X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Full Moon Backpackers Reviews

1North Street, Stokes croft, Bristol, Bristol, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
199 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

As soon as we arrived th girl behind the desk wasn't able to help us with anything in the hostel, she didn't even know if there were lockers or were they would be. The beds were awfull, people seemed to be living there and was scaffolding on the outside of the building, were workers started at 8 in the morning. We were not notified of this before, nor did anybody seem to care. The pub nextdoor was allright, not very nice to sleep next to on busy nights though.


57%

Great location. Although we expected the place to be, noisy and lively, we didn't expect; spring coiled mattresses, disgusting kitchen with no crockery other than the dirty pile in the sink, ovens that don't heat as expected, showers that need a good clean/ have poor pressure/lights that turn off mid shower nor did we expect the building to be in such poor state of disrepair and general poor cleaning (doors were blackened and sticky with over use!)


69%

Pros: well located, friendly staff, next to a bar which is both good and bad. Cons: next to a bar - so it is extremely loud at night until 12ish, later on weekends. Bring ear plugs. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, could feel all the springs. The showers were horrible. Overall cheap, short term stay. You get what you pay for.


77%

Definitely a party hostel as the bar next to it goes off and it's quite loud.


20%

Some of staffs were kind but everthing would not be good. I Never think this hostel in my life.


86%

great for a weekend away i was there for work reasons and its cheap and cheerfull get what you pay for nothing bad to say about the place

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

This is a place for people who don't mind the noise from a bar next door till 2 o'clock in the morning. There never was soap in any of the hand-wash (or they were damaged) and the rubbish bins were up to the top for the whole of the weekend. There were four showers in the floor I stayed in. One was flooded, the second one was out of order and the other two were not clean at all.


31%

There were rats in the room, all is dirty and is very veru noisy becouse in the ground floor is a disco.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The guy working in the front was nice. There was a bar outside attached to the hostel, which was fun. Overall, it wasn't my favorite hostel ever but it was pretty good.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very nice and looking brand new. Very clean and with good facilities. Spacious lockers down the beds (bring a lock!). Is a good base if you come to Cambridge looking for an apartment, but it has not a hostel atmosphere at all.


34%

Have a really loud bar/nightclub especially on weekends, the building is quite old and need of refurbishment. The mattresses are absolute fiflthy!!


74%

Full moon is a pretty standard hostel, has all the basics that you need, no frills. The location of the hostel is good, not too far to walk to all the museums, harbour and close to pubs/cafes etc. If you are here on the weekend then I suggest bringing ear plugs if you want to sleep before 2am as its really loud. The mattresses are awful, it feels like you are just lying on the springs with no padding. Also the kitchen was a bit dirty. But otherwise a good cheap hostel.


80%

This place was what we needed, just around the corner from the bus station. There is a bar downstairs so take ear plugs as it can be a little noisey. One of our mattresses had springs poking in our back and it was a little hot but otherwise the rooms were fine. Only a 5-10min walk to sainsburys and tesco, we only stayed one night before Glastonbury so there was a wait for the few showers they have. But if you just need a place to crash and meet people over beers this is the place for you!


89%

We loves Full moon backpackers. The bar was great, the people were helpful. Will stay there again.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent place to stay, would recommend to anyone! :)

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great staff and a fantastic location.


89%

Great place to stay, staff is adorable!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

I didn't stay there in the end. My initial impression was that it was somewhat dark and grungy and so I continued on to London. David.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
34%

Do you know this meme, Moon Moon? Let me copy/paste: "Moon Moon is a fictional wolf character that is portrayed as a mentally challenged outcast in the pack", "People now use the term Moon Moon in the form of that one person that comes along and ruins everything". Well, that's the best depiction of this hostel I can think of. You'd think they named it after the infamous wolf and just forgot to add the second "Moon".


74%

It was a nice stay, but bear in mind that eco-friendly means that for the first half hour of turning on any lights, they may as well not be on at all (which was interesting in the evening!). Also I had to shower in the dark as after a few minutes they turn off too. However staff were very friendly and helpful :)

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(114 results)


View all Bristol Hostels

Please give us your feedback