Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shiva Guest House Varanasi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.4

The streets of Varanasi can be chaotic, stressful and hot. Our stay at shiva was always a welcome sight to get away from it. The AC was a godsend and our hosts were always helpful. Being right next to the ghats and Ganges meant we really didn't need to travel far to see the ceremonies

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
7.7

Sheets and room were dirty. The room smelled like gas. The internet was pretty bad. But the staff was great and very helpful and the location is very central.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Feb 2017
7.7

Comfortable beds, good wifi and a good location for the Gange and restaurants. It's very hard to find off the main road so you'll end up paying a local to show you the way as the directions offered by the staff on hostelworld are useless. They also offer a airport pickup for 800 but you can get a taxi from the airport for 600. Don't do the offered boat tour as the guide we were given couldnt speak English and we learnt absolutely nothing about the gange for 250IRP -absolute ripoff .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.9

Really nice little dorm for 3 with colourful walls and great value at only 300 rupees. Food on rooftop restaurant was amazing as well. And the view from the very top was great - Ganges, inner buildings with monkeys jumping around and children flying kites. Owner is also lovely and very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.7

Shiva guest house can be described by a single word: WIN. Location is perfect, the owner Shiva speaks very god english and is most helpfull, and the rooftop is lovely. I recommand the Indian Veg breakfast cooked by Shiva, it was the best meal during our entire Varanasi stay! Thumbs up and I hope to come back! Minus minor points for facilities is for the squat toilet in the hallway, but hey you are in India so train you legs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.9

Great Locations! The best location you can get in Varanasi unless you book a more expensive place on the river. There is a large rooftop overlooking the city and the river. From the rooftop, you can see locals and their families drying food, lounging, flying kites, playing with their dogs, chasing monkeys, and praying. The rooms are small but very clean. No locks on the doors but we did not feel unsafe. take your important stuff with you. The Staff was extremely nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Although it is a bit difficult to find, this is such a lovely place to stay. Shiva was an absolutely delightful host, the food is great, showers are hot and it's right on the river. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
6.6

Excellent location, 1min to Munshi ghat. Not the place for interact to other travelers Cost benefit is okay They also offer you a boat ride and walking tour for good prices

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • olliewfilm
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

Shiva was an great host and very knowledgeable with great suggestions about things to do in Varanasi. He organises dawn boats rides for the guests and makes sure you dont get ripped off by the drivers (they push you for tips anyway). The rooftop restaurant has great views of the town and good homecooked food by Shiva (Great onion pakoras) though it can get busy at breakfast. The only negative is the rooms have windows facing in to the property so lacking privacy and it can be very noisy. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
6.9

Decent guesthouse very close to the ghats. Great location if you want to go to the ghats on a regular basis. Good value as well for the price. Nice rooftop with good restaurant, good place to socialise with other guests. Some renovation was under process while I was there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.