X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1454 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The Jedi Hut was very nice.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Brilliant, quirky hostel, with some wonderful features and thoughtful touches. Finally a mirror with a plug underneath for a hairdryer! Good pillows too (unusual). The only difficult but was the narrowness of the kitchen, which needed a bit of a kitchen-dance to manage with other people.... but overall excellent and good fun.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very impressed! The nicest and most imaginative hostel I've stayed in! Very friendly and welcoming, very clean, everything seems thought out and presented well! We were shown around the premises when we checked in and offered lots of suggestions of places to eat and things to see in Skye and given a map! I would really like to go back and stay again.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had the best time ever there and will deffinitly gonna return! Had amazing staff and great facilities. Very creative and athmospheric setting for a hostel. and very organized :-)

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Wifi please!!!!

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel was lovely. Only possible grouse is the lack of wifi, especially since Skye has poor data coverage in general. But otherwise everything about the hostel is perfect!


91%

Very good hostel but you need a car because buses are lacking in Skye

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very crowded with high turnover, but that's probably how it is on Skye. The kitchen was super busy to the point where it was a bit stressfull with so many people trying to fix a meal/wash the dishes at the same time.


100%

Everything you'd want in a hostel, cosy and homey but with modern facilities. Easy to hitch-hike to and from. Great staff, excellent self-catering kitchen, nice rooms, proper showers, and this lovely communal comfy conservatory dome thing in the garden to meet the other guests. The Old Inn pub down the road has live Scottish music twice a week and a brilliant range of beers. Perfect for a weekend away.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was definitely one of the best I've stayed in. Incredibly clean with wonderfully helpful staff! They are truely there to make sure you get the most out of trip to Skye!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Value for money. Clean beds , toilets & friendly staff. If only there is wifi or gd internet connection.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Just loved the stay at Skyewalker Hostel! Two Days there were as relaxing as two weeks of vacation. Rooms are excellent and the hostel is just perfect. I plan to come back soon... ;)

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We have nothing but praise for this establishment. Very friendly staff, superb facilities and attention to detail is of a very high standard.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Hello! We had a great time at the hostel, fabulous place and just the right amount of eccentricity! We loved the garden area, and the kitchen facilities! thank you! The only comment I'd make is whether it's possible to have a curfew on the living room area of 11pm? We stayed in a private room just opposite and there were a group of people having fun, playing guitars until midnight. I felt bad about telling them to stop, but it was quite noisy. Many thanks!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect place to stay at a perfect place of earth! Kind staff, clean and nice rooms.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is extremely well kept with plenty of humorous items on the walls. It is clean and everything one could need in a hostel on a remote island. Brian, one of the owners, is hilarious and a delight to talk with, especially after each day of activities. The two girls that work there that we got to know (Heather and Callie - may be spelling that wrong) were wonderfully helpful and also great to hang out with and play some jenga!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and warm welcome. Clean and spacious with fantastic atmosphere. Great pub just round the corner. Probably the best hostel in the world.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope the weather remains biker friendly for the rest of your trip! Fingers crossed for Stirling!! Cheers from all the Skyewalkers!

100%

Simply the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff was amazing, helpful and always open for a talk. Everything was clean and the kitchen was perfectly equipped. Also, it was just great there was no WiFi. There were no people staring at her phones while playing games or talking, so the atmosphere was just tremendous and relaxed. It was so easy and uncomplicated to get to know new people, new impressions. Thanks for all, Brian and Lisa :) best wishes, Elias (with the banjo, thank you Brian!)

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

have been traveling on road over 6 years, this hostel defo one of the best hostel I have been stay in for sure!! JUST don't the location wouldn't be convenient for the foot walker with the heavy backpack (I was hitch hiked there but I was surprised by the location was really hard to reach without car/ bus(there is a bus stop to leave but make sure u also check the route to come then sure it is easier)

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is probably my favorite hostel I've ever stayed in!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback