Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiva Guest House Varanasi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 162 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 162 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Shiva Guest House Varanasi Located at D20/14, Munshi Ghat, , Varanasi.
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
India
Varanasi D20/14, Munshi Ghat
88% 162
25.3055452 83.0091762
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Sep 2016
10.0

Wonderful people, wonderful place to stay. I stayed for four days, and got to see them finish construction on a few of their rooms. Very beautiful! the shelves are cut into the cement walls... I've never seen anything like it before. Plus, the view from the rooftop was definitely the highlight of my stay in Varanasi. The culture shock in this city can be a lot harder than anywhere else in India, but I spent many hours above it all, reading my books and watching kites fly at sunset.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
10.0

If I could give guesthouse Shiva a higher rating I would!! The two brothers go above and beyond for their guests, including offering walking tours/boat rides, water and drinks purchase, rooftop restaurant (although currently closed for renovation), free WiFi, currency exchange if they have available and a welcoming atmosphere. Both up for a laugh and a beer. They also drove my passport & kindle to the station with some moves from Mission Impossible before I realised I'd left it behind!! Phew.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Nearly impossible to find due to the lack of signs amid the chaotic varanasi streets. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We got upgraded to a private room which was clean. Make sure you get an AC room though. Sadly the restaurant and parts of the hostel were being refurbished when we were there so we couldn't experience the highly rated food here. The rooftop view is incredible though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.7

The owners are very friendly and cooked us a delicious home cooked meal which was great. This place really could do with better common areas to escape the chaos of the streets, the rooms are small and a little claustaphobic but comfy and for 800 IRP a night you can't really complain!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.4

Very nice place, the people are helpful and everything is very clean. The roof view is amazing! Completely recommendable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect location in a beautiful narrow street, 30 seconds to the main Ghat. AMAZING STAFF. So much kind and nice people who helped us with everything. Beautiful rooftop!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Perfect location in Varanasi, and easy to find when you ask locals near the Ganga river! Everything was clean and the owner speaks perfect English and is really friendly (start a conversation about Europe and he will tell you about his trips there, it sounds amazing). Close to the Ghats, restaurants, local shops, and far from the buzzing spiritual center of Varanasi (far as in 10 minutes walking). Great view from the rooftop, but ask for sticks at the front desk as there are monkeys up there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2016
8.6

The best thing about this hostel is the hospitality of the owner and its location. The hostel is conveniently located at Munshi Ghat, which allows you to go to the main ghats for the evening Aarti ceremonies and the burning ghat. In addition, if the weather is good, its always a good experience to stroll along the ghats and observe the locals in action. The hostel may be tough to find on your first day but its well-worth the effort and there should be no problems subsequently.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.0

It was a bit difficult to find, hidden back in the alleys, and the standard rooms do not include AC, but we were allowed to upgrade to an AC room (for an increased price). The location is great though, easy walking distance to the main ghat, and relatively quiet for Varanasi. Rooms were also very nice though you need a padlock to lock the room doors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel. Varanasi is an experience by itself, and the staff can certainly help you to navigate its complexity way better. The owners are very friendly, and the location of the hostel is superb.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.