Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Taupo Urban Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 901 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 901 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Taupo Urban Retreat Located at 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, Taupo.
Taupo Urban Retreat
New Zealand
Taupo Bay of Plenty 3330 65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo
87% 901
-38.6883215 176.0728195
Taupo Urban Retreat
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Cool people. Cool place to stay. Very helpful staff, with my particular needs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, good facilities and near the centre of town. Room was no frills but clean and tidy - perfect for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Friendly staff, good location, fun common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.0

Great location right near the lake and in the middle of town! The facilities are good there's a bar and pool table. Good wifi throughout and bathroom clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2016
8.0

Very good hostel. Strong wifi throughout was great, password changed every 24 hours which kept it un-congested. Only allowed 1 device which isn't ideal. Kitchen very clean and well equipped. Rooms were also very clean and great security, large padlockable drawers under beds and auto-locking doors were great. Nice lounge, bar, kitchen area and on-site bike loans were very useful. Staff very helpful at all times too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
10.0

We absolutely LOVED this hostel! It was the best one we stayed at during our time in NZ. It's close to downtown and has a friendly, social atmosphere, but the rooms allow for peace and quiet, if that's what you want. Don't miss the $5 chili dinners! Check out the bike rentals and bookings available, too. Clean, spacious, friendly...everything we could've asked for and more! Thanks, TUR!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.7

Very pleasant staff members. Very clean facilities and amenities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. They can book the Tongariro Crossing for you and the shuttle will pick up and drop off right at the door. $5 chili with rice and chips offered each night, and neat that they're a licensed bar and serve cheap beer. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.7

This was probably the best hostel I've been to (and I've been to quiet a lot)!!! Thanks for this awesome stay. Lovely staff who are caring about their guests and know what you should't miss in and around Taupo! So clean everything and very easy going. Nice facilities to hang out with friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.