Hostelworld.com

Taupo Urban Retreat

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
Taupo Urban Retreat Located at 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, Taupo.
Taupo Urban Retreat
New Zealand
Taupo Bay of Plenty 3330 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo
85% 876
-38.6883215 176.0728195
Taupo Urban Retreat
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Friendly and welcoming staff. The kitchen was spacious, and the bar inexpensive. Brilliant atmosphere most of the time I was there, which was aided by the pool/beer pong table. I really liked that the kitchen, dining area and bar were all in the same room, made it very social. The bike hire was handy too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th May 2016
9.4

Def recommend this hostel! Really good facilities. They have a cheap bar and $5 chillies. Nice and helpful staff and free WiFi. Nice tv lounge as well if it's raining ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
10.0

was perfect! nothing others to say👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing review we are so pleased you had a great stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels :-).

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Really lovely hostel with amazing staff! So helpful and make you feel really welcome. Would highly recommend it! Quiz night was really fun too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing review. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and took part in our Quiz Night. Enjoy the rest of your travels :-).

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay here. Very reasonable price for an en suite double room. All spotlessly clean. Very helpful staff and a great bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel, great vibes, great location near to the lake

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. Urban Retreat does have a a brilliant location close to the town center and lake front, I am pleased to hear you took advantage of this. Thank you for your lovely comments, I would love to welcome you back if passing through Taupo again :-)

28th Mar 2016
9.7

The hostel is awesome! Friendly stuff, Nice environment and they sell beer :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.3

A great place to stay close to the center of town, yet with off-street parking. Great cooking and tea and coffee facilities and also great having a bar on site. When my friend was concerned about hairs found on the fresh sheets, the staff member swapped the sheets without question. It is apparently a drier issue, (but probably an issue that needs addressing).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Had a great time staying here! The staff was incredibly friendly and it had a great atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
6.9

Standard hostel, good location and heaps of people about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.