X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Reviews

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2708 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Pretty good hostel. It's about a 15 minute tram ride from Centraal. And then a 5 minute (the hostel isn't on the main road, it's inside a tinier road that splits off from it). Good location though, near lots of places to eat and see. Definitely take their city tours. Atmosphere was okay, I guess it's what you make of it. There were some people who would just sit on their phones and laptops in the lobby. And there were others having fun at the bar.


97%

Pretty nice hostel, and it is fun because you meet so many people in the common areas. The bar was nice too. Definitely eat the dinners at the hostel and the breakfasts. Their breakfast was amazing, it actually had meat and eggs for once. The dinners are brought in my a cook, and only cost around 7 euro. The rooms were clean and we had no problems


94%

The hostel is amazing. Front desk people could be more friendly with those who are checking in and are not used to their rules.


97%

I loved staying at StayOK ! Staff were helpfull and our bedroom was clean. We rent bikes for 1 day at the hostel and we really enjoyed it ! Make sure to reserved them the day before, they only had 3 left, we were lucky that day !

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent. All my friends at other hostels were jealous of my accommodations.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us. And it's always nice to hear that other people wished they had booked with us as well! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

94%

Everything was great, minus the amount of children. Ther was a woman complaining about something going on between her group of girls and another group of guys and although the staff was not at fault, they handled it very gracefully. Having bikes to rent was a plus and the breakfast was good. Only thing I'd change would be fewer children, or a warning about them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. We do have some groups staying with us from time to time, but that's more an exeption than a rule. We hope they didn't cause too much troubles. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

74%

Generally was fine. But there were some points which I was not quite satisfied. There was no WiFi in the room and I needed to go to the lobby and connected to internet, however, when I reached there, there was near no space for me to sit as there was a lot of teenagers (I don't know why). I could not find any comfortable place for me to relax and access internet, this was quite annoying. Besides, there was only one electricity plug in 6 people dorm. This was inconvenient to everyone.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We only offer wifi in the common areas because we like people to meet and share experiences. We understand that it is inconvient that there were so many people in the lobby. Sometimes we have groups staying with us, which can make it busy in the common areas. We hope they didn't cause you to much trouble. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

100%

It was clean and made for a comfortable stay in Amsterdam. The location was easy to find with the directions sent in the confirmation email and close enough to walk through the city.


83%

BEST hostel breakfast I had in my month and a half traveling Europe. No wifi except in the lobby though. That was inconvenient. Not much atmosphere and it was kind of a hike to get to the center of the city. However, it was a very well maintained hostel located in Vondel Park which is pretty darn cool.


91%

Well arranged place with efficient staffs. Yet if you're looking for a better interaction with staffs, this place might be too commercial or business. However, its location is really convenient to get around the city. Plus, if you rent bike here, it's a bit cheaper than other places and saving more trouble for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our location and facilities. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

77%

This hostel is not bad. Be aware that it's one of those chain major hostels, and it's huge. A lot of bug tour groups stayed there while I was there as a solo. It feels more like an army barracks than a hostel. The reason I say that is because no one really socializes outside their groups. The bar is small and not very many people go there. The common area is just people sitting and texting. If you try you can make some friends. Location is good (right in vondelpark). Staff are somewhat helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you liked our location. Sometimes we have some groups staying with us. This does not happen very often, but we hope they didn't cause you any problems. We hope you had a good time in Amsterdam. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

100%

very friendly! they know what they are doing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you review and great ratings! We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

80%

Great location. Nice to have a bar in the common space but wasn't the most social atmosphere. A lot of people in the lobby on laptops. Other than that, everything was great


94%

There was just a couple of things that was missing in my opinion and that's related to the bathroom facilities. First I think it would be nice to have handsoap and a towel or paper towel by the sinks, and second I think there should be a chair or shelf or something like that in the shower "room" so we could put our stuff on it, like clothes and toiletries.


94%

Really nice hostel and good service!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good and clean hostel. Staff is friendly, helpful and very patient. The rooms are nice and spacious and the breakfast is probably the best I've ever had at a hostel. The only thing I found a bit strange is the fact that the bathroom is practically in the room. Which means no waiting in line, but it also means lots of noise whenever people use the facilities or blow dry their hair. I was awake at 6 am every day. Overall a great hostel though!


94%

Great hostel! Very big so not quite as personal as some I've been to, but nice! Great staff, rooms were good. Ended up being put in a 6-bed instead of 8, that was a plus! Shower and bathroom in the dorm were great. Nice downstairs area. Great location in Vondelpark. No wifi in rooms, but the area to sit in downstairs is very comfy. And the free breakfast was great, had way more stuff than I would have expected! Not a lot of plugs in the room (some beds had them, not mine), but more downstairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time with us. We appriciate all the kind words and hope to see you back some time! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

86%

Overall a fun stay here. No wifi in the rooms, which is a bit of a bummer. Also, you had to pay for the pool table and other games, which sucks. They had a good happy hour and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is good too. Right next to a nice park and walking distance to a bunch of stuff in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The reason we don't have wifi in the rooms, is that we want to encourage people to come down to meet fellow travelers, make new friends and share stories and experiences. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

89%

The atmosphere of the hostel was favorable for groups of people, as I was alone, was kinda hard to interact with people. But this is a personal observation.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The location was great, and the hostel sooooo nice! The staff was always really helpful and spoke perfect English. The only downside is that there wasn't a kitchen there, but the amazing breakfast made up for it :)


(158 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback