Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
6.3

The view is very nice and the free breakfast is not bad. However, our first night there the room was overbooked so they added a 7th bed making it almost impossible to move around in the room. And because a couple was sharing one of the other beds we were actually 8 in a 6 bed room. We asked if we could have some money back because we paid for a 6 bed room not 8. The staff was rude when we asked and eventually just gave us free beers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice view but a big hike to get there. Staff are focused on the restaurant and prioritise that. Which is fine but uncomfortable when there are travellers just blocking parts of the restaurant with luggage. They ask for your passport or 30 EUROS deposit for the key and when I asked if someone would be in early in the morning for me to check out ie get my passport back and she made a big deal about it. I was made to come back in the evening for the exchange. Bizarre! Nice enough place though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yazanzakaria3798
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing place amazing location. Special thanks to the friendliness of the staff, especially stenco for being so nice and helpful. 10/10 would recomend, probably the best place in Salzburg. ***warning: not recomended if you are not fit as it requires much stairs upwards

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
7.7

If you are in good shape and enjoy taking the stairs (probably about 350 steps) to get to hostel then this hostel is definitely a place for you. The staff members were all great and very nice. Make sure you bring cash to pay for your food. They only accept credit card if the total charge is 20 euros or up. Very very nice overlooking of the city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
6.0

They overbooked the beds for the room I was staying in, but thankfully there was an open bed in another room. The view made it worth it though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
6.6

Stadalm is primarily a restaurant. They offer clean, comfortable beds, bathrooms, and lockers, but not a lot in the way of common space and no steam room. Some of the staff didn't speak very good English or German. It's a bit of a hike up, but there's a paid elevator in the Museum de Moderne and a staircase to the left of the hostel when facing it looking up from town. The restaurant/hostel is built into the side of part of the old city fortifications and has a great view from the restaurant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shravan0007
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2017
5.4

The staff clearly cares a rats ass about the people coming to stay with them. Don't expect services and smiling faces. But the view and the location makes it up for everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel itself is beautiful and overlooks the whole of Salzburg, however it is really difficult to find and if you're walking it is up a large hill - not fun. The staff were often busy with the restaurant so we were left waiting for simple things often, but they were mostly friendly. There were only two toilets and two communal showers for the whole hostel of at least 4/5 rooms. So this wasn't particularly useful. You are given a free breakfast though which was very delicious.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2017
2.6

Staff and facilities are terrible, wifi doesn't work in the top floor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jun 2017
6.9

The hostel is REALLY high up. Takes you about 12 minutes to climb up and another 10mins to get down. Place was way too small to cram 6 people in one room. Imagine the 6 people squatting down in the room, thats about all the walking space u have. Its crazy. Insufficient ports too. The place itself is a restaurant too but they cant provide a kitchen. Breakfast was decent though, but really late, starting at 9am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.