Hostelworld.com

TANAKA-ya

  • 5-352-8 Miyagawa-suji, Higashiyama, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 6.6
TANAKA-ya Located at 5-352-8 Miyagawa-suji, Higashiyama, Kyoto.
TANAKA-ya
Japan
Kyoto 6050846 5-352-8 Miyagawa-suji, Higashiyama
81% 123
34.9989629 135.7711485
TANAKA-ya
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Tanka is in the middle of gion and one can enjoy the old city part of kyoto. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hostel feels more like a small traditional inn then a Hostel, as one gets a small room with futons.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2015
7.4

Narrow space, wood built is more dangerous for living. Quiet and convenient near bus station and supermarket.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • c_waravimol7635
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Nov 2015
8.9

Very hospitality :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2015
9.4

Tamie was wonderful and so friendly, the room is small basic, has wardrobe space and traditional style bed, no sitting area. got a great nights sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2015
9.4

Nice surprise gift after our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2015
8.6

Small but nice,clean,tidy ,good location to see maiko ,the owner is good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ohmchanop
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2015
8.3

Very nice thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Nov 2015
6.0

We stayed in the annex. The annex had very limited facilities, very thin walls and our room had no external Windows and the Windows we had faced the main hall way with no real curtain. We could hear the people in the room next to us whisper. I would not stay here again as it is just too loud to get a proper sleep. The location is good. Wall beams are very low and we constantly hit our heads on doorways. This is not a traditional ryokan. Host was very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2015
8.6

We enjoyed our stay in the old area of Kyoto and saw a number of geisha.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.