X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St. Clair Hotel and Hostel Reviews

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
309 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I stayed in a private double with my boyfriend at the hostel which was fine for the two nights we were there. However it was way too hot at night as the rooms aren't equipped with fans and there isn't much air flow throughout the hostel. Also the lights didn't work in the shower so we had to have showers in the dark. Apart from that the staff were helpful and it was in a great location


86%

I loved the many hooks in the shower stall! The hostel is good and I will stay there again!


86%

Very basic, but unbeatable location and extremely well priced.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really enjoyed my stay, staff very obliging, excellent location and my room was. I will not look any further next time in Vancouver!


71%

Good location with walking distance to all important places in the city. Rooms are ok. A bit old, but clean. My room facing the street was quite noisy. But over all, good value.


83%

This Hostel is more like a cheap hotel that is excellently located in dowtown vancouver near gastown. would recommend but we preferred the rooms on the top floor away from the loud creaky staircase


77%

I am back here now .... so what does that tell you???


71%

Nice hostel, in a great location with downtown very accessible and only a few blocks to most attractions, ie lookout tower and great restaurants but the hostel really had no atmosphere whatsoever, it was quiet, there are no planned trips within the hostel or any arranged activities, which is a shame because it has great potential, just very quiet! I suppose it served as a great hostel to stay for a couple nights but if you're looking for a good time, maybe check somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Chloe: Regarding activities we have a brochure at the front informing you of activities and if you're a lone traveler you can usually find someone else to join you - We will look into providing more for our single guests. Thanks for bringing this up. Best, Lorraine

89%

Its pretty much what you would expect from a downtown hosel, they provided after hours entry so it was easy to go out and enjoy the city without worrying about getting back in. fun place to meet some cool people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Randy: We're happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return again to The St. Clair and beautiful Vancouver

71%

More than adequate for a short stay. Helpful information leaflets provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Loved having you and appreciate the fact you liked our 'info leaflets'. All the best,

63%

It was pretty cute, just felt dirty in the shower and bathrooms. It wasn't as cheap as I wanted it to be. Overall we enjoyed it.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry we weren't quite up to your standards, we try to keep everything super clean especially at the busiest time of the year. We will try harder. We are one of the cheapest hostels in Vancouver - our city unfortunately is rather expensive so we try to let our guests know where the 'good deals' are, hope you availed yourself to our brochures at the front desk listing attractions and information to assist our guests finding good prices Best Regards

86%

Great little place, very convenient location, very friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at The St. Clair. All the best,

83%

They don't have got kitchen.


60%

Beds make too much noise when person in top bunk moves. All furniture in the hostel is outdated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Felix: We're not trying to be modern, this is a 100 year old property built by a man who sailed the oceans, most of our beds are new or near new. When you go to Europe you will find the hostels quite ancient - its about tradition, which makes our culture rather different. We find (in the antique business) old Chinese furniture and artifacts are bringing a fortune - keep your eyes open if you see any. We thank you for your comments. Best regards, Lorraine

100%

A really great place to stay. The staff were friendly, the room and bathroom were clean and tidy and most importantly the location was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ben: Glad you enjoyed your stay We love going to the U.K. with all its character and beautiful old architecture - the Brits do such a great job at preserving their heritage properties. . All the best, Lorraine

77%

Its a bit dirty and I dont think they have enough bathrooms, they dont have a kitchen and the common rooms arent that great either BUT its cheap, the staff is nice and all in all I was just planning on sleeping there so I was really happy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Franziska: Sorry we didn't meet your standards - we really try to please our guests & do keep everything clean. We don't advertise full kitchens (only small breakfast bars with fridge, toaster, microwave) - we have so many cheap places to eat with great food plus good grocery stores that offer foods that only need heating up. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Best, Lorraine

91%

Matt , the manager, is a gentle and informative man who was very helpful. Teresa, an assistant there, also very kind and "motherly". A very friendly place and a home away from home. Had a great time with the hostel as a home base. Great location.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The Hostel is located directly in Downtown, which is awsome, cause you can reach almost everything by foot. And for the price and location the room was fine.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, if you like to walk and hang out around downtown, many places to eat and shop nearby, also transporation facilities very close. :)

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Matt



View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback