Some renovation was under process while I was there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
8.6

I had a lovely time at the humble Shiva Guest House, and they made a real effort to make me feel comfortable. I slept in the bunk room which had a sneaky viweing of the Ghats, bed was comfortable so nothing to complain about. I met some lovely humans while staying there, and spent a few evenings on the roof top terrace sharing our adventures in India. If your looking for a place in the heart of the old city, you've nailed it with a 5 minute walk to the ghats and markets👌🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Dec 2016
9.1

Great budget accommodation with prime location, few meters from Munchi Ghat. Owners are very nice and very helpful! Room was small but very nice with two small balconies with view on the roof tops of old Varanassi. Restaurant has a very good menu and the food was delicious. Beware of all the steps up and down... Well done Shiva guesthouse!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
4.6

I had booked 3 nights in a dormitory. Upon arrival, I was told that since I was an Indian, I could not stay in the dormitory. This was at 10:00 pm at night. I was asked to stay in a single room, with a higher rent. When I complained, the manager barefacedly told me that he would refund my deposit and that I could look for lodgings elsewhere. Moreover, since the single room was only available for one night, I had to check out the next morning in any case. Extremely disappointed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

This place was awesome! Great view from the rooftop. Great menu and fantastic and friendly staff. Beautiful, spacious and clean rooms too. Really recommend this place or Baba's guesthouse when you stay in Varanasi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Nov 2016
6.0

We booked 2 double rooms at this place and the guy had double booked so we all got put into a family room with two of us having to sleep on futons. He still wanted us to pay the same price which we argued. The main reception guy is never ever around so if you want anything done you have to ask people to get him and keep on asking. Really hot shower and ok food on the roof.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Oct 2016
8.0

Shiva Guest House is a great place for a solo traveller or if you travel in a group. The host is very nice and helpful in arranging trips/taxi. Unfortunately the Wifi is quite poor and the food could be better, however, I found that generally here in Varanasi. The terrace on the Guesthouse gives you an amazing 360 view of Varanasi. The location is great, less than 2 minutes walking from the ghats. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.