Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.9

Not much to say, private room with ensuite was perfect for price. Would recommend and stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.3

Accueil super agréable de jour comme de nuit. Juste à 3min à pied du Paknsave proche d'une rue de resto à 7 min à pied d'un warehouse et 15 /20 min en voiture de Huka falls vraiment bien situé! Le BP fait aussi bar après 8h. La cuisine est petite et mal mal agencé pour un BP (au vu du monde). La salle de bain wc dans la chambre mais quelle horreur... sale humide les house de couettes ne sont pas changés ...matelas confortable pas de bruit parking gratuit jusqu'à 9h Machine à laver $4

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Loved my stay here, first hostel experience for me and it was great. Friendly staff, cheap bar, really nice and affordable meal every night, would 100% recommend and would definitely return. Met some great people here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

I had a great stay at Taupo urban retreat! Amazing location and the staff are more than happy to help out with any travel tips. The bar has cheap drinks and happy hour even cheaper! Warm showers ans a great feel to the place. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.6

Good location for most things around town. Friendly staff, generally very clean and tidy. Strong smell of gas in corridor areas!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.6

Lovely little place to stay. Staff were very nice and in a great location. Only issue was that there wasn't much natural light in the room we stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.3

The perks of this hostel are perfect location, good staff, very nice atmosphere (if you want to sleep it might get a little loud) and good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jesspaxman
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.9

Pretty good hostel and quite cheap too. Unlimited wifi, pretty big kitchen and good location. For the price it's much better than most hostels in taupo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
9.4

Friendly staff, cheap meal offers nightly, clean, roomy, perfect location. Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
3.7

lost my money in my my room,I took a bath around 20 minutes when I go out from bath room I lost my whole money. The security is very bad , I so scared , I not recommend this hotel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.