X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1462 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel. Nice kitchen and common area. 8-bed dorm was clean, comfortable and spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

94%

A magical spot which offers a good base for activities. There's an excellent pub nearby which offers local ales and lovely food, and breakfast can be found in the next village if you don't want to cook. The hostel is very clean, well equipped and feels really friendly and welcoming.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. As a family business, we really appreciate it! Cheers from all the Skyewalkers!

100%

Ace hostel - can't fault it at all!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review! We hope to see you again sometime! Slainte from the Skyewalkers!

97%

Hostel was fantastic. Great location, very good relaxed atmosphere, and the facilities were excellent as well. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone and everyone!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review and your recommendations, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

86%

We had a great stay at your place, atmosphere was relaxed and the accommodation is clean and perfectly equipped (especially kitchen).

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

80%

30 minute drive to portree but the room and the kitchen was great. i love the garden beside the hostle!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel is where it was when you booked it....30 minutes from Portree! We hope you enjoyed the fact that we are very close to the world famous Talisker Distillery, the Cuillins and the Fairy pools! Thanks for taking the time to review us!

100%

One night stay at this cosy, clean and very friendly hostel. Lovely staff and beautiful location. Would definitely recommend. A***** We will be back!

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Looking forward to the next time! Thanks for taking the time to write us such a great review. Slainte from all the Skyewalker Jedi!

94%

A very nice and cosy Hostel. We liked to stay there for some days. The location is a little bit far from Old Man of Storr and Quiraing (more than an hour drive) but very close to the high Mountains of Skye.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are glad you liked our hostel. The Isle of Skye is almost 50 miles long so it is kinda difficult to be near every attraction on the island, especially the ones an hour's drive away Lol! We are however, very close to the attractions we are close to like the Cuillin Mountains, Talisker Distillery, the Fairy Pools, Glen Brittle beach etc! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

89%

Excelent hostel. Only negative thing is that if you dont have a car the location is not the best as bus connections are limited and taxis are expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would always suggest that guests have a car wherever possible to enable them to get the most out of their stay on Skye. The island is almost 50 miles long and many of the popular attractions are off the main public transport routes. It is possible to get around Skye by bus but it requires a fair bit of forward planning! Hope to see you again sometime!

100%

Best Hostel ever, without WiFi but who needs this at such a nice, clean and modern Hostel. The Jeti Hut was amazing. Cute, lovly decorated and cheap.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a great hostel! It was clean and super fun! Beautiful property and friendly staff as well. The WiFi is not reliable but other than that no complaints!


100%

Excellent hostel, definitely recommend. Wish I could've stayed longer.


97%

My only regret was that I only stayed one night. Beautiful setting, kitchen is great and the space out back will only get better for summer. There are a lot of little things here that show how much the operators really care about their guests. They have put a lot of effort into making this a great place to stay and it really shows. Wish I'd stayed longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your fantastic review! Hopefully you can come back and stay a little longer next time! Thanks again from Team Skyewalker!

89%

Everything that was available was perfect. A TV would have been a welcome addition.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We had a TV in the lounge in days gone by however, it was deemed to be more of a hinderance than a help! At our hostel, guests tend to prefer to socialize or play music or games rather than watch TV and this often annoyed the other guests who were trying to watch something! Sadly, even though we try, we can't please all of the people all of the time! I hope the lack of TV didn't impact too much on your stay! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

54%

receptionist with glasses came across as rude - she over charged my card also. however the second one without glasses was great and friendly

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything you want from a hostel, you get with the people in Skywalker! Just keep the good times rolling guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! you were everything we could wish for as guests! Hope to see you again someday! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

91%

Great place- fun atmosphere- very clean and nice kitchen. Stayed in one of the private rooms which was spacious, clean with comfortable beds. Its remote but then again everything on Skye is remote so adds to the adventure!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

When i arrived at the hostel and had to make my bed, i thought this was weird, but when i saw other clients not making their bed before using it, i felt disguted. This can easily be avoided by having the staff making the beds which is what you expect anyway from a four stars... I certainly did not understand why this hostel was awarded as the best. Overall the hostel is nice but very remoted and far away from any attractions. Many other hostels on the isle were cheaper and better

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing!. In our experience, most guests who hostel regularly appreciate making their bed with the fresh, clean linen laid out for them. That way, they know for sure that they are the only ones to have slept in them! Our beds are so clean we let you see what's under the sheets too! The weather was bad and you had no transport so we understand why you feel the hostel was remote. Usually, guests in this situation make friends with others who can help. We are sorry you were unable to!

100%

Simply one of the best hostel ever. The staff, the small details and location made us wanting to make our stay longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We wanted you to stay longer too! Thanks for the great review and hope we meet again! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

100%

Lovely hostel. Warm & welcoming staff, great facilities, very comfy and spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend it.


(94 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback