X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Taupo Urban Retreat Reviews

65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
736 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

The staff was really rude during my stay and it's not what you expect when you are paying for at least a decent service. The hostel was not clean, beds and showers included. Very disappointed. I will never visit this hostel again


100%

It was value for money and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 4 bedroom ensuite and the toilet was clean. The kitchen was clean and had lots of pots and pans that you can use. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Only free WiFi on a couple of computers by the reception and the bunk beds were too low, apart from that the hostels pretty good


74%

Annoying hostel. Sounds strange but the doors are extremely loud. You can't close them quietly. Some of them even not when you open them. Staff was friendly Location was good in Taupo


49%

Bathrooms were dirty and small considering they were unisex. Rooms are far to small for the amount of people sleeping in it! This hostel is below average compared to other hostels I've stayed in the north island! Also please put more staff on when a bus of backpackers arrive as there was only one staff member to check in 30 people.


94%

Great Hostel, with very good Facilities. Lots of showers and toilets. The bedrooms are only accessible by a password and a key locked door. 1Gb per day of accommodation is the icing on the cake.


77%

1 Because they have a licensed bar you can't drink your alcool at the hostel. 2 Internet is not free. 3 washing machine 3$, dryer 2$; you need 2 cycles to get your clothes dry. I think they try to do too much money and your back, which is a shame.


57%

The room smelt, there were hardly any showers and toilets!!


83%

One of the receptionist at the hostel was EXTREMELY efficient. I wanted to change my room type and she dealt with HostelWorld directly since I did not know how to change it. GREATLY APPRECIATED. As for the rooms, I thought they were kind of dirty, there were spider webs all over and it was very dusty. The atmosphere was okay, everyone did there own thing wish kind of sucked. I liked the fact that they had a cooking night and that they offered us vouchers for drinks at the pub.


91%

Super friendly staff. Computer could do with updating couldn't access hotmail or Skype


83%

Fantastic location and tons of great people to hike Tongariro or go to the thermal Springs with! Rooms were fine, bunk beds were a little unsteady, but comfortable. Like other reviews said, blonde hairs everywhere...weird. Bathrooms were fine, not dirty, but also not really clean. Hot showers and great water pressure, though! Kitchen was big and easy to use, although all kitchenware seemed like it had been cleaned by the same dirty towel. Free Internet use on desktops. Overall, worth it for me!


83%

When we arrived the poor girl at the front desk was the only member of staff on duty and although she dealt with everyone as fast and efficiently as she could - it was very apparent she was under a lot of pressure! Well done lady you were very helpful!

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We are proud of our staff and their capabilities. It is not always possible to anticipate reception traffic and we really thank you for your understanding, patience and appreciation :-)

89%

Definitely geared towards a younger crowd -- if an on-site bar and $5 chili con carne sounds splendid, this is the hostel for you! Location is reasonably central and staff was busy but pleasant. En suite double room was a bit cramped, but new and clean and fresh. No complaints.


71%

Hostel was leaking from the roof, but the beds were fine and staff was friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good news, the roofer has finally found time to come and eliminate the "Urban Water Features" we had problems with! Thanks for your comments, happy travels :-)

63%

Beware this is a nomads hostel and therefore the rooms are rather dirty and smell. This is more due to the clientele attracted by this type of party hostel. I was in the 6 bed mixed ensuite, I don't think it was with the extra money as the bathroom wasn't very nice and was located beside the front door resulting in being woken by the crowds leaving for the crossing in the morning, or people smoking and chatting outside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We hope you came to the staff with any complaints as there were other rooms available during the time you stayed. It is difficult to deep clean rooms daily when guests are already occupying the shared rooms, but they should be cleaned and aired as much as possible, we have taken this up with our housekeeper.

89%

Great hostel, great place, great staff. Everything was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome :-) thanks so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy travels.

100%

Good location


89%

great location, friendly staff, nice pub inside - beds not clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope you let our staff know about the beds so that the issue could be rectified with a smile :-)

94%

it is very good to stary there.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback :-)

74%

Typical hostel in which is very likely to meet new people and socialize. The bar at the entrance serves really cheap alcohol and the living room could become a dancefloor if you are there in the week-end!! The position is excellent and staff were friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. Happy travels :-)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Taupo Hostels

Please give us your feedback