Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiva Guest House Varanasi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.7
Shiva Guest House Varanasi Located at D20/14, Munshi Ghat, , Varanasi.
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
India
Varanasi D20/14, Munshi Ghat
86% 154
25.3055452 83.0091762
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect location in a beautiful narrow street, 30 seconds to the main Ghat. AMAZING STAFF. So much kind and nice people who helped us with everything. Beautiful rooftop!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Perfect location in Varanasi, and easy to find when you ask locals near the Ganga river! Everything was clean and the owner speaks perfect English and is really friendly (start a conversation about Europe and he will tell you about his trips there, it sounds amazing). Close to the Ghats, restaurants, local shops, and far from the buzzing spiritual center of Varanasi (far as in 10 minutes walking). Great view from the rooftop, but ask for sticks at the front desk as there are monkeys up there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2016
8.6

The best thing about this hostel is the hospitality of the owner and its location. The hostel is conveniently located at Munshi Ghat, which allows you to go to the main ghats for the evening Aarti ceremonies and the burning ghat. In addition, if the weather is good, its always a good experience to stroll along the ghats and observe the locals in action. The hostel may be tough to find on your first day but its well-worth the effort and there should be no problems subsequently.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.0

It was a bit difficult to find, hidden back in the alleys, and the standard rooms do not include AC, but we were allowed to upgrade to an AC room (for an increased price). The location is great though, easy walking distance to the main ghat, and relatively quiet for Varanasi. Rooms were also very nice though you need a padlock to lock the room doors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel. Varanasi is an experience by itself, and the staff can certainly help you to navigate its complexity way better. The owners are very friendly, and the location of the hostel is superb.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
9.4

A very quiet place near to Munshi Ghat. The brothers Shiva and Kailash are very friendly and very very helpful. We really felt fine in that place and would recommend it definitely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

We came for Holi festival!!! However, Lack of research, we were unaware prior to coming as foreigners ( me being female) there was a risk of us going into the streets to celebrate, gets pretty wild. BUT, we had so much fun celebrating Holi on the rooftop of the Shiva Guesthouse- throwing powder and water on neighbors who also didn't go into the streets as well as each other. They had a delicious lunch! Thanks for making it so special! Great and helpful staff, loved our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Mar 2016
6.9

Great location but the staff aren't particularly friendly or helpful. They gave away my room as the train was delayed and then tried to charge me extra for staying in a bigger room, which I refused. After that, every time they saw me I was told that I needed to be out of the room in the morning which I made clear each time that I understood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
9.1

Shiva Guest House was a great place to stay! I most definitely would recommend it. Just a stone throw away from the Ganga and its constant ceremonies. The house was clean and tidy. Reasonable price for its facilities. Staff was helpful without infringing in my personal space. Overall a very nice and clean place to spend the nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.