X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2397 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great place to stay. Close to a tram stop. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in any hostel. The lounge is a great place to meet people. I definitely recommend it.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • blackdemon
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Hostel! If I were to travel to Amsterdam again I would definitely book here without a doubt :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your amazing review and ratings. We are happy to hear you loved your stay at our hostel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

71%

The hostel was conveniently located (close to Leidseplein). Rooms were quite spacious and clean. Unfortunately, the matrasses are made of some kind of artifical fibre, which terribly heated up the bed at night. The bathroom was ok, but however, if somebody used the shower, the whole room was flooded afterwards. Free wifi was only accessible in the lobby, not in the rooms. They serve very rich breakfast for free. To sum up: A good place to stay with minor disadvantages

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel ever!!!


77%

Everything clean and safe as hell, no soap nor people to hang out in the hostel thoug. There is no internet in the rooms so you have to go to the lobbie to check emails. They say the reason to have internet in the lobbie is to encourage people to talk to each others, but actually it doesn't work that way if you are in a hurry to check something or chat online and the go out to walk around. So the hostel is really great for sleeping, or going with family and carrying soap and shampoo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked the cleanliness and safety of our hostel. It is correct that there is no wifi in the rooms. We do believe that internet access in the lobby encourage people to meet and share experiences. Also, blue screens popping up in the middle of the night is often considered as an annoyance to people who are sleeping. There is also shampoo and shower gell available at the desk for €1. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

83%

I recommend this hostel. this hostel is allmost perfect! Good location,friendry staff,clean room and enough breakfast!


91%

Even though they charge guests for any additional, the hostel was very nice and offers good prices. It is very well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings! We really appreciate it! We are happy to hear you liked your stay here. We do indeed offer extra's like towels, padlocks and toiletries which you can buy at the reception in case you forgot something. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

83%

The hostel is located within a walking distance from the centre of the city and also tourist attractions such as the Rijksmuseum. The hostel building itself is beautiful, spacious and secure. As my friend and I arrived before the rooms were ready, we were able to check in and leave our bags in a locker for a couple of hours for as little as 10 cents an hour. The staff, overall, were quite friendly and the inclusive breakfast was more than I was expecting!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We happy to hear you liked our location, breakfast and other facilities. We are proud to be located right next to the beautiful Vondelpark! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

69%

It was a decent hostel but didn't feel like there was much to it. The dorm (+ bathroom) I stayed in was very clean but also very bare and cold and kinda felt prisonish. Wifi was only accessible in the lobby so in the lobby it was hard to find seating in and it certainly didn't promote meeting other people. The free breakfast was pretty great and had good selection though. The location was pretty good, some stuff was like a 5-10 minute walk away, though to get to the main centre was 30-45 mins.


91%

One of the better hostels that I stayed at on this trip. My room was clean, bed was comfortable. The food and drink at the bar were great. Although it's a bit of a walk from central Amsterdam, the building felt secure and it wasn't a loud party hostel which I really appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked your stay in our hostel. We aren't very close to the central train station indeed, but we are close to the nightlife area and the museum district. They are only a 5 minute walk away from us! We are looking forward to having you again! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

71%

good place, more hotel than a hostel. there is no feedback between staff and guest even if you go and want to talk with them... rent bike until 21 hs? is amsterdam

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostals breakfast I have ever had...but you need to wake up early because of the queue after 9:40am. Really friendly staff at the bar. Main lobby was good and rooms were clean.


77%

Very nice hostel, with good condition, but with some shortcomings:; Bike park closes at 12 pm, no kitchen; does not provide towels, too large and with many people, makes it less personal.


86%

Very nice place to stay. Stayed in a private 6 room suite with 5 friends. Staff were very welcoming and helpful when ever they were needed. As a place for young people there is some noise, which was expected but overall this is great value for money. Slightly away from the town centre but definitely within walking distance, also very close to the casino

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent!!!


100%

helpful staff, clean beds and rooms, nice atmosphere and close to the city attractions in terms of location.


94%

The breakfast was great and the staff informative and there to help


100%

One of the best hostels I stayed at. The only two minor issues: - no free luggage storage: Either 0,20E/hour or 2E/24 hours - basically no vegan options for breakfast -> www.ohsheglows.com/2012/01/03/top-15-vegan-breakfast-recipes-of-2011/

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review and ratings! We are happy hear you had a great time here. About the lockers, unfortunately we have to charge people to use them because we don't own them. And thank you for your breakfast suggestion, we will definitely take a look at it! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

34%

I had to go through 6 doors to enter my dorm-room, how is that? Fair enough I guess. Staff? You have to go there to find out yourself because I gave them zero star. Wifi? Lobby's area only. Locker?give them double 2 euros coins. Ah Computer? Only if you give them coins again. If you want to have great times in Amsterdam, dont stay here, except you dont have any choice. Like me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you about your experience with our staff. We select them carefully on knowledge about the city and their hospitality. Wifi is only offered in the common area to encourage people to meet fellow travelers and to share experiences. The lockers are paid due to the fact that we don't own them unfortunately. The price is 20cts per hour of 2 euro's for 24h. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

94%

Perfect and kind service, very nice hostel in general, me and my crew were really happy to stay there. Thank You

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your amazing review and ratings. We are really happy to hear you loved your stay here! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

(73 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback