X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1128 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Unfortunately, the wifi access isn't free.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice and clean environment. Good atmosphere, Great location for making excursions on the island. Value for money.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We spend 2 nights in this nice hostel with 3 kids from 9 to 11. They love the place and felt very well and confident... we found the hostel very clean and the team was helpful and sympathical. Thanks. We recommand it for families who want to change a little from B&B. Très convivial et très propre, cette auberge de jeunesse est un endroit que nos enfants ont adorés. N'oubliez pas de prévoir votre dîner, tout est disponible pour le préparer ! C'était une pause très sympathique pour visiter l'île

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

very friendly, great atmosphere.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice atmosphere. I wish there was internet connection. A small TV would be appriciated. Thanks far all !

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It was the friendliest atmosphere ever! The staff were very helpful, very nice, and the hostel was immaculate!! Really clean, with an amazing design, fantastic, funny and interesting pictures on the wall and a great Star Wars theme :) Really worth the money!


94%

Wifi would have been great, since it's quite isolated where the hostel is located, and if you don't have a car, makes it challenging to get around. Great hostel though, good facilities and very quiet and clean


97%

Very nice hostel, inspirational,

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved this hostel. In fact, we wished that we could have stayed for longer. We got in and went hiking around the Isle of Skye and then went to sleep, woke up and went hiking and left for Edinburgh. Wish we actually were there long enough to enjoy the facilities more. They were great. And the people were great. I guess it means we should plan another trip back there... :)


97%

2nd visit, definitely come back if I get the chance to, the new huts look brilliant :)


77%

They said they had laundry facilities and they didn't. At this point in our trip we needed to do laundry . We had to go about 20 to 25 miles out of our way to do laundry. They also advertised they had wifi. We get there and there is a sign stating because they were so rural they did not have wifi. My daughter and I were traveling alone and wanted to contact our husbands to check in with them and let them know we were okay. Other than that it was okay.


77%

I love it. only its a little far away and don't have internet! but i love it anyway ;)

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

fantastic! !!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a fantastic stay here, we wish we had stayed for longer!

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Skyewalker is an amazing place! Really enjoyed the location (it's difficult to get to without a car), fully equipped kitchen, musical insturments, and friendly staff! Would highly recommend staying here!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a brilliant hostel... it is family run. The staff are soo helpful, friendly and nice! We stayed in a private bunk room... the beds were soooo comfortable and the room was big enough. The hostel is super quiet. It feels like home... where u can veg out and read a book. Loved it!! As it is rural there is no wifi.. which I didn't mind it was actually kind of nice! I loved this hostel and would definitely recommend it. The only thing I would have loved as im a backpacker was a washingmach


94%

Great place to stay. There were many families staying which gave the hostel a different atmosphere than normal.


91%

y first time at Skyewalker Hostel, and it won't be my last. A great place!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A very beautiful situation and an excellently kept hostel, flowers outside and extreme cleanliness inside. Staff very welcoming and helpful.


89%

Excellent place, very clean but very removed (a positive in my book, but not everyone will agree). Only thing I'd do is add wi-fi and it would be perfect. The other facilities are very very good - the kitchen is very large and modern, plenty of space in the lounge etc etc. The glass dome is a nice touch.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback