X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St. Clair Hotel and Hostel Reviews

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
348 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Another great hostel. If you want character then this is the place to go. A fair bit quieter than I imagine other hostels on the main drag (Granville St.) would be, so easy to catch some sleep if you need it. Located pretty close to Gastown which has a bunch of stuff and a great coffee shop (Timbertrain) on West Cordova.


94%

first of all, the location is the best. and bed condition and room, every facilities condition also pretty good. I really satisfied.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very creaky beds and hallways. Mattess was comfy though despite the noise. Cute decor everywhere fit with the old world sailing theme. Bathrooms had an ammonia smell to them at all times. Showers seemed pretty clean (as long as you didn't look at the ceiling) but I would recommend shower shoes to be safe. Didn't really use the kitchen- great dining is all around. Great location!


91%

staff very helpful and friendly


80%

Very satisfied, you guys are great! Would totally stay here again!

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

This hostel, is really not well maintained. It seems the owner does not really care about its client. As a double bed we got a poor sofa-bed very noisy (You can totally forget to have intimate moment with your girlfriend). Showers were not cleaned every-day, humidity was constant because fans were not efficients. Staff was really nice. There is no kitchen. But the few utensils left were just not washed... Why ? cause there is no sink in the "palliative kitchen".

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for choosing the St. Clair - sorry it wasn't to your standards. We really do try to maintain the building unfortunately you arrived at the end of a busy season & the showers were due for renovations. The majority of our rooms are all newly renovated with new beds. We appreciate your mentioning 'staff were very nice' - we do try hard. Hope you had a good holiday. Best, Lorraine

86%

staff were accommodating & friendly, kept my baggage in a safe area before check in and even after check out so I could attend Vancouver filmfest unencumbered, thank you!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments - we do like to take good care of our guests and their baggage. Hope the Vancouver Filmfest was a success. Best, Lorraine

77%

The location and staff were perfect indeed. But there were some flaws, that, in our opinion, should be considered. The first one: due to the stained glass window above the doors the light from an ever lit hallway comes to the room and it's annoying in the night time. About cleanliness: the garbage bag from our room was never emptied during our 6 day stay. Furthermore, the common areas should be cleaned more during busier weekends. Apart from that we had a good stay. Cheers to the reception!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments - happy to hear the location & staff were perfect. We appreciate your comments & will do our best to improve on the other points. Hope you enjoyed the St. Clair & Vancouver. Best. Lorraine

60%

The location is really good. The staff was nice and you'll get some towels, but the room and the bed sheets were full of black hair and some dirt. You should bring your own sleeping back. All in all, it's a nice hostel for a city trip.


86%

Awsome hostel with great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Robin: Many thanks for your complimentary comments. We all appreciate it. Best, Lorraine

100%

It wax clean, affordable and well staffed, you can't ask for more than that!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael: Many thanks for your comments, very much appreciated as we all work hard at offering hospitality at The St. Clair Hostel. Best, Lorraine

74%

Hostel was in a good location, unfortunately there is no kitchen on fridge, stove and microwave and very little space to actually prepare food. The staff were lovely, but if you are travelling by yourself and want to meet people i wouldn't stay here. There is no social aspect to the hostel, no social activities the communal rooms are small and not very inviting. My room i was put in was a 'twin private' which consisted of a bunk bed which i could hardly move around. Cheap, uneventful.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sarah: Hope you enjoyed your visit to Vancouver - which has so much to offer at this time of year. We do have fridges, microwaves, kettles & toasters on each floor - though no big kitchens as we are right downtown where you find lots of eating places, (including grocery stores & delis) Maybe next time you can stay in a dorm and meet other girls. Sorry your stay was 'uneventful' - hope the rest of your trip proved exciting. Best, Lorraine

43%

Don't have kitchen, it is only a microwave.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lopez: Hope you enjoyed your trip to Vancouver and stay at The St. Clair. We do have, fridge, toaster, microwave, kettle on each floor for light meals & breakfast bar - sorry we don't provide full kitchens for frying - roasting & baking. Our area has so many reasonably priced restaurants & grocery stores with fabulous take out food that just needs heating. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Best, Lorraine

71%

There is no A/C in our room or any rooms in the hostel, but I guess this is pretty common for hostels in Vancouver. However, the beds made everything worse. It was so hot at night that most of us had to sleep on the floor instead of the beds. The staff were friendly and informed, things were pretty okay inside the hostel. Lockers provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Long Ha: Vancouver usually has cooler nights due to our 'sea breeze' which didn't materialize during these hot days - so sorry Best, Lorraine

80%

very good^^ all of them is awesome but i had one problem. bathroom.. It is dirty little a bit.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Soyoung: - Thanks for your comments -" very good, all of them awesome" really appreciated. We try hard with the cleaning - sometimes a guest leaves a mess & it takes us a little time to find out - we will try to keep on top of this. Best, Lorraine



View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback