Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
Taupo Urban Retreat Located at 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, Taupo.
Taupo Urban Retreat
New Zealand
Taupo Bay of Plenty 3330 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo
90% 916
-38.6883215 176.0728195
Taupo Urban Retreat
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Sep 2016
8.0

Great place, good location, clean, staff are friendly. Free wifi (with code), nice hot shower. Only thing is that the kitchen didn't have a oven and close at 9:30 pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
8.3

Bathrooms were cleaned late morning so it was nicer to shower then instead of early morning before checking out. The door doesn't lock automatically when leaving your room and we had to find that out on our own. The staff were great and gave us popcorn while watching a movie.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2016
8.6

Friendly staff, good facilities and free parking. Very clean. It was a bit dead in terms of the atmosphere, but I suppose it was a summer town in winter. Showers were thankfully amazing! Could hear the guy in the next room over snoring, but that was more just mildly amusing than anything. Can see it being a bit more frustrating if they were having a party!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Only stayed one night here. They let me check in past reception hours and all staff were absolutely lovely. One guy in my dorm snored obnoxiously loud, it was the worst I had ever heard so I slept in the TV room and no one hassled me about it. Lots of activities you can book from the hostel. The kitchen looked clean and spacious. I will definitely stay here again when I'm back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.4

Absolutely fantastic place, so central to everything Taupo and the staff are excellent. Enjoyed every minute of it. Cheers guys!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.3

Cute little place. Very cold out of the room. Rooms have heaters. Nice beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, big kitchen and area to hang around. Good beds and showers. Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Aug 2016
9.4

Nice hostel, nothing to complain about. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel. Great set up, vibe, and kitchen. For the love of god though, please put some air fresheners or something in room 18. Since the one window is near the bed with the plug, it gets taken but people don't factor in the cold so there is zero air in that room at night and it's BO doom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.