Hostelworld.com

Tequilita Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.9
Tequilita Hostel Located at Calle 6 entre Av.15 Y AV.20, , Playa del Carmen.
Tequilita Hostel
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 6 entre Av.15 Y AV.20
69% 100
20.6261773 -87.0755767
Tequilita Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.6

Overall I wouldn't recommend staying in this hostel if you're looking for a nice stay in Playa. The hostel staff seemed desinterested and unorganized. We had to move our beds and rooms 3-times in 4 days. The room next to the kitchen was horrible (windows and doors were broken) hens we couldn't sleep and there were always people coming in and out of the room to use our toilet or to look for someone. The promised bar on the roof was closed, there wasn't any free breakfast and so on..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
9.1

I've been in so many hostels, but at Tequilita I had the BEST EXPERIENCE. Amazing location, great people (very helpful), good cost-benefit relation. For sure I'll host in Tequilita when I'm back to Playa

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2016
8.3

We loved our stay in tequilita! Good for backpackers, maybe not the best if you want luxury and to sleep in quiet otherwise such a nice place !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bob071
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2016
8.3

It is quite expensive, especially since it's a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
5.4

not the best at all

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2015
4.3

I booked a 6 bed dorm for me and 5 friends so that we could have privacy. We were given an 8 bed dorm. One night we had a very sandy stranger walk in and sleep on my friends bed as the other two guests had left the door unlocked while we were out, some minor items were stolen. Second night my friend was woken up by two gay men touching his leg. Air conditioning was gushing water during operating hours, so our first night we came back to very wet belongings. +No hot water, bad wifi, smelly room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th Dec 2015
5.4

Kitchen was dirty and too small for hostel size. Rooms are very very hot at night. A fan is not enough. The bar didn't open til late, over new years which killed the atmosphere a bit.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Dec 2015
6.0

Was nice, is just dirty. The location is nice and the staff too! They shouldn't advertise free breakfast that just gave us a piece of bread and coffee. Private rooms are a little bit expensive. We had a nice experience :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2015
3.1

My stay at Tequilita was easily the worst hostel experience I have ever had. Because of the loud rooftop bar and overpowering, offensive urine smell it is impossible to sleep at night, and because of the broken fans and non-existent ventilation it is impossible to sleep in the sweltering room during the day. Unless you only plan on using your bed during the relative quiet hours from 6 to 10 am to pass out drunk, go elsewhere. For the same price consider the vastly superior Hostel Excel Sense.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Dec 2015
6.3

Stayed at a female 6pax dorm. The bathroom was a bit dirty, but that was all to complain about. Location was good, the staff was ok, and they served a lot of tequila. Would recommend it for party people!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.