Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.3

i stayed two nights with a friend in a room for four people, the room was nice, but there were no lockers, which i did not check before either. overall my stay was perfect and you get good deals for meals in the hostel. would recommend it :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • paulaspassport
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.3

Wifi didn't work in my room but everywhere else it did. Kitchen was nice and atmosphere was great. Staff was friendly but location is a few blocks from most of the things downtown. I rented a bike for the day and it included helmet and lock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
8.9

Great value for money! Wifi that is on the entire night and reaches all the rooms, laundry facilities are great and perfect price and the kitchen is a good size and has enough space! TV room and movie list are perfect for those rainy days - if you ask nice the staff might even bring you pop corn!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed the facilities and made the most of the TV room on those rainy days! Popcorn is always a bonus! Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ. Chelsea, Manager.

9th Jul 2017
8.3

Cool hostel with a great happy hour! We, unfortunately, got upgraded to a 6 person in suite room that was super cramped and constantly damp because there was no ventilation. I liked the common area and the staff was really nice. Location was perfect as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you made the most of the on-site bar and happy hour. Apologies the upgraded room had issues with the ensuite bathroom and ventilation, it can be a problem during winter but we will look into this further. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ. Chelsea, Manager.

  • jdeters
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.1

We had a great stay on the whole! The staff were very friendly on our arrival. There are parking spaces provided in the back and the location is very convenient. The kitchen is great and big enough for multiple groups to cook. There are big picnic tables and pool table in common area. The onsite bar is great and has deals for backpackers. However, if groups decide to do their night out at that bar, the common area gets quite rowdy. Overall a good stay and would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review, we are so glad you had a good stay with us. The on-site bar is very popular and the groups can get a bit excited about the cheap drinks. We hope you had fun and be sure to visit us again! Chelsea, Manager.

4th Jul 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel. Would definitely stay again when I return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your return! Enjoy your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.0

Hostel was clean and well maintained in the communal areas and toilets/showers. Bedrooms could have done with a slight update but nothing concerning. Cheap bar and good chilli, also at a cheap price. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and cleanliness were to a high standard. We always ensure our hostel is clean and fresh! Enjoy the rest of your travels. Chelsea, Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.3

Best vibe of any hostel by far. Felt like I was in my living room with the cosy lounge area with fire, dining table and sofas. This place honestly feels like home and the staff make it so welcoming by taking time to talk to you and even use your first name. Kitchen is superb too, very well equipped with tea, eggs and beer as a nice touch. And a choccie on pillow! Would really recommend this place as they have got it right. The only slight negative is the wifi is pretty poor, didn't bother me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review, we are happy our place felt like home and you enjoyed your time with us. The kitchen isn't usually stocked with eggs so this was a lucky day for you and the beer must have been from our on-site bar! Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand.

11th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Would highly recommend a stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

  • elenmurphy951070
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jun 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel! Very friendly staff, good tv room, good kitchen. It was very quiet which was great. Fully licensed bar which was cheap and option of a hot meal in the evening if you couldn't be bothered to cook. Only negative was that we couldn't get our door to lock but that was probably just us! Would defo stay again and recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the hostel and the hot meal! There is a push button on the inside handle to lock the doors :) next time come and find the staff and we'll be glad to help. If you are passing through Taupo, please come and stay again. Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.