X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1258 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

fantastic! !!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a fantastic stay here, we wish we had stayed for longer!

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Skyewalker is an amazing place! Really enjoyed the location (it's difficult to get to without a car), fully equipped kitchen, musical insturments, and friendly staff! Would highly recommend staying here!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a brilliant hostel... it is family run. The staff are soo helpful, friendly and nice! We stayed in a private bunk room... the beds were soooo comfortable and the room was big enough. The hostel is super quiet. It feels like home... where u can veg out and read a book. Loved it!! As it is rural there is no wifi.. which I didn't mind it was actually kind of nice! I loved this hostel and would definitely recommend it. The only thing I would have loved as im a backpacker was a washingmach


94%

Great place to stay. There were many families staying which gave the hostel a different atmosphere than normal.


91%

y first time at Skyewalker Hostel, and it won't be my last. A great place!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A very beautiful situation and an excellently kept hostel, flowers outside and extreme cleanliness inside. Staff very welcoming and helpful.


100%

Amazing place. Friendly staff, and all in all nice place to hangout in Skye.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent place, very clean but very removed (a positive in my book, but not everyone will agree). Only thing I'd do is add wi-fi and it would be perfect. The other facilities are very very good - the kitchen is very large and modern, plenty of space in the lounge etc etc. The glass dome is a nice touch.


86%

Stayed here one night. On site parking. About 500 m walk to local hotel and pub where you can eat and have a cold one! Room was fine. Our stay was quiet. We went out the one night we were there so never used sitting lounge. Good place to stop off on tour of Isle of Skye.


97%

Loved this place. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was fantastic and the scenery was even better. Really great outdoor area. Only downside would be that, being on foot we almost had to cancel our stay last minute because our train was delayed so much we missed the last of the 3 buses going to the hostel and check-in has to be before 21:00. Luckily hitch hiking is super easy on the island, plenty of very friendly people, but it's something to be aware of.


97%

Fabulous, friendly staff. Gotta love those Scots! Would not hesitate to recommend, or revisit ( preferably for longer) as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.


91%

Massive improvements over the 'old' Skyewalker. Brilliant upgrade job. Well done!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great Hostel - nothing to add


94%

This was by far the best hostel that we stayed at during our Scotland-trip. Worth a visit!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great value for money! Unfortunately there is no WIFI available in the hostel.. Reception in Skye is poor and we would really have appreciated wifi. Otherwise the rooms and toilets are clean, very nice place to explore and spend the night :)


94%

No Wifi :-(

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The place is truely amazing. Great decoration, great staff... we couldn't expect more


83%

The hostel was quite exceptional compared to a typical hostel, because the whole building with all the areas and rooms felt really spacious as did the yard area which was very well maintained and inviting. Everything was clean and well maintained. The surroundings were really nice and I wish I had my hiking gear with me, it would've been lovely to hike in the nearby mountains. I recommend the place for anyone wanting to get a great hostel accommodation in Isle of Skye!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is really nice! Brian and Lisa are the greatest people and they really enjoy getting along with their guests. The facilities are great and the location couldn't be better, just a few minutes away from the Talisker distillery. A great hostel to stay if visiting Skye.


(103 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback