X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1578 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Jedi Hut was AWESOME!!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We stayed in the Jedi Huts and they were perfect. The hostel owners were very friendly and helpful and gave advice on how to spend the remainder of our time on Skye. Unfortunately it was raining so we didn't get to take advantage of the chess set or the stargazing dome but our hut was snug and warm and the perfect hideout for the two of us. The only thing to be aware of is that this hostel does not have breakfast or wifi. Both are available a short drive down the road, however.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly staff. Excellent kitchen facilities. Beautiful garden. Very clean. Cosy common area. Very small rooms but thats not very important. Unfortunately there was no wifi. Because of that, more travelguides, hiking maps and detailled information material would be necessary. All in all we were very satisfied.


89%

awesome hostel, where you never get bored :-)

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice clean tidy hostel !

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review!

100%

good place, clean and everything you expect, friendly and helpful staff, quiet "off-the-main-roads"-location, kitchen for self-catering is okay

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Clean and tidy hostel with good facilities.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very enjoyable stay. Best hostel I've ever been to.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Got one of the Jedi huts for the weekend and had an amazing time! The people were very hospitable and and the hostel was very cosy. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone who enjoys that experience.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Skyewalker Hostel! Thanks for your great review and your recommendations! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

100%

Fantastic hostel! We were a group of five and loved our stay. Staff are great, facilities are clean and modern and the cat was adorable! The star gazing room was also fab. Will def stay again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for such a fantastic review! It was great to have you all here and we hope to see you again sometime! Slainte from the Skyewalkers!

100%

I love love loved this hostel! There is an awesome glass hut in the back yard which is heated by solar panels. The kitchen was huge and the staff were great to give you recomendations on where to go in Isle of Skye. The showers and toilets were always clean. The bunk beds were a good size and the pillows are actually comfy, compared to most other hostels I´ve stayed at! The hostel itself was a bit secluded, but so is everything in Isle of Skye. About an hour walk to the pitlochery distillery


94%

Fabulous hostel, great atmosphere and layout, spacious rooms with comfy beds, spotless bathrooms, lovely people, loads of information provided when needed. Loved my stay and will hopefully get a chance to return!

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope too, that you get a chance to return! Cheers from all the Skyewalkers!

100%

Brill hostel, beautiful location would definitely stay there again


91%

This is the best hostel i have ever stayed..it's full of quirky and funny items...love it!and great pun on the name..didn't realized it until I saw Luke in the hallway..

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are glad that you had a good time at Skyewalker Hostel! May the force be with you!

86%

very clean and the people staying there are considerate as well. we're all there to have a good time. good experience overall. i like that the toilets are exceptionally clean.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and your appreciation of the Skyewalker Jedi's hard work! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

100%

Stayed in the hostel with a group of friends whilst mountain biking in various areas of Western Scotland. Of all the hostels we stayed at this was our favourite. Great facilities, atmosphere and location. Could not fault it, even had a pub within 5 mins walk. Could not have asked for more.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the fantastic review. With guests like you, we could not ask for more! Cheers from all the Skyewalkers!

91%

Great hostel. Nice kitchen and common area. 8-bed dorm was clean, comfortable and spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

94%

A magical spot which offers a good base for activities. There's an excellent pub nearby which offers local ales and lovely food, and breakfast can be found in the next village if you don't want to cook. The hostel is very clean, well equipped and feels really friendly and welcoming.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. As a family business, we really appreciate it! Cheers from all the Skyewalkers!

100%

Ace hostel - can't fault it at all!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review! We hope to see you again sometime! Slainte from the Skyewalkers!

97%

Hostel was fantastic. Great location, very good relaxed atmosphere, and the facilities were excellent as well. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone and everyone!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review and your recommendations, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

(150 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback