X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
1032 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 97%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It was a wonderful stay there, stuffs are very friendly and helpful. The dome was awesome. Atmosphere was excellent and particularly I liked the theme based quotes on the walls. Definitely one of my best hostel stay ever.


100%

A brilliant welcome, a very homely feel, great kitchen and dining space, and great atmosphere. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Breakfast would bei good.


91%

Great hostel. Very clean and organised. Kitchen was well stocked with cooking equipment and had designed areas for traveler's food. Bathroom was clean and they even offered free toiletries if you needed something. The dining and living area was cosy and there were lots of games and books to read. The owners were very friendly and more than willing to give you advice on what to do on the island.Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone staying on the Isle of Skye. Felt like being at home.


91%

Insufficient shower areas... Toilets were not working properly. Apart from this, the decor and atmosphere of the hostel is amazing. I love how the owner put in effort and thought to have all the inspiring quotes and interesting photos and objects around the entire hostel. Other common areas such as kitchen and the outdoor dome are amazing too.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The stay at this hostel was outstanding!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you had an "Outstanding" time at Skyewalker and it was a pleasure to meet you.

97%

Staff were friendly, helpful and there to help you. I have travelled a lot and this was by far one of the clearest places I have stayed. Location is excellent for walks, views and wildlife however having a car is an advantage unless you really like hiking, but the main towns aren't to far away. What really made it excellent was the atmosphere, jolly but relaxing and friendly.


97%

Awesome personalised hostel, with very nice staff. Extremly cozy. One of the few hostels that really tries to make you feel welcome and at home. I highly recommend it

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We're glad you felt at home here!

100%

This place was awesome, everyone was awesome and friendly! The staff was excellent.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Congratulations on being our first guest of the season to jump in the Fairy Pools! May the force be with you!

94%

Really enjoyed our stay at Skyewalker! Lisa and Brian (and family) were great hosts, took their time to give us some tips about walks around Portnalong or have a little chat; and they seemed to be really passionate about this hostel. The facilities are very good as well and the location is definitely worth the little bit of previous organization for getting there, even without car. Probably one of the best hostel I've stayed in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!



View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback