X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St. Clair Hotel and Hostel Reviews

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
348 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Another great hostel. If you want character then this is the place to go. A fair bit quieter than I imagine other hostels on the main drag (Granville St.) would be, so easy to catch some sleep if you need it. Located pretty close to Gastown which has a bunch of stuff and a great coffee shop (Timbertrain) on West Cordova.

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% rating - thank you, thank you, thank you. Cheers, Lorraine

94%

first of all, the location is the best. and bed condition and room, every facilities condition also pretty good. I really satisfied.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Inyoung Lee: Thanks for all your positive comments, hope to see you again. Cheers, Lorraine

77%

Very creaky beds and hallways. Mattess was comfy though despite the noise. Cute decor everywhere fit with the old world sailing theme. Bathrooms had an ammonia smell to them at all times. Showers seemed pretty clean (as long as you didn't look at the ceiling) but I would recommend shower shoes to be safe. Didn't really use the kitchen- great dining is all around. Great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Melinda: Thanks for your comments - glad you enjoyed your stay, we're presently upgrading so lots of improvements coming up in the new season. Cheers, Lorraine

91%

staff very helpful and friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marc - Happy you enjoyed your stay. . Hope to see you again on another trip., Cheers, Lorraine

80%

Very satisfied, you guys are great! Would totally stay here again!

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sara: Thanks for your favorable comments - hope to see you again. Cheers, Lorraine

43%

This hostel, is really not well maintained. It seems the owner does not really care about its client. As a double bed we got a poor sofa-bed very noisy (You can totally forget to have intimate moment with your girlfriend). Showers were not cleaned every-day, humidity was constant because fans were not efficients. Staff was really nice. There is no kitchen. But the few utensils left were just not washed... Why ? cause there is no sink in the "palliative kitchen".

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for choosing the St. Clair - sorry it wasn't to your standards. We really do try to maintain the building unfortunately you arrived at the end of a busy season & the showers were due for renovations. The majority of our rooms are all newly renovated with new beds. We appreciate your mentioning 'staff were very nice' - we do try hard. Hope you had a good holiday. Best, Lorraine

86%

staff were accommodating & friendly, kept my baggage in a safe area before check in and even after check out so I could attend Vancouver filmfest unencumbered, thank you!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments - we do like to take good care of our guests and their baggage. Hope the Vancouver Filmfest was a success. Best, Lorraine

77%

The location and staff were perfect indeed. But there were some flaws, that, in our opinion, should be considered. The first one: due to the stained glass window above the doors the light from an ever lit hallway comes to the room and it's annoying in the night time. About cleanliness: the garbage bag from our room was never emptied during our 6 day stay. Furthermore, the common areas should be cleaned more during busier weekends. Apart from that we had a good stay. Cheers to the reception!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments - happy to hear the location & staff were perfect. We appreciate your comments & will do our best to improve on the other points. Hope you enjoyed the St. Clair & Vancouver. Best. Lorraine



View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback