X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1210 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It is one of the best hostels ever!!!

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel with a nice clean room and good facilities and lounge area. Friendly staff. The location is in Skye, so obviously amazing, although you do have to be careful on the narrow roads to get there as it's a little out the way. Friendly lounge atmosphere great for socialising, but got quite full in the evenings.


89%

We stayed in one if the new Jedi-huts. Very cosy - just the thing for two.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I arrived really quite late and then left early the next morning so didn't get to experience much of the atmosphere unfortunately, it could well be excellent! I would certainly stay here again, that's as good a review as one can get in my book!

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Absolutely amazing place and one of the best hostels I ever visited! I definitely want to visit it in the future for more than one day! The atmosphere of this hostel was really nice, friendly and everything was very clean, modern and stylish. It is little bit far away from the main road, but for me it is the positive property, because the location is very calm and peaceful. Better wifi connection would be fine, but I understand the it is difficult to sort it out in this area.


91%

Lisa and Brian are the perfect hosts.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel we've ever been to! Very clean and nice! The location is amazing. Loved it! Would recommend for sure!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, the owners were really nice. We stayed in the Jedi Huts and it was very cool, cozy - very tastefully decorated inside. The kitchen was very very clean, and the showers were nice and hot! Would definitely stay here again.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A very pleasant experience. thinking about booking whole hostel in 2 years for 50th Birthday. keep up the good work.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Unfortunately, the wifi access isn't free.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice and clean environment. Good atmosphere, Great location for making excursions on the island. Value for money.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We spend 2 nights in this nice hostel with 3 kids from 9 to 11. They love the place and felt very well and confident... we found the hostel very clean and the team was helpful and sympathical. Thanks. We recommand it for families who want to change a little from B&B. Très convivial et très propre, cette auberge de jeunesse est un endroit que nos enfants ont adorés. N'oubliez pas de prévoir votre dîner, tout est disponible pour le préparer ! C'était une pause très sympathique pour visiter l'île

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

very friendly, great atmosphere.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice atmosphere. I wish there was internet connection. A small TV would be appriciated. Thanks far all !

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It was the friendliest atmosphere ever! The staff were very helpful, very nice, and the hostel was immaculate!! Really clean, with an amazing design, fantastic, funny and interesting pictures on the wall and a great Star Wars theme :) Really worth the money!


94%

Wifi would have been great, since it's quite isolated where the hostel is located, and if you don't have a car, makes it challenging to get around. Great hostel though, good facilities and very quiet and clean


97%

Very nice hostel, inspirational,

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved this hostel. In fact, we wished that we could have stayed for longer. We got in and went hiking around the Isle of Skye and then went to sleep, woke up and went hiking and left for Edinburgh. Wish we actually were there long enough to enjoy the facilities more. They were great. And the people were great. I guess it means we should plan another trip back there... :)


97%

2nd visit, definitely come back if I get the chance to, the new huts look brilliant :)


77%

I love it. only its a little far away and don't have internet! but i love it anyway ;)

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(83 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback