Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Taupo Urban Retreat Located at 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, Taupo.
Taupo Urban Retreat
New Zealand
Taupo Bay of Plenty 3330 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo
87% 949
-38.6883215 176.0728195
Taupo Urban Retreat
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • richard2016
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel! I liked that the staff are actually staff and not just coming and going - it made it a lot more professional than other hostels Rooms were clean with nice big windows The communal area is nice to sit in as the kitchen is also attached Free wifi is free and available everywhere The computers in reception are also free to use which was great as I was able to sort stuff out I can't do on my iPad

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
8.0

Security was not as strong as other hostels I've been in New Zealand but still good. The facilities were clean and the 24hr TV room was a great addition.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice social space and kitchen. Our 4 person room had no windows which made it a bit stuffy and the lockers under beds weren't big enough to put bags in, but thought the hostel had a very nice, friendly atmosphere .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Nov 2016
9.1

Helpful staff, good atmosphere with a bar and big tables. Good dorms and in the centre of town. Thoroughly recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
9.1

$5 meals were definitely a highlight for me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
9.1

Great hostel. It was really nice to have a bar with great prices located right in the Hostel! Great place to stay and would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Oct 2016
8.0

It was a really great time The atmosphere is very cool Pity that your personal don't talk about bring our alcohol at the beginning but dosen't matter

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Oct 2016
9.4

Really cool hostel at an excellent location! Staff was really helpful and beds comfy. Excellent selection of movies for rainy days. Kitchen was well equipped but closed at 9pm which some days felt too early. Would stay at this hostel again in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Staff are helpful, the hostel bar is super cheap, rooms are clean, and it has a very nice atmosphere. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • zoesweetkeogh131
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Sep 2016
6.0

There was a strong smell of mould in our room on closer inspection it was all through the shower. Beds were poor, pillows awful. The set up of public space didn't work. The kitchen and bar are in the one room and doesn't create a good atmosphere. Not a great place to meet people, also not allowed to BYO and bar closes early.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.