X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Barcelona Reviews

Carrer de Bergara, 3, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2359 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Location is great. Room was clean. Toilets and showers were clean. Breakfast was amazing. Staff were friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, What a great review! We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Our guys love their jobs and it really makes their day to know that they're made a difference to somebody's visit, or just left a lasting impression on one of our guests : ) Thanks for taking the time to get back to us, Safe travels

86%

Very good hostel, very well located, 5min walking from the Aerobus stop, fair continental breakfast included.


97%

Great hostel in Barcelona! Very near to Plaça de Catalunya, the best start point to know this great city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We're glad you found our location easy to get to. You can always join our free walking tour too to really get familiar with city : ) Thanks for your review

97%

Great, comfortable, and safe place to stay. I only stayed to catch an early morning flight because I didn't want to stay in the airport for a 10 hour layover. It's a bit far from the airport, but it's easy to walk to from Plaça Catalunya. The staff is very friendly. The bar food is good, plus you get a discount for staying in the hostel. I would love to stay when I return to Barcelona again! ¡Muchas gracias!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! It's great to see you made the most of our discounted food and 2-for-1 drink offers in our Belushi's bar. It's the least we can do for our guests. Next one's on us ; )

97%

Love this place. Too much fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for letting us know : ) Come back any time for more!

100%

This was my second stay here and it was just as wonderful as the first time. This hostel is great for location, meeting people, atmosphere, and much more. I would recommend if you want a great stay in Barcelona. It's close to La rambla and clubs within this area and not too far from the beach. I love this chain !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your review. Great to see you enjoyed yourself here : ) It was great to see that you made the most of our central location. We know how important it is to be right in the heart of all the action in the city. All the best,

94%

This hostel was great value for money, easy to get to from the airport (one bus) and close to the metro station for easy city access. You are literally 2 minutes from las ramblas the main part of town. Clean and safe facilities, no complaints, with exception of no real kitchen but no need when food is so cheap and delicious close by! Will definitely recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, It’s great to see that you felt safe and secure in our hostel. Like many big cities, Barcelona often gets a bad rep, but we’re glad that you were able to see past that. Thanks for writing and see you next time

74%

The large female dorm was filthy, and the bathroom only cleaned after 9pm each night. The shower stall was so small my arms knocked against the sides whilst I washed my hair. Not impressed! Other than that, the place was fairly standard. Staff were ordinary; location and security was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to get back to us. We really appreciate your feedback and we will certainly be using your comments to develop and improve our services and facilities for the benefit our future guests. We hire an external housekeeping company and have passed on your comments to their management. We have an overnight cleaner who attends all the shared facilities around the clock so it's quite unusual something was overlooked. Nevertheless we'll be sure to look into it. Thanks again

83%

fun bar on the first level giant hostel so a little hard being a single traveler but I made friends nonetheless right in the heart of all the fun walking distance to every great place to see and have fun clean rooms and big lockers under the beds not great wifi but not terrible breakfast was eh but it's free so you can't really complain overall cool place to stay in the center of the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We´re really pleased to see that you made fiends quickly in our Belushi´s bar. We always encourage solo travelers to join our daily welcome meeting so they can take advantage of some free tapas and sangria and meet other travelers, Thanks for writing,

91%

We had a very pleasant stay at St. Christopher's- so much so that we extended our stay. The hostel is very clean and Eco friendly. It is good value for money with its excellent buffet breakfast. The only complaint is the lack of fresh air in the upstairs dorms... Can't imagine what it's like in the summer!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was good of you to write to us, and an important issue you've raised, Regarding the ventilation we are sorry to hear of your discomfort. We usually ask the housekeeping team to do an additional airing out the rooms if any happen to get at all stuffy, but unfortunately Spanish health and safety and noise pollution laws prevents us from being able to leave them open around the clock. Our staff are always ready to help so we hope you came down to the front desk for a chat. Thanks again

83%

This hostel was really just a place for me to sleep - the rooms and bathrooms were really industrial, but functional and clean. Breakfast was great, and for the value, I really can't complain but there is no atmosphere and it was frustrating that the balconies always seemed to be locked so the room got really stuffy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for writing. We were a little disappointed to read that we didn´t seem to be able to impress you with our hostel, as much as we do our other guests. We hope you reporting the issue with your room to our staff who are always willing to help and are happy to air out your room if needs be : ) Thanks for writing, and we´re sure your next St Christopher´s experience will stand out as a memorable one

91%

I will definitely choose this hostel when coming in Barcelona next time. The location is absolutely perfect. You have a lot of sightseeings in a walking distance and direct bus to the airport there. They have big lockers under the beds (bring a padlock with you). Staff is really kind and helpful..there is just one girl which was ignorant, not willing to explain why we do not get our key deposit back (she is the reason why the staff is just good not excellent).

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and as you probably already know we've sent you a private email to follow up on the misunderstanding with our receptionist. We look forward to your reply so that we know if we have to provide extra training. We're always looking to better ourselves and can learn a lot from your experiences with us, Take care and talk soon

57%

Good for a party weekend, if you don't mind to sleep in a room without air (they open the windows just for a few hours in the daytime). You need to buy a padlock for the locker. Leaving your luggage after check-out cost you minimum 3,50. For the rate i paid, i can't complain, but there are much better places for 2-3 Euro more per night. There was a girl at the reception, that was the most unfriendly hostel worker i met in 5 years traveling with hostels. Rrrrespect!

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It's great you've left us such a detailed review. We can learn a lot from you, and it's your ideas that drive the changes we make here in the hostel. Rather than discuss such matters in public we've taken a little extra time to write to you in private to hopefully try and understand why you didn't see eye to eye with a member of our team here. Our guys love their jobs and we're positive there's a simple explanation for the misunderstanding there seems to have been, Talk soon. Thanks

91%

This hostel would've been a lot more fun in the busy season, but it was still a decent time. The drinks at the bar are decent priced, but you aren't allowed to have alcohol in your rooms or anywhere else inside the hostel so they basically force you to only drink at the bar before you go out. The bar staff was amazing though, all were a lot of fun and made our time so much more fun. Location was great, pretty centralized to walk to most of the landmarks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for your feedback, and were pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us - even if it wasn't the busy season, We're glad to read that you hit if off with our staff so well, and we were surprised that it seems you weren't informed about the chill-out lounge on the first floor where many of our guests go to hang out and pre-drink, as you said, Thanks again for writing, and see you in summer we hope

91%

It´s my second experience with St Christopher's, I stayed in Paris and now in Barcelona. I enjoyed the hostel.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We love that you've been hitting up the various St Christopher's on your travels. We hope you're using the official St Christopher's website to ensure you have discounts on each of your visits to our many European destinations. Let us know where else you end up visiting, Thanks for writing,

86%

Fantastic location, felt very safe walking around at night. Comfortable room however the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. Good deals at the bar for pre-drinking!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Great to read that you made the most of our 2-for-1 beer and mixed drinks in our Belushi's bar. As you said, a great place to start and even to end a night out in Barcelona. Hope you took time to chat with our staff too. We often tag along for after parties when we've finished cleaning ; ) See you next time, and make sure you swing by Belushi's in our other European destinations for more good deals and good times

91%

Everything was ok and it was worth what I paid for. The only problem, I guess, was the stench from the female showers. It was soooo bad for one whole day, but it was ok the next day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write to us. We're pleased you found our hostel good value for money, but at the same time we're a little concerned to read about your impressions of our showers. Sorry about that. We trust you reported your concerns to our staff who can send cleaners around to some extra tidying 24 hours a day. Our lively hostel hosts 420 people so naturally we have to be extra careful with shared areas. We trust you enjoyed your time with us nonetheless, Thanks again

71%

Front desk workers didn't have the best attitude for a hospitality setting. The dorm en suite bathrooms were a little unclean to my liking and you only get 10 seconds of water in the shower until you have to push the button again. The girls in my room went to bed at like 9pm, so I felt bad trying to get ready to go out at night. I would suggest separating those who are there to go out and those not to please everyone's liking. Other than those minor details it was great. Delicious food also!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We're pleased that you had a good time with us overall and will certainly be looking into our cleaning of the ensuite facilities to see what improvements can be made. Unfortunately it's hard to tell who will sleep at what time, but our bar is open until 2.30am every day if you want to meet other travelers and locals alike. We're gonna write to you in private to find out a little bit more about your experiences with our staff too if that's ok, Bye for now, And thanks again

86%

This a very well located hostel. Very clean and organized.The bed has a privacy curtain for those times you just want to in a cocoon. It has a bar/restaurant in the lobby which is very good. Great place to meet other travelers. They also organize nights out to clubs. Clubs are not my thing but I heard good things about it. The rooms had a large locker under the bed that was big enough for a tripod a large photo backpack and a 90 Liter backpack. The only thing is I wish they would oil the hinges

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for leaving such a constructive review. We can learn a lot from your experiences with us and it's your ideas that really do drive the changes we make here in the hostel, Since clubs aren't your thing we hope you made the most out of our welcome meeting, which we do every day to introduce newcomers to the hostel with free sangria and tapas ; ) Thanks again

91%

I am a fan of St. Christopher's Barcelona! Adriano is exceptional on the reception desk...always so helpful and patient, no matter what silliness or rudeness he has to deal with. Location and atmosphere are great at this hostel too. I highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a wonderful review. so nice of you to take the time to write. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Adriano himself. We're positively he'll be pleased. And we trust you also enjoyed the company of the rest of our team too. All the best,

(93 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback