X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Barcelona Reviews

Carrer de Bergara, 3, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1923 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The location was great, right by a couple metro stops and la rambla. The hostel was very conducive to meeting people, especially the bar, with great drink specials. The rooms were spacious and clean, with large lockers right under the beds and curtains for privacy. The only annoying thing was the showers, where you have to push a button every 10 seconds to get water. But the rest of the stay was fantastic and I met a lot of cool people in a great hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks a lot for your review it's really nice to know that you had a good time with us! We apologize about the showers, we are looking after this with our maintenance crew to find a solution and improve our customers services. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon! Greetings from Barcelona

100%

Its an Amazing place to stay!! Right from checking in to the hostel to finding our dorms clean, getting guided around the city, chilling at the inhouse bar to clean showers - Everything was just awesome! It felt like a home away from home. Its located near to the Metro, Bus Stops n the Famous Las Ramblas street. Would recommend this place, you ll have a comfortable stay for sure!!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heyy thanks a lot for your kind words, it makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed your time here and found everything that you need in our hostel! Quoting you: " It felt like a home away from home"... this is great, it makes us really proud to know that our customers feel like home! Thanks again and see you soon!

86%

St Christopher's is a great hostel. I stayed in the one in Paris too and was pleased with both experiences!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heyy thanks a lot for your review it's really nice to know that you enjoy our place at any location!!! Please come back we hope to see you again soon!!!

86%

A really modern hostel, but in my opinion a little bit too big and impersonal. However, it is clean and the bar serves good and cheap food.


91%

Great great hostel. I can't fault it. Single female traveller and it was exactly what I was looking for, easy to get to, good security, lockers, great atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers and heaps of assistance finding places to head out. Free breakfast. Showers are unusual but they still get you clean!! Would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks a lot for your review it makes us really happy to know that you had a great time here with us and you found in our place everything that you need. We hope to see you back here! greetings from Barcelona team!

60%

Excellent location, the washing machine was not working right, and the cleaning of the bathrooms was poor. Great staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review we do really care about our customers comments to help us improve. We were aware that the washing machine was not working, we already fix it with our maintenance crew and now we can say it works good. About the bathrooms we do clean it many times per day, sorry if you found it in poor conditions we will increase our daily audits to keep our standards on top. thanks again and see you next time!

97%

It's a big hostel but it runs like clockwork, with a team of cleaners that seem to never sleep and one of the best bars/social spaces I've seen in a hostel. Brilliant location at the top of La Ramblas, right next to a metro & train station, and within walking distance to a few Gaudi's. The little curtains and huge lockable cages are the cherry on top.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes it is a big clockwork :)!. Thank you very much for such a good review, it makes us really happy to know that you had a good time and enjoyed all our services! Feel free to choose any of or other European or Uk locations that are as central and as good as this one! Thank you again Barcelona team

80%

Big hostel ideal for groups but maybe not for solo travelers, very popular bar downstairs. Handy location close to las ramblas, airport bus and public transport. Bathrooms are quite clean generally and breakfast was fair. It's location is what makes it. Definitely a hostel for younger (read 18-20y/o) travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heyy thanks a lot for your review, do you really think our hostel it's not ideal for solo travelers? we think with the great bar downstairs it's really easy to meet new people and interact with other guest's and even with our bar staff!, we are really sorry if you didn't felt this way. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to have you back here in Barcelona or in any of our locations next time! Kind Regards Barcelona Team

49%

Was pretty unclean, most of the staff were unfriendly and didn't seem willing to help at all. The facilities were awful - the 'kitchen' consisted of 3 microwaves in a line, with no cutlery in sight and no stove/pots and pans. You had to pay to use the computers in the downstairs common area... The whole thing was very corporate and impersonal, so the atmosphere reflected that. The beds were fine with the curtains unless you're on the top bunk, and the storage system under the beds is a good idea

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a lot for your review we do really care about our customers feedback to help us improve our service and standards. We Apologize about your bad experience in our hostel, we hope that if you come back one day we will be up to the service that you are expecting. Kind Regards Barcelona Team

86%

You get your own room with a curtain and I loved it great culture if you're alone good to meet people! I love it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments ! We are really happy that you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again very very soon :)

37%

Still astonished by how terrible it was-NOTHING like my St. C experiences in other locations. Quite literally the most rude, unfriendly employees I've ever encountered. Acted as though it was a burden to check you in; were annoyed if you asked for a towel; it was a chore to inform you of the breakfast hours. Check in isn't til 2pm-when I entered my room at 2:15, the sheets had not yet been changed from the previous guest... no apology from staff. Dirty showers. Very pricey; utterly disappointed.


80%

It's a big hostel chain so if you're a lone traveler after a small hostel vibe to meet people this isn't the hostel, it's mainly just groups here but great location and cool bar next door


80%

Having the on site bar made it really easy to meet people. Our bathroom smelt like sewage the whole time but it was kept fairly clean. Definitely would recommend this hostel.


89%

Stayed in a 12 person room, beds were very comfortable, loved the curtains for them and the fact that each had a light and outlet. Staff was nice and funny. Also liked the bar and lounge area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great Review! We are really happy that you had a great time with us and you found our staff nice and funny>D!!! We hope to see you soon to keep having fun!!!

89%

The hostel is beautiful, more like a low budget hotel. The bar is lovely and the food is great! The bar staff were wonderful and I chatted to many of them. The reception staff were a bit less friendly and I wasn’t given advice on trips etc, maybe due to short duration. Good security as you have to swipe into all rooms. The under bed lockers are cages and unless you close your bag items could be pulled from them. Beds are comfy and communal area is good. Location is perfect, right in centr

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heyy thanks a lot for your review, it's really nice to know that you had a great time in Barcelona and enjoyed our place!! We are really happy that you found our bar staff friendly and easy to chat, for sure the reception staff would be as friendly as the bar if you got the chance to meet then! Thanks again and see you next time!!

91%

Great hostel if you want to party. Be careful at check in as we were over charged. Very good location and very clean Would recommend.


83%

The wifi didn't work very well but the place was filled with young people! Right by the touring busses which was perfect and about an 8euro cab ride from port Olympico.


83%

Very large hostel. Great facilities and great cheap food. This would be a great place for a group but as a solo traveler it was a bit difficult to meet people outside of my room.


74%

Wifi is appalling, particularly in rooms. The cafe a useful asset, particularly since breakfast is basically a no-show - officially runs till 10 but effectively runs until the food runs out, and no more is provided! An odd system meaning many people who pay for breakfast and come down in time don't get any! The hostel is in a great location though and the rooms are good, particularly if you are lucky enough to have one with a sofa in on the 5th floor.


94%

Near the connection hot-spot Placa de Cataluna, from where the whole city is open to explore. I'm glad I had two nights, because you could easily spend a week. Proven St Christopher concept; free breakfast, free WiFi and a bar downstairs from where good food can be ordered. Great atmosphere during a WC fotball game!


(179 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback