Hostelworld.com

Taupo Urban Retreat

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 886 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 886 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Taupo Urban Retreat Located at 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, Taupo.
Taupo Urban Retreat
New Zealand
Taupo Bay of Plenty 3330 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo
87% 886
-38.6883215 176.0728195
Taupo Urban Retreat
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
10.0

We absolutely LOVED this hostel! It was the best one we stayed at during our time in NZ. It's close to downtown and has a friendly, social atmosphere, but the rooms allow for peace and quiet, if that's what you want. Don't miss the $5 chili dinners! Check out the bike rentals and bookings available, too. Clean, spacious, friendly...everything we could've asked for and more! Thanks, TUR!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.7

Very pleasant staff members. Very clean facilities and amenities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. They can book the Tongariro Crossing for you and the shuttle will pick up and drop off right at the door. $5 chili with rice and chips offered each night, and neat that they're a licensed bar and serve cheap beer. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.7

This was probably the best hostel I've been to (and I've been to quiet a lot)!!! Thanks for this awesome stay. Lovely staff who are caring about their guests and know what you should't miss in and around Taupo! So clean everything and very easy going. Nice facilities to hang out with friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
10.0

Best stay ever!! highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Friendly and welcoming staff. The kitchen was spacious, and the bar inexpensive. Brilliant atmosphere most of the time I was there, which was aided by the pool/beer pong table. I really liked that the kitchen, dining area and bar were all in the same room, made it very social. The bike hire was handy too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th May 2016
9.4

Def recommend this hostel! Really good facilities. They have a cheap bar and $5 chillies. Nice and helpful staff and free WiFi. Nice tv lounge as well if it's raining ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
10.0

was perfect! nothing others to say👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing review we are so pleased you had a great stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels :-).

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Really lovely hostel with amazing staff! So helpful and make you feel really welcome. Would highly recommend it! Quiz night was really fun too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing review. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and took part in our Quiz Night. Enjoy the rest of your travels :-).

26th Apr 2016
8.6

Great hostel! The common area is a great place to meet people and has a bar and pool table. The picnic-style tables encourage people to socialise. The staff are extremely friendly and will help you book activities such as skydiving. The dorms were comfortable and secure and overall the hostel is quite clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.