X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1577 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

We enjoyed our two nights with Skyewalker - the facilities were of a high standard - clean, warm and comfortable, and the kitchen was very clean and tidy. We would have no hesitation in recommending Skywalker to others and would consider using again if we are on Isle of Skye in the future. Well done!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Never saw a hostel that was more clean! Excellent building and atmosphere. Owner was a really nice guy that chatted with us and gave travel advise. Due to the rural location they cannot offer wifi, that is probably the only downside. So plan ahead and gather your relevant information before travelling to Skye.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff member on reception was lovely. My room/ bed were comfortable and the bathrooms and communal areas were fine. The staff member directed me to a near-by pub which had excellent food and another that had live traditional music which I really enjoyed. There was plenty of parking.


94%

The hoste in general is really nice. Its clean & tidy. U have access to kitchen & all cooking facilities (u just have to buy your own food), common room for activities is warm and cozy, bathroom and toilet are clean. The staff is really nice and helpful The only thing is its location is a bit far from Portree so u have to catch the bus and really carefull with its timetable. But the bus catches and drops u right in front of the hostel so it's quite convenient Will definitely come back here!


100%

Great location. Home atmosphere. Staff kindness and cleanliness of every place in the hostel. I would stay at Skyewalker again for sure if I will ever be back on Skye.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was great! Best hostel in Scotland!


97%

best hostel in scottland! Thanks!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good!!!!


100%

Nice, lovely details everywhere...one of my best experiences concerning accommodation in my trip

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Our stay in Skyewalker was perfect, it has a lots of facilities, the atmosphere is very nice, the place is clean and the staff is awesome!

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful wonderful hostel! We stayed in three different rooms including a Jedi Hut and all were brilliant - very clean and very good value. The staff were amazing with lots of helpful tips and advice for things to do on Skye and the atmosphere around the whole hostel was lovely. We loved that we could come and go as we pleased, use the kitchen and shared areas, and the extra little thoughtful touches like the boardgames, guitars, things to read in the loo! Can't recommend highly enough!

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really lovely place to say. Was pleasantly surprised by how clean and tidy everything was. Staff were very helpful and the hostel seemed to have a great atmosphere unfortunately we had an early ferry so had to have an early night. Big plus for me was the free tea and coffee in the morning. Will definetly recommend to friends if stopping in skye

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

WE loved our stay at the Skyewalker! Great atmosphere, great hosts, very special place. Can;t wait to be back! Thanks for being to kind and down to earth!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

great atmosphere

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great little place, thoroughly enjoyed the hostel. The little dome conservatory is amazing, though shame it was quite a cloudy few days when we were there.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Brian and Lisa run a tight ship, the amenities are excellent (apart from a few blunt knives in the kitchen draw). The Ceilidh on a Saturday night is great, bring your own talent. Skye is a great place for Motorcyclists, with Skywalkers Hostel having a large drying room, your gear will be all good the following morning for the next down pour as I was to experience one every day for the week but it did not deter my enthusiasm for emptying the fuel every day. Fuel prices are £116.9, Happy Days.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Freaking awesome place. Quirky in every way; customer service was second to none.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved being away from everything and the solar dome was a fantastic experience. Everyone was really helpful and friendly. We loved the 'jam' session in the communal area in the evening and all the quirky signs and pictures around the place.


100%

Skyewalker is definitely the place to stay! Every member of staff goes out of their way to welcome, help and chat to you - great way to meet some locals, as well as other backpackers! It's located on the Eastern side of the island, towards the centre. I think this is ideal because it gives you easy access to both the north, and the south of the island. It is v close to the Old Inn which is one of the best pubs I've been to. Great facilities throughout, especially the kitchen and garden.


97%

Great all round!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(146 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback