X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1657 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

We stayed in the hut and it was an amazing experience !! Beautiful room and vero nice garden with awesome view! I hope to come back soon!

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • vanesgara87
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place!! Only stayed for one night and I wish we could have stayed more! Great atmosphere, beautiful scenery and warm hospitality, would recomend it in a heartbeat.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A little window opened to heaven :) better then pictures. Most peaceful place I found . Recommand il 100%


94%

It was a nice clean and upkeep was great. It was hard to find and no close eating facilities. You need to have an autonobile if you are going to stay there as taxis are rather high. Thankfully we had rented a car.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A great stay here. Plenty of cooking facilities. Only downside is no wifi, but understandable since it's so remote. Beds were comfortable and perfect for crashing after long days hiking. Good value.


91%

A very well-equipped and welcoming hostel. The communal area had a good atmosphere. Only suggestion for improvement would be to have a noise curfew for the communal areas as well as the dorms, say midnight, as noise from a noisy group carried through to the twin-bedded rooms.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

It was realy a beautiful Time in these Hostel. Everyone from the staff were so friednly an for a Hostel it was realy clean and comfortable. We enjoy our Time and Would suggest it!;)

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The best kitchen i have ever seen in a hostel. great facilities. nice staff.


80%

Great little hostel. The staff is wonderful and it all feels like cozy cabin in the woods. Location is very remote which can be good or bad depending on your preference.


100%

Excellent hostel. Staff are friendly and want to assist in anything you may require. Lovely setting and will be back to stay longer on the Isle of Skye! Thanks again :)


94%

This is a great place to stay. Especially for couples looking for an offbeat alternative to a B&B. We stayed in a Jedi hut and it was wonderful (listed as a "tent" on the site). Please don't come here expecting the luxury of a top end B&B, do expect a hostel with excellent shared bathroom/showers and self catering facilities. Come here expecting a great atmosphere, friendly travellers and a complete escape from the norm. We're already planning our return visit!

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Felt so at home there. Location is actually lovely just a bit hard to manage if you don't have your own transport.


91%

Really good hostel! The owners and the staff were friendly and present. The room was big and clean. The kitchen was big and super cute too. In the backyard there is a big dome where we can go relax and watch the stars. The only thing is there's no wifi at the hostel. We had to drive 15 minutes to a restaurant to access internet. Overall, we had a great stay there!


91%

Good and funny hostel! Good location and pub

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Hello! Thank you so much for having us at your hostel. You were all so accommodating and my friend and I appreciated all the information you passed on to us so much. Everything was great except the only negative comment is the shower temperature would go from freezing to scalding. It was too bad but only a minor set back! Thanks again and hope to see you in the future.


97%

Best hostel ever! Amazing, super helpful staff! No wifi (it's the location so not the hostel's fault) but with everything there is to see and do you don't need it!


100%

Skyewalker is a great hostel! Probably a little out of the way if you don't have a car, but there is a bus stop nearby. The staff are extremely friendly. The facilities are great. It's a nice,quiet place with many housing options.


89%

Checking in went perfect, with a personal tour of the hostel and to the room. The kitchen is not very practical with the amount of people that can stay in the hostel. It was easily too crowdy. We both missed seperate bed lights in the dorm rooms. Nice sitting area in the hostel. Friendly staff - we wanted to extend our stay but the hostel was fully booked. They phoned during the day to let us know about 2 cancellations. Sadly I don't use my phone on holiday, but great service!


89%

We have really enjoyed our stay in Skyewalker and have no hesitation to return. Thank to Brian, Lisa and Georgia for their friendliness and generally making the place so welcoming.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

- They should expand the latest hour for the check-in (which is currently 21 o'clock)! - More option to use electric hair-dryer!

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback