X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Barcelona Reviews

Carrer de Bergara, 3, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2668 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

St. Christopher's is in a great location that is close to La Rambla and only a 25 minute walk to Barceloneta Beach. I stayed in a mixed dorm on the top bunk and while it was a bit noisy at night, people were mostly considerate. The discount at the bar and restaurant was awesome. Large plates of decent food for less than 5 euros not to mention 2 for 1 drinks. The free breakfast was the best I've had at any hostel. Will definitely check out their other locations whenpossible!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Great to see you made the most of the great discounts that we offer to all our hostel guests who visit our awesome Belushi's bar. Our chefs are from all over the world, but all well trained in Spanish cuisine too, which brings an interesting mix to our menu ; ) Happy travels,

100%

Had a great stay. The atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. The place is very modern and ideally located. The free breakfast was very good. Each bed has curtains, an outlet, and a light. Very reasonably priced. Overall probably the nicest hostel I've stayed at.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, "The nicest hostel ever" is a great claim to fame for us : ) We're really pleased you took the time to let us know what you thought about your time here, and even happier that you enjoyed yourself so much, You're welcome back any time, Bye for now,

94%

Great location right near central square. Very easy to take bus to and from the airport. Loved the bar in the hotel because it makes it easy to meet people. The bunks are fantastic. The individual curtains were great as were the individual lights and plugs. Only complaint was the wifi, we never got it to connect with the laptop and it was intermittent on phones, other people in our room were having the same problems. Oh and if you need them to hold bags there is a fee, which is a bit annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Great to read that you enjoyed your time here. We truley believe that who you meet on your trip can make or break your holiday, and our bar is always full of lively characters from all over the world Many of our guests actually prefer our password protected, electronic lockers, as it offers a little bit of extra security that the old fashioned communal luggage rooms, but we're glad glad you let us know your thoughts either way, as we can learmn a lot from guys still Thanks

77%

Reception is always busy. Rooms and beds are well designed (curtains for your bed) but mattress wasn't the most comfortable. Only one washing machine/dryer so get there early if you need to use it. Security is good with keycards for every door and huge lockers under the beds. Very good atmosphere with lots of people around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for writing. some very constructive feedback in there for us to deal with. We're really pleased to see you enjoyed our buzzing atmosphere here at St Christopher's, and we know that this makes all the difference to any stay in any hostel. We're sorry you had to wait longer than you had planned for certain things but looks like you made plenty of friends as you did, Thanks again for your time,

63%

I liked the breakfast and the barbar and the curtains. The staff was very unfriendly and the atmosphere itself was very annonym as well.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, It's awesome that you made the most of our extensive free breakfast buffet. As travellers ourselves we understand the importance of a good meal before a busy day of sightseeing. It's a real shame that you didn't see eye to eye with some of our team, and it really surprises us, as hanging out with you guys is by far the most enjoyable part of the job, We're going to be following up on this via email so we look forward to hearing more about this soon, Bye for now,

31%

The staff is not humain people, they are just machine ( especially the day team ). You pays for a room but you can't get it before 2 PM and you have to pay superexpensive locker to wait during this time ! And they write on the web site "kitchen" but it's only 2 micro waves...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, We wish to answer your's - and all reviews - as honestly as possible, and we must say that you have struck a nerve here. With our ever growing popularity we have found that the mornings are becoming increasingly busier, and this is turn has led us to decide to expand our international, multi-lingual, hard-working team to better suit the needs and demands of our guests, We're sure that you'll have a lot more one-on-one time with our guys next time you vist : ) Bye for now,

29%

I was robbed inside my room in this hostel. Someone who had access to the room broke my locker and stole my nikon camera, 2 ray bans, money and clothes. There were only other 3 people in the room, and the staff could easily had checked the cameras, but they did nothing. I had to call the police and had no support at all from the staff. They pretty much said that this happens often and there is nothing they can do. But when you are robbed INSIDE the room, the hostel is liable. Dont stay there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Even though we are currently talking closely and frequently with both yourself and the police we thought it important to publicly address this, as it is clearly very important. As you now already know, due to privacy laws it remains a job for the local police to look at CCTV footage and we're making significant progress with this. Despite what rumours you've heard, this does not happen often and we have extremely rigirous security in place to prevent this, Thanks and talk soon

80%

There is a lack of bathrooms on the floors with the dormitories.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for getting back to us with your feedback. We have a range on dormitories and private rooms here in our hostel and some of our dorms even have en suite facilities, which is one of our most unique features. We're sure you noticed that our shower facilities are also seperate from our bathrooms, and each floor has both options for guys and for girls. We'll be sure to pass on your feedbakc to our maintenance team either way to see if they have any creative ideas, Thanks,

77%

Awesome hostel! Right on La Rambla, wonderful free breakfast, nice staff! It is quite a ways from the beach, but that is my only thing that I wish I could change! They have bed curtains and cages to lock up your stuff (bring your own lock) and a restaurant that is connected with discounts for guests! Overall a nice hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, Thanks for leaving such a nice positive review, and it's great that you hit it off with our staff. Our guys love their jobs and getting to hang out with you guys is by far the best part of it. We'll be sure to pass on your comments to the entire team, as it really makes their day to know they've left a lasting impression on on any and all of our guests here, Thanks again for taking the time to let us know what you thought, Enjoy your trip,

89%

I really enjoyed and was impressed about that place. They have bicycles and a discount for the bar next door which was great. I would just suggest few things, 1. the towels have to be at each bed upon arrival 2. they should sell at the reception post stamps. I strongly recommend this place and hope to be back again...

