Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1055 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1055 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Would highly recommend a stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elenmurphy951070
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel! Very friendly staff, good tv room, good kitchen. It was very quiet which was great. Fully licensed bar which was cheap and option of a hot meal in the evening if you couldn't be bothered to cook. Only negative was that we couldn't get our door to lock but that was probably just us! Would defo stay again and recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the hostel and the hot meal! There is a push button on the inside handle to lock the doors :) next time come and find the staff and we'll be glad to help. If you are passing through Taupo, please come and stay again. Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ!

7th Jun 2017
10.0

Great and helping staff ! A lot of facilities are offered to help you having a better stay. I highly recommend it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you review, we are glad the facilities were appreciated and the staff helpful! Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.

  • slembrouckniels
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th May 2017
10.0

We stayed at this place for 2 nights and loved it! Location is perfect (5min walk to the lake), staff was friendly and the beer is cheap. Showers were nicely hot, open kitchen with heaps of free stuff to use (coffee, spices, etc.). We had a 4 bed dorm, which was ideal size, with view on the lake and it had lockers under the bed. Would definately recommend it if you're going to Taupo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Good to hear our friendly staff, cheap beer and hostel freebies were a hit and appreciated. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.9

Not much to say, private room with ensuite was perfect for price. Would recommend and stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

21st Apr 2017
8.6

Great location, comfy common room, and plenty of space for everyone in the kitchen area too to either drink from the (cheap) bar and/or eat meals. Outside area is lovely in the sun. Rooms perhaps a tiny bit cramped - especially if people are doing Tongariro Crossing and there's walking boots etc everywhere. But beds are comfy and the showers' warm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.3

Accueil super agréable de jour comme de nuit. Juste à 3min à pied du Paknsave proche d'une rue de resto à 7 min à pied d'un warehouse et 15 /20 min en voiture de Huka falls vraiment bien situé! Le BP fait aussi bar après 8h. La cuisine est petite et mal mal agencé pour un BP (au vu du monde). La salle de bain wc dans la chambre mais quelle horreur... sale humide les house de couettes ne sont pas changés ...matelas confortable pas de bruit parking gratuit jusqu'à 9h Machine à laver $4

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Loved my stay here, first hostel experience for me and it was great. Friendly staff, cheap bar, really nice and affordable meal every night, would 100% recommend and would definitely return. Met some great people here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your first hostel experience with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

I had a great stay at Taupo urban retreat! Amazing location and the staff are more than happy to help out with any travel tips. The bar has cheap drinks and happy hour even cheaper! Warm showers ans a great feel to the place. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad our staff were such a help and you enjoyed our on-site bar! Enjoy your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.6

Good location for most things around town. Friendly staff, generally very clean and tidy. Strong smell of gas in corridor areas!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed your time in Taupo. The strong smell of gas is from the laundry room, the dryers run off gas and it can filter up to the corridors.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.