X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1587 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Pleasant and informative staff, clean room and common areas.

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

First time ive stayed at a hostel for years this place was exceptional i will be going back

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The main missing thing was WiFi access. The rest of the faciities were excellent, it felt very confortable and warm.


71%

This was a great hostel, but it was not great if you were doing public transportation. Its in the middle of no where and there are no grocery stores or restaurants close by. So my friends and I had to walk an hour to get to hotel that had a pub to get food and then the next morning we took the first bus out of there. But it was very clean, nice, good staff and comfortable, just you really need a car if you going to stay here.


100%

clean,comfortable and a warm welcome makes a return visit something to look forward to.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great welcome, Georgia was very nice and told to go to an excellent pub for the evening, probably our best night in scotland.


89%

We enjoyed our two nights with Skyewalker - the facilities were of a high standard - clean, warm and comfortable, and the kitchen was very clean and tidy. We would have no hesitation in recommending Skywalker to others and would consider using again if we are on Isle of Skye in the future. Well done!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Never saw a hostel that was more clean! Excellent building and atmosphere. Owner was a really nice guy that chatted with us and gave travel advise. Due to the rural location they cannot offer wifi, that is probably the only downside. So plan ahead and gather your relevant information before travelling to Skye.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff member on reception was lovely. My room/ bed were comfortable and the bathrooms and communal areas were fine. The staff member directed me to a near-by pub which had excellent food and another that had live traditional music which I really enjoyed. There was plenty of parking.


94%

The hoste in general is really nice. Its clean & tidy. U have access to kitchen & all cooking facilities (u just have to buy your own food), common room for activities is warm and cozy, bathroom and toilet are clean. The staff is really nice and helpful The only thing is its location is a bit far from Portree so u have to catch the bus and really carefull with its timetable. But the bus catches and drops u right in front of the hostel so it's quite convenient Will definitely come back here!


100%

Great location. Home atmosphere. Staff kindness and cleanliness of every place in the hostel. I would stay at Skyewalker again for sure if I will ever be back on Skye.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great spot. helpful staff.


100%

Everything was great! Best hostel in Scotland!


97%

best hostel in scottland! Thanks!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good!!!!


100%

Nice, lovely details everywhere...one of my best experiences concerning accommodation in my trip

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Our stay in Skyewalker was perfect, it has a lots of facilities, the atmosphere is very nice, the place is clean and the staff is awesome!

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful wonderful hostel! We stayed in three different rooms including a Jedi Hut and all were brilliant - very clean and very good value. The staff were amazing with lots of helpful tips and advice for things to do on Skye and the atmosphere around the whole hostel was lovely. We loved that we could come and go as we pleased, use the kitchen and shared areas, and the extra little thoughtful touches like the boardgames, guitars, things to read in the loo! Can't recommend highly enough!

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really lovely place to say. Was pleasantly surprised by how clean and tidy everything was. Staff were very helpful and the hostel seemed to have a great atmosphere unfortunately we had an early ferry so had to have an early night. Big plus for me was the free tea and coffee in the morning. Will definetly recommend to friends if stopping in skye

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

WE loved our stay at the Skyewalker! Great atmosphere, great hosts, very special place. Can;t wait to be back! Thanks for being to kind and down to earth!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(153 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback