Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1010 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1010 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.6

Lovely little place to stay. Staff were very nice and in a great location. Only issue was that there wasn't much natural light in the room we stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.3

The perks of this hostel are perfect location, good staff, very nice atmosphere (if you want to sleep it might get a little loud) and good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
3.7

lost my money in my my room,I took a bath around 20 minutes when I go out from bath room I lost my whole money. The security is very bad , I so scared , I not recommend this hotel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
9.7

Fantastic stay. The staff are super helpful and the place itself had an amazing atmosphere. Would stay here again. :-) It can get a little loud at night but the soundproofing is pretty good and you can only hear stuff when people open the door to go from the main area to the lodging area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.3

Good little hostel. Friendly, welcoming staff, not too loud at night. Would recommend. Only (slight) criticism is our en suite bathroom could have been slightly cleaner. But otherwise all good :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

Overall this ticks the boxes. My only negative was that it was stifling hot and the only window opened onto a corridor!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
7.4

Very nice hostel. Room kept clean and bathroom is ok. Not far from main streets and shops so good location. Staff not that socialable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

stayed for 3 nights over long weekend in 6 bed dorm. Clean bedrooms although on the small side if everyone has a big bag/case. helpful staff for booking activities and knowledgeable . Nice bar with lots of people about. Kitchen area ok size and a pool table as well. Parking a bonus if you can get a space but there is other parking across the road in public car park. Good base for exploring Taupo and if doing Tongariro Crossing. Good security at night Nice stay!Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

only here 1 night, was fully booked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

a great stay go for it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.