X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1657 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This is a lovely place to stay - quirky, fun, well equipped and in a beautiful location. It was my first time in a Hostel and I think I've probably been a bit spoilt by it!

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything about the hostel was amazing. The facilities are top notch, the staff are super friendly and the vibe is really fun (try to find all the cool little knick knacks). Great stargazing in the backyard if you're into that kind of thing :)


97%

Absolutely fantastic, spotlessly clean and the staff were so helpful and nice, highly recommended. In fact, I think the best hostel I have ever stayed at.


100%

Awesome hostel, staff is amazing!!! Highly recommend!!

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Outstanding Hostel! A very warm welcome from a very polite and friendly young lassie. Bed was really comfortable and facilities were modern. There are some nice local bars/restaurants for evening meals and local ales. The local pub dog (Fritz) was the highlight of my stay.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely loved it! Lisa and Georgina were both totally cool, awesome people! Can't wait to go back!


97%

The decor was interesting, adding a unique and positive element to our stay. The openness of the lounge room asjlining the dining room made it easy to converse with other travellers.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely place in the middle of nowhere on Skye. Too bad it was too cold and dark to appreciate the outdoor features! Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. The signs along the road were very helpful.


94%

Had a great stay. Hostel is spotless in a great location with very friendly atmosphere.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Skywalker hostel was amazing! The hostel was amazing clean and the kitchen well stocked and prepared. The bathroom also was very clean and big too. The decorations in the hostel is also very interesting and I find myself always stopping to read something on the wall. I only got to stay 1 night, but I wish I could have stayed longer, definitely recommend!

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel. Absolutely unique and excellent location.


86%

Pleasant and informative staff, clean room and common areas.

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Skywalker is amazing, great place! The people that works there are wonderful persons, always ready to help you in any case. I will miss them.. Is not only nature, people make Skye a better place :)

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

First time ive stayed at a hostel for years this place was exceptional i will be going back

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

be a little bit more flexible with late arrivals

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very lovely hostel! would def come back!

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The main missing thing was WiFi access. The rest of the faciities were excellent, it felt very confortable and warm.


71%

This was a great hostel, but it was not great if you were doing public transportation. Its in the middle of no where and there are no grocery stores or restaurants close by. So my friends and I had to walk an hour to get to hotel that had a pub to get food and then the next morning we took the first bus out of there. But it was very clean, nice, good staff and comfortable, just you really need a car if you going to stay here.


97%

We had such a wonderful stay! We will definitely be there for longer next time :-)


100%

clean,comfortable and a warm welcome makes a return visit something to look forward to.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


(51 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback