X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
1328 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Absolutely brilliant couldn't fault it at all... just like having a family gathering

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Skyewalker was indeed the best hostel I've ever stayed in. With a lot of love for detail and, great facilities in kitchen and bath, cleanliness and more, the owners established a wonderful atmosphere. I felt very welcome and home. Keep doing it like that guys! I will definitely recommend you to everyone, who's visiting Skye and will come back myself as well.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for giving us such a great review and we appreciate the recommendations! Look forward to the next time! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

100%

Brian, Lisa & Georgia were amazing hosts. They were very knowledgable on the area and what to do on the island, as well as super friendly. The hostel is set in a beautiful location and really is an extension of their home for their guests. We felt completely at ease and relaxed while at Skyewalkers and would definitely go back.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we'd love to see you again! Thank you for the fantastic review and enjoy the rest of your travels!

91%

The Jedi huts are really lovely - cosy, cute, and romantic. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the setting is remote but just perfect. There's a nearby pub and a few other places to eat, but it's all quite spread out so factor in transport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review and kind words about the staff! Skye is quite a large island and we would agree that to get the most out of your trip here, it really is best to have a car. Glad you were feeling the love in our Jedi hut and hope to see you again sometime!

94%

The hostel has a great vibe - with amazing facilities! The glass dome is perfect for chilling out on a sunny but cold day. There are lots of games, makes it easy to meet people. The kitchen is big and well stocked. Most importantly, the location is perfect. It's sort of central so you can drive to the northern part or the Cuillans in the south in the same amount of time. It's 10 mins from Talisker distillery! No wifi and showers are poor, but staff and facilities more than make up for this!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The showers can be difficult to set to the right temperature and it can make the evening, even the morning shower less pleasant.


94%

Lovely staff, easy going attitude, stated in the jedi huts which were great.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very welcoming staff .Hostel was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Only had one night on this visit but would use the Hostel again and recommend to others. Viv Griffiths

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay. Everything the reviews said and more. Recommended highly

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you the next time you're passing through Portnalong!

97%

Great hostel in an excellent location for exploring Skye. Friendly owners and staff. Brian went out of his way to offer advice as to the best places to visit, and the hostel has a great atmosphere. There is no wifi available (or any signal) which is a pity, but on the upside this means that people actually talk to each other rather than sitting isolated on the internet. A break from the network is quite refreshing. On the whole my son and I really enjoyed our stay, and will definitely go back.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very warm and peaceful place. I'll be back soon.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The atmosphere in the hostel is one my group will remember for a long time. It was friendly and there felt a mutual enjoyment amongst the guests. I've never been to a hostel that felt so welcoming.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A great stay, I really recommand this accomodation and if I come back to the beautiful Isle of Skye, I will come back to this one, for sure!

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very nice and unique hostel with very friendly staff. Nice and clean facilities. The bedroom was a bit small but it was not a big issue as we spent our time out and only used it to sleep. The bathrooms were quite big. HOWEVER, we thought that two showers were not enough for all the guests that were staying there. There was always some queue in the women's showers. All in all, it is a great place to stay in the Isle of Skye and we are very pleased with it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to install more showers however, the low water pressure on the island means that there is a limit to how many showers we can run effectively. I hope that this explains the situation and that it did not spoil your stay too much.Thanks for taking the time to review us!

100%

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Efficient but relaxed staff. Really welcoming. Great for children too. Lots of friendly chat of an evening. Lots of nice walks in the area too.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything is awesome! Really a very very very nice hostel,the atmosphere is perfect and everything is so nice and neat. I will stay here next time without thoughts

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your excellent review. You were an awesome guest and we look forward to seeing you again sometime!

91%

great hospitality by Brian and Lisa! we loved the glass dome and garden behind the cabin. pity we didn't get to see the stars though. kitchen and cooking facilities are great and there's always people to talk to, so it's a perfect place to make new friends!

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! Glad you enjoyed the dome and we'll try and arrange for the stars to make an appearance next time you visit!

100%

The stay was brilliant. The atmosphere was great and the staff superb to help out, particularly the girl at the reception. I hope to return anytime soon. Keep up the good work. And where people see the lack of internet as a problem as see it as virtue, as it's great to be there and live the experience without the internet to distract you.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

One of my favourite hostels.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! It was nice to meet you. Hope to see you again sometime! Slainte from the Skyewalkers!

97%

Really nice hostel with nice hosts. Highly recommendable!!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review and we really appreciate your recommendations!

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback