X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1283 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Amazing place. Friendly staff, and all in all nice place to hangout in Skye.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent place, very clean but very removed (a positive in my book, but not everyone will agree). Only thing I'd do is add wi-fi and it would be perfect. The other facilities are very very good - the kitchen is very large and modern, plenty of space in the lounge etc etc. The glass dome is a nice touch.


86%

Stayed here one night. On site parking. About 500 m walk to local hotel and pub where you can eat and have a cold one! Room was fine. Our stay was quiet. We went out the one night we were there so never used sitting lounge. Good place to stop off on tour of Isle of Skye.


97%

Loved this place. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was fantastic and the scenery was even better. Really great outdoor area. Only downside would be that, being on foot we almost had to cancel our stay last minute because our train was delayed so much we missed the last of the 3 buses going to the hostel and check-in has to be before 21:00. Luckily hitch hiking is super easy on the island, plenty of very friendly people, but it's something to be aware of.


97%

Fabulous, friendly staff. Gotta love those Scots! Would not hesitate to recommend, or revisit ( preferably for longer) as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.


91%

Massive improvements over the 'old' Skyewalker. Brilliant upgrade job. Well done!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great Hostel - nothing to add


94%

This was by far the best hostel that we stayed at during our Scotland-trip. Worth a visit!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great value for money! Unfortunately there is no WIFI available in the hostel.. Reception in Skye is poor and we would really have appreciated wifi. Otherwise the rooms and toilets are clean, very nice place to explore and spend the night :)


94%

No Wifi :-(

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The place is truely amazing. Great decoration, great staff... we couldn't expect more


83%

The hostel was quite exceptional compared to a typical hostel, because the whole building with all the areas and rooms felt really spacious as did the yard area which was very well maintained and inviting. Everything was clean and well maintained. The surroundings were really nice and I wish I had my hiking gear with me, it would've been lovely to hike in the nearby mountains. I recommend the place for anyone wanting to get a great hostel accommodation in Isle of Skye!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is really nice! Brian and Lisa are the greatest people and they really enjoy getting along with their guests. The facilities are great and the location couldn't be better, just a few minutes away from the Talisker distillery. A great hostel to stay if visiting Skye.


94%

They've got a good thing going at this place. A great community and assortment of people who keep it classy and create a nice vibe for international traveling. It's fun, it's clean, it's a great place to stay.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We try to make Skyewalker Hostel a home from home! Glad you felt the vibe!

89%

Me and my friends had a great time in this hostel. The staff were very helpful and gave us some great advice on where to visit. The hostel was amazingly clean (cleanest ever been in) and has a great kitchen. The place was also friendly and fun. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Skye with a car. Thanks for a great stay!! Josh Ross and Cormac

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was really nice to meet you all and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to review us!

100%

The staff were excellent. Very approachable, helpful, and great to chat with. It was easy to relax and mingle with other guests and the kitchen was top notch.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your " top notch" review! Relaxed and mingly are our favourite kind of guests! Thanks for visiting!

94%

Great hostel, loads of facilities, spotlessly clean. Lots of interesting, quirky, one off bits of deco, etc that gave the place loads of character. Couldn't fault a thing, an exceptionally pleasant stay after another rainy day in Skye

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Sorry about the weather but then, if we could control that, we wouldn't be washing sheets for a living! Glad you had a pleasant stay!

100%

Wow. Best hostel ever visited. Well done lovely skywalker family :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, Julia for your wonderful review! The Skyewalker family says, "May the force be with you!"

89%

The location is great if you have a car. The bathrooms are very clean I was very impressed compared with other hostels I've stayed at. The atmosphere was great. The only down side was the price however it was the cheapest option for the Isle of skye. Over all was very good and would stay again.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Lovely place, I was disappointed to miss out on music sessions but the group booking was massive and perhaps I ought to have phoned before booking - that's the trouble with remote online shopping shoppers! Hello to Georgia and portugese cake-maker! Hope the sun shines on you or .. at least within you ;)


(116 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback