Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

stayed for 3 nights over long weekend in 6 bed dorm. Clean bedrooms although on the small side if everyone has a big bag/case. helpful staff for booking activities and knowledgeable . Nice bar with lots of people about. Kitchen area ok size and a pool table as well. Parking a bonus if you can get a space but there is other parking across the road in public car park. Good base for exploring Taupo and if doing Tongariro Crossing. Good security at night Nice stay!Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

only here 1 night, was fully booked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

a great stay go for it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.9

The location is perfect and the staff were really incredible. My room (thanks Kiwi Experience kids) was a disaster when I got there. They moved stuff around so I could switch rooms. The shower in my friend's room flooded and the staff acted quickly. Other than that, the vibe is very chill. They play great music in the lounge and they have a decent kitchen. I'd definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.6

Great location, nice stuffs. There is a cheap bar on the grand floor so you can grab spirits easily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Dec 2016
9.4

The only thing I can say needs improving with this hostel is the amount of showers and toilets needs to increase. With so many people in this hostel, the small amount of these facilities is not enough. Everything else though is amazing. Had a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Dec 2016
10.0

Totally recommended very nice staff, location and we help us to find everything the we needed. We are very happy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Dec 2016
10.0

I had a fantastic stay at Taupo Urban Retreat. I stayed for a week over Christmas and felt at home. The owners cooked an amazing Christmas meal and put on games with excellent prizes. The hostel is clean and central to town. Staff are friendly and the bar is very cheap with a great happy hour. I would definitely recommend staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
8.9

Room was spacious with a decent underbed lockable drawer. Kitchen got a little busy but if you timed it right it was sweet, loads of cutlery and utensils ect. big open eating/social area with a good atmosphere with music and movies/TV always on so nice place to chill out. the free WiFi is super quick and the in house bar was reasonable with friendly staff! They thrown one hell of a Christmas party with pass the parcel and awesome cooked Christmas dinner, was a real family atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Dec 2016
9.7

Place is great! Comfy and there is parking provided at the back of the building. Kitchen is big and many equipments are provided, cooking is a breeze! Friendly staff too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.