Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Alternative Hostel of Old Montreal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing-everything from staff to my cute little bed beside a stone wall-never seen such helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
5.7

As a female, I requested a female only room for my own sense of security. Most days around 10 someone would knock, wait, then enter the room. One male staff member just opened the door in a room of 6 women who had specifically requested a female only room-- very predatory behavior. A different male staff member seemed friendly at first but quickly morphed from charming to alarmingly objectifying. I wouldn't recommend staying here alone as a female.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.9

Pretty cool place. Comfy beds. Air conditioning in rooms during the night. Breakfast not included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • yunesami807
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Great Hostel, very well located in the old port of Montreal near to a multitude of great restaurants, bars and clubs. I enjoyed my stay there and I don't really have anything to complain about. The place is cozy, so you'll be able to rest comfortably after a long day walking around downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Plain and simple, not fancy, but a thoroughly pleasant atmosphere: warm and friendly, all books and plants and little wooden tables with mismatched chairs. Exactly what I was looking for. Friendly and helpful staff, everything you need. Perfect old town /location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
10.0

The Auberge Alternatif is always my favourite place to stay in Montreal. This last visit did not disappoint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.7

This was my first time staying at a hostel and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful and it was in a great location. Although the stairs may be a bit of a challenge for those with a lot of luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Awesome place with plenty of character, friendly staff and a perfect location. The rooms were cosy and the beds comfortable, the shower was hot and toilets were close to the room. There wasn't any noise at night so we had a great sleep!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.9

Overall great place. I only stayed here one day--but it was what you'd expect from any typical hostel. The place was secure, the location was great. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the limited number of bathrooms (some people had to wait) and the beds were more outdated than I would've hoped for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
9.7

The staff is very friendly and helpful, it's clean, plenty of bathrooms, and there are events some nights. The location is in old Montreal, which is very pretty and close to transportation, but not too much nightlife, though nightlife is just a 20 minute walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×