X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1506 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Perfect place to stay at a perfect place of earth! Kind staff, clean and nice rooms.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is extremely well kept with plenty of humorous items on the walls. It is clean and everything one could need in a hostel on a remote island. Brian, one of the owners, is hilarious and a delight to talk with, especially after each day of activities. The two girls that work there that we got to know (Heather and Callie - may be spelling that wrong) were wonderfully helpful and also great to hang out with and play some jenga!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and warm welcome. Clean and spacious with fantastic atmosphere. Great pub just round the corner. Probably the best hostel in the world.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope the weather remains biker friendly for the rest of your trip! Fingers crossed for Stirling!! Cheers from all the Skyewalkers!

100%

Simply the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff was amazing, helpful and always open for a talk. Everything was clean and the kitchen was perfectly equipped. Also, it was just great there was no WiFi. There were no people staring at her phones while playing games or talking, so the atmosphere was just tremendous and relaxed. It was so easy and uncomplicated to get to know new people, new impressions. Thanks for all, Brian and Lisa :) best wishes, Elias (with the banjo, thank you Brian!)

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

have been traveling on road over 6 years, this hostel defo one of the best hostel I have been stay in for sure!! JUST don't the location wouldn't be convenient for the foot walker with the heavy backpack (I was hitch hiked there but I was surprised by the location was really hard to reach without car/ bus(there is a bus stop to leave but make sure u also check the route to come then sure it is easier)

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is probably my favorite hostel I've ever stayed in!


100%

The Skyewalker Hostel is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The atmosphere is so unique. The dome out back is magical to talk in at night, and the Jedi Hut was amazing.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Our stay at Skyewalker Hostel was pleasant. The staff were friendly and the premises were generally well maintained. It would have been nice if there was WiFi available.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We agree with you, that it would indeed be nice if there was wifi! Superfast broadband is making it's way to Skye...just not that super fast! In the meantime, our reception staff are always more than happy to help guests find any information they need to enable them to get the most out of their island experience!

94%

Jedi Hut was AWESOME!!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We stayed in the Jedi Huts and they were perfect. The hostel owners were very friendly and helpful and gave advice on how to spend the remainder of our time on Skye. Unfortunately it was raining so we didn't get to take advantage of the chess set or the stargazing dome but our hut was snug and warm and the perfect hideout for the two of us. The only thing to be aware of is that this hostel does not have breakfast or wifi. Both are available a short drive down the road, however.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly staff. Excellent kitchen facilities. Beautiful garden. Very clean. Cosy common area. Very small rooms but thats not very important. Unfortunately there was no wifi. Because of that, more travelguides, hiking maps and detailled information material would be necessary. All in all we were very satisfied.


89%

awesome hostel, where you never get bored :-)

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice clean tidy hostel !

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review!

100%

good place, clean and everything you expect, friendly and helpful staff, quiet "off-the-main-roads"-location, kitchen for self-catering is okay

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Clean and tidy hostel with good facilities.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very enjoyable stay. Best hostel I've ever been to.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Got one of the Jedi huts for the weekend and had an amazing time! The people were very hospitable and and the hostel was very cosy. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone who enjoys that experience.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Skyewalker Hostel! Thanks for your great review and your recommendations! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

100%

Fantastic hostel! We were a group of five and loved our stay. Staff are great, facilities are clean and modern and the cat was adorable! The star gazing room was also fab. Will def stay again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for such a fantastic review! It was great to have you all here and we hope to see you again sometime! Slainte from the Skyewalkers!

100%

I love love loved this hostel! There is an awesome glass hut in the back yard which is heated by solar panels. The kitchen was huge and the staff were great to give you recomendations on where to go in Isle of Skye. The showers and toilets were always clean. The bunk beds were a good size and the pillows are actually comfy, compared to most other hostels I´ve stayed at! The hostel itself was a bit secluded, but so is everything in Isle of Skye. About an hour walk to the pitlochery distillery


94%

Fabulous hostel, great atmosphere and layout, spacious rooms with comfy beds, spotless bathrooms, lovely people, loads of information provided when needed. Loved my stay and will hopefully get a chance to return!

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope too, that you get a chance to return! Cheers from all the Skyewalkers!

(117 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback