X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1225 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was the cleanest and most comfortable hostel I've ever stayed in! Everyone was really friendly and it was absolutely beautiful. A little out of the way but everything kind of is on the Isle of Skye...I would definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words about our place! We'd love to see you again if you're ever passing through Portnalong!

97%

It was a wonderful stay there, stuffs are very friendly and helpful. The dome was awesome. Atmosphere was excellent and particularly I liked the theme based quotes on the walls. Definitely one of my best hostel stay ever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again if you're every back on Skye!

100%

A brilliant welcome, a very homely feel, great kitchen and dining space, and great atmosphere. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"Homely feel" is what we're aiming for so we're glad to hear you thought we were successful in our mission! Thanks for your contribution to the great atmosphere and for your great review! Slainte!

89%

Breakfast would bei good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We advertise Skyewalker as being a a self catering Hostel! There is a great kitchen where our guests enjoy the social aspect of cooking together but if you would rather have the cooking done for you, our local hotel does a great breakfast! Hope you enjoyed your time on Skye!

91%

Great hostel. Very clean and organised. Kitchen was well stocked with cooking equipment and had designed areas for traveler's food. Bathroom was clean and they even offered free toiletries if you needed something. The dining and living area was cosy and there were lots of games and books to read. The owners were very friendly and more than willing to give you advice on what to do on the island.Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone staying on the Isle of Skye. Felt like being at home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for your recommendations! We're happy to hear that you felt at home here and hope you had a great time on Skye!

91%

Insufficient shower areas... Toilets were not working properly. Apart from this, the decor and atmosphere of the hostel is amazing. I love how the owner put in effort and thought to have all the inspiring quotes and interesting photos and objects around the entire hostel. Other common areas such as kitchen and the outdoor dome are amazing too.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, due to the low water pressure on the island, we are limited in the number of showers we can install so we are sorry if you found this an inconvenience. It usually works out fine but if there is a large group all wanting to get showered at the same time, it can be a bit difficult. The toilets were all checked and found to be working perfectly! Sorry! We can't explain why you had a problem!

100%

The stay at this hostel was outstanding!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you had an "Outstanding" time at Skyewalker and it was a pleasure to meet you.

97%

Staff were friendly, helpful and there to help you. I have travelled a lot and this was by far one of the clearest places I have stayed. Location is excellent for walks, views and wildlife however having a car is an advantage unless you really like hiking, but the main towns aren't to far away. What really made it excellent was the atmosphere, jolly but relaxing and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! The Skyewalker Jedi work very hard at keeping the hostel as clean as possible and it's nice when guests appreciate their efforts! Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere! That's as much down to you guests as it is to us....so, thank you!

97%

Awesome personalised hostel, with very nice staff. Extremly cozy. One of the few hostels that really tries to make you feel welcome and at home. I highly recommend it

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We're glad you felt at home here!

100%

This place was awesome, everyone was awesome and friendly! The staff was excellent.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Congratulations on being our first guest of the season to jump in the Fairy Pools! May the force be with you!

94%

Really enjoyed our stay at Skyewalker! Lisa and Brian (and family) were great hosts, took their time to give us some tips about walks around Portnalong or have a little chat; and they seemed to be really passionate about this hostel. The facilities are very good as well and the location is definitely worth the little bit of previous organization for getting there, even without car. Probably one of the best hostel I've stayed in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(91 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback