X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2858 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great place, very close to everything. Could do with a bit more sign posting, got a bit lost trying to find it. Also, may be a few more plugs in the rooms. But, overall, a lovely, comfy place with excellent facilities. May


77%

Pros: Location is good - very close to Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. Sheets come in sealed plastic. Showers and bathrooms in dorm room. Breakfast is a bit above average: they provide a couple cereal and bread options along with the usual stuff. Cons: It's enormous, making it difficult to connect with people. WAY TOO expensive on the weekends, 40-plus euro. Rooms are a bit dark and many are at ground level. If you're a traveling college kid, this is the place for you.


100%

I really liked the place. Definitely, I will go back!

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

There is no plugs for each bed, which is very bad for hostels. Wifi not in the rooms is another negative topic. Breakfast very good with many options, very well located, staff very kinldy.


91%

This is a great hostel, very close to the museums and other amenities. So clean and our room was quite big also. We loved it!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I came with a few friends and we were surprised by the excellent quality of the hostel. As students, on student budgets, we figured our choice of hostel would end up being poorer than expected but we were pleasantly surprised! Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark is an amazing hostel with great facilities. And the breakfast was awesome!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel was absolutely amazing. Very clean, safe, and the staff was very helpful, despite the language barrier. Breakfast was included in our price and very good! Location was great and beds were comfortable. Bunk beds weren't that hard to climb either! Had a nice toilet and shower in the room. Definitely recommend and will stay there again!

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff, i felt very comfortable there aswell especially in the lobby. It had a relaxed atmosphere and i highly recommend it to any age group and any amount of people.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The female dorm was nice and spacious. The included breakfast was nice. The showers were hot. Almost to big to meet others. They also have bike rentals.


51%

No atmosphere and no wifi in the rooms. Beds were uncomfortable and the price was way too high for what this place is worth. Good breakfast though.


71%

Clean hostel with great buffet breakfast. Issues were that wifi was not available in the room, the common area was not a great place to meet other travellers as everyone was only there to use the wifi. This hostel says that it has a kitchen but it doesn't.


89%

Free breakfast is amazing!! The staff are so kind and helpful and knowledgeable. It's also very clean and has great facilities.


77%

Thought it was very expensive, but overall a good hostel

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The wifi is insufficient for a hostel of this size. Also the amount of plugs in the hostel are also very limited.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayokay was a great place to stay. The man with the beard at the front desk was SO helpful. He literally helped my buddy and me plan out half of our trip (took about 30 minutes). He was so nice and full of wonderful suggestions.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, great to hear. We will tell 'the man with the beard' about your positive reaction and hope to see you again!

91%

Great location, super friendly and helpful staff and very secure. It's more geared towards families, so you will see a lot of kids and younger people. The only thing I didn't like was no power plugs by the beds.


80%

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark was situated in a nice area of Amsterdam AWAY from the red light district. It was close to many shops and restaurants. The room was pretty small. The bathroom is in the room, it is clean - the shower is spacious. The most annoying thing is that there isn't any Wifi in the dorm rooms. They have bicycles for rent for 11E which isn't bad - make sure you have cash for the deposit on the bikes. The breakfast however is 5 star. It is all organic and delicious!! Yum!


86%

Wifi only available in public areas, not available in te rooms which was annoying. Overall, good place.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is great except for the big lines to have breakfast. Wi fi only for common areas.


69%

Wifi was awful in the hostel, it never worked in the main area which made it extremely difficult to catch up with friends, send emails etc. The hostel itself was very large but the common room was not so there was nearly never any place to sit. Also - towels, lockers etc. were higher prices than it claimed when I booked which was definitely a turn off. The beds weren't made when we got there and there were stains on the mattresses which grossed me out.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectation on some aspects. Lockers and towels are €4,50.- this is no secret, we provide this as an extra service and always inform our guests about needing/bringing one. The matresses are usually clean, if not guest can come to the desk and we'll be happy to provide a new one. We will take all your comments into account and try to work on it. I hope you had a good time in Adam anyways :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(164 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback