X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3023 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good place to stay, the facilities were fine. It is a little bit of a walk to the centre though, but with a city as pretty as Amsterdam I didn't mind!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean and well situated near vondelpark and Leidseplein!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

When I checked in the room wasnt cleaned and the cleaner did not even clean it till the end even aftWifi sucks,even at the reception/lounge area & when i complained the girl at the reception told me "pray". Staff interactions whatever i had they were cold & non chalant.Its not a hostel but a huge hotel for school groups,its pretty big with a great bar & location but poorly managed.The lockers are too small without locks and so is the room. You have to buy towels.Breakfast closes early. DONT GO

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your night here was not as expected. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, this is a very important standard for us. Please always notify us if this is not the case; I am sure we could have offered you another room or solved it for you straight away. Hope you enjoyed your visit to Amsterdam nevertheless!

89%

Excellent hostel for the money. Great location and the facilities are wonderful. The staff is kind and helpful and it's an all around great hostel.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your great review, nice to know you had a good time here!

74%

It's location wasn't easy to find as a first time visitor to Amesterdam.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we will keep your comment in mind! Hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam!

91%

Lovely hostel within walking distance of all the tourist attractions. Breakfast included also which was great! Only issue was the poor wifi but this wasn't a huge problem as it was available in reception area. Would 100% recommend!

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

So disappointed. Have travelled A LOT all over the world since 2011 and decided to spend 2 nights in Amsterdam in a private room. Walls were made of plastic so you could hear everything. Very old fashioned decor just enough space for 2 single beds a wardrobe and that's it!! No towels no hand soap even. Lights didn't work in shower room and told they wouldn't be fixed til the next day. Shower was cold and powerless. NEVER again. So expensive for poor accom!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear that you had to have a cold shower, this is something that rarely happens, and if it does we always try to fix that problem straight away. It is true that our standard twin room does not include towels or soap, however this is available at the reception for a small price. We hope you had a good time in Amsterdam nevertheless!

74%

you need to buy towels. there was another woman using my bed number.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Talita! I can imagine that it is very annoying when someone else uses your bed. You can report it at the reception and you will be helped, so you get the right bed;) It's true about the towels. We try to keep the price as low as possible and you can take the towels back home and enjoy it the rest of your life;) Thanks for your rating and I hope to see you another time! Cheers Ruben

100%

We were with a group of eight family members, aged between 17 and fifty. We all stayed in one room together. The beds and pillows were comfy. The breakfast was free and very good. The location was perfect and we had a great time.


91%

The hostel was clean and well run. The free breakfast was pretty good. It is located down a long empty street. We arrived at night and it felt a little creepy until we got to the end of the street and saw the well lit hostel. The hostel is very large (over 500 people) and at times it felt like a college student union. There is only wifi in the lobby, so the lobby is often full of college age kids silently typing on their computers. Also, don't forget to bring a towel or it will cost you 4 euros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review, really clear. I can imagine it was a little creepy at night even though it's a safe place. The Hostel is a bright spot in the darkness;) You are right about the WiFi, sorry for the inconvenience. This spring the WiFi will be available in all the rooms and not only in the lobby and bar. I hope to see you again! Thanks for the tip about the towel, it could be useful for other travelers! Have a great night! Ruben

69%

Up charges for everything. I think this place would be cool if I was 16. Not in general

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true that we charge a small fee for some services. We try to keep these costs as low as possible. Please have a look in our location 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen' next time. Perhaps this fits more within your needs;) Have a great day! Ruben

91%

Great hostel, cool environment, nice bar, great breakfast, and good, calm location (near the park). Very easy to get there by bus from schiphol airport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vanessa! Thanks for the review and great ratings. We are happy you had a great time here! See you next time;) Ruben

100%

Great hostel in a great central location. I was able to walk all over Amsterdam from the Stayokay Vondelpark. Clean room, great facilities. Remember to bring your own towel as they do not rent towels, though they do sell them for 4.5 euros. Staff was very helpful and informative.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review! This is one reason why we love to work here, to make people happy! See you next time, Cheers!

100%

The hostel was ok, clean and in a nice place. But there were few plug for charging phones

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Serena, Thanks for your review and awesome rating. It's always possible to charge your devices at the reception. This is also more safe and handy. We hope to see you again soon! Greets Ruben

77%

No wi-fi in room, and poor wi-fi in reception.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review! We only have Wifi in the lobby and in the bar, so that could be the reason.I hope you enjoyed your stay and our great city Amsterdam. Cheers! Ruben

89%

Overall a good experience. There are some gripes however. The mattress was too firm and i woke up with a backache. The WIFI signal in our room was extremely bad and I couldn't connect to it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chunn. It's correct that there's a poor Wifi signal in the room. But this spring it will chance! We are installing Wifi access in the whole building, so you can be online whenever you want! Please come to the reception next time when your mattress is to firm, so we can help you immediatly. A good night's sleep is one of our main priorities! Cheers Ruben

57%

Hostel suits 18-20 y/o travellers. One or two very friendly staff members; one or two very unfriendly ones. Breakfast good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing! We get a lot of good reviews on our employees and we find customer service very important. Therefore I’m sorry to hear that some of our staff were unfriendly. I will discuss this with our staff. I hope you enjoyed our beautiful city! Have a nice evening. Ruben

86%

It's a very large hostel, so it has the atmosphere you'd expect - it doesn't have the family feel of a small hostel. That said, it was a good place to rest my head. Great facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we are happy that you had a good place to rest your head. We would like to see you next time. Ruben

89%

A lot better than what we have expected. I just wished that the wifi could be accessed from room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that your stay was better than you expected. We hope to see you again! Greets Ruben

91%

I was very pleasantly surprised!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear, we love to surprise our guests in a positive way!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(98 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback