X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Skyewalker Hostel Reviews

The Old School, Portnalong, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1578 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Excelent hostel. Only negative thing is that if you dont have a car the location is not the best as bus connections are limited and taxis are expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would always suggest that guests have a car wherever possible to enable them to get the most out of their stay on Skye. The island is almost 50 miles long and many of the popular attractions are off the main public transport routes. It is possible to get around Skye by bus but it requires a fair bit of forward planning! Hope to see you again sometime!

100%

Best Hostel ever, without WiFi but who needs this at such a nice, clean and modern Hostel. The Jeti Hut was amazing. Cute, lovly decorated and cheap.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a great hostel! It was clean and super fun! Beautiful property and friendly staff as well. The WiFi is not reliable but other than that no complaints!


100%

Excellent hostel, definitely recommend. Wish I could've stayed longer.


97%

My only regret was that I only stayed one night. Beautiful setting, kitchen is great and the space out back will only get better for summer. There are a lot of little things here that show how much the operators really care about their guests. They have put a lot of effort into making this a great place to stay and it really shows. Wish I'd stayed longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your fantastic review! Hopefully you can come back and stay a little longer next time! Thanks again from Team Skyewalker!

89%

Everything that was available was perfect. A TV would have been a welcome addition.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We had a TV in the lounge in days gone by however, it was deemed to be more of a hinderance than a help! At our hostel, guests tend to prefer to socialize or play music or games rather than watch TV and this often annoyed the other guests who were trying to watch something! Sadly, even though we try, we can't please all of the people all of the time! I hope the lack of TV didn't impact too much on your stay! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

54%

receptionist with glasses came across as rude - she over charged my card also. however the second one without glasses was great and friendly

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything you want from a hostel, you get with the people in Skywalker! Just keep the good times rolling guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! you were everything we could wish for as guests! Hope to see you again someday! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

91%

Great place- fun atmosphere- very clean and nice kitchen. Stayed in one of the private rooms which was spacious, clean with comfortable beds. Its remote but then again everything on Skye is remote so adds to the adventure!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

When i arrived at the hostel and had to make my bed, i thought this was weird, but when i saw other clients not making their bed before using it, i felt disguted. This can easily be avoided by having the staff making the beds which is what you expect anyway from a four stars... I certainly did not understand why this hostel was awarded as the best. Overall the hostel is nice but very remoted and far away from any attractions. Many other hostels on the isle were cheaper and better

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing!. In our experience, most guests who hostel regularly appreciate making their bed with the fresh, clean linen laid out for them. That way, they know for sure that they are the only ones to have slept in them! Our beds are so clean we let you see what's under the sheets too! The weather was bad and you had no transport so we understand why you feel the hostel was remote. Usually, guests in this situation make friends with others who can help. We are sorry you were unable to!

100%

Simply one of the best hostel ever. The staff, the small details and location made us wanting to make our stay longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We wanted you to stay longer too! Thanks for the great review and hope we meet again! Cheers from the Skyewalkers!

100%

Lovely hostel. Warm & welcoming staff, great facilities, very comfy and spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend it.


94%

A great hostel with excellent hosts, well equipped and clean

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it! see you again sometime!

97%

Really nice place! We had a warm welcoming and tips about what to visit around. Really nice atmosphere! Really clean, very safe. Would go back there anytime. We just had some difficulties finding the hostel on the first day. I really recommend the Jedi Huts :). Some nice places around to have dinner and breafast. Just make sure to have food with you before going there (closest grocery is in Portree!) Thank you again!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My family and I had a great time in Skyewalker Hostel. Very well located as it is close to the Cuillins, we appreciated the cleanliness, the warmth of the people that welcomed us. The atmosphere was delightful, and the concert was a splendid experience to us, even if we could'nt understand the whole thing. First time in this hostel with our 2 boys, we hope it won't be the last !

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

My friend and I were staying in Skywalker hostel for 3 nights and ejoyed it very much! Lovely staff, good location and very cosy warm room with a private bathroom. The only thing I had any objections to was the level of noise outside of the rooms when other guests left their doors open while socialising with their friends late at night (keeping us awake)- worth mentioning to all guests + slamming doors that are super loud as well. We had a great time though and would always go back :) Thanks.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a great hostel with a lovely feel about it. Recommend it.


97%

Very friendly staff, good views, and a nice outside area. Some of the best bathrooms/showers I've seen in a hostel. Close to a good pub and the Talisker distillery and fairy pools too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Skyewalker Hostel!

94%

I stayed in a twin room in the Skyewalker, which was comfortable, spacious and had a good view. Staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgable of the islands sights. Would definitely recommend this as a base to explore Skye.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your recommendation and your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

94%

WiFi connection needed

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(146 results)


View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback