X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3053 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The location was awesome, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was very filling with lots of variety. Only complaints were that the bathroom ran out of toilet paper and that there were only two plugs for a ro With 14 beds, and a little pricey In general. Apart from that we had a great stay :)

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff are very kind and helpfull. The location is great!


83%

Great hostel. Really good location in Vondelpark, but still about a 25 minute walk to the center of the city (red light district area). Staff at the lobby were very helpful and you can buy tickets for museums etc from them to skip the lines. Definitely rent the bikes, it's a great way to see the city - but go early in the morning before the bikes run out. Free breakfast was nice, only complaint is that the floor in our room was pretty dusty.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Decent hostel - no real complaints other than the fact that there was only 2 plugs in our 6bed dorm. Free breakfast was great, very nice location on vondelpark and close to the city centre, good wifi, relatively helpful staff - had an okay stay at stayokay.


91%

Such a nice place, whit a good atmosphere, a lot of backpackers to meet there. Good rooms and beds, even in the 14 beds room. The breakfast was really good, but the long line is a problem if you'll be in a hurry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are really joyful you liked everything over here! The breakfast is from 7.30 - 10.00u. When there were for example a lot of festivals and partypeople it's normal that it's busy at 9.58;). I hope you made everything on time! Thanks for the review and we love to see you next time! Cheers Ruben

77%

The hostel is very clean and well organized. They have good bathrooms and a nice place to chill out in the end of the day. When we stayed there, though, there were a lot of young kids in school trips and they made a lot of noise. It feels more like a hotel then a hostel. There are better places to stay in Amsterdam where you can enjoy the energy of the city better. Also, it stays very far from many attractions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review! It's correct we've got a big variety of groups and individuals. We've got more well organized locations in Amsterdam. Please have a look at StayOkay Stadsdoelen next time. Maybe you will enjoy the city energy more over there;) StayOkay Vondelpark is located in a more relax area compared to the busy citycenter and is only 1 step away from the Vondelpark and Museamsquare. We look forward to see you again, maybe in StayOkay Stadsdoelen;) Have a great day! Ruben

46%

I arrived early in the morning after a ten hour bus ride from Berlin. The staff were not helpful at all, and were very rude when I asked for help. The lady at the reception kept answering with annoyance. The atmosphere of the entire hostel was unfriendly and commercial. I did not feel welcomed or comfortable to make friends. The hostel was way too expensive for the facilities provided: paying for lockers, waiting half an hour for breakfast, and awful wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We believe it's important that everybody feels welcome here and be helped. I will have a look into this and I will ask the staff about this. Unfortunately Amsterdam can be an expensive place. We always try to keep our prices as low as possible compared to other hostels. However I hoped you enjoyed the beautiful city Amsterdam. Have a great evening! Regards, Ruben

80%

Good place to stay, the facilities were fine. It is a little bit of a walk to the centre though, but with a city as pretty as Amsterdam I didn't mind!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi A walk across the city is most of the time the best way to see a lot. It's really nice to hear that you liked our city and hostel! We look forward to see you next time! Have a great day! Ruben

77%

Good value for money. Clean and good service. With its large size, though, the hostel loses the personal touch that I like to find when hosteling. Not a bad place though, certainly not when you're with a large group of friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , Thanks for your comment. We are a pretty large hostel with a great variety of groups and individuals. It's good to hear that you had good value for money and liked the clean hostel that profited a good service. We hope to see you another time! Greets Ruben

89%

Very clean and well situated near vondelpark and Leidseplein!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, a clean hostel is our standard;) We are happy you liked the location and hopefully you enjoyed our great city as well! Have a great day, Ruben

49%

When I checked in the room wasnt cleaned and the cleaner did not even clean it till the end even aftWifi sucks,even at the reception/lounge area & when i complained the girl at the reception told me "pray". Staff interactions whatever i had they were cold & non chalant.Its not a hostel but a huge hotel for school groups,its pretty big with a great bar & location but poorly managed.The lockers are too small without locks and so is the room. You have to buy towels.Breakfast closes early. DONT GO

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your night here was not as expected. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, this is a very important standard for us. Please always notify us if this is not the case; I am sure we could have offered you another room or solved it for you straight away. Hope you enjoyed your visit to Amsterdam nevertheless!

89%

Excellent hostel for the money. Great location and the facilities are wonderful. The staff is kind and helpful and it's an all around great hostel.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your great review, nice to know you had a good time here!

74%

It's location wasn't easy to find as a first time visitor to Amesterdam.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we will keep your comment in mind! Hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam!

91%

Lovely hostel within walking distance of all the tourist attractions. Breakfast included also which was great! Only issue was the poor wifi but this wasn't a huge problem as it was available in reception area. Would 100% recommend!

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! We did improve the WiFi last week. Next time you visit us you're connected everywere;) You make us happy with your comments! Thanks and have a great day! Ruben

46%

So disappointed. Have travelled A LOT all over the world since 2011 and decided to spend 2 nights in Amsterdam in a private room. Walls were made of plastic so you could hear everything. Very old fashioned decor just enough space for 2 single beds a wardrobe and that's it!! No towels no hand soap even. Lights didn't work in shower room and told they wouldn't be fixed til the next day. Shower was cold and powerless. NEVER again. So expensive for poor accom!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear that you had to have a cold shower, this is something that rarely happens, and if it does we always try to fix that problem straight away. It is true that our standard twin room does not include towels or soap, however this is available at the reception for a small price. We hope you had a good time in Amsterdam nevertheless!

74%

you need to buy towels. there was another woman using my bed number.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Talita! I can imagine that it is very annoying when someone else uses your bed. You can report it at the reception and you will be helped, so you get the right bed;) It's true about the towels. We try to keep the price as low as possible and you can take the towels back home and enjoy it the rest of your life;) Thanks for your rating and I hope to see you another time! Cheers Ruben

100%

We were with a group of eight family members, aged between 17 and fifty. We all stayed in one room together. The beds and pillows were comfy. The breakfast was free and very good. The location was perfect and we had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this fantastic rating! We are glad that you had a great time here! We love to see you next time. Regards Ruben

97%

Excellent location, close to public transport and main sites. Clean facilities, helpful staff. Room a bit small, but not a big problem.


91%

The hostel was clean and well run. The free breakfast was pretty good. It is located down a long empty street. We arrived at night and it felt a little creepy until we got to the end of the street and saw the well lit hostel. The hostel is very large (over 500 people) and at times it felt like a college student union. There is only wifi in the lobby, so the lobby is often full of college age kids silently typing on their computers. Also, don't forget to bring a towel or it will cost you 4 euros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review, really clear. I can imagine it was a little creepy at night even though it's a safe place. The Hostel is a bright spot in the darkness;) You are right about the WiFi, sorry for the inconvenience. This spring the WiFi will be available in all the rooms and not only in the lobby and bar. I hope to see you again! Thanks for the tip about the towel, it could be useful for other travelers! Have a great night! Ruben

69%

Up charges for everything. I think this place would be cool if I was 16. Not in general

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true that we charge a small fee for some services. We try to keep these costs as low as possible. Please have a look in our location 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen' next time. Perhaps this fits more within your needs;) Have a great day! Ruben

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(97 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback