X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Barcelona Reviews

Carrer de Bergara, 3, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2251 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Excellant hostel! Great location- near the metro. I especially choose it because it is the nearest hostel near the bus stop for the night bus to the airport.It is quite big hostel with multiple floors. Beds have an outlet next to each bed and a curtain for privacy. Only drawback is the bathrooms/ showers are separated and like public stalls. The common room is huge with a restaurant attached which offers delicious meals. Laundry services were not working. Staff seemed quite busy to answer ques


83%

There wasn't enough showers honestly for the amount of people on my floor. I often showered at odd times. Other than that, it was great, I loved the "pod" beds as it offers a sense of privacy. The internet didn't always work very well but that's what happens when there are a lot of people in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences with us and you've raised some important issues. We'll be sure you investigate the showers and wi-fi further, as we're always looking to improve ourselves and with your ideas and suggestions we know we're on the right track, Thanks again, and we're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us overall,

91%

The hostel was perfect in every terms, but the staff which seemed to be a bit bored about working. Only one woman and one guy were kind to me, the others answered my questions with impatience as if I was obligated to know everything. On the other requirements, they were perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for writing to us. It's really disappointing for us to read that you felt let down by some of our staff, as our guys love their jobs and we all want everyone to enjoy their time with us to the fullest. If it's ok with you, we're going to write to you in private to find out a little more about your expereinces with our team so that perhaps we can provide further trainging if needs be. We're super pleased though that you enjoyed so visit overall, Thanks for your understanding,

100%

St Christopher's Barcelona is really excellent, I stayed there for four nights, the first two nights in a room with 16 beds and the rest two nights in a room with 12 beds. Everything, including location, atmosphere, cleanliness, staff and breakfast, is far beyond of my expectation. Next time, I will certainly stay at hostel in a city I travel to.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, So nice to read that we have left such an impression on one of our guests. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and welcome you back to any of our sites, Be sure to write to us in advance and we'll be happy to make it worth your while, Bye for now,

91%

A good hostel but I expected more after visiting St Christopher's in Brugge

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It's great to see that you chose to stay with us after your experiences in Bruges. We're keen to learn about the differences you saw between the two sites and we'll be sending you a private email to see if we can learn more about your time with us during your travels throughout Europe, We hope to see you at another St Christopher's soon ; )

83%

That's a very good hostel in Barcelona!! Their staffs are very good professionals, the place is really confortable and food from the bar is really good.👍👍

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're really pleased that you took the time to let us know about your experiences in our restaurant. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our chefs who will be very happy to read your review for themselves, Thanks again and see you next time,

80%

The showers smelt mouldy and one of the woman at the desk was always really grumpy. Dorm rooms are perfect though. Size, cleanliness, curtains on beds, individual light and power socket let bed. Really great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review. We're pleased that you appreciated the facilities in our dorms, but can't help be a little worried by your comments about somebody from our front desk. We hope you don't mind but we're going to send you a quick private message to try and find out a little more about your experiences with this member of staff. Perhaps we can provide further training if needs be. Talk soon, and thanks for your balanced opinions above,

97%

Location is great. Room was clean. Toilets and showers were clean. Breakfast was amazing. Staff were friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, What a great review! We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Our guys love their jobs and it really makes their day to know that they're made a difference to somebody's visit, or just left a lasting impression on one of our guests : ) Thanks for taking the time to get back to us, Safe travels

86%

Very good hostel, very well located, 5min walking from the Aerobus stop, fair continental breakfast included.


97%

Great hostel in Barcelona! Very near to Plaça de Catalunya, the best start point to know this great city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We're glad you found our location easy to get to. You can always join our free walking tour too to really get familiar with city : ) Thanks for your review

97%

Great, comfortable, and safe place to stay. I only stayed to catch an early morning flight because I didn't want to stay in the airport for a 10 hour layover. It's a bit far from the airport, but it's easy to walk to from Plaça Catalunya. The staff is very friendly. The bar food is good, plus you get a discount for staying in the hostel. I would love to stay when I return to Barcelona again! ¡Muchas gracias!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! It's great to see you made the most of our discounted food and 2-for-1 drink offers in our Belushi's bar. It's the least we can do for our guests. Next one's on us ; )

97%

Love this place. Too much fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for letting us know : ) Come back any time for more!

100%

This was my second stay here and it was just as wonderful as the first time. This hostel is great for location, meeting people, atmosphere, and much more. I would recommend if you want a great stay in Barcelona. It's close to La rambla and clubs within this area and not too far from the beach. I love this chain !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review. Great to see you enjoyed yourself here : ) It was great to see that you made the most of our central location. We know how important it is to be right in the heart of all the action in the city. All the best,

94%

This hostel was great value for money, easy to get to from the airport (one bus) and close to the metro station for easy city access. You are literally 2 minutes from las ramblas the main part of town. Clean and safe facilities, no complaints, with exception of no real kitchen but no need when food is so cheap and delicious close by! Will definitely recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, It’s great to see that you felt safe and secure in our hostel. Like many big cities, Barcelona often gets a bad rep, but we’re glad that you were able to see past that. Thanks for writing and see you next time

74%

The large female dorm was filthy, and the bathroom only cleaned after 9pm each night. The shower stall was so small my arms knocked against the sides whilst I washed my hair. Not impressed! Other than that, the place was fairly standard. Staff were ordinary; location and security was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to get back to us. We really appreciate your feedback and we will certainly be using your comments to develop and improve our services and facilities for the benefit our future guests. We hire an external housekeeping company and have passed on your comments to their management. We have an overnight cleaner who attends all the shared facilities around the clock so it's quite unusual something was overlooked. Nevertheless we'll be sure to look into it. Thanks again

83%

fun bar on the first level giant hostel so a little hard being a single traveler but I made friends nonetheless right in the heart of all the fun walking distance to every great place to see and have fun clean rooms and big lockers under the beds not great wifi but not terrible breakfast was eh but it's free so you can't really complain overall cool place to stay in the center of the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We´re really pleased to see that you made fiends quickly in our Belushi´s bar. We always encourage solo travelers to join our daily welcome meeting so they can take advantage of some free tapas and sangria and meet other travelers, Thanks for writing,

91%

We had a very pleasant stay at St. Christopher's- so much so that we extended our stay. The hostel is very clean and Eco friendly. It is good value for money with its excellent buffet breakfast. The only complaint is the lack of fresh air in the upstairs dorms... Can't imagine what it's like in the summer!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was good of you to write to us, and an important issue you've raised, Regarding the ventilation we are sorry to hear of your discomfort. We usually ask the housekeeping team to do an additional airing out the rooms if any happen to get at all stuffy, but unfortunately Spanish health and safety and noise pollution laws prevents us from being able to leave them open around the clock. Our staff are always ready to help so we hope you came down to the front desk for a chat. Thanks again

83%

This hostel was really just a place for me to sleep - the rooms and bathrooms were really industrial, but functional and clean. Breakfast was great, and for the value, I really can't complain but there is no atmosphere and it was frustrating that the balconies always seemed to be locked so the room got really stuffy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for writing. We were a little disappointed to read that we didn´t seem to be able to impress you with our hostel, as much as we do our other guests. We hope you reporting the issue with your room to our staff who are always willing to help and are happy to air out your room if needs be : ) Thanks for writing, and we´re sure your next St Christopher´s experience will stand out as a memorable one

91%

I will definitely choose this hostel when coming in Barcelona next time. The location is absolutely perfect. You have a lot of sightseeings in a walking distance and direct bus to the airport there. They have big lockers under the beds (bring a padlock with you). Staff is really kind and helpful..there is just one girl which was ignorant, not willing to explain why we do not get our key deposit back (she is the reason why the staff is just good not excellent).

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and as you probably already know we've sent you a private email to follow up on the misunderstanding with our receptionist. We look forward to your reply so that we know if we have to provide extra training. We're always looking to better ourselves and can learn a lot from your experiences with us, Take care and talk soon

57%

Good for a party weekend, if you don't mind to sleep in a room without air (they open the windows just for a few hours in the daytime). You need to buy a padlock for the locker. Leaving your luggage after check-out cost you minimum 3,50. For the rate i paid, i can't complain, but there are much better places for 2-3 Euro more per night. There was a girl at the reception, that was the most unfriendly hostel worker i met in 5 years traveling with hostels. Rrrrespect!

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It's great you've left us such a detailed review. We can learn a lot from you, and it's your ideas that drive the changes we make here in the hostel. Rather than discuss such matters in public we've taken a little extra time to write to you in private to hopefully try and understand why you didn't see eye to eye with a member of our team here. Our guys love their jobs and we're positive there's a simple explanation for the misunderstanding there seems to have been, Talk soon. Thanks

(114 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback