Hostelworld.com

Shiva Guest House Varanasi

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Shiva Guest House Varanasi Located at D20/14, Munshi Ghat, , Varanasi.
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
India
Varanasi D20/14, Munshi Ghat
87% 138
25.3055452 83.0091762
Shiva Guest House Varanasi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2016
8.0

It was a bit difficult to find, hidden back in the alleys, and the standard rooms do not include AC, but we were allowed to upgrade to an AC room (for an increased price). The location is great though, easy walking distance to the main ghat, and relatively quiet for Varanasi. Rooms were also very nice though you need a padlock to lock the room doors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel. Varanasi is an experience by itself, and the staff can certainly help you to navigate its complexity way better. The owners are very friendly, and the location of the hostel is superb.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
9.4

A very quiet place near to Munshi Ghat. The brothers Shiva and Kailash are very friendly and very very helpful. We really felt fine in that place and would recommend it definitely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

We came for Holi festival!!! However, Lack of research, we were unaware prior to coming as foreigners ( me being female) there was a risk of us going into the streets to celebrate, gets pretty wild. BUT, we had so much fun celebrating Holi on the rooftop of the Shiva Guesthouse- throwing powder and water on neighbors who also didn't go into the streets as well as each other. They had a delicious lunch! Thanks for making it so special! Great and helpful staff, loved our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2016
6.9

Great location but the staff aren't particularly friendly or helpful. They gave away my room as the train was delayed and then tried to charge me extra for staying in a bigger room, which I refused. After that, every time they saw me I was told that I needed to be out of the room in the morning which I made clear each time that I understood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
9.1

Shiva Guest House was a great place to stay! I most definitely would recommend it. Just a stone throw away from the Ganga and its constant ceremonies. The house was clean and tidy. Reasonable price for its facilities. Staff was helpful without infringing in my personal space. Overall a very nice and clean place to spend the nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Feb 2016
9.4

A bit hard to find if you arrive late at night but good location for seeing the ghats and exploring old town. The staff is super kind and helpful! Would recommend, great value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Feb 2016
6.9

The location is very close to the river, but the walkway to the riverside is a bit dirty and dark in the evening. The guest house is in a small back lane, not facing the river. When you arrive, the vehicles are only allowed until godwalia crossing. After that you need to drag your luggages for a few minutes in the labyrinth to find the guest house. The shiva family is very helpful! They offer airport drop-off/ boat tour (though the price is slightly higher than booking it directly from driver).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2016
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay! You guys have three phone numbers listed on Hostel World, but only one of them works. It would be ideal if you updated the site so only the one that worked was listed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
4.0

These guys have a pretty classist attitude towards backpackers. The dorm room is situated four floors up, on the roof, and appeared to be a converted broom cupboard attached to the restaurant. No curtains on the window, no hot water, no mirror in the bathroom, and hardly any space to move and no WiFi. When I pointed all of this out I was told "Backpackers very cheap, if you want better room then you pay more." Sorry but you shouldn't have to pay more for basic facilities. Go somewhere else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.