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, We're pleased you took the time to leave us such a balanced review, and great to see you decided to explore by bike - a great idea for a city with weather like Barcelona's ; ) Our towels are of course free to borrow, but we keep them at the front desk so there's no unnecessary wastage. We do actually sell stamps tool, but that's our fault for not making that clear to you at check-in. Sorry about that, Thanks again for your valuable feedback

83%

This was a well run place with good facilities, but it felt a little corporate and impersonal. It is more of a party hostel and not a good place to make friends if you're traveling alone.


29%

This place was horrible. When we arrived a bloodied girl was in the foyer being kicked out by security. The girl at reception was rude. When we got to our room our beds were unmade. We were moved rooms but this process took over 20 mins. The showers were disgusting and either freezing cold or scalding hot. The area was central but dodgy. This place was really bad and I'm usually easily pleased. Check out my other reviews. Don't stay here!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Very good of you to follow up on this. As travellers ourselves we fully understand why you would be alarmed by this, and we're sorry for the fact that you had to witness such an unpleasant incident. We can at least say that we're pleased that this was tackled professionally by our dedicated security team. We feel as though we owe you a more concise explanation, so we'll be writing to you privately to find out more about your experiences with us, Talk to you soon,

100%

Having stayed at other St. Christopher's hostels around Europe my friend and I were not disappointed by the Barcelona site. We were greeted by a very friendly Xavier on reception who helped us with questions about the city and also the hostel. We were also really well looked after by Bimbi (hostel manager). Our en-suite twin room was clean, quiet and modern. Thanks to all the friendly staff who made the experience memorable. I can't wait to stay here again in the future!!!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Awesome to see our guests doing the rounds with St Christopher's throughout Europe. Bimbi, who you mentioned before, wants you know that you should use our official website for the best rates and great savings on your next booking. We look out for our own ; ) Great to see you enjoyed your en-suite facilities too. We have a range of rooms here to suit everybody's needs, but all come with a great atmosphere and good times, Thanks for letting us know what you thought,

86%

Nice dorms, beds have curtains for privacy. Clean bathrooms. Having the bar and food right there was good, nice little discount if your staying at the hostel. Very close to the old town

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Really nice to see you took the time to eat in our Belushi's bar and restaurant during your time with us. We've a fantastic international menu here with all the classics, as well as a nice selection of local dishes to ease you into the Spanish cuisine. As you said we offer great discounts to our hostel guests too ; ) Thanks for your feedback,

80%

THANK`S TO ADRIAN

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, We've been sure to pass on your feedback to Adrian himself. He thanks you right back and has a story or two to tell as well ; ) All the best,

97%

Awesome! very good location,staff are friendly and very helpful. clean and lovely atmostphere! would love to come back to stay at this place again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for taking the time to get back to us. Means the world to us, We're really pleased to read that you made the most of our central location. As travellers ourselves we know just how important it is for a hostel to be in the heart of all the city's action and close to all the major sites. This way you guys get to make the most of your holidays, and still have plenty of time to put your feet up and relax on the beach nearby, Take care, and thanks again for writing

86%

Very good price for what you get. The bar that is connected to the hostel has great food and drinks, at a good discount for hostel guests. The staff were friendly but not very helpful when I asked questions, didn't give me any specifics.


97%

It's really nice, recommend it to young people, who are looking for an affordable place in the city :)

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Great to read that you found us to to be good value for money. We're have a team of dedicated specialists who are constantly looking into the market to make sure that we stay fairly priced and affordable for our guests, We're more than happy to pass the savings on to you guys in exchange for the brilliant atmosphere that you guys bring to our hostel, Make sure you use our own website when booking in at your next St Christopher's for even more savings, See you soon,

100%

We absolutely loved this hostel, first hostel we had ever stayed in and it was super clean, friendly and secure. We loved the curtains for each bed, the lockers underneath, although they were a pain when two people opposite wanted theirs out as well, breakfast was good and staff at belushis were amazing especially Raki who told us where to go and what to do. Tapas and sangria were good also and the promoter always has some good deals!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Such a great list of positive remarks that it's hard to know where to begin. We've already passed on your kind words to Raki, an she and the rest of the team will be well pleased to know that you took full advantage of the hostel's daily welcome meeting, at which we offer our guests free sangia and tapas, and offer the opportunity to get to know our crew and other fellow travellers, Thanks again for such a detailed review. It really helps other guests know what we're all about ; )

77%

Nice, modern hostel with good facilities and breakfast.


(174 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